DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“membrane changing machine” which reads on a mobile frame comprising rolling wheels and baffle discs (see paragraphs [0059]-[0069] of the printed publication) and known functional equivalents
“pile turning machine” which reads on a tractor having rotating blades and a bucket (see paragraphs [0071]-[0079] of the printed publication) and known functional equivalents
“condensate collecting system” which reads on a trough and conveying channels (see paragraphs [0082]-[0085] of the printed publication) and known functional equivalents
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 9 and 16, it is unclear if the limitation “a semipermeable membrane” in line 12 of claim 9 refers back to the “semipermeable membrane” first recited in independent claim 1. It is unclear if the membrane of claim 9 is the same or different than the membrane of claim 1, and therefore it is unclear how many membranes are required and where they are positioned relative to each other.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing buckles" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing holes" in lines 13 and 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing buckles" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing holes" in lines 12 and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing buckles" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing holes" in lines 12 and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing buckles" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing holes" in lines 12 and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing buckles" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing holes" in lines 12 and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing buckles" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the membrane fixing holes" in lines 12 and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 20120064562) in view of Yan (CN 111675558)1 and Yang (CN 209456333)2.
With respect to claim 1, Allen discloses a continuous membrane-covered aerobic fermentation system comprising a fermentation trough (Figure 2:12) that is formed by a trough bottom, underground walls and above ground walls. The above ground walls are fixedly arranged on tops of respective underground walls, such that inner surfaces of the above ground walls are flush with inner surfaces of the underground walls. This is shown in Fig. 2. The fermentation trough is covered by a semipermeable membrane (Figure 2:14). Allen shows that a pile turning machine (Figure 4:64) is configured for direct turning and mixing of materials under the membrane without uncovering the membrane. The pile turning machine is configured to gradually shift and convey materials to different fixed positions. This is described in paragraphs [0036], [0043] and [0044]. Allen, however, does not appear to teach that the membrane cover is manipulated by a membrane changing machine.
Yan discloses a continuous membrane-covered aerobic fermentation system comprising a fermentation trough (Figure 1:1) comprising a rail (Figure 1:11) positioned directly above a wall section. Accordingly, the rail 11 is considered to be an “above wall” positioned over a “bottom wall”. A membrane changing machine (Figure 1:3) comprising a reciprocating device (Figure 1:31) is configured to move back and forth on the rail to lay down a covering membrane and perform a membrane uncovering operation.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Allen system with a membrane changing machine. Yan teaches that manual operations for covering and uncovering an aerobic fermentation trough are time consuming and costly, and that it is instead useful to cover the trough using an automated means (“the membrane covering aerobic composting fermentation mostly adopts manual coating method, which wastes time and labour, mechanization, low automation degree, and has a certain danger”). Yan states that the disclosed machine for covering and uncovering the trough “is featured with simple operation, labour saving, high automation degree, wide application range, low investment and operation cost”.
As for the limitation “each above-ground wall of trough is thinner than corresponding underground wall of trough”, it is noted that the rail 11 of Yan is depicted as being thinner than the bottom wall it is disposed over. Furthermore, it is well established that mere changes in shape and size (here, the thickness of the above-ground wall relative to a corresponding underground wall) that do not affect device functionality, or do so in a highly predictable manner, are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 “Changes in Shape”.
Allen and Yan still differ from Applicant’s claimed invention because Allen does not appear to teach a condensate collecting system.
Yang discloses a continuous membrane-covered aerobic fermentation system comprising a fermentation trough (Figure 1:1) covered by a semipermeable membrane (Figure 1:3). A condensate collecting system comprising a guide rail (Figure 1:5) and drainage groove (Figure 1:4). The condensate collecting system is configured to continuously collect condensate on an inner surface of the semipermeable membrane.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Allen system with a condensate collecting system. Yang teaches that this would provide the effect of “reducing the water content of the compost fermentation, and ensur[ing] the production efficiency and quality of the compost”. Yang describes how continuous moisture removal in real time is necessary in covered aerobic systems due to the high temperatures and humidity generated during fermentation.
With respect to claim 2, Allen, Yan and Yang disclose the combination as described above. Yan further shows that a feeding area (Figure 2:12) is in communication with a fermentation area within the fermentation trough. Allen requires that the pile turning machine 64 operate within the fermentation area of the fermentation trough, and so it would have been obvious to ensure that the Allen trough includes an inlet and outlet that allow the pile turning machine to enter and exit the fermentation area. See Figs. 4 and 15.
With respect to claim 3, Allen, Yan and Yang disclose the combination as described above. Allen further teaches that a sectional ventilation device comprising an underground ventilation chamber (Figure 2:18) is provided in the fermentation area. Fans (Figure 1:42) deliver air to ducts located in the middle of the trough. It would have been obvious to group and organize fans and ducts as necessary, including in two or more groups. A mere duplication of parts (here, the number and grouping of fans and ventilation means) that produces a cumulative, minimal or otherwise predictable effect is considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”.
With respect to claim 9, Allen, Yan and Yang disclose the combination as described above. Yang further shows that the condensate collecting system includes a U-shaped diversion part having a bearing part at a bottom in order to form a gentle slope structure (Figure 3:52) to collect condensate from the semipermeable membrane. Connection means such as fixing buckles and fixing holes are considered to be well known in the art (see the guide wheel 21 of Yang). Conveying channels (Figure 3:4) are arranged to direct condensate flowing through the diversion part to a conveying means, such as a faucet.
With respect to claims 10 and 16, Allen, Yan and Yang disclose the combination as described above. Allen teaches a corresponding method of operation in which the fermentation trough is built and materials to be treated are staked in the feeding area. The materials are mixtures of feedstock and may be piled in different layers. See paragraph [0032]. The trough is covered by the membrane and forced aeration is provided using the ventilation device. See paragraph [0040]. The pile turning machine enters the trough to shift materials and form and re-form piles. Materials are added to the feeding area daily to gradually fill the trough, and the pile turning machine moves, piles and discharges the material. In view of Yan and Yang, it would have been obvious to create the walls of the Allen fermentation trough to accommodate the membrane changing machine and the pile turning machine. It would have been obvious to manipulate the membrane using Yan’s membrane changing machine and recover condensate using Yang’s condensate collecting system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not appear to teach the specific structures of the membrane changing machine, pile turning machine and condensate collecting system required by claims 4-8 and 11-15. Although many of the specific elements are individually known, there is no teaching or suggestion to arrange and order them to arrive at the claimed combinations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Berasi (US 20140113361) and Choi (US 20150299632) references teach the state of the art regarding fermentation systems.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799
1 See provided English translation
2 See provided English translation