DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 10 June 2026. Claim(s) 1-19 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 1, 2, 9, and 14.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘inflatable element’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “sealing a sealing” to “sealing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the location" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diederich et al. (US 6,746,465, “Diederich”).
Regarding claim 1, Diederich discloses a hemostasis device including a catheter (10; Fig. 1) having a proximal portion, a middle portion and a distal portion. The distal portion having a distal end (Fig. 3). The catheter has a first lumen (30) and a second lumen (38). The first lumen is sealed at the distal end of the catheter. The first and second lumens are not in fluid communication with one another. At least one opening (32, 36) in an outer wall of the catheter between the middle portion and the distal end and into the first lumen. An inflatable element (20) is attached to and in fluid communication with the second lumen through the at least one opening (C8:L20-55). The inflatable element is configured to expand in a radial direction upon insertion of a fluid into the first lumen and the at least one opening to at least partially seal an opening in a blood vessel wall (C8:L20-55).
Regarding claim 3, Diederich discloses that the catheter has an outside wall and the first and second lumens are separated by a septum which is in the form of a wall (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Diederich discloses that the inflatable element is attached along only a portion of a length of the catheter (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Diederich discloses that the inflatable element is configured to expand in a radial direction upon introduction of a fluid into the first lumen (C8:L20-55). The inflatable element is capable of contacting an internal surface of a blood vessel into which it is inserted.
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2018/0325480A1, “Liu”).
Regarding claims 14-17, Liu discloses a hemostasis device including a catheter (300; Fig. 6) having proximal, middle and distal portions. The catheter has a first catheter lumen (310, 320) and a second catheter lumen (318; [0075, 0077]). The first catheter lumen is sealed at a distal end (Fig. 6) of the catheter. The second catheter lumen is centered in the first catheter lumen (Fig. 6), wherein the first catheter lumen is formed by a first tubular member (324) and fourth tubular member (334) that may be formed from a single tubular member through which second lumen (318) is disposed [0079]. At least one opening (332) in the catheter between the middle portion and the distal end and in fluid communication with the first catheter lumen. An inflatable element (306) is attached to and wrapped around the catheter. The inflatable element is in fluid communication with the first catheter lumen through the at least one opening. The inflatable element is capable of expanding radially upon insertion of a fluid into the first catheter lumen and at least one opening causing an outer wall of the inflatable element to contact the interior wall surface of the blood vessel to at least partially seal an opening in the blood vessel while simultaneously allowing blood to flow past the hemostasis device, wherein the blood is capable of flowing past the device when the inflatable element is partially expanded [0075]. The inflatable element is attached along only a portion of a length of the catheter (Fig. 6). The second lumen is capable of receiving a guide wire to guide catheter in a blood vessel (Fig. 6; [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diederich in view of Rusnak et al. (US 2021/0106794A1, “Rusnak”).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Diederich does not disclose that the inflatable element includes at least one channel that is in fluid communication with the at least one opening in the catheter. In the same field of endeavor, balloon catheters, Rusnak teaches a balloon catheter including channels (786, 796) within the balloon that are connected to multiple openings of the lumens. The at least one opening includes a plurality of openings and the at least one channel includes a plurality of channels (Fig. 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the inflatable element of Diederich with a plurality of channels, as taught by Rusnak, for the predictable result of inflating the inflatable element.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Rusnak et al. (US 2021/0106794A1, “Rusnak”).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Liu does not disclose that the inflatable element includes at least one channel that is in fluid communication with the at least one opening in the catheter. In the same field of endeavor, balloon catheters, Rusnak teaches a balloon catheter including channels (786, 796) within the balloon that are connected to multiple openings of the lumens. The at least one opening includes a plurality of openings and the at least one channel includes a plurality of channels (Fig. 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the inflatable element of Liu with a plurality of channels, as taught by Rusnak, for the predictable result of inflating the inflatable element.
Claim(s) 9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2018/0325480A1; Liu) in view of Cragg et al. (US 5,795,331, “Cragg”).
Regarding claims 9 and 11-13, Liu discloses a method of sealing an opening in the wall of a blood vessel including providing a hemostasis device having a catheter (300; Figs. 6) with a proximal portion, a middle portion and a distal portion having a distal end. The catheter has a first lumen (310) and a second lumen (318). The first lumen is sealed at the distal end of the catheter (Fig. 6). At least one opening (332; Fig. 6) in an outer wall of the catheter between the middle portion and the distal end and into the first lumen. An inflatable element (306) is attached to and in fluid communication with the first lumen through the at least one opening. At least a portion of the hemostasis device is inserted into an insertion blood vessel away from the opening in the blood vessel and the inflatable element is moved to a location of the opening in the blood vessel [0087]. Fluid is introduced into the inflatable element through the catheter to expand the inflatable element [0087]. The insertion blood vessel is a different blood vessel as the blood vessel with the opening (Fig. 8). The balloon blocks the opening the blood vessel while simultaneously allowing blood to flow past the hemostasis device when inflated (Fig. 8). However, Lui does not disclose that the wall includes an opening.
In the same field of endeavor, balloon catheters, Cragg teaches a method involving introducing and advancing a balloon catheter through a patient’s blood vessels and is positioned alongside an opening of a vessel, inflating the balloon to isolate it from the opening. Cragg further teaches isolating an opening in the vessel in the form of an aneurysm or peripheral vessel, wherein blood may pass by the inflatable element to reach a distal portion of the blood vessel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of Liu with means to seal an opening in the wall of the vessel by inflating the balloon, as taught by Cragg, to provide means for visualizing and treating an opening in the vessel wall in which an implant may be implanted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10 June 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Davis (US 6,045,531) discloses a balloon catheter having an inflatable element, at least one opening and first and second lumens.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771