DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 9 has been canceled and claims 30-33 are newly added thus claims 1, 5-12, 17-18, 20, 23-25, 27 and 30-33 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 17-18, 23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham (WO 2021/050916 A1) in view of Atzmon (WO 2021/156876 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Graham discloses a respirator system for delivering filtered atmospheric air to a user for inhalation (abstract), the respirator system comprising: a respirator (#102 fig 1A-1E, par 0059 “mask section) through which a user can inhale filtered air at an inspiratory flow rate (par 0061 disclosing inhaling from the mask section); first and second air filter systems (114A/B and 116A/B fig 1C-1D, par 0063-0065 disclosing fans and filter), each air filter system being configured to filter and draw air from the atmosphere into the respirator system at a collective base flow rate and to deliver filtered drawn air to the respirator (par 0063-0065) via an airflow path (path through arms 110 from fans/filters to mask interior 108, see arrow inside arms 110 in fig 1E); first and second conduits for directing filtered air from the respective first and second air filter systems to the respirator (conduit/path through arms 110 from fans/filters to mask interior 108, see arrow inside arms 110 in fig 1E); and a support for supporting the respirator system on a head of the user (body of arms 110A/B fig 1A-E and pads 120 fig 1A-1B, par 0066), wherein the respirator is arranged at a front of the support to engage a front of the head of the user when in use (see fig 1A-1B, 1E), and the first and second air filter systems are arranged at a rear of the support to sit at a rear of a the head of the user when in use (see fig 1A-1E), wherein the support comprises an adjusting means for adjusting a spacing between the first and second air filter systems to secure the support to the head of the user (par 0066).
Graham is silent to a reservoir for storing filtered air, wherein the first and second air filter systems are arranged in fluid communication with the reservoir and the respirator such that: when the inspiratory flow rate is lower than the collective base flow rate, at least a portion of the filtered air entering the respirator system is stored in the reservoir; when the inspiratory flow rate exceeds the collective base flow rate, filtered air stored in the reservoir is drawn into the respirator for inhalation to supplement the filtered air provided by the air filter system; wherein the first and second air filter systems are fluidly connected to the respirator and the reservoir via a separate airflow circuit.
Atzmon teaches a respirator system for delivering filtered atmospheric air to a user for inhalation (abstract), the respirator system comprising: a respirator (#204 fig 3A-3D) through which a user can inhale filtered air (as fig 3A-3D show the respirator covering a user’s mouth and nose and arrows in fig 3C-3D showing air entering the users mouth/nose); an air filter systems (#208, 210 fig 3A-3D, pg 8 ln 8-11 disclose 208 and 210 as a blower and UV source), configured to filter and draw air from the atmosphere into the respirator system and to deliver filtered drawn air to the respirator via an airflow path (pg 8 ln 2-4 discloses the UV rays disinfecting the air, air flow path: #222, 224 fig 3A-3D); a conduit for directing filtered air from the air filter system to the respirator (conduit that air paths #222 and 224 pass through see fig 3A-3D); a reservoir (#221 fig 3A-3D) for storing filtered air, wherein the air filter system is arranged in fluid communication with the reservoir and the respirator (see fig 3A-3D) such that: when the user's inspiratory flow rate is lower than the base flow rate of the air filter system, at least a portion of the filtered air entering the respirator system is stored in the reservoir (see fig 3A-3B, pg 8 ln 20-21 discloses when the wearer is exhaling the filtered air is stored in the reservoir, during exhalation there is no inspiratory flow rate thus the inspiratory flow rate is less that the steady airflow rate produced by the blower); when the user's inspiratory flow rate exceeds the base flow rate of the air filter system, filtered air stored in the reservoir is drawn into the respirator for inhalation to supplement the filtered air provided by the air filter system (see fig 3C-3D, pg 8 ln 22-25 discloses when the wearer is inhaling the reservoir deflates thus disclosing that the inspiratory flow rate exceeds the base flow rate and air from the blower and previously stored in the reservoir are inhaled by the wearer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reservoir of Atzmon onto the device of Graham as doing so allows for changes in breathing rate to be accommodated without adjusting the collective base flow rate. It would have further been obvious to utilize one reservoir with the two air filter systems of Graham as the two filter systems feed the same respirator utilizing a single reservoir prevents the user from drawing in air from independent reservoirs in an uneven manner.
Regarding claim 5, Graham discloses a respirator system for delivering filtered atmospheric air to a user for inhalation(abstract), the respirator system comprising: a respirator (#102 fig 1A-1E, par 0059 “mask section) through which a user can inhale filtered air at an inspiratory flow rate (par 0061 disclosing inhaling from the mask section); an air filter system (114A/B and 116A/B fig 1C-1D, par 0063-0065 disclosing fans and filter) for filtering and drawing air from the atmosphere into the respirator system at a base flow rate and delivering filtered drawn air to the respirator (par 0063-0065); wherein the air filter system comprises first and second air filter systems for filtering and drawing air from the atmosphere into the respirator system at a collective base flow rate (114A/B and 116A/B fig 1C-1D, par 0063-0065), and for delivering filtered drawn air to the respirator through which a user can inhale filtered air at the inspiratory flow rate (0063).
Graham is silent to a reservoir for storing filtered air, wherein the air filter system is arranged in fluid communication with the reservoir and the respirator such that: when the inspiratory flow rate is lower than the base flow rate of the air filter system, at least a portion of the filtered air entering the respirator system is stored in the reservoir; and when the inspiratory flow rate exceeds the base flow rate of the air filter system, filtered air stored in the reservoir is drawn into the respirator for inhalation to supplement the filtered air provided by the air filter system; wherein each of the first and second air filter systems is arranged in fluid communication with the reservoir and the respirator such that: when the inspiratory flow rate is lower than the collective base flow rate, at least a portion of the filtered air entering the respirator system is stored in the reservoir; when the inspiratory flow rate exceeds the collective base flow rate, filtered air stored in the reservoir is drawn into the respirator for inhalation to supplement the filtered air provided by the first and second air filter systems; and wherein each air filter system is fluidly connected to the respirator and the reservoir via a separate airflow circuit.
Atzmon teaches a respirator system for delivering filtered atmospheric air to a user for inhalation (abstract), the respirator system comprising: a respirator (#204 fig 3A-3D) through which a user can inhale filtered air at an inspiratory flow rate (as fig 3A-3D show the respirator covering a user’s mouth and nose and arrows in fig 3C-3D showing air entering the users mouth/nose it is seen that the user inhales at an inspiratory flow rate); an air filter system for filtering and drawing air from the atmosphere into the respirator system at a base flow rate and delivering filtered drawn air to the respirator (#208, 210 fig 3A-3D, pg 8 ln 8-11 disclose 208 and 210 as a blower and UV source, pg 8 ln 2-4 discloses the UV rays disinfecting the air, pg 8 ln 8-10 discloses the blower creating a steady rate of airflow thus disclosing a base flow rate); and a reservoir (#221 fig 3A-3D) for storing filtered air, wherein the air filter system is arranged in fluid communication with the reservoir and the respirator (see path of airflow 222 fig 3A-3D) such that: when the user's inspiratory flow rate is lower than the base flow rate of the air filter system, at least a portion of the filtered air entering the respirator system is stored in the reservoir (see fig 3A-3B, pg 8 ln 20-21 discloses when the wearer is exhaling the filtered air is stored in the reservoir, during exhalation there is no inspiratory flow rate thus the inspiratory flow rate is less that the steady airflow rate produced by the blower); when the user's inspiratory flow rate exceeds the base flow rate of the air filter system, filtered air stored in the reservoir is drawn into the respirator for inhalation to supplement the filtered air provided by the air filter system (see fig 3C-3D, pg 8 ln 22-25 discloses when the wearer is inhaling the reservoir deflates thus disclosing that the inspiratory flow rate exceeds the base flow rate and air from the blower and previously stored in the reservoir are inhaled by the wearer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reservoir of Atzmon onto the device of Graham as doing so allows for changes in breathing rate to be accommodated without adjusting the collective base flow rate. It would have further been obvious to utilize one reservoir with separate airflow circuits with the two air filter systems of Graham as the two filter systems of Graham feed the same respirator through separate circuits utilizing a single reservoir prevents the user from drawing in air from independent reservoirs in an uneven manner.
Regarding claim 6, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Atzmon further discloses the respirator system is configured such that when the inspiratory flow rate is less than or equal to the base flow rate of the filter system, filtered air flows from the air filter system to the respirator for inhalation by the user without supplementation from the reservoir (see fig 3A-3B, pg 8 ln 20-21 discloses when the wearer is exhaling the filtered air is stored in the reservoir, during exhalation there is no inspiratory flow rate thus the inspiratory flow rate is less that the steady airflow rate produced by the blower, it is further seen that the reservoir only deflates/supplements flow when the wearer needs to inhale more than the supply of the blower and thus inhalation is not supplemented from the reservoir when the flow rate is equal to the base flow rate).
Regarding claim 17, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Atzmon further discloses a respirator inlet through which filtered air enters the respirator, and a respirator inlet valve configured to prevent a flow of air through the respirator inlet when the user exhales into the respirator (#227 fig 3A-3D, abstract “one-way valve”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 17. Atzmon further discloses the respirator inlet comprises an opening in a body of the respirator, and the inlet valve is arranged within or adjacent to the opening (see fig 3A-3D showing the valve 227 inside an opening in the center of the respirator).
Regarding claim 23, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Atzmon further discloses the respirator is configured to seal around the user's nose and/ or mouth (see fig 3A-3D, pg 3 ln 24-26) area such that an air cavity is defined between the respirator and the user's face for receiving filtered air from the filter system and/ or reservoir.
Regarding claim 25, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Graham further discloses a power supply, wherein the power supply comprises a battery (par 0066). Graham does not expressly disclose wherein the battery is arranged between the first and second air filter systems on the support. However, Graham does disclose that the battery can be housed on the support, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the battery between the two air filter systems so that the single power source can power both filter systems.
Regarding claim 27, modified Graham discloses a method of delivering filtered atmospheric air to a user for respiration (Graham: abstract, Atzmon: abstract) using the respirator system of claim 5 (see modified Graham of claim 5 above), the method comprising: drawing air from the atmosphere into a respirator system at a base flow rate (Atzmon: pg 8 ln 8-11 disclose 208 as a blower and UV source, pg 8 ln 8-10 discloses the blower creating a steady rate of airflow thus disclosing a base flow rate), filtering the drawn air (Atzmon: pg 8 ln 8-11 disclose 210 as a UV source, pg 8 ln 2-4 discloses the UV rays disinfecting the air), and delivering drawn filtered air to the user for inhalation, the method further comprising: when a user inspiration rate is less than the base flow rate, delivering drawn filtered air to a reservoir for storage (Atzmon: see fig 3A-3B, pg 8 ln 20-21 discloses when the wearer is exhaling the filtered air is stored in the reservoir, during exhalation there is no inspiratory flow rate thus the inspiratory flow rate is less that the steady airflow rate produced by the blower), and when the user inspiration rate exceeds the base flow rate, supplementing the drawn filtered air delivered to the user with stored filtered air from the reservoir (Atzmon: see fig 3C-3D, pg 8 ln 22-25 discloses when the wearer is inhaling the reservoir deflates thus disclosing that the inspiratory flow rate exceeds the base flow rate and air from the blower and previously stored in the reservoir are inhaled by the wearer).
Claims 7-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Graham as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Vroman (US 5,492,114 A).
Regarding claim 7, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Graham is silent to the respirator and air filter system are arranged along a first airflow path, and the reservoir and the air filter system are arranged along a second airflow path, such that the air filter system is common to both airflow paths.
Vroman teaches a respiratory system comprising a respirator (#22 fig 1) an air system (connected to #28 fig 1, 2) and a reservoir (#30 fig 1, 2) wherein the respirator and air system are arranged along a first airflow path (see Vroman annotated fig 2 below), and the reservoir and the air filter system are arranged along a second airflow path (see Vroman annotated fig 2 below), such that the air filter system is common to both airflow paths (see fig 2).
Vroman annotated fig 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the flow path of modified Graham to have first and second airflow paths as taught by Vroman as doing so allows the provided air to directly enter the respirator without being diverted inside the reservoir, and further as a simple rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 7. Vroman further teaches the first airflow path is uni-directional from the air filter system to the respirator (see arrows in fig 2, and #29 fig 2, col 2 ln 46-51), and wherein the second airflow path is bi- directional from the air filter system to the reservoir and vice versa (see fig 2 showing no valve in the second flow path, see also fig 3 showing airflow arrows in both directions).
Regarding claim 9, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Graham is silent to a first conduit arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the respirator, and a second conduit arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the reservoir.
Vroman teaches a respiratory system comprising a respirator (#22 fig 1) an air system (connected to #28 fig 1, 2) and a reservoir (#30 fig 1, 2) with a first conduit arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the respirator (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above), and a second conduit arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the reservoir (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the flow path of modified Graham to have first and second conduits as taught by Vroman as doing so allows the provided air to directly enter the respirator without being diverted inside the reservoir, and further as a simple rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.).
Regarding claim 10, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Graham is silent to the air filter system comprises a junction chamber that is in fluid communication with the reservoir and the respirator, and that is configured to receive the filtered air drawn into the respirator system.
Vroman teaches a respiratory system comprising a respirator (#22 fig 1) an air system (connected to #28 fig 1, 2) and a reservoir (#30 fig 1, 2) with a junction chamber (#26 fig 1-2) that is in fluid communication with the reservoir and the respirator, and that is configured to receive the filtered air drawn into the respirator system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the flow path of modified Graham to have a junction chamber as taught by Vroman as doing so allows the provided air to directly enter the respirator without being diverted inside the reservoir, and further as a simple rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 10. Vroman further teaches the junction chamber comprises a manifold that is fluidly connected to the respirator via a first air flow path (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above), and to the reservoir via a second air flow path (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above), such that the manifold is common to both air flow paths.
Regarding claim 20, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Graham further discloses a first conduit arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the respirator (conduit/path through arms 110 from fans/filters to mask interior 108, see arrow inside arms 110 in fig 1E) and a support for securing the respirator to a user's face by extension around the user's head (body of arms 110A/B fig 1A-E and pads 120 fig 1A-1B, par 0066, see fig 1E showing on head/face), wherein the filter system is secured to a rearward portion of the support (fig 1A-1E) and wherein the first conduit is incorporated into the support (conduit/path through arms 110 from fans/filters to mask interior 108, see arrow inside arms 110 in fig 1E).
Modified Graham is silent to a second conduit arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the reservoir, wherein the respirator is secured to a forward portion of the support and, , wherein the second conduit is arranged to depend downwardly from the filter system when the respirator system is arranged for use, with the reservoir arranged at the bottom of the second conduit.
Vroman teaches a respiratory system comprising a respirator (#22 fig 1) an air system (connected to #28 fig 1, 2) and a reservoir (#30 fig 1, 2) with a first conduit (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above) arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the respirator, a second conduit (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above) arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the reservoir, wherein the second conduit is arranged to depend downwardly from the filter system when the respirator system is arranged for use (see fig 1, depending downwardly when a user is standing upright), with the reservoir arranged at the bottom of the second conduit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the flow path of modified Graham to have first and second conduits as taught by Vroman as doing so allows the provided air to directly enter the respirator without being diverted inside the reservoir as is done with Atzmon, and further as a simple rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Graham as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Fu (WO 2013/082650 A1).
Regarding claim 24, modified Graham discloses the respirator system of claim 5. Graham further discloses a respirator outlet through which exhaled air can exit the respirator (par 0061 “gaps 112”).
Graham is silent to an outlet valve arranged in or adjacent to the respirator outlet, wherein the outlet valve is configured to permit air flow out of the respirator when the user exhales and to prevent air flow into the respirator from the atmosphere.
Fu teaches a respirator with an outlet valve (#298 fig 28B) arranged in or adjacent to the respirator outlet (#296 fig 28B), wherein the outlet valve is configured to permit air flow out of the respirator when the user exhales and to prevent air flow into the respirator from the atmosphere (pg 58 ln 20-21 “exhaust valves”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a respirator with exhaust valves as taught by Fu for the respirator of modified Graham as doing so can allow air to exhaust without allowing air to enter in through the mask.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Graham as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Hilton (US 4,430,995).
Regarding claim 5, modified Graham discloses the system of claim 5. Modified Graham is silent to the reservoir is contained within a backpack securable to a back of the user, or the reservoir is contained within a chest vest securable to a chest of the user.
Hilton teaches a respirator system with an inflatable reservoir (#13 fig 2, col 3 ln 34-42) that is contained within a backpack securable to a back of the user (see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the reservoir of modified Graham inside a backpack as taught by Hilton as doing so allows for the weight of the reservoir to be supported by the user’s back and shoulders rather than the user’s neck.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 31-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 12 and 31, the claims call to an acute angle between conduits connecting a manifold and the filter systems and the manifold and the reservoir. While Vroman teaches the respirator system comprises a first conduit (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above) arranged to fluidly connect the manifold to the respirator, a second conduit (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above) arranged to fluidly connect the manifold to the reservoir, and a third conduit (see Vroman annotated fig 2 above) arranged to fluidly connect the air filter system to the manifold. Vroman utilizes a 90 degree angle rather than an acute angle. Absent teaching it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the connection to an acute angle in order to achieve the backflow to the reservoir and air flow preference to the respirator the applicant achieves with the acute angle (see instant spec par 0169). Therefore claims 12, 31 and dependents therein patentably define over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Folsom US 4840169 A discloses a respirator with a reservoir
Marx US 20030154983 A1 discloses a respirator with a reservoir
Bartkoski US 20180021605 A1 discloses a respirator with a reservoir
Stewart US 5,007,421 A discloses a respirator with a reservoir
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799