DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received August 17, 2026:
Claims 32, 34-36 and 38-43 are pending. Claims 1-31, 33 and 37 have been cancelled as per applicant’s request.
The core of the previous rejection is maintained with slight changes made in light of the amendment. All changes to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32, 34-36 and 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. ("Long-Life Nickel-Rich Layered Oxide Cathodes with a Uniform Li2ZrO3 Surface Coating for Lithium-Ion Batteries”, 2017) in view of Song et al. (US 2015/0340689), referred to hereinafter as “Song (2)” and Moon et al. (US 2019/0372109).
Regarding Claim 32, Song et al. teaches a Li-2ZrO3-coated LiNi0.7Co0.15Mn0.15-O2 cathode material (pg. 9719, col. 1, lines 14-23) (i.e. a composition comprising a cathode active material, wherein the cathode material is selected from LiNixMnyCozO2, x+y+z=1 and 0≤x≤1, 0≤y≤1,and 0≤z≤1 and a first coating in contact with the cathode active material) wherein a TEM image reveals the Li2ZrO3 coating has a highly crystallized domain which is fully wrapped by an amorphous region (pg. 9721, col. 2, lines 20-23) (i.e. the first coating comprises crystalline domains and amorphous domains based on transmission electron microscopy analysis, the crystalline domains are in contact with the cathode active material), wherein x-ray spectroscopy examines particle morphology (pg. 9720, col. 1, lines 25-32) and agrees with the TEM crystallographic information (pg. 9721, col .1 line 14 – col. 2, line 5) (i.e. the first coating is amorphous based on x-ray diffraction pattern analysis) and ZrO2 is formed in the coating layer (pg. 9720, col. 1, line 58 – col. 2, line 10) (i.e. the first coating comprises LixZryOz wherein x = 0, y = 1 and z = 2).
Song et al. does not teach a second coating in contact with the first coating, wherein the second coating comprises LixCyOz wherein 0.4 ≤ x ≤ 1.8, 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 1, 1 ≤ z ≤ 1.8.
However, Song (2) teaches a composite cathode active material (Para. [0035]) comprising a core of a lithium-transition metal oxide (Para. [0043]), a first coating layer and a second coating layer formed between the core and first coating layer (i.e. a second coating layer in contact with a first coating layer) wherein the second coating layer is formed of Li2CO3 (Para. [0039]) (i.e. wherein the second coating comprises a chemical formula of the ratio LiC0.5O1.5 reading on the claimed LixCyOz wherein 0.4 ≤ x ≤ 1.8, 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 1, 1 ≤ z ≤ 1.8.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Song et al, to incorporate the teaching of a second coating contacting a first layer comprising Li2CO3 as taught by Song (2), as such a coating inhibits side reactions with electrolyte, thereby reducing generation of gas (Para. [0040]) which increases lifespan and electrochemical stability (Para. [0008]).
Song et al. does not the crystalline domains are in direct contact with the cathode active material.
However, Moon et al. teaches a core including primary particles of a nickel-containing lithium transition metal oxide containing cobalt and manganese (Para. [0011], [0059]) and a first composition disposed in the shell (i.e. first coating) which is present on the surface of the core and the first composition has a crystalline structure (Para. [0049]) (i.e. wherein the crystalline domains are in direct contact with the cathode active material) wherein the first composition is Li2ZrO3 (Para. [0038-0039], [0049], [0111]) wherein the shell may have a multilayer structure including a first coating layer containing the first composition and a second coating layer containing the second composition, sequentially stacked on the surface of the core (Para. [0051]) and the first composition and the second composition may have the same composition and different crystalline structures wherein the second composition has an amorphous structure (Para. [0050]) (i.e. the coating comprises crystalline domains and amorphous domains).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Song et al. to incorporate the teaching of the crystalline domains in direct contact with the cathode active material as taught by Moon et al. as such a structure secures two-dimensional transfer paths of lithium ions (Para. [0162]), provides reduced residual surface lithium content, and prevents side reaction between the core and the electrolyte (Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 34, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. does not teach wherein the amorphous domains are not in contact with the cathode active material.
However, Moon et al. teaches a core including primary particles of a nickel-containing lithium transition metal oxide containing cobalt and manganese (Para. [0011], [0059]) and a first composition disposed in the shell (i.e. first coating) which is present on the surface of the core and the first composition has a crystalline structure (Para. [0049]) wherein the first composition is Li2ZrO3 (Para. [0038-0039], [0049], [0111]) wherein the shell may have a multilayer structure including a first coating layer containing the first composition and a second coating layer containing the second composition, sequentially stacked on the surface of the core (Para. [0051]) and the first composition and the second composition may have the same composition and different crystalline structures wherein the second composition has an amorphous structure (Para. [0050]) (i.e. the amorphous domains are not in contact with the cathode active material).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Song et al. to incorporate the teaching of the amorphous domains not in contact with the cathode active material as taught by Moon et al. as such a structure secures two-dimensional transfer paths of lithium ions (Para. [0162]), provides reduced residual surface lithium content, and prevents side reaction between the core and the electrolyte (Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 35, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. does not teach a first coating has a thickness of that is 1 nm ≤ T ≤ 20 nm; or wherein T is about 1 nm, about 5 nm or about 10 nm.
However, Moon et al. teaches the shell (i.e. first coating) has a thickness of about 20 nm or less (Para. [0052]) (i.e. overlapping with the claimed ranges of 1 nm ≤ T ≤ 20 nm; or wherein T is about 1 nm, about 5 nm or about 10 nm).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coating layer of Song et al. to incorporate the teaching of the thickness as taught by Moon et al., as such a thickness provides improved cycle characteristics and thermal stability (Para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 36, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. further teaches lattice mismatch between crystalline Ni-rich oxide and Li2ZrO3 as seen in the TEM data (pg. 9721, line 29-38) (i.e. wherein the first coating crystalline domains do not lattice match crystalline domains of the cathode active material, as determined by TEM analysis).
Regarding Claim 38, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. does not teach a second coating that is amorphous as determined by TEM analysis.
However, Song (2) further teaches the coating layer compounds are amorphous (Para. [0070]) (i.e. wherein the second coating is amorphous). See the rejection to claim 32 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Song (2) cited herein. Regarding “as determined by TEM analysis” this is a method of measuring the claimed property that does not affect the underlying property itself, which is a product of the structure of the second coating. As an amorphous coating layer is taught by Song et al. as modified by Song (2), the structure of the instant claim has been met.
Regarding Claim 39, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. does not teach a second coating that is amorphous as determined by TEM analysis.
However, Song (2) further teaches the coating layer compounds are crystalline (Para. [0070]) (i.e. wherein the second coating is crystalline). See the rejection to claim 32 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Song (2) cited herein. Regarding “as determined by TEM analysis” this is a method of measuring the claimed property that does not affect the underlying property itself, which is a product of the structure of the second coating. As a crystalline coating layer is taught by Song et al. as modified by Song (2), the structure of the instant claim has been met.
Regarding Claim 40, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. does not teach a second coating in contact with the first coating wherein the second coating is Li2CO3.
However, Song (2) teaches the second coating layer is formed of Li2CO3 (Para. [0039]). See the rejection to claim 32 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Song (2) cited herein.
Regarding Claim 41, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. further teaches Li-2ZrO3-coated LiNi0.7Co0.15Mn0.15-O2 cathode material (pg. 9719, col. 1, lines 14-23) ZrO2 is formed in the coating layer (pg. 9720, col. 1, line 58 – col. 2, line 10) (i.e. the first coating further comprises Li-2ZrO3, ZrO2)
Regarding Claim 42, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. further teaches Li-2ZrO3-coated LiNi0.7Co0.15Mn0.15-O2 cathode material (i.e. the cathode material is Li(NiCoMn)O2).
Regarding Claim 43, Song et al. as modified by Song (2) and Moon et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 32 as explained above.
Song et al. further teaches a cathode is prepared by applying a slurry onto a current collector and drying (pg. 9720, col. 1, line 34-41) (i.e. a solid-state cathode comprising the coated cathode active material of claim 32). Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Also, limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. See In re Zletz, 893F.2d 319, 321-22,13 USPQ2d, 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See also MPEP 2111.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 17, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the combination of references being used in the current rejection in light of the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments are drawn to a previous prior art combination and thus, are not persuasive in light of the newly cited prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729