Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are pending.
Claim 16 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hoymann
et al, US 20120134429 A1., in view of Shen et al, US 20090135965 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hoymann discloses a first communication device, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
control execution of a reception process in a joint operation of a reception signal with a second communication device ([0117] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.),
wherein a plurality of communication devices transmits the reception signal to the first communication device and the second communication device ([0043] For cooperative reception of the signal 10, the BSs 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 exchange information concerning individual Rx signals from the terminal 200, e.g. the supporting BS 100-2 may communicate information relating to the Rx signal from the terminal 200 to the serving BS 100-1, and the supporting BS 100-3 may communicate information relating to the Rx signal from the terminal 200 to the serving BS 100-1.),
and each of the plurality of communication devices is different from the first communication device and the second communication device([0079] the quantizer 104 occurs via an interface between the different devices, e.g. via an interface between the access node 100-1, 100-1' and the access node 100-2, 100-2', or via an interface between the central node 300 and the serving access node 100-1' or the supporting access node 100-2'.);
control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, generation of first information that indicates likelihood information ([0114]0117, Fig. 10 The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc. The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.),
wherein the likelihood information is associated with the reception signal for the each of the plurality of communication devices ([0113-0114] A process of UL cooperation between the serving access node 100-1 and the supporting access node 100-2. As mentioned above, the serving access node 100-1 and the supporting access node 100-2 may be different BSs or different sections of the same BS. The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hardbits), etc.);
Hoymann does not disclose control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, storage of an information amount of the first information in a memory of the first communication device, wherein the information amount of the first information corresponds to a buffer size;
control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, generation of second information that indicates an upper limit value of the buffer size; and control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, transmission of each of the first information and the second information to the second communication device.
However, Shen does disclose disclose control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, storage of an information amount of the first information in a memory of the first communication device, wherein the information amount of the first information corresponds to a buffer size([0086-0087] 1000 of allocating a relatively small sized memory device for storing of soft information (e.g., LLRs). In most cases a receiving communication device (e.g., UE) does have enough space to save the soft information (e.g., LLRs) of failed TBs (e.g., as determined by CRC check) even when the soft buffer size is reduced.);
control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, generation of second information that indicates an upper limit value of the buffer size([0088] Suppose the limited or reduced sized soft buffer 1040 of a receiving communication device (e.g., UE) is sufficiently large to store N.sub.1 soft information values (e.g., N.sub.1 LLRs).The examiner interprets as the “N.sub.1 LLRs” upper limit value);
and control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, transmission of each of the first information and the second information to the second communication device([0075] the stream that a transmitting communication device (e.g., eNode B) will send out to a receiving communication device (e.g., UE) under the 2 stage rate matching defined in HSDPA as in reference [2], i.e. at least a portion of the second transmission includes some of the very same bits as were transmitted in the first transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann with control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, storage of an information amount of the first information in a memory of the first communication device, wherein the information amount of the first information corresponds to a buffer size; control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, generation of second information that indicates an upper limit value of the buffer size; and control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, transmission of each of the first information and the second information to the second communication device as taught by Shen. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce in the size of the transmissions sent from the sending communication device.. (Shen, [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
control generation of third information wherein the third information includes: a number of a codeword, wherein the likelihood information targets the codeword([0114] The UL cooperation
request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc.);
and a quantum resolution of the likelihood information([0124] The request message 22 may
thus comprise the quantization parameter relating to the requested information, e.g. quantization depth (qDepth) or quantization type (qType), as determined by the serving access node 100-1.);
and control transmission of the third information to the second communication device ([0114] Sending a UL cooperation request message (req) 22 to the supporting access node 100-2.).\
Regarding claim 8, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit, to the second communication device, each of the first information and the second information by wireless communication ([0041] [0114] The BSs 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 may cooperatively communicate with the terminal 200 by transmitting, i.e. sending or receiving, a signal 10 on different communication paths, i.e. a first communication path. Sending a UL cooperation request message (req) 22 to the supporting access node 100-2.).
Regarding claim 9, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the first communication device and the second communication device are access points, and the each of the plurality of communication devices is a communication terminal ([0040] The mobile communication
network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal
200.).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hoymann
et al, US 20120134429 A1., in view of Shen et al, US 20090135965 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sartori et al, US 20100110967 A1
Regarding claim 6, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the control unit circuitry is further configured to:
control generation of third information, wherein the third information includes([0114] The UL
cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc.):
wherein the set of communication devices is associated with the joint reception process in the joint operation([0095] [0117] The serving access node and the terminal and a path gain of the communication path between the supporting access node and the terminal. A number of cooperating nodes, a number of cooperating access nodes. The serving access node 100-1 make a request for support from the supporting access node 100-2 with respect to the particular UE 200, by sending a UL cooperation request message (req) 22 to the supporting access node 100-2.),
information indicating a number of a set of communication devices([0046] It is to be understood that an arbitrary number of BSs could participate in the cooperative signal communication. For example, there could be only one supporting BS or there could be two, three, four or more supporting BSs. Further, the BSs 100-1, 100-2, 100-3, and the terminal may operate in a cooperative mode, in which the signal 10 is cooperatively communicated on the communication path between the terminal 200 and the serving BS 100-1 and on at least one further communication path between the terminal 200 and respective supporting BSs 100-2, 100-3, or in non-cooperative mode, in which the signal 10 is communicated between the terminal 200 and only the serving BS 100-1.),
and the set of communication devices includes the second communication device([0040][0114] [0115] Fig. 10 The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200. The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.);
each of the set of communication devices is different from the each of the plurality of communication devices([0031] [0040] [0117] Fig. 10 The mobile communication network environment
comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200. The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.),
and information indicating a frequency resource of the plurality of communication devices, wherein the plurality of communication devices is associated with the reception process in the joint operation([0114] [0117] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.);
and control transmission of the third information to the plurality of communication devices([0115] The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.).
Hoymann and Shen does not disclose information indicating a link quality with the second communication device;
However, Satori does disclose information indicating a link quality with the second communication device([0048] If a link is bad, only one LLR quality information value (such as the average LLR value) can be sent. If the link quality is good, the LLRs can be binned, and the average LLR
value per bin is sent. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann with information indicating a link quality
with the second communication device as taught by Satori. The motivation for doing so would be to
reduce feedback scheme to send soft information from the relay to the destination. (Satori, [0016]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hoymann et al, US
20120134429 A1., in view of Shen et al, US 20090135965 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Matsumoto et al, US 20110182236 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the second communication device transmits, to the first communication device, an execution request that is associated with the reception process in the joint operation,
the circuitry is further configured to:receive the execution request from the second communication device ([0115] Depending on the requested type of information relating to the Rx signal,
the supporting access node 100-2 might need to process the Rx signal 10-2 as received from the UE 200, as indicated by per-BS processing step 130-2.);
control, based on the received execution request, generation of third information, wherein the third information includes: information indicating a possibility of the joint reception process in the joint operation ([0115] Fig. 10 On the indicated RBs, the supporting access node 100-2 receives the Rx signal 10-2 from the UE 200, as indicated in reception step 120-2. Depending on the requested type of information relating to the Rx signal, the supporting access node 100-2 might need to process the Rx signal 10-2 as received from the UE 200, as indicated by per-BS processing step 130-2.);
information indicating at least one of the plurality of communication devices that is associated with the reception process in the joint operation([0114] The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The serving access node 100-1 make a request for support from the supporting access node 100-2 with respect to the particular UE 200, by sending a UL
cooperation request message (req) 22 to the supporting access node 100-2.);
and information indicating a frequency resource allocated to the plurality of communication devices ([0114] The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for
communication.);
and control transmission of the third information to the second communication device ([0114] [0115] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.).
Hoymann and Shen do not disclose does not discloses information indicating a request scheme that is associated with a calculation scheme of a log-likelihood ratio, wherein the calculation scheme is associated with the second communication device;
However, Matsumoto does disclose information indicating a request scheme that is associated with a calculation scheme of a log-likelihood ratio, wherein the calculation scheme is associated with the second communication device([0072] When the log-likelihood ratio controller 20 receives a signal
which indicates that an error has been detected from the error detectors 161 to 16S, the log-likelihood ratio controller 20 sends via the backhaul lines 5 log-likelihood ratio request information
for requesting the log-likelihood ratios as the decoding results of the relevant terminal devices 300
assigned to the decoding processors 151 to 15T) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann and Shen with information indicating a request scheme that is associated with a calculation scheme of a log-likelihood ratio, wherein the calculation scheme is associated with the second communication device as taught by Matsumoto. The motivation for doing so would be to improving the efficiency of frequency usage has been actively performed. (Matsumoto, [0005])
Claims 10,12,13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as
Hoymann et al, US 20120134429 A1., in view of Sartori et al, US 20100110967 A1.,
in view of Matsumoto et al, US 20110182236 A1, and in further view of Shen et al, US 20090135965 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Hoymann discloses a first communication device, comprising: circuitry configured to receive, from a second communication device, first information and second information ([0041] [0114] The BSs 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 may cooperatively communicate with the terminal 200 by transmitting, i.e. sending or receiving, a signal 10 on different communication paths, i.e. a first communication path. Sending a UL cooperation request message (req) 22 to the supporting access node 100-2.),
wherein the first information indicates likelihood information of a reception signal([0114] The
UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc.),
and the circuitry further configured to:perform a reception process in a joint operation, with the second communication device, on the reception signal ([0117] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.),
control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, generation of third information, wherein the third information includes ([0114] The serving access node 100-1 make a request for support from the supporting access node 100-2 with respect to the particular UE 200. The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required.):
and each of the plurality of communication devices is different from the first communication device and the second communication device([0079] the quantizer 104 occurs via an interface between the different devices, e.g. via an interface between the access node 100-1, 100-1' and the access node 100-2, 100-2', or via an interface between the central node 300 and the serving access node 100-1' or the supporting access node 100-2'.);
wherein a plurality of communication devices transmits the reception signal([0040][0114] [0115] Fig. 10 The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200. The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.),
fourth information indicating a request for the reception process in the joint operation, wherein the fourth information is associated with the second communication device([0114] The serving access node 100-1 make a request for support from the supporting access node 100-2 with respect to the particular UE 200. The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required.);
Hoymann does not disclose fifth information indicating a notification request for the information amount of the first information;
However, Satori does disclose fifth information indicating a notification request for the information amount of the first information ([0052] The BW request, a single metric indicating the
quality, or reliability, of the received soft information is indicated. A reliability metric can be the average magnitude of the channel bit LLRs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann with fifth information indicating a notification request for the information amount of the first information as taught by Satori. The
motivation for doing so would be to reduce feedback scheme to send soft information from the relay to the destination. (Satori, [0016]);
Hoymann and Satori do not disclose an sixth information indicating a request scheme that is associated with a calculation scheme of a log-likelihood ratio, wherein the calculation scheme is associated with the second communication device; and control transmission of the third information to the second communication device.
However, Matsumoto does disclose an sixth information indicating a request scheme that is associated with a calculation scheme of a log-likelihood ratio ([0072] When the log-likelihood ratio
controller 20 receives a signal which indicates that an error has been detected from the error detectors 161 to 16S, the log-likelihood ratio controller 20 sends via the backhaul lines 5 loglikelihood ratio request information for requesting the log-likelihood ratios as the decoding results of the relevant terminal devices 300 assigned to the decoding processors 151 to 15T.),
wherein the calculation scheme is associated with the second communication device; and control transmission of the third information to the second communication device ([0072] The log-likelihood ratio request information includes the terminal ID of each terminal device 300 of the other cells, which is assigned to the decoding processors 151 to 15T.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann and Satori with and sixth information indicating a request scheme that is associated with a calculation scheme of a log-likelihood ratio, wherein the calculation scheme is associated with the second communication device, and transmitting control the communication unit to transmit the third information to the second communication device as taught by Matsumoto. The motivation for doing so would be to improving the efficiency of frequency usage has been actively performed. (Matsumoto, [0005]).
Hoymann, Satori, and Matsumoto do not disclose wherein the information amount of the first information corresponds to a buffer size; and the second information indicates an upper limit value of the buffer size.
However, Shen does disclose wherein the information amount of the first information corresponds to a buffer size([0088] Suppose the limited or reduced sized soft buffer 1040 of a receiving communication device (e.g., UE) is sufficiently large to store N.sub.1 soft information values (e.g., N.sub.1 LLRs).The examiner interprets as the “N.sub.1 LLRs” upper limit value);
and the second information indicates an upper limit value of the buffer size([0088] Suppose the limited or reduced sized soft buffer 1040 of a receiving communication device (e.g., UE) is sufficiently large to store N.sub.1 soft information values (e.g., N.sub.1 LLRs).The examiner interprets as the “N.sub.1 LLRs” upper limit value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann, Satori, and Matsumoto with control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, storage of an information amount of the first information in a memory of the first communication device, wherein the information amount of the first information corresponds to a buffer size; control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, generation of second information that indicates an upper limit value of the buffer size; and control, based on the reception process in the joint operation, transmission of each of the first information and the second information to the second communication device as taught by Shen. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce in the size of the transmissions sent from the sending communication device. (Shen, [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein circuitry is further configured to: control generation of seventh information, wherein the seventh information includes: information indicating a number of a set of communication devices associated with the joint reception process in the joint operation([0095] [0115] The serving access node and the terminal and a path gain of the communication path between the supporting access node and the terminal. A number of cooperating nodes, a number of cooperating access nodes. On the indicated RBs, the supporting access node 100-2 receives the Rx signal 10-2 from the UE 200, as indicated in reception step 120-2. Depending on the requested type of information relating to the Rx signal, the supporting access node 100-2 might need to process the Rx signal 10-2 as received from the UE 200, as indicated by per-BS processing step 130-2. ),
and information indicating a frequency resource of the plurality of communication devices that is associated with the joint reception process in the joint operation ([0114] [0117] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.);
wherein the set of communication devices includes the second communication device ([0040][0114] [0115] Fig. 10 The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200. The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.);
and control transmission of the seventh information to the second communication device ([0114] [0115] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.).
Hoymann does not disclose information indicating a link quality with the second communication device;
However, Satori does disclose information indicating a link quality with the second communication device ([0048] If a link is bad, only one LLR quality information value (such as the
average LLR value) can be sent. If the link quality is good, the LLRs can be binned, and the average LLR value per bin is sent. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann with information indicating a link quality
with the second communication device as taught by Satori. The motivation for doing so would be to
reduce feedback scheme to send soft information from the relay to the destination. (Satori, [0016]).
Regarding claim 13, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit, to the second communication device, the third information by wireless communication ([0041] The BSs 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 may cooperatively communicate with the terminal 200 by transmitting, i.e. sending or receiving, a signal 10 on different communication paths, i.e. a first communication path.).
Regarding claim 14, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the first communication device and the second communication device are access points, and each of the plurality of communication devices is a communication terminal ([0040] The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hoymann et al, US 20120134429 A1., in view of Shen et al, US 20090135965 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Scholand et al, US 20170170991 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
control generation of third information, wherein the third information includes ([0114] [0115] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.):
information indicating a possibility of the joint reception process in the joint operation ([0115] Fig. 10 On the indicated RBs, the supporting access node 100-2 receives the Rx signal 10-2 from the UE 200, as indicated in reception step 120-2. Depending on the requested type of information relating to the Rx signal, the supporting access node 100-2 might need to process the Rx signal 10-2 as received from the UE 200, as indicated by per-BS processing step 130-2.);
and control transmission of the third information to each of the second communication device and the plurality of communication devices ([0040][0115] The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.).
Hoymann and Shen do not disclose and information indicating a calculation algorithm that is associated with the likelihood information;
However, Scholand does disclose and information indicating a calculation algorithm that is associated with the likelihood information([0046] The use of true LLRs gives a generalized definition
independent from the equalizer algorithm.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann and Shen with and information indicating a calculation algorithm that is associated with the likelihood information as taught by Scholand. The motivation for doing so would be to increase to compensate for larger equalization latency of the equalizer for cell 2. (Scholand, [0060]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hoymann et al, US
20120134429 A1., in view of Sartori et al, US 20100110967 A1, in view of Matsumoto et al, US 20110182236 A1, in view of Shen et al, US 20090135965 A1 as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Scholand et al, US 20170170991 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Hoymann discloses the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
control generation of seventh information, wherein the seventh information includes ([0114] [0115] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.):
information indicating a possibility of the reception process in the joint operation ([0115] Fig. 10 On the indicated RBs, the supporting access node 100-2 receives the Rx signal 10-2 from the UE 200, as indicated in reception step 120-2. Depending on the requested type of information relating to the Rx signal, the supporting access node 100-2 might need to process the Rx signal 10-2 as received from the UE 200,as indicated by per-BS processing step 130-2.);
and control transmission of the seventh information to each of the second communication device and the plurality of communication devices([0040][0115] The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.).
Hoymann, Satoria, Miyata, Ho, Matsumoto, and Yoshimura do not disclose and information indicating a calculation algorithm for the likelihood information;
However, Scholand does disclose and information indicating a calculation algorithm for the likelihood information ([0046] The use of true LLRs gives a generalized definition independent from the equalizer algorithm.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann, Satoria, Miyata, Ho, Matsumoto, and Yoshimura with and information indicating a calculation algorithm for the likelihood information as taught by Scholand. The motivation for doing so would be to increase to compensate for larger equalization latency of the equalizer for cell 2. (Scholand, [0060]).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hoymann et al,
US 20120134429 A1., in view of Shen et al, US 20090135965 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kim et al, US 20070110191 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Hoymann and Shen do not disclose the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to: control the generation of fourth information indicating a normalization coefficient, wherein the first information includes the normalization coefficient, and control transmission of the fourth information to the second communication device.
However, Kim does disclose the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to: control the generation of fourth information indicating a normalization coefficient ([0103] The computed norm_index value is transformed into a normalization gain value multiplied by the normalization coefficient as shown in Table 4.),
wherein the first information includes the normalization coefficient([0103] The normalization coefficients of Table 4 can be divided into more precise steps and can use multiple adders, only if more precise adjustment is possible and the number of LLR bits is to be reduced.),
and control transmission of the fourth information to the second communication device ([0093] Demapper transmits to An LLR normalizer 875 receives and normalizes a predefined noise variance value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann and Shen with the first communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to: control the generation of fourth information indicating a normalization coefficient, wherein the first information includes the normalization coefficient, and control transmission of the fourth information to the second communication device as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be to improve decoding performance with a small number of bits by normalizing metric used as an input of a channel decoder in a wireless communication system. (Kim, [0012])
Regarding claim 5, Hoymann does disclose the first communication device wherein the plurality of communication devices transmits, to the second communication device, a notification request that is associated with the likelihood information of the reception signal([0114] The UL
cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10- 2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc.),
the first request is associated with a range of the likelihood information for the each of the plurality of communication devices([0114] The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g., indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc.);
at least one of the plurality of communication devices transmits the reception signal([0043]
For cooperative reception of the signal 10, the BSs 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 exchange information concerning individual Rx signals from the terminal 200, e.g. the supporting BS 100-2 may communicate information relating to the Rx signal from the terminal 200 to the serving BS 100-1, and the supporting BS 100-3 may communicate information relating to the Rx signal from the terminal 200 to the serving BS 100-1.),
the circuitry is further configured to receive a first request and a second request([0114] [0115] The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g., indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.),
the second request is associated with a value of resolution of the likelihood information ([0114] [0115] The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g., indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data (soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.),
and the circuitry is further configured to:control, at a time after completion of the reception process in the joint operation, generation of third information including, wherein the third information includes:information indicating the notification request([0115] Fig. 10 On the indicated RBs, the supporting access node 100-2 receives the Rx signal 10-2 from the UE 200, as indicated in reception step 120-2. Depending on the requested type of information relating to the Rx signal, the supporting access node 100-2 might need to process the Rx signal 10-2 as received from the UE 200,as indicated by per-BS processing step 130-2.);
and control transmission of the third information to the second communication device([0115] The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.).
Hoymann and Shen do not disclose information indicating the range of the likelihood information; and information indicating the value of the resolution of the likelihood information;
However, Kim does disclose information indicating the range of the likelihood information ([0060] that normalization is performed after a soft output is generated and a quantized LLR has a proper range and resolution.);
and information indicating the value of the resolution of the likelihood information([0060]
that normalization is performed after a soft output is generated and a quantized LLR has a proper range and resolution.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann and Shen with information indicating the range of the likelihood information; and information indicating the value of the resolution of the likelihood information as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be to improve decoding performance with a small number of bits by normalizing metric used as an input of a channel decoder in a wireless communication system. (Kim, [0012]).
Claims 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hoymann et al, US 20120134429 A1., in view of Kim et al, US 20220131641 A1, in view of Miyata et al, US 20140274197 A1, and in further view of Shi et al, US 20170257204 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Hoymann does disclose a communication device, comprising: fourth information that indicates a frequency resource of each of the plurality of communication devices ([0114] [0117] Fig. 10 The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.);
Hoymann does not disclose control generation of second information, wherein the second information includes; third information that indicates:a number of the plurality of communication devices associated with the joint reception process in the joint operation; and a target of the signal, as a destination, in the plurality of communication devices; and control transmission of each of the first information and the second information to the plurality of communication devices.
However, Kim does disclose: control generation of second information, wherein the second information includes third information that indicates([0132] FIG. 13 A user identifier field 1310 of FIG. 13 indicates an identifier of a STA (i.e., receiving STA) corresponding to per user information.):
a number of the plurality of communication devices associated with the joint reception process in the joint operation([0105] Specifically, up to 8 STAs (e.g., user-STAs) may be allocated to the 106-RU, and the number of STAs (e.g., user-STAs) allocated to the 106-RU is determined based on 3-bit information (y2y1y0).);
and a target of the signal, as a destination, in the plurality of communication devices ([0107] FIG. 8 The user-specific field 830 may include a plurality of user fields. As described above, the number of STAs (e.g., user STAs) allocated to a specific channel may be determined based on the RU
allocation information of the common field 820.);
and the communication device is different from each of the plurality of communication devices([0079] the quantizer 104 occurs via an interface between the different devices, e.g. via an interface between the access node 100-1, 100-1' and the access node 100-2, 100-2', or via an interface between the central node 300 and the serving access node 100-1' or the supporting access node 100-2'.);
and control transmission of each of the first information and the second information to the plurality of communication devices([0121] FIG. 11 In addition, per user information
fields 1160 #1 to 1160 #N corresponding to the number of receiving STAs which receive the trigger frame of FIG. 11 are preferably included. The per user information field may also be called an "allocation field".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann with control the communication unit to
qenerate second information, wherein the second information includes third information that
indicates; a number of the plurality of communication devices associated with the joint reception
process and, a target of the transmission signal, as a destination, in the plurality of communication
devices; and control the communication unit to transmit each of the first information and the second
information to the plurality of communication devices as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so
would be to improve in a conventional wireless LAN (WLAN) or can be utilized in a new communication standard. (Kim, [0004]).
Hoymann and Kim do not disclose control generation of first information indicating the transmission of the joint reception request to the plurality of communication devices; circuitry configured to:transmit a joint reception request to a plurality of communication devices;
control transmission of a signal to the plurality of communication devices, wherein the plurality of communication devices is associated with a reception process in a joint operation,
However, Miyata does disclose control generation of first information indicating the transmission of the joint reception request to the plurality of communication devices ([0011] the
control unit requests the coordinated multipoint transmission/reception processing to the host-side
communication device, and in addition, transmits information to the host-side communication device,the information being necessary to decide other communication device cooperating with each of the plurality of communication devices for the coordinated multipoint transmission/reception processing.);
circuitry configured to:transmit a joint reception request to a plurality of communication devices ([0011] the control unit requests the coordinated multipoint transmission/reception processing
to the host-side communication device, and in addition, transmits information to the host-side
communication device, the information being necessary to decide other communication device
cooperating with each of the plurality of communication devices for the coordinated multipoint
transmission/reception processing.);
control transmission of a signal to the plurality of communication devices([0011] The control unit requests the coordinated multipoint transmission/reception processing to the host-side communication device, and in addition, transmits information to the host-side communication device, the information being necessary to decide other communication device cooperating with each of the plurality of communication devices for the coordinated multipoint transmission/reception processing.),
wherein the plurality of communication devices is associated with a reception process in a joint operation([0011] The information being necessary to decide other communication device cooperating with each of the plurality of communication devices for the coordinated multipoint
transmission/reception processing.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann and Kim with control the communication
unit to qenerate first information indicating the transmission of the joint reception request to the
plurality of communication devices; a communication unit confiqured to transmit a joint reception
request to a plurality of communication devices; a control unit configured to; control the
communication unit to transmit a transmission signal to, the plurality of communication devices,
wherein the plurality of communication devices are associated with a joint reception process as
taught by Miyata. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the trade-off relationship between
the rapidity and the communication quality. (Miyata, [0010]).
Hoymann and Miyata do not disclose and fifth information that indicates a coding scheme associated with the frequency resource of the each of the plurality of communication devices.
However, Shi does disclose and fifth information that indicates a coding scheme associated with the frequency resource of the each of the plurality of communication devices([0116] In the communications system 100 using a method and an apparatus for determining a Modulation and Coding scheme according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a plurality of terminal devices reuses a same time-frequency resource in a same time period to perform data transmission with the network device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoymann, Kim, and Miyata with and fifth information that indicates a coding scheme associated with the frequency resource of the each of the plurality of communication devices as taught by Ho. The motivation for doing so would be to improve signal to interference plus noise ratios (Shi, [0114]).
Regarding claim 17, Hoymann discloses the communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
individually allocate codeword information to the frequency resource of the each of the plurality of communication devices ([0114] Fig. 10 The UL cooperation request 22 message can e.g. indicate which type of information relating to the Rx signal 10-2 is required, e.g., IQ samples, demodulated coded data(soft bits) such as LLRs, decoded user data (hard bits), etc. The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication.),
wherein the each of the plurality of communication devices is associated with the joint reception process in the joint operation ([0040] [0115] [0117] The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200. The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The serving access node 100-1 can jointly process the Rx signals received by itself and by the supporting access node 100-2. This is accomplished in a joint processing step 130.);
and control, transmission of the codeword information to the plurality of communication devices ([0114] The serving access node 100-1 controls the UE 200 and allocates resources for communication. The serving access node 100-1 make a request for support from the supporting access node 100-2 with respect to the particular UE 200, by sending a UL cooperation request message (req) 22 to the supporting access node 100-2.).
Regarding claim 18, Hoymann discloses the communication device wherein the circuitry is further configured to:control generation of sixth information indicating a possibility of the joint reception process in the joint operation ([0115] Fig. 10 On the indicated RBs, the supporting access node 100-2 receives the Rx signal 10-2 from the UE 200, as indicated in reception step 120-2. Depending on the requested type of information relating to the Rx signal, the supporting access node 100-2 might need to process the Rx signal 10-2 as received from the UE 200, as indicated by per-BS processing step 130-2. );
and control transmission of the sixth information to the plurality of communication devices ([0115] The Rx signal 10-1 from the UE 200 is transmitted to the serving access node 100-1. The supporting access node 100-2 responds by sending a response message (rsp) 24 with the requested information.).
Regarding claim 19, Hoymann discloses the communication device wherein the communication unit circuitry is further configured to transmit, to the plurality of communication devices, each of the first information and the second information by wireless communication([0041] The BSs 100-1, 100-2, 100- 3 may cooperatively communicate with the terminal 200 by transmitting, i.e. sending or receiving, a signal 10 on different communication paths, i.e. a first communication path).
Regarding claim 20, Hoymann discloses the communication device wherein the each of the plurality of communication devices is an access point, and the communication device is a communication terminal ([0040] The mobile communication network environment comprises a plurality of access nodes 100-1, 100-2, 100-3 and a mobile terminal 200.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419