DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the anchoring means including a detachable adapter element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Examiner notes that the only anchoring means shown in the drawings are in the prior art figures. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 18, line 6, “mowing” appears to be a misspelling of “moving”.
Page 20, line 23, one instance of “not” should be deleted to remove the double negative description.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “charging station” should be inserted before “mounting device” in line 2 for the purpose of consistency with line 1 and the depending claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear which elements are meant by “them” in line 3 because a plurality of different elements are previously recited. For purposes of examination, the examiner interprets “them” to mean “the first main part and the second main part”. Examiner notes that this interpretation is consistent with claim 14. Claim 14 is rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 and 12-18 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burke (US 2014/0117018).
Regarding claim 1, Burke discloses a charging station mounting device (e.g. 10, Fig. 1), the charging station being arranged to charge a vehicle, the mounting device comprising: a foundation member configured to be installed below ground level (e.g. 12/14, Fig. 1, paragraph 0028); and anchoring means by which a charging station is mountable to the foundation member, the anchoring means including a detachable adapter element configured to fit the charging station to the foundation member (e.g. 16, Fig. 1, wherein the plate is capable of supporting a mounted charging station); wherein the foundation member includes a first main part and a second main part that are adapted to be assembled together to form the foundation member (e.g. two halves shown in Fig. 1 separated at seam 18, paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 2, Burke further discloses that the foundation member, when assembled, has the general form of a hollow cylinder, each one of the first and the second main parts having the general form of a half cylinder (e.g. Fig. 1, paragraph 0028, wherein the shape is considered “generally” cylindrical based on the rounded corners); and wherein each one of the first and the second main parts comprises a connection flange for securing the first and the second main parts together (e.g. 22, Fig. 1, paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 4, Burke further discloses that each one of the first and the second main parts comprises a plurality of external, axial strengthening ribs (e.g. 26, Fig. 1) and a plurality of external, radial strengthening ribs (e.g. 24, Fig. 1); and each one of the first and the second main parts comprises a plurality of internal, axial strengthening ribs (e.g. 58 and/or 60, Fig. 3) and a plurality of internal, radial strengthening ribs (e.g. 50 and 67, Fig.’s 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 7, Burke further discloses that the first and the second main parts are of the same shape (e.g. Fig. 1, paragraph 0028); and the first and the second main parts are manufactured by molding (e.g. paragraph 0028). Burke does not explicitly disclose that the molding is injection molding, however this is considered a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. Therefore, the injection molded parts are not considered patentable over the molded parts of Burke because the end product is the same.
Regarding claim 12, Burke further discloses an anchoring bar (e.g. 33, Fig. 1A); wherein the foundation member comprises means for holding respective ends of the anchoring bar (e.g. Fig. 1A, paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 13, Burke further discloses that the first main part and the second main part are adapted to hold the respective ends of the anchoring bar between them when assembled (e.g. Fig. 1A, paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 14, Burke further discloses that the first main part and the second main part, when assembled, form bar holders that hold the anchoring bar between the first main part and the second main part (e.g. Fig. 1A, paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 15, Burke further discloses that at least one of the first main part and the second main part comprises a support interface (e.g. 58, Fig. 3) for protection unit receivers that are adapted to hold a protection unit (e.g. 60, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Burke further discloses that the foundation member comprises: a base (e.g. 68, Fig. 5); a rim having an upper surface that forms a top edge of the foundation member (e.g. 54, Fig.’s 1 and 5); and a wall on which the strengthening ribs are formed (e.g. 46, Fig. 3, paragraph 0033); wherein the rim is solid and has a greater thickness than the wall (e.g. Fig. 3 wherein the rim thickness is greater than the wall thickness in the horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 17, Burke further discloses that a peripheral top edge portion of the foundation member comprises an annular recess that receives the adapter element (e.g. 50, Fig. 5), and wherein the internal, axial strengthening ribs comprise upper ends that lie flush with the annular recess, such that the internal, axial strengthening ribs provide additional support to the adapter element (e.g. Fig. 5, paragraph 0037 wherein 58 extends to 50).
Regarding claim 18, Burke further discloses that the foundation member comprises a plurality of entry openings or holes for receiving an electric cable and/or cable pipe from a side of the charging station mounting device (e.g. shown but not labeled near the bottom of 10 in Fig.’s 1A and 8).
Claims 1, 2, 6, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heo (WO 2017/078206).
Regarding claim 1, Heo discloses a charging station mounting device (e.g. 1, Fig. 1), the charging station being arranged to charge a vehicle, the mounting device comprising: a foundation member configured to be installed below ground level (e.g. 10, Fig. 1); and anchoring means by which a charging station is mountable to the foundation member, the anchoring means including a detachable adapter element configured to fit the charging station to the foundation member (e.g. 20, wherein 21 is capable of supporting a mounted charging station); wherein the foundation member includes a first main part and a second main part that are adapted to be assembled together to form the foundation member (e.g. two halves of 10 similarly to the exploded view shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Heo further discloses that the foundation member, when assembled, has the general form of a hollow cylinder, each one of the first and the second main parts having the general form of a half cylinder (e.g. Fig. 5); and wherein each one of the first and the second main parts comprises a connection flange for securing the first and the second main parts together (e.g. 120, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Heo further discloses that the foundation member has the form of a hollow cylinder with a base (e.g. hollow cylinder 10 with base 30, Fig. 5), the base having a greater radial dimension than the cylinder, such that the base acts to hinder the charging station mounting device from moving when installed (e.g. Fig. 5); and wherein the base has the form of a polygon (e.g. Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Heo further discloses that at least one of the first main part and the second main part comprises a support interface for protection unit receivers that are adapted to hold a protection unit (e.g. 200, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Heo further discloses that the foundation member comprises a plurality of entry openings or holes for receiving an electric cable and/or cable pipe from a side of the charging station mounting device (e.g. 220, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke (US 2014/0117018) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Paul et al (US 2017/0362840).
Regarding claim 9, Burke discloses the invention substantially as applied above and further discloses that the first and the second main parts are made of plastic material (e.g. paragraph 0029) but Burke does not explicitly disclose that the plastic material comprises polypropylene (PP). Paul teaches a foundation member comprising plastic material comprising polypropylene (PP) (e.g. paragraph 0012). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a plastic material containing polypropylene as taught by Paul for the plastic material of Burke because such is a known material in the art and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Burke and Paul further discloses that the plastic material comprises rubber (e.g. Paul, paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Burke and Paul further discloses that the rubber is a blend of polypropylene (PP) and ethylene propylene diene terpolymer (PP-EPDM) (e.g. Paul, paragraph 0012).
Conclusion
/S.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678