DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/23/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi (US 2015/0243453) in view of Gardner et al. (US 2009/0029240).
Regarding claim 1, Taguchi teaches a power storage device, or electricity storage device, comprising a first electrode, or electrode body (2-1), having a strip first current collector, or aluminum foil (4) and a first active material layer (6) carried on the collector (Figures 1A, 2C, 5, [0033]);
a second electrode having the same structure (Figure 5, [0039]);
a separator (30) interposed between the electrodes, wherein the electrodes and separator are wound to form a columnar body (Figure 5); and
the first current collector has a plurality of first tabs, or electrode leading sections (12), electrically connected via the strip (4) and extending radially inward (Figure 6A).
Further regarding claim 1 and with regard to claim 2, the tabs (12) having a proximal end portion connected to the first current collector (4), or upper base edge (12-1), and a wide portion at a distal end, or lower base edge (12-2) (Figure 1B, [0035]).
Further regarding claim 1, the plurality of first tabs (12(2-1)) are overlapped and welded to each other at their respective wide portions, or bent and welded via first current collecting plate (48-1) (Figures 6B and 7, [0022], [0068]).
With further regard to claim 1 and with regard to claim 10, Taguchi fails to teach that the first tabs have a first portion overlapped and welded to each other, and when an end surface of the columnar wound body is viewed in a winding axis direction, the tabs extend in radially different directions such that extension directions from the proximal end portions toward the first portion intersect.
Gardner teaches a power storage device comprising first and second electrodes each having first and second pluralities of tabs (6, 7) (Figure 1). Gardner teaches that the plurality of first tabs, specifically four current collecting tabs (61, 62, 63, 64), has a first portion overlapped and welded together with a first current collector plate (5) (Figures 1 and 7B, ([0010], [0062]). It is further seen in Figure 7 that each of the tabs extend from positions on different straight lines.
Gardner further teaches that this configuration, specifically the spacing of the tabs, is desirable for minimizing internal resistance (Figure 7A, [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to form the tabs of Taguchi with four tabs spaced apart and welded such as suggested by Gardner in order to minimize internal resistance.
As for claim 3, it is seen in Figures 1A, 3A, and 4 of Taguchi that the shape of the gaps, i.e. isosceles trapezoid, is the same as the shape of the tabs, i.e. isosceles trapezoid (see also [0035], [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, it is seen in Figure 4 of Taguchi that the first wide portion is continuously widened.
Regarding claim 5, it is seen in Figure 11 of Taguchi that the first wide portion is widened stepwise.
As for claim 7, it is seen in Figures 1A, 3A, and 4 of Taguchi that the first wide portion is extended toward both sides.
With regard to claim 9, it is seen in Figures 1, 7, and 15, and specifically Figure 8, of Gardner that the current collector plate (5) has a center portion and an arm that protrudes radially, and that the first portion overlaps the center portion since the overlap portion is in the center of the columnar wound body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/1/25, with respect to the rejection of newly amended claim 1 under Taguchi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gardner, see above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729