Response to Amendment and Argument
The response filed on 10/28/25 has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/28/25 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 17- 20 remained withdrawn in this office action.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Tamayol et al. (US 2020/0123485) in view of Caharwar et al. (WO 2014/205261) and Weng et al. (US 2018/0078661).
With regards to instant claim 1, Tamayol, teaches a plated-rich fibrin (see 0058) and a nanomaterials (see 0059)
However fails to specifically teach that the composition comprises nanoclay materials. Nonetheless Tamayol does teach that the composition comprises nanoparticle and a conductive material. Although silent clay is a conductive material absent factual evidence to the contrary (see 0058) and further teaches that GelMa is doped with nanoclay ie., laponite (see 0071).
Caharwar teaches a composition comprising silicates nanoparticles (see abstract, as required by instant claim 10) and platelet rich plasma (see pg 41, lines 6+) wherein the silicate (i.e., nanoclay is from 0.5-30 (as required by instant claims 8-9, see pg 2, lines 1-20). Additionally, Caharwar teaches the inclusion of fluorescent imaging (see Fig. 18A) in platelet rich plasma. Therefore it is reasonable to add a radiopaque to the platelet rich plasma.
Weng teaches embolic material that may include radiopaque ethiodized oil, iron oxide nanoparticles for imaging (see 0004, as required by instant claims 11-14) wherein the imaging agent is from 0.5-75% (see 0068, as required by 12).
Although, the combined cited prior art did not per-se teach the composition comprises leukocyte (in an alternative term) and the amount of platelet and or leukocyte-PRF, these amounts are within the purview of the skilled artisan i.e., is a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable that achieves a recognized result and, therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosage range would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan, absent factual evidence to the contrary, and, further, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions used and the criticality of the amount(s). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have expanded the teachings of Tamaoyl with that of Caharwar land Weng to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted the platelet rich plasma taught by Caharwar with the platelet rich-fibrin of Tamaoyl and add radiopaque taught by Weng to result in the claimed invention. And since the actives are the same the viscosity would be decreased under a sheer rate of 10-2 1/second with a displacement pressure of at least 85 kPa intrinsically.
The claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant argues that the reference Tamayol does not teach the claimed composition and Gaharwar failed to remedy by not teaching the use platelet rich plasma (PRP) to form the gelatin-silicate composition. Applicant also argued that Tamayol teaches that the composition comprises nanoparticles and a conductive material.
In response, Applicant should not that this is a rejection under 35 USC 103 and the reference should be used together to result in the instant claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success because: Tamayol, teaches a plated-rich fibrin (see 0058) and a nanomaterials (see 0059) and the introduction of Gaharwar is for the teaching of the silicates and its concentration as composition comprising silicates nanoparticles (see abstract, as required by instant claim 10) and platelet rich plasma (see pg 41, lines 6+) wherein the silicate (i.e., nanoclay is from 0.5-30 (as required by instant claims 8-9, see pg 2, lines 1-20). The mere fact that Gaharwart use it to observed that platelets aggregated near the composition surface, indicating that the gelatin-silicate composition surfaces might be effective in attracting blood components indicated that it can be used as a composition. Tamayol does teach the use of a visual aid to asses staining, and therefore it is within the purview of the skilled artisan to use any visual aid to as a contrast. Therefore the teaching of Weng teaches embolic material that may include radiopaque ethiodized oil would have resulted in success by substituting Tamayol visual aid (see 0113) for imaging with Wengs radiopaque.
With regards to the argument that Tamayol teaches that the composition comprises nanoparticles and a conductive material, Applicant should note that the claims recite an open term comprising which does not exclude other agent from been present.
Applicant’s argument have been considered and is found unpersuasive.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 3/12/26