DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection overcomes Applicant’s arguments because Luo establishes that a first device obtains multiple SL DRX configurations and transmits control information indicating the selected DRX configuration to group members for groupcast communication, which inherently requires selecting and conveying the index information of one DRX configuration among plural configurations, while Freda expressly teaches that the selection of a particular DRX configuration (i.e., selecting one configuration from multiple available configurations, corresponding to its index) is based on an identifier of the transmitter (¶1232), which in a groupcast context serves as the representative device for the group, and further teaches that the DRX slot pattern or active subset may be determined based on a zone ID or geolocation of the device (¶1076–1077), thereby teaching selection of DRX configuration index information based on both (i) the representative device ID and (ii) the identity of the zone to which the group belongs, exactly as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-11, 13, 21, 24-25, 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20230171843 A1) in view of Freda et al. (US 20240381485 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Luo et al. teaches a method comprising: obtaining, by a first device, one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations (Paragraph 39, 48, 49, 58, These passages disclose that the first UE receives and determines one or multiple SL DRX configurations from the BS); transmitting, by the first device control information including the index information of the DRX configuration to at least one second device within the group (Paragraph 43, 49, 56, These passages disclose that the first UE transmits SL DRX configuration information to peer UEs via groupcast, broadcast, or PC5 RRC signaling, which constitutes control information conveying the selected DRX configuration to at least one second device in the group); and performing, by the first device, based on the DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device (Paragraph 39, 47, 58, These passages disclose that the first UE performs sidelink communication, including groupcast, with peer UEs based on the determined SL DRX configuration).
Luo et al. does not explicitly teach selecting, by the first device, index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs.
However, Freda et al. teaches selecting, by the first device, index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs (Paragraph 1228, 1232, 1076–1077, These passages teach selecting one DRX configuration (i.e., selecting its associated index among multiple configurations) for groupcast based on cast type, further based on a transmitter identifier, and additionally influenced by zone/location identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting, by the first device, index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs as taught by Freda et al. in the system of Luo et al., so that it would enable context-aware and group-specific DRX selection to improve coordination efficiency, reduce signaling overhead, and optimize power consumption during groupcast communications.
Regarding claim 4, Luo et al. teaches the index information of the DRX configuration is selected further based on a size of the group among the one or more DRX configurations (Paragraph 48, 49, 52, These passages teach selecting among multiple DRX configurations that are organized per destination identifier lists (i.e., groups), such that the configuration selection is dependent on the particular destination group).
Regarding claim 5, Luo et al. teaches as the size of the group increases, an active time related to the DRX configuration is configured to be larger (Paragraph 48, 49, 52, when groupcast involves more destination UEs (i.e., a larger group), multiple DRX configurations are used with different parameters including longer cycles, periods, and inactivity timers, and the UE can request increased DRX duration).
Regarding claim 7, Luo et al. teaches a number of devices within the group is not allowed to exceed a size of the group related to the DRX configuration (Paragraph 48, 49, These paragraphs describe groupcast DRX configurations where each group has its own Destination ID list and configuration).
Regarding claim 8, Luo et al. teaches an active time related to the DRX configuration is divided into N sub-active times, and wherein N is a positive integer (Paragraph 41, 44, 45, These passages describe dividing the overall DRX active cycle (the “active time”) into a number N of DRX frames or slots, each having its own “on occasion”).
Regarding claim 9, Luo et al. teaches a device within the group is allowed to use at least one sub-active time among the N sub-active times based on an ID of the device (Paragraph 44-46, These passages teach that each UE (device) determines one or more “SL DRX-on” durations (sub-active times) within a DRX cycle consisting of N sub-active times, where the selection of such sub-active times is calculated from formulas using the UE’s identifier (UE.ID, Source.ID, or Destination.ID)).
Regarding claim 10, Luo et al. teaches a device within the group is allowed to use at least one sub-active time among the N sub-active times based on an ID of the device and an identity of a zone to which the device belongs (Paragraph 43–46, 49, These passages teach that a UE (device) determines specific DRX-on slots (sub-active times among a cycle of N slots) according to its UE ID and link-related identifiers (e.g., Destination ID or Source ID corresponding to a communication group/zone), thereby allowing the device to use particular sub-active times based on both its device ID and the identity of the group/zone to which it belongs).
Regarding claim 11, Luo et al. teaches the ID of the device is at least one of a member ID of the device, a source ID of the device, or a destination ID of the device (Paragraph 36, 37, 43-45, The passage explicitly discloses that the device ID (UE_ID or UED) can represent a source ID or a destination ID used in sidelink communication, and by implication of being one of several identifiers within a group of communicating devices, it also serves as a member ID, thereby teaching that the ID of the device can be at least one of a member, source, or destination ID).
Regarding claim 13, Luo et al. teaches the control information including the index information of DRX configuration is transmitted based on a DRX resource pool, wherein the DRX resource pool is a common resource pool used by devices performing DRX operations, and wherein the DRX configuration is a common DRX configuration used by devices within the group (Paragraph 46-49, The BS transmits DRX configuration control information based on a sidelink DRX resource pool (a bitmap-defined pool shared among devices), and the configuration is a common DRX setup that can be broadcasted or groupcasted for use by multiple UEs within the group).
Regarding claim 21, Luo et al. teaches a first device comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device to perform operations (Paragraph 62, 64, 67, 68, 75, The UE includes at least one transceiver, processor, and memory storing executable instructions that enable the UE to perform the described functions) comprising: obtaining one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations (Paragraph 49, 58, The UE receives and determines one or more SL DRX configurations, including multiple sets, thereby obtaining DRX configurations); transmitting control information including the index information of the DRX configuration to at least one second device within the group (Paragraph 43, 49, 56, The first UE transmits DRX configuration information via PC5 RRC or broadcast message to peer UE(s) in groupcast, constituting transmission of control information including DRX configuration identification); and performing, based on the DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device (Paragraph 47, 49, 58, The UE performs sidelink groupcast communication with one or more peer UEs based on the selected SL DRX configuration).
Luo et al. does not explicitly teach selecting index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs.
However, Freda et al. teaches selecting index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs (Paragraph 1228, 1232, 1076–1077, These passages teach selecting one DRX configuration (i.e., selecting its associated index among multiple configurations) for groupcast based on cast type, further based on a transmitter identifier, and additionally influenced by zone/location identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs as taught by Freda et al. in the system of Luo et al., so that it would enable context-aware and group-specific DRX selection to improve coordination efficiency, reduce signaling overhead, and optimize power consumption during groupcast communications.
Regarding claim 24, Luo et al. teaches the index information of the DRX configuration is selected further based on a size of the group among the one or more DRX configurations (Paragraph 48, 49, 52, These passages teach selecting among multiple DRX configurations that are organized per destination identifier lists (i.e., groups), such that the configuration selection is dependent on the particular destination group).
Regarding claim 25, Luo et al. teaches a processing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause a first device to perform operations (Paragraph 62, 64, 67, 68, 75, The UE includes at least one transceiver, processor, and memory storing executable instructions that enable the UE to perform the described functions)comprising: obtaining one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations (Paragraph 49, 58, The UE receives and determines one or more SL DRX configurations, including multiple sets, thereby obtaining DRX configurations); transmitting control information including the index information of the DRX configuration to at least one second device within the group; and performing, based on the DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device.
Luo et al. does not explicitly teach selecting index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs.
However, Freda et al. teaches selecting index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs (Paragraph 1228, 1232, 1076–1077, These passages teach selecting one DRX configuration (i.e., selecting its associated index among multiple configurations) for groupcast based on cast type, further based on a transmitter identifier, and additionally influenced by zone/location identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting index information of a DRX configuration for groupcast communication among the one or more DRX configurations, based on (i) an identifier (ID) of the first device serving as a representative of a group and (ii) an identity of a zone to which the group belongs as taught by Freda et al. in the system of Luo et al., so that it would enable context-aware and group-specific DRX selection to improve coordination efficiency, reduce signaling overhead, and optimize power consumption during groupcast communications.
Regarding claim 28, Luo et al. teaches the index information of the DRX configuration is selected further based on a size of the group among the one or more DRX configurations (Paragraph 48, 49, 52, These passages teach selecting among multiple DRX configurations that are organized per destination identifier lists (i.e., groups), such that the configuration selection is dependent on the particular destination group).
Regarding claim 29, Luo et al. teaches as the size of the group increases, an active time related to the DRX configuration is configured to be larger (Paragraph 48, 49, 52, when groupcast involves more destination UEs (i.e., a larger group), multiple DRX configurations are used with different parameters including longer cycles, periods, and inactivity timers, and the UE can request increased DRX duration).
Allowable Subject Matter
Based on the specification, the applicant could consider adding concepts clarifying that the selected DRX configuration is specifically a sidelink (SL) DRX configuration that includes both DRX cycle information and active time (on-duration) information, and that the selection ensures DRX alignment among UEs within the group to prevent missed receptions during groupcast communication. The claim could further incorporate that the first device transmits first sidelink control information (SCI) via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to schedule a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and transmits second SCI via the PSSCH that explicitly includes the selected DRX configuration information and a destination ID associated with the group. Additional concepts that could be added include configuring or selecting independent DRX configurations for different groups within the same zone to disperse resource collisions in time, optimizing DRX selection based on geographical or zone-specific characteristics, and reflecting reliability and latency requirements of V2X scenarios in the DRX configuration. The applicant might also incorporate that the DRX configuration is applied for sidelink groupcast over a PC5 interface in an NR-based V2X environment, and that the alignment of DRX cycles among group members is performed to reduce power consumption while maintaining synchronized reception opportunities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Freda et al. (US 20260059591 A1)
Ganesan et al. (US 12550062 B2)
Kwon et al. (US 12238809 B2)
Thomas et al. (US 20230262648 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464