DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses Applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 10 June 2026.
Claims 1, 13-14 were amended; Claims 15-17 were added; no claims were cancelled; therefore, Claims 1-17 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the specific combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satyan et al. (US 12,038,511 B2) in view of Pacala et al. (US 2019/0179028 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Satyan teaches an optical measurement system ([Abstract] A light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system) comprising:
an optical element, comprising a first waveguide and adapted to transmit a first partial beam of irradiated electromagnetic radiation ([Col. 7, ll. 38-46] The first and second CHDLs 510, 570 may be multiplexed by a beam combiner 575, the beams from the first and second CHDLs 510, 570 are combined and directed to the target 560) and to incouple a second partial beam of the electromagnetic radiation into the first waveguide at a first position ([Coil. 10, ll. 9-11] The laser beam (other than the fraction extracted for the LO) is output from the circulator… to form an output beam Examiner Note: The LO 125/525 path represents the internal waveguide carrying the second partial beam) and to outcouple the second partial beam from the first waveguide at a second position ([Col. 3, ll. 7-8] a LO wave and a reflected wave [are] incident on a photodetector Examiner Note: As shown in Fig. 5, the LO beam is outcoupled at the 2x1 coupler 545 to meet the reflected signal); and
a plurality of detectors ([Col. 7, ll. 46-49] The reflected beams from the target are separated by beam divider (using polarization or wavelength as appropriate) are directed to separate detectors 550, 585) adapted to detected a mixed signal, wherein the mixed signal comprises the first partial beam reflected by an object and coherently superimposed with electromagnetic radiation outcoupled from the first waveguide ([Col. 2, ll. 26-36] The reflected light exits the circulator 130 and is combined with the local oscillator wave 125 in a 2×1 coupler 145. The combined LO wave and the reflected light from the target are incident on a photodetector (PD) 150. The photodetector 150 provides an output current proportional to the incident optical power. The photodetector 150 effectively multiplies the amplitudes of the reflected light and the L wave to create a coherent “beat signal” whose frequency is directly proportional to the round-trip time delay to the target, and the range to the target is thus determined).
Satyan is not relied upon as teaching an emission device comprising an array of a plurality of laser diodes, each of the plurality of laser diodes being configured to emit electromagnetic radiation in a first direction, and an array of a plurality of detectors.
However, Pacala teaches an emission device comprising an array of a plurality of laser diodes ([0106] Light emitter array 410 includes an array of light emitters (e.g., an array of VCELs or the like) that includes individual emitters, such as emitter 410(1) and emitter 410(9)), each of the plurality of laser diodes being configured to emit electromagnetic radiation in a first direction (Fig. 4A Examiner Note: Fig. 4A, reproduced below, emitted beam 415(1) and 415(9) being emitted from emitters 410(1) and 410(9) respectively and both beams being emitted in a first direction (towards the Stop sign 460)), and an array of a plurality of detectors ([0106] Light sensor array 420 includes an array of photosensors that includes individual photo sensors, such as sensors 420(1) and 420(9)).
Satyan and Pacala are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical measurement and LIDAR systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light emission system of Satyan to include the emitter and detector arrays of Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to increase the spatial resolution and coverage area of the LIDAR system. By integrating Pacala’s teaching of an array of light emitters into Satyan’s optical measurement system, the system can perform multi-point target detection and ranging simultaneously. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that utilizing a plurality of emitters and detectors would yield the predictable result of improved efficiency and comprehensive target mapping capabilities.
Regarding Claim 2, Satyan teaches that the optical element comprises a separate outcoupling device ([Col 2, ll. 17-18] The output of the CHDL 110 is divided into two components by a tap coupler 120) adapted to branch off the second partial beam ([Col 2, ll. 18-21] A small fraction is separated from the output to be used as a Local Oscillator (LO) wave 125. The majority (typically >90%) of the CHDL output power is directed to a target 160 via a circulator 130) and incouple the same into the first waveguide ([Col. 2, ll. 26-39] reflected light exits the circulator 130 and is combined with the local oscillator wave 125 in a 2×1 coupler 145… the optical paths between the CHDL, couplers, circulator and photodetector are optical fibers).
Regarding Claim 3, Satyan teaches a plurality of waveguide elements arranged in a beam path upstream of the detectors ([Col. 7, ll. 46-49] & [Col. 2, ll. 26-29] the reflected beams from the target are separated by beam divider… are directed to separate detectors 550, 585… The reflected light exits the circulator 130 and is combined with the local oscillator wave 125 in a 2x1 coupler 145) and adapted to feed the signals to be detected to the plurality of detectors ([Col. 15, ll. 4-6) The combined LO waves and the received light beams from the target are respectively incident on N photodetectors 1450).
Regarding Claim 4, Satyan teaches that the waveguide elements are single-mode waveguide elements ([Col. 12, ll. 25-30] A mode transformer may be used to transform a set of N0 closely spaced modes… by coupling each available mode into a respective single mode optical fiber).
Regarding Claim 5, Satyan teaches a second optical element ([Col. 2, ll. 20-21] The output of the CHDL 110 is divided into two components by a tap coupler 120. A small fraction is separated from the output to be used as a Local Oscillator (LO) wave) between the optical element and the plurality of waveguide elements ([Col. 2, ll. 17-29] The output of the CHDL 110 is divided into two components by a tap coupler 120… the reflected light exits the circulator 130 and is combined with the local oscillator wave 125 in a 2x1 coupler 145 Examiner Note: This creates a specific sequence: tap coupler -> circulator -> 2x1 coupler, satisfying the “between” limitation).
Regarding Claim 6, Satyan teaches a plurality of optical micro elements ([Col. 12, ll. 47-51] Each element of the microlens array 1030 then converts (further focuses) the spot incident on it, thereby creating a sparse array of smaller spots at an image plan 1135 of the MLA), each associated with a detector and arranged upstream thereof ([Col. 14, ll. 66-67]-[Col. 15, ll. 1-6.] The lens 1470 collects light reflected from the target (not shown) and forms the reflected light into N received light beams 1440. The received light beams separated from the output beams by the circulator 1430 and are combined with respective LO beams by N couplers or beamsplitters 1445. The combined LO waves and the received light beams from the target are respectively incident on N photodetectors 1450).
Regarding Claim 7, Satyan teaches that the optical element comprises an opaque region at the second position on the side facing the object ([Col. 8, ll. 56-60] A master-oscillator power-amplifier (MOPA) laser with a broad-area or flared/tapered amplifier can provide single-mode operation at high (i.e., greater than 10 W) output power on a single integrated semiconductor chip Examiner Note: it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the remaining surface of that semiconductor chip facet (the side facing the object) would be opaque to prevent stray light from entering the integrated waveguides).
Regarding Claim 8, Satyan teaches evaluation electronics adapted to determine a difference frequency between a frequency of the reflected radiation and the electromagnetic radiation outcoupled from the first waveguide ([Col. 3, ll. 2-15]. At any given time during the measurement interval T.sub.M, the frequency difference Δω between the output and reflected waves is given by: Δω=ξr… Δω can be determined by processing the output current from the photodetector).
Regarding Claim 9, Satyan teaches a modulation device adapted to modify a wavelength of the emitted electromagnetic radiation ([Col. 5, ll. 44-51] a frequency modulated laser 400 suitable for use in a high speed LIDAR system. The system includes a laser device 410 that is driven by a laser driver circuit 415 that controls the frequency of the laser output… the laser driver 415 controls the output frequency of the laser 410 by varying an electrical current provided to an input of the laser 410).
Regarding Claim 10, Satyan teaches that the modulation device comprises a current source and is adapted to modify a current intensity impressed into the laser diodes ([Col. 5, ll. 44-51] a frequency modulated laser 400 suitable for use in a high speed LIDAR system. The system includes a laser device 410 that is driven by a laser driver circuit 415 that controls the frequency of the laser output… the laser driver 415 controls the output frequency of the laser 410 by varying an electrical current provided to an input of the laser 410).
Regarding Claim 11, Satyan teaches that several of the plurality of laser diodes are capable of being controlled simultaneously ([Col. 7, ll. 19-31] The first improvement, as incorporated into the LIDAR system 500 of FIG. 5, is to use two CHDLs 510, 570 to simultaneously illuminate the same pixel on the target, with the frequencies of the CHDLs chirping in opposite directions… This enables the up and down measurements of FIG. 3 to be performed simultaneously).
Regarding Claim 12, Satyan teaches a LIDAR system, comprising the optical measurement system according to claim 1 ([Col. 7, ll. 18-19] the basic coherent LIDAR system of FIGS. 1, 2, and 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Satyan teaches a method of operating an optical measurement system ([Col. 5, ll. 66-67] operate exactly as described for the coherent LIDAR system) comprising:
an optical element comprising a first waveguide and adapted to transmit a first partial beam of irradiated electromagnetic radiation ([Col. 7, ll. 38-46] The first and second CHDLs 510, 570 may be multiplexed by a beam combiner 575, the beams from the first and second CHDLs 510, 570 are combined and directed to the target 560) and to incouple a second partial beam of the electromagnetic radiation into the first waveguide at a first position ([Coil. 10, ll. 9-11] The laser beam (other than the fraction extracted for the LO) is output from the circulator… to form an output beam Examiner Note: The LO 125/525 path represents the internal waveguide carrying the second partial beam) and to outcouple the second partial beam from the first waveguide at a second position ([Col. 3, ll. 7-8] a LO wave and a reflected wave [are] incident on a photodetector Examiner Note: As shown in Fig. 5, the LO beam is outcoupled at the 2x1 coupler 545 to meet the reflected signal); and
a plurality of detectors ([Col. 7, ll. 46-49] The reflected beams from the target are separated by beam divider (using polarization or wavelength as appropriate) are directed to separate detectors 550, 585) adapted to detect a mixed signal, wherein the mixed signal comprises the first partial beam reflected by an object and coherently superimposed with electromagnetic radiation outcoupled from the first waveguide ([Col. 2, ll. 26-36] The reflected light exits the circulator 130 and is combined with the local oscillator wave 125 in a 2×1 coupler 145. The combined LO wave and the reflected light from the target are incident on a photodetector (PD) 150. The photodetector 150 provides an output current proportional to the incident optical power. The photodetector 150 effectively multiplies the amplitudes of the reflected light and the L wave to create a coherent “beat signal” whose frequency is directly proportional to the round-trip time delay to the target, and the range to the target is thus determined),
wherein the method comprises:
determining, from the detection signal, a positional relationship or a change in the positional relationship between the object and the emission device ([Col. 16, ll. 48-50] The output of receiver array is typically two “images” (i.e., two values per pixel) corresponding to the depth map and the intensity of the reflections).
Satyan is not relied upon as teaching an emission device comprising an array of a plurality of laser diodes, each of the plurality of laser diodes being configured to emit electromagnetic radiation in a first direction, an array of a plurality of detectors, simultaneously impressing a current into the array of the plurality of laser diodes, as a result of which electromagnetic radiation is respectively emitted in the first direction; and detecting a photocurrent by the array of the plurality of detectors, thereby determining a detection signal.
However, Pacala teaches an emission device comprising an array of a plurality of laser diodes ([0106] Light emitter array 410 includes an array of light emitters (e.g., an array of VCELs or the like) that includes individual emitters, such as emitter 410(1) and emitter 410(9)), each of the plurality of laser diodes being configured to emit electromagnetic radiation in a first direction (Fig. 4A Examiner Note: Fig. 4A, reproduced below, emitted beam 415(1) and 415(9) being emitted from emitters 410(1) and 410(9) respectively and both beams being emitted in a first direction (towards the Stop sign 460)),
an array of a plurality of detectors ([0106] Light sensor array 420 includes an array of photosensors that includes individual photo sensors, such as sensors 420(1) and 420(9)),
simultaneously impressing a current into the array of the plurality of laser diodes ([0073] the VCSEL emitters can be fired simultaneously), as a result of which electromagnetic radiation is respectively emitted in the first direction ([0073] a set of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) as illumination sources that emit pulses of radiation into a field); and
detecting a photocurrent by the array of the plurality of detectors, thereby determining a detection signal ([0073] arrays of single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) detectors as a set of pixels (photosensors) that detect radiation reflected or scattered from a surface in the field).
Satyan and Pacala are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical measurement and LIDAR systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of operating an optical measurement system of Satyan to include the emission and detection array methodology of Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivate4d by the desire to increase data acquisition speed and spatial resolution in the measurement process. By integrating Pacala’s teaching of simultaneously firing an array of laser emitters and utilizing a corresponding detector array into Satyan’s coherent LIDAR method, the system can perform rapid, high-resolution 3D mapping. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that utilizing these integrated arrays would yield the predictable result of a more efficient detection signal and real-time positional determination.
Regarding Claim 14, Satyan teaches that the detection signal is a periodic signal from which a difference is determined between a frequency of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the emission device and the frequency of the electromagnetic radiation reflected by the object ([Col. 3, ll. 2-15] At any given time during the measurement interval T.sub.M, the frequency difference Δω between the output and reflected waves is given by: Δω=ξr… Δω can be determined by processing the output current from the photodetector).
Regarding Claim 15, Satyan is not relied upon as teaching that the plurality of laser diodes are arranged over a common emitter substrate.
However, Pacala teaches that the plurality of laser diodes are arranged over a common emitter substrate ([0201] Array 1410 can be planar (e.g., having irregularity from a perfect plane less than 1 mm peak-to-valley over a 10 mm diameter disc) for ease in manufacturing (e.g., forming arrays in bulk on a semiconductor substrate, wherein there are a plurality of emitters or detectors in one array)).
Satyan and Pacala are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical measurement and LIDAR systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser diode arrangement of Satyan to include the common emitter substrate of Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to improve manufacturing efficiency and reduce component footprint. By integrating Pacala’s teaching of forming arrays in bulk on a semiconductor substrate into Satyan’s system, the system can achieve a more compact and cost-effective laser configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that utilizing a common emitter substrate would yield the predictable result of simplified alignment and reduced manufacturing complexity.
Regarding Claim 16, Satyan is not relied upon as teaching that the plurality of detectors are arranged over a common substrate.
However, Pacala teaches that the plurality of detectors are arranged over a common substrate ([0201] Array 1410 can be planar (e.g., having irregularity from a perfect plane less than 1 mm peak-to-valley over a 10 mm diameter disc) for ease in manufacturing (e.g., forming arrays in bulk on a semiconductor substrate, wherein there are a plurality of emitters or detectors in one array)).
Satyan and Pacala are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical measurement and LIDAR systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detector arrangement of Satyan to include the common substrate of Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to streamline the assembly of the sensor array. By integrating Pacala’s teaching of a planar array formed in bulk on a substrate into Satyan’s optical measurement system, the system can realize improved consistency in detector placement. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that utilizing a common substrate for the detectors would yield the predictable result of enhanced scalability and structural uniformity.
Regarding Claim 17, Satyan teaches that the optical element is adapted to transmit the first partial beam of irradiated electromagnetic radiation in the first direction ([Col. 7, ll. 38-46] The first and second CHDLs 510, 570 may be multiplexed by a beam combiner 575, the beams from the first and second CHDLs 510, 570 are combined and directed to the target 560).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645