DETAILED ACTION
Applicant' s arguments, filed 05/12/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 03/06/2023, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 7-8 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A first warning module in claim 7 which is interpreted as a speaker and its equivalents as per paragraphs 0056-0058 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “at least one electrode for measuring a brain wave of a user as a bio-signal” but it is unclear how this brainwave measurement relates to the rest of the claimed system. It is unclear how the measured brainwave is utilized by the system as the currently recited process executed by the circuit does not utilize the measured brainwave in any manner. For the purposes of this examination, any teaching of the presence of an electrode will be considered sufficient to anticipate this limitation.
Claim 7 recites “a first detector disposed in the housing and comprising an acceleration and position sensor configured to measure an acceleration and a position of the user to detect a change in a motion state of the user based on the measured acceleration and position” but it is unclear how the first detector relates to the claimed system. In particular, the first detector is recited as being present in the system but appears to have no relation to the process carried out by the circuit of the system. It is unclear how this sensor and its signals are used by the system and what effect is achieved by its presence. For the purposes of this examination, any teaching of a presence of such a sensor will be considered sufficient to satisfy this limitation.
Claim 7 appears to be directed towards “a bio-signal measurement band” as indicated in line 1. However the claimed device, while including the presence of an electrode for bio-signal measurement, is seemingly directed towards an environmental monitor for determining when an environment is acceptable for a user to work. It is unclear how the various aspects of the invention are related to one another. It is unclear what the recorded bio-signals including a brain wave and motion signal are used for. It is unclear if the recorded bio signals relate in any manner to the determination of whether it is possible to work in a present environment. It is similarly unclear how the event sensor relates to the rest of the claimed elements. For the purposes of this examination, any device which measures the recited signals and performs the recited environmental work condition assessment will be considered a “bio-signal measurement band” regardless of how the measured signals are utilized.
Claim 7 recites “the circuit is configured to determine …” however it would seem that the limitation of “circuit” encompasses electrical circuitry incapable of performing processing operations. It is thus unclear how a “circuit” is configured to perform the recited processing steps. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation of “circuit” will be interpreted as a processor. Examiner’s Note: it would seem that amending the limitation to “processing circuit” or the like would be sufficient to overcome this limitation and would be considered to be supported by the recitations of the specification of the circuit performing processing steps.
Claim 8 recites “determine whether an emergency condition has occurred to the user based on the bio-signal measured by the at least one electrode and the change in the motion state of the user measured by the first detector” but it is unclear what such a determination entails. It is further unclear what constitutes “an emergency condition” for the user. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as any adverse health effect or lack of movement being detected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites that a circuit performs a determination however the full scope of a “circuit” includes circuitry that is incapable of making the recited determination. Applicant’s specification does not appear to describe a specific circuit for performing the recited determination nor does it describe how species of circuits that are capable of performing the determination to support the claimed genus of any circuit carrying out the determination.
Claim 8 recites “determine whether an emergency condition has occurred to the user based on the bio-signal measured by the at least one electrode and the change in the motion state of the user measured by the first detector” the scope of this limitation includes any processing method using both the brainwave bio-signal and the change in motion state to determine any type of condition that may be considered an “emergency condition”. It would seem that to support such a scope the specification would need to provide particular examples of how these two parameters may be considered in combination to detect various conditions that may be classified as emergency conditions. The specification appears to describe that an emergency condition may be determined using the motion data by detecting a fall or collapse and that the bio-signal may further be used to detect an emergency situation in paragraphs 0052 and 0054. The specification does not appear to describe how these signals may be used in conjunction or describe what types of conditions may be detected as emergency conditions. As such, the specification is considered to lack sufficient written description support because no species of examples as to how these input parameters may be considered to detect emergency conditions have been provided to support the claimed genus of detecting any emergency condition through any processing method of the two input parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190012895 A1 hereinafter Myers in view of Everman US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200261009 A1 hereinafter Everman, in view of Bui US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200396532 A1 hereinafter Bui, in view of US Kaib Patent Application Publication Number US 20120293323 A1 hereinafter Kaib, and further in view of Karsten US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170004685 A1 hereinafter Karsten
Regarding claim 7, Myers discloses a bio-signal measurement band (Abstract) comprising:
at least one sensor for measuring a brain wave of a user as a bio-signal (Paragraphs 0024: the physiological sensor may include a sensor for measuring brain activity);
a housing (Paragraph 0017: the device may be implemented into a variety of form factors, or housings ) wherein an electrical wire, a circuit, and a battery connected to the at least one sensor (Paragraph 0016; Fig. 1: the processing circuit, power supply and sensors are all connected);
a first detector and comprising an acceleration and position sensor configured to measure an acceleration and a position of the user to detect a change in a motion state of the user based on the measured acceleration and position (Paragraph 0023: the position sensor; Fig. 1 reference 170);
a second detector comprising a gas sensor configured to measure at least one of a presence or absence of a gas, an oxygen concentration, and an amount of dust (Paragraph 0025: the environmental sensor may include a gas sensor or particular matter sensor); and
the circuit disposed in the housing and electrically connected to the at least one electrode (Paragraph 0016; Fig. 1: the various components are all connected to the processing unit),
wherein the circuit is configured to determine, based on a measurement of the second detector, whether environmental conditions of the user's working environment satisfy a predetermined condition for allowing the user to work (Paragraph 0025: the environmental sensor input is analyzed to detect abnormal or potentially dangerous environmental conditions),
wherein, in response to determining that the environmental conditions of the working environment do not satisfy the predetermined condition, the circuit is configured to control a first warning module to output a first warning (Paragraph 0025: the environmental sensor input is analyzed to detect abnormal or potentially dangerous environmental conditions and may output an alert when these conditions are detected; Paragraph 0022: the system may use a speaker to output audible alerts).
Myers fails to further disclose the device comprising an electrode for bio-signal measurement, the housing comprising a first housing and a second housing made of an electromagnetic wave shielding material and coupled to each other to define an inner space therebetween, and the components being received in the inner space, the first detector disposed in the housing, the second detector disposed on or extending from the housing, and wherein, in response to determining that the environmental conditions of the working environment do not change after the first warning, the circuit is configured to apply an electrical current through the at least one electrode to stimulate the user as a second warning
Everman teaches a system for detecting unsafe working conditions (Abstract). Thus, Everman falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Everman teaches a device comprising housing comprising a first housing and a second housing made of an electromagnetic wave shielding material and coupled to each other to define an inner space therebetween, and the components being received in the inner space (Paragraphs 0019 and 0037: the outer cover and the covering which may each be made of metal. The cover serves to enclose the processor and other electrical components within an area defined by the outer shell and the cover; Fig. 5), the first detector disposed in the housing (Paragraph 0037: the accelerometer; Fig. 5 the accelerometer 124 is located with the processor in the housing), Everman further teaches that the device may include additional sensors such as gas sensors or particulate matter in the air sensors (Paragraph 0037), and the presence of a user-signaling device which may contact the user and provide stimulation in response to the generated alarms through a plurality of different modalities based on the nature of the alarm (Paragraphs 0051-0055).
An obvious variation of Everman would be to dispose gas and/or particulate matter sensors on, or extending from the housing. Such a variation is obvious because it is a mere rearrangement of parts to facilitate the operation of the sensors depending on the form factor and positioning of the device. In particular, the gas and particulate matter sensors being disposed on or extending from the device allow such sensors to receive air from the environment and thus make accurate readings. Placing such sensors inside a sealed container would render them inoperable for their intended purpose and there are a finite number of locations where such sensors may be disposed with a reasonable expectation of success such as within the housing with an access port to receive outside air, or disposed on or adjacent to the housing to provide access to ambient air. As such, the claimed placement of the second detector being disposed on or extending from the housing is considered to be an obvious variation of Everman and thus rendered obvious by the above teachings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the metal housing and sensor placements as taught by the obvious variation of Everman described above into the system of Myers because the use of metal housing would improve the durability of the system and provide electromagnetic shielding to the processing components which may reduce interference in certain work environments and improve operation of the system.
Myers in view of Everman fail to further teach the system comprising an electrode for bio-signal measurement, and wherein, in response to determining that the environmental conditions of the working environment do not change after the first warning, the circuit is configured to apply an electrical current through the at least one electrode to stimulate the user as a second warning.
Bui teaches a headset which contains one or more physiological sensors (Abstract). Thus Bui falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Bui teaches a device comprising an electrode for bio-signal measurement (Paragraphs 0082-0087: the device may include a plurality of electrodes for monitoring EEG signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the electrodes for monitoring a user’s brainwaves as taught by Bui into the system of Myers in view of Everman because Myers contemplates monitoring the user’s brainwaves (Myers Paragraph 0024) and the EEG electrodes of Bui are suitable sensors for performing such monitoring and are thus a simple substitution of one known element (the sensor of Myers) with another known element (the EEG electrodes of Bui) with no surprising technical effect.
Myers in view of Everman further in view of Bui fails to further teach the system wherein, in response to determining that the environmental conditions of the working environment do not change after the first warning, the circuit is configured to apply an electrical current through the at least one electrode to stimulate the user as a second warning.
Kaib teaches a wearable medical device with adaptable response patterns (Abstract). Thus, Kaib is reasonably pertinent to the problem at hand.
Kaib teaches a system wherein, in response to determining that no predetermined response has been received within a response time after the first warning, the circuit is configured to adapt a characteristic of the alarm to stimulate the user as a second warning (Paragraphs 0018). The act of adapting a characteristic of the alarm may include increasing the intensity of the alarm and/or changing the conduit of the alarm (Paragraph 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the adaptive alarm system as taught by Kaib into the system of Myers in view of Everman further in view of Bui such that the detection of a dangerous environment triggers an alarm as taught by Myers (Myers: paragraph 0025) and the lack of a predetermined response within a response time is the continued presence in the dangerous environment which trigger the second, adapted alarm. Such an implementation is would provide the system with a method of increasing the severity and/or importance of an alarm based on the duration the user is exposed to the hazardous environment and thus may provide the user with guidance as to how quickly they must exit a dangerous environment.
Myers in view of Everman in view of Bui further in view of Kaib fails teach the system wherein the second warning is the application of an electrical current through the at least one electrode to stimulate the user.
Karsten teaches a wearable device for providing alert signals to a user (Abstract). Thus, Karsten is reasonably pertinent to the problem at hand.
Karsten teaches the delivery of alerts at a plurality of alert levels based on their determined urgency. The alerts may take the form of mild electrical shocks with variable type and intensity as well as audible and/or vibrational alerts (Paragraphs 0010-0011). The pulses are provided through electrodes (Paragraph 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to configure the EEG electrodes of Myers in view of Everman in view of Bui further in view of Kaib (Bui: Paragraph 0087) to be capable of delivering electrical shocks as stimulation as taught by Karsten as well as performing EEG monitoring because such a stimulation mechanism provides the system of Myers in view of Everman in view of Bui in view of Kaib further in view of Karsten with an additional modality to alert the user of a dangerous environment which may be more effective in certain conditions where audible or visual alerts may not be noticed by the user.
Regarding claim 8, modified Myers teaches the bio-signal measurement band of claim 7. Modified Myers further teaches wherein the circuit is configured to determine whether an emergency condition has occurred to the user based on the bio-signal measured by the at least one electrode and the change in the motion state of the user measured by the first detector (Paragraphs 0047-0048: the system may determine the user is experiencing an abnormal physiological condition based on the input of one or more of the physiological sensors and the position of the user).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW ERIC OGLES/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791