DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/04/25 has been entered. Claims 1 and 6-9 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are addressed in the following office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/04/25 and 01/01/26 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-final Office action on 10/30/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 5, “stands stands” should be “stands”.
In claim 9, line 1, “design method” should be “method”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2018/0200047).
Regarding claim 1, an invention relating to IOL injector, Wu discloses (Figs. 1-2 & 34-35) an intraocular lens injector (10) that advances an intraocular lens (70) including an optical portion (460) with an optical function and support portions (450) that extend from the optical portion (Par. 0043, 0067, 0083, 0117) [Note, the intraocular lens is not positively recited, hence it is not considered part of the claimed invention and will be treated as functional language], the intraocular lens injector comprising: a tube (60), through which the intraocular lens advances in an advancement direction (330), including a lens installation portion (80), an inner wall having an upper side (1010, 1012, 1022) with left and right corners [i.e. space occupied by elements 1044 and 1046], a lower side (1038), and a location (DD) where the optical portion is located when the intraocular lens begins to valley fold towards the lower side as it advances in the advancement direction (Par. 0118 & 0130), a nozzle (120) through which the intraocular lens is emitted (Par. 0046 & 0140), and protrusions (1044 & 1046) that are located at both left and right corners at the upper side of the inner wall of the tube (Par. 0130), in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the advancement direction of the intraocular lens, a portion of each protrusion being located at the location where the optical portion is located when the intraocular lens begins to valley fold such that the protrusions prevent the optical portion and the support portions from entering both the left and right corners of the upper side of the inner wall of the tube when the intraocular lens is valley folded while advancing (Par. 0118 & 0130).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 1. Wu further discloses (Fig. 35) wherein due to the protrusions, a space (1016) is formed between both the left and right corners, having a width in which the folded support portions can be accommodated (Par. 0119 & 0122).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 1. Wu further discloses wherein the protrusions protrude inward horizontally and also protrude downward (Par. 0130).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 1. Wu further discloses wherein the protrusions exist on the inner wall within any of a range of 0 to 20 degrees of an inclination angle from a horizontal line passing through a midpoint of up, down, left and right of a cross-sectional shape of the inner wall of the tube (Par. 0120).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 4. Wu further discloses wherein a minimum value of the inclination angle in the part where the protrusions exist is in a range of 0 to 15 degrees (Par. 0120).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 1. Wu discloses (Fig. 35) further comprising: a tucking pin (1040 & 1042) that bends a front support portion in contact with the front support portion, the front support portion being one of the support portions and arranged in front, wherein the tucking pin stands upward and a surface of the tucking pin that comes into contact with the front support portion is a slope that slants upwards toward the front (Par. 0080, 0083, 0087-0088, 0131).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 1. Wu discloses (Fig. 17) further comprising: an intraocular lens (70), installed in the lens installation portion, including an optical portion (460) defining a front end (see annotated figure below), a front support portion (450) defining a front end (452), and a rear support portion (450, see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 9, an invention relating to IOL injectors, Wu discloses (Figs. 1-2 & 34-35) a design method of an intraocular lens injector (10) that advances an intraocular lens (70), the intraocular lens including an optical portion (460) with an optical function and defining a front end and a front support portion (450) that extends from the optical portion and defines a front end (452; see annotated figure below), from a lens installing portion (80) through a tube (60) while folding the lens beginning at a location (DD) between the front end of the optical portion and the front end of the front support portion, and emits the lens from a nozzle (Par. 0043, 0046, 0067, 0083, 0140, 0117) the method comprising: providing protrusions (1044 & 1046) at both left and right corners [i.e. space occupied by elements 1044 and 1046] at an upper side (1010, 1012, 1022) of an inner wall of the tube, in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to an advancement direction (330) of the intraocular lens, with a portion of each protrusion at the location where the intraocular lens begins to valley fold so that the protrusions prevent the optical portion and the support portions from entering both of the left and right corners when the intraocular lens is valley folded while advancing (Par. 0060, 0118, 0130).
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 2. Wu further discloses wherein the protrusions protrude inward horizontally and also protrude downward (Par. 0130).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 2. Wu further discloses wherein the protrusions exist on the inner wall within any of a range of 0 to 20 degrees of an inclination angle from a horizontal line passing through a midpoint of up, down, left and right of a cross-sectional shape of the inner wall of the tube (Par. 0120).
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 3. Wu further discloses wherein the protrusions exist on the inner wall within any of a range of 0 to 20 degrees of an inclination angle from a horizontal line passing through a midpoint of up, down, left and right of a cross-sectional shape of the inner wall of the tube (Par. 0120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2018/0200047) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Argal et al. (US 2014/0222013).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 4. Wu further discloses wherein the inner wall has a convex shape in the cross-sectional shape at the protrusions (Fig. 35). However, Wu fails to disclose wherein the inner wall has a shape that changes from a concave shape of both left and right corners to the convex shape in the cross-sectional shape at the protrusions.
In the same field of endeavor, which is IOL injectors, Argal teaches (Figs. 2A-D & 5A-D) wherein an inner wall [i.e. passageway walls] has a shape that changes, wherein the first shape is a concave shape of both left and right corners (Par. 0137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to have wherein the inner wall has a shape that changes from a concave shape of both left and right corners to the convex shape in the cross-sectional shape at the protrusions. Doing so would ensure proper holding of an IOL with minimal contact of the lens body with an inner surface of the cartridge, to avoid any structural damage to the lens and/or to the haptics (Par. 0137), as taught by Argal.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2018/0200047) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Argal et al. (US 2014/0222013).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 11. Wu further discloses wherein the protrusions have a convex shape in the cross-sectional shape of the inner wall (Fig. 35). Wu fails to disclose wherein the protrusions have a shape that changes a concave shape of both left and right corners to the convex shape in the cross-sectional shape of the inner wall.
In the same field of endeavor, which is IOL injectors, Argal teaches (Figs. 2A-D & 5A-D) wherein the protrusions have a shape that changes, wherein the first shape is a concave shape of both left and right corners (Par. 0137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to have wherein the protrusions have a shape that changes a concave shape of both left and right corners to the convex shape in the cross-sectional shape of the inner wall. Doing so would ensure proper holding of an IOL with minimal contact of the lens body with an inner surface of the cartridge, to avoid any structural damage to the lens and/or to the haptics (Par. 0137), as taught by Argal.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2018/0200047) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Argal et al. (US 2014/0222013).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses the intraocular lens injector according to claim 13. Wu further discloses wherein the protrusions have a convex shape in the cross-sectional shape of the inner wall (Fig. 35). Wu fails to disclose wherein the protrusions have a shape that changes a concave shape of both left and right corners to the convex shape in the cross-sectional shape of the inner wall.
In the same field of endeavor, which is IOL injectors, Argal teaches (Figs. 2A-D & 5A-D) wherein the protrusions have a shape that changes, wherein the first shape is a concave shape of both left and right corners (Par. 0137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to have wherein the protrusions have a shape that changes a concave shape of both left and right corners to the convex shape in the cross-sectional shape of the inner wall. Doing so would ensure proper holding of an IOL with minimal contact of the lens body with an inner surface of the cartridge, to avoid any structural damage to the lens and/or to the haptics (Par. 0137), as taught by Argal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 12/04/25, with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection and 35 USC § 112 rejection of said claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remaining arguments, see pages 7-9, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 USC § 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.U.I/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 January 26, 2026