DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, line 4, “…from the same material system” should read “…from same material system”.
Regarding claim 8, line 7, “…from a detection signal of the photodetector…” should read “…from a detection signal of a photodetector…”.
Regarding claim 8, line 9, “… the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the surface-emitting laser diode” should read “…an electromagnetic radiation emitted by a surface-emitting laser diode”.
Regarding claim 8, line 11, “ comprises a surface-emitting laser diode and a photodetector…” should read “comprises the surface-emitting laser diode and the photodetector”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baier et al. (US 20160290785 A1, hereinafter “Baier”).
Regarding claim 1, Baier teaches an optoelectronic semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer stack in which a surface-emitting laser diode and a photodetector are arranged vertically one on top of the other (Baier; Fig. 1, [0030], VECSEL consists of a VCSEL layer structure 15 formed by an electrically pumped gain medium 3 (InGaAs quantum wells embedded in GaAs) embedded between two DBR 2, 4, which form an inner cavity of the laser; [0033], a photodetector 6 attached to the rear side of the lower DBR 4 (equivalent to a surface-emitting laser diode and a photodetector are arranged vertically one on top of the other) measures the small amount of radiation to monitors the influence of the back-scattered light 8 from the target object can be extracted); and
a current source adapted to vary a current impressed in the surface-emitting laser diode, thus allowing an emission wavelength to be varied (Baier; Fig. 1, [0031], the operating current for current injection into the gain medium 3 is provided by an appropriate power source 10 (equivalent to current source); [0019], the control unit controls an appropriate power source to modulate the operating current of the VECSEL (includes VCSEL [0030]) for modulating the laser wavelength. This allows a wavelength tuning of the laser radiation via the injected current); and
an evaluation device adapted to determine, from a detection signal of the photodetector, information about a change in distance between the optoelectronic semiconductor device and an object which has reflected the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the surface-emitting laser diode (Baier; Fig. 1, [0036], the back-scattered laser radiation 8 from the target object influences the wavelength of the emitted laser radiation 7 which is sensed by the photodetector 6. To evaluate this measurement signal, the photodetector 6 is connected to an appropriate evaluation unit 9 which communicates with the sensor control unit 12 and calculates the desired velocity or distance of the target object based on this frequency change).
Regarding claim 7, Baier teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the detection signal is a periodic signal from which a difference is determined between a frequency of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the surface-emitting laser diode and the frequency of the electromagnetic radiation reflected by the object (Baier; [0036], the evaluation unit 9 which communicates with the sensor control unit 12 and calculates the desired velocity or distance of the target object based on this frequency change. [0039], in the case of a modulated operating current, the distance of non-moving objects can also be detected: as described hereinbefore, the changing current leads to a changing frequency f2 = f1 + α . τ with α being the frequency change per time. In this situation, the frequency of the back-scattered light differs from the actual frequency in the cavity by Δf ~ α . τ ~ α . 2 . d/c; [0040], where τ is the roundtrip time and therefore proportional to the traveling distance d. Again a beat frequency in the output power is observed, now proportional to the distance of the object).
Regarding claim 17, Baier teaches a method for operating an optoelectronic semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer stack in which a surface-emitting laser diode and a photodetector are arranged vertically one on top of the other (Baier; Fig. 1, [0030], VECSEL consists of a VCSEL layer structure 15 formed by an electrically pumped gain medium 3 (InGaAs quantum wells embedded in GaAs) embedded between two DBR 2, 4, which form an inner cavity of the laser; [0033], a photodetector 6 attached to the rear side of the lower DBR 4 (equivalent to a surface-emitting laser diode and a photodetector are arranged vertically one on top of the other) measures the small amount of radiation to monitors the influence of the back-scattered light 8 from the target object can be extracted); and
a current source adapted to vary a current impressed in the surface-emitting laser diode, thus allowing an emission wavelength to be varied (Baier; Fig. 1, [0031], the operating current for current injection into the gain medium 3 is provided by an appropriate power source 10 (equivalent to current source); [0019], the control unit controls an appropriate power source to modulate the operating current of the VECSEL (includes VCSEL [0030]) for modulating the laser wavelength. This allows a wavelength tuning of the laser radiation via the injected current);
wherein the method comprises
impressing a current which varies over time into the surface-emitting laser diode, as a result of which electromagnetic radiation is emitted at a frequency which varies over time (Baier; [0039], in the case of a modulated operating current, the distance of non-moving objects can also be detected: as described hereinbefore, the changing current leads to a changing frequency f2 = f1 + α . τ with α being the frequency change per unit of time (can be made linear by selecting a proper operation regime) (equivalent to injecting a current that varies with time into the surface emitting laser diode, therefore emitting electromagnetic radiation with a frequency that varies over time). In this situation, the frequency of the back-scattered light differs from the actual frequency in the cavity by Δf ~ α . τ ~ α . 2 . d/c; [0040], where τ is the roundtrip time and therefore proportional to the traveling distance d. Again a beat frequency in the output power is observed, now proportional to the distance of the object);
detecting a photocurrent through the photodetector, thereby obtaining a detection signal (Baier; [0036], the back-scattered laser radiation 8 from the target object influences the wavelength of the emitted laser radiation 7 which is sensed by the photodetector 6); and
determining, from the detection signal, a change in a distance between an object reflecting the electromagnetic radiation and the optoelectronic semiconductor device (Baier; Fig. 1, [0036], the back-scattered laser radiation 8 from the target object influences the wavelength of the emitted laser radiation 7 which is sensed by the photodetector 6. To evaluate this measurement signal, the photodetector 6 is connected to an appropriate evaluation unit 9 which communicates with the sensor control unit 12 and calculates the desired velocity or distance of the target object based on this frequency change).
Regarding claim 19, Baier teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein the detection signal is a periodic signal from which a difference is determined between a frequency of electromagnetic radiation which has been emitted by the surface- emitting laser diode and the frequency of the electromagnetic radiation which has been reflected by the object is determinable (Baier; [0036], the evaluation unit 9 which communicates with the sensor control unit 12 and calculates the desired velocity or distance of the target object based on this frequency change. [0039], in the case of a modulated operating current, the distance of non-moving objects can also be detected: as described hereinbefore, the changing current leads to a changing frequency f2 = f1 + α . τ with α being the frequency change per time. In this situation, the frequency of the back-scattered light differs from the actual frequency in the cavity by Δf ~ α . τ ~ α . 2 . d/c; [0040], where τ is the roundtrip time and therefore proportional to the traveling distance d. Again a beat frequency in the output power is observed, now proportional to the distance of the object).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Wipiejewski (DE 19807783 A1, hereinafter “Wipiejewski”).
Regarding claim 2, Baier teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor device according to claim 1.
Baier does not teach, wherein at least one semiconductor layer of an active zone of the surface-emitting laser diode and at least one semiconductor layer of the photodetector originate from the same material system.
Wipiejewski teaches, wherein at least one semiconductor layer of an active zone of the surface-emitting laser diode and at least one semiconductor layer of the photodetector originate from the same material system (Wipiejewski; Fig. 1, [0001], the invention relates to a component with a substrate on which at least one light emitter 108 (preferably a vertical resonator laser diode, VCSEL [0002]), which emits light with an emission wavelength and at least one light receiver 103 are arranged one above the other; [0034], above the Bragg reflector 30 is an active layer 60 (made by GaAs); [0039], a photodiode 135 is preferably designed as a pin diode and contains three semiconductor layers 140, 150 and 160, where the middle semiconductor layer 150 preferably consists of GaAs and contains no dopant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include wherein at least one semiconductor layer of an active zone of the surface-emitting laser diode and at least one semiconductor layer of the photodetector originate from the same material system taught by Wipiejewski with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using same material system in both surface emitting laser diode and the photodetector predictably to simplify the fabrication process when fabricating the surface emitting laser diode and photodetector on top of each other.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Golikov et al. (US 20210190960 A1, hereinafter “Golikov”).
Regarding claim 3, Baier teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor device according to claim 1.
Baier does not teach, further comprising a waveguide adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to the photodetector.
Golikov teaches, further comprising a waveguide adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to the photodetector (Golikov; Fig. 5, [0139], depicts a representative implementation of an optical detector 416 (Fig. 4). The optical detector 416 employs an fiber optic array 440 and a plurality of detectors 446-1, 446-2…, 446-N. The fiber optic array 440 comprises a plurality of optical fiber 450. The plurality of optical fibers 50 associated with the fiber optic array 440 may be connected to the plurality of detector 446-1, 446-2,…, 446-n to form N optical paths 448-1, 448-2, …, 448-N from the fiber optic array 440 to the plurality of detectors 446-1, 446-2, …, 446-N; [0140], the plurality of detectors 446-1 to 446-N correspond, one-to-one, to plurality of optical fibers 450associated with the fiber optic array 440, and each detector in the plurality of detectors 446-1 to 446-N may be configured to receive the input beams 432 and 434 through the fiber optic array 440 (a given optical fiber 450 of the fiber optic array 440 is associated with a given detector of the plurality of detector 446-1 to 446-N in a one-to-one relationship)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include further comprising a waveguide adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to the photodetector taught by Golikov with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using waveguide structure to detect the reflected signal reflected from object to the photodetector (Golikov; [0140]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Tartaglia et al. (US 20020181899 A1, hereinafter “Tartaglia”).
Regarding claim 4, Baier teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor device according to claim 1.
Baier does not teach, further comprising an encapsulation, wherein the surface-emitting laser diode is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation via the encapsulation.
Tartaglia teaches, further comprising an encapsulation, wherein the surface-emitting laser diode is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation via the encapsulation (Tartaglia; Fig. 4, [0040], a cross section side view showing additional details of the plastic encapsulant formed over device die 4 (including optoelectronic device 6 such as short or long wavelength VCSEL or other lasers or photodetector and may be in array format); Shaped and cured plastic encapsulant 30 is formed over device die, extends laterally beyond device die 4, and includes a wedge shape; [0028], moreover, the encapsulant material is chosen to be transmissive to the wavelength of light transmitted either from the optoelectronic device to the optical transmission medium or vice versa. For example, as used in conjunction with VCSELs and other devices preferred in today’s optoelectronics industry, the encapsulant material may be chosen to be transmissive to 850 nm, 1310 nm or 1550 nm wavelength light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include further comprising an encapsulation, wherein the surface-emitting laser diode is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation via the encapsulation taught by Tartaglia with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using plastic encapsulant 30 may advantageously serve to protect the optoelectronic device environmentally and physically and optionally acts as a mechanical stop for positioning the optical fibers (Tartaglia; [0028], [0040], [0050]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Mizuno (US 6546038 B1, hereinafter “Mizuno”).
Regarding claim 5, Baier teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor device according to claim 1.
Baier does not teach, wherein the surface-emitting laser diode comprises a plurality of laser elements stacked vertically one on top of the other.
Mizuno teaches, wherein the surface-emitting laser diode comprises a plurality of laser elements stacked vertically one on top of the other (Mizuno; Fig. 1, column 4, line 32, a surface emitting diode 10 includes substrate 12 and a plurality of semiconductor layers consisting of a 1st reflecting layer 14, a 1st barrier layer 16, a 1st active layer 18, a 2nd barrier layer 20, a 2nd active layer 22, a 3rd barrier layer 24, a 3rd active layer 26, a 4th barrier layer 28, a 2nd reflecting layer 30, a cladding layer 32, and a current blocking layer 34, which are formed on substrate 12 (1st, 2nd, 3rd active layers 18, 22, 26 with related barrier layers are equivalent to three different surface emitting laser diode stacked vertically one on top of the other); Fig. 2, column 7, line 56, the emission spectrum Ls of the composite light which is composed of the lights generated by the active layers 18, 22, 26 (light-generating layers), which emission spectra L18, L22 L26 are superimposed on one another, so that the wavelength width over which the gain is obtained is larger in the emission spectrum Ls of the composite light emitted from the emitting portion 48 than that in each emission spectrum L18, L22, L26 of each active layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include wherein the surface-emitting laser diode comprises a plurality of laser elements stacked vertically one on top of the other taught by Mizuno with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to combine the intensity of three different surface emitting laser diode by stacking vertically one on top of the other predictably to have higher intensity of emitted light signal compare than the light signal which is emitted by only one surface emitting laser diode (Mizuno; Fig. 2, column 7, line 56).
Claim(s) 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier alone.
Regarding claim 8, Baier teaches an optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus comprising:
a substrate (Baier; Fig. 1, [0033], the VCSEL layer structure 15 is grown on an appropriate optically transparent substrate 1),
a semiconductor layer stack (Baier; Fig. 1, [0030], VECSEL consists of a VCSEL layer structure 15 formed by an electrically pumped gain medium 3 (InGaAs quantum wells embedded in GaAs) embedded between two DBR 2, 4, which form an inner cavity of the laser),
a current source (Baier; Fig. 1, [0031], the operating current for current injection into the gain medium 3 is provided by an appropriate power source 10 (equivalent to current source)), and
an evaluation device adapted to determine, from a detection signal of the photodetector, information about a change in distance between the optoelectronic semiconductor device and an object which has reflected the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the surface-emitting laser diode (Baier; Fig. 1, [0036], the back-scattered laser radiation 8 from the target object influences the wavelength of the emitted laser radiation 7 which is sensed by the photodetector 6. To evaluate this measurement signal, the photodetector 6 is connected to an appropriate evaluation unit 9 which communicates with the sensor control unit 12 and calculates the desired velocity or distance of the target object based on this frequency change);
wherein the semiconductor layer stack each comprises a surface-emitting laser diode and a photodetector, which are arranged vertically one on top of the other (Baier; Fig. 1, [0030], VECSEL consists of a VCSEL layer structure 15 formed by an electrically pumped gain medium 3 (InGaAs quantum wells embedded in GaAs) embedded between two DBR 2, 4, which form an inner cavity of the laser; [0033], a photodetector 6 attached to the rear side of the lower DBR 4 (equivalent to the photodetector are arranged vertically one on top of the other) measures the small amount of radiation to monitors the influence of the back-scattered light 8 from the target object can be extracted), and the current source is adapted to vary a current intensity impressed into at least one of the surface-emitting laser diodes, thus allowing an emission wavelength to be varied (Baier; Fig. 1, [0031], the operating current for current injection into the gain medium 3 is provided by an appropriate power source 10 (equivalent to current source). [0019], the control unit controls an appropriate power source to modulate the operating current of the VECSEL (includes VCSEL [0030]) for modulating the laser wavelength. This allows a wavelength tuning of the laser radiation via the injected current).
Baier does not teach, a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate,
Baier further teaches in other embodiment, in Fig. 5, [0047], two adjacent VECSELs 15 (includes VCSELs) arranges on a substrate 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate taught by Baier with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using VECSELs array in which single elements are coherently coupled to a high-power laser. The coupling between the single devices can be realized by deflecting a small amount of the laser radiation of a VECSEL into the external cavity of one or several adjacent VECSELS, so that this deflected portion passes through the gain medium of the one or several adjacent VECSELs, while the main part of the light remains inside the cavity. Therefore, increase the output laser power of the sensor which covers a wider application range of the laser sensor (Baier; [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Baier as modified above teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus as recited to claim 8, wherein the detection signal is a periodic signal from which a difference is determined between a frequency of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the surface-emitting laser diode and the frequency of electromagnetic radiation reflected by the object is determinable (Baier; [0036], the evaluation unit 9 which communicates with the sensor control unit 12 and calculates the desired velocity or distance of the target object based on this frequency change. [0039], in the case of a modulated operating current, the distance of non-moving objects can also be detected: as described hereinbefore, the changing current leads to a changing frequency f2=f1+ατ with α being the frequency change per time. In this situation, the frequency of the back-scattered light differs from the actual frequency in the cavity by Δf~α.τ~ α.2.d/c; [0040], where τ is the roundtrip time and therefore proportional to the traveling distance d. Again a beat frequency in the output power is observed, now proportional to the distance of the object).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Golikov.
Regarding claim 9, Baier as modified above teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus as recited to claim 8.
Baier does not teach, further comprising an array of waveguides, which are adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to a respective one of the photodetectors.
Golikov teaches, further comprising an array of waveguides, which are adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to a respective one of the photodetectors (Golikov; Fig. 5, [0139], depicts a representative implementation of an optical detector 416 (Fig. 4). The optical detector 416 employs an fiber optic array 440 and a plurality of detectors 446-1, 446-2…, 446-N. The fiber optic array 440 comprises a plurality of optical fiber 450. The plurality of optical fibers 50 associated with the fiber optic array 440 may be connected to the plurality of detector 446-1, 446-2,lll, 446-n to form N optical paths 448-1, 448-2, …, 448-N from the fiber optic array 440 to the plurality of detectors 446-1, 446-2, …, 446-N; [0140], the plurality of detectors 446-1 to 446-N correspond, one-to-one, to plurality of optical fibers 450associated with the fiber optic array 440, and each detector in the plurality of detectors 446-1 to 446-N may be configured to receive the input beams 432 and 434 through the fiber optic array 440 (a given optical fiber 450 of the fiber optic array 440 is associated with a given detector of the plurality of detector 446-1 to 446-N in a one-to-one relationship)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate taught by Baier, include further comprising an array of waveguides, which are adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to a respective one of the photodetectors taught by Golikov with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using waveguide structure to detect the reflected signal reflected from object to the photodetector (Golikov; [0140]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Mizuno.
Regarding claim 10, Baier as modified above teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus as recited to claim 8.
Baier does not teach, wherein the surface-emitting laser diode each comprises a plurality of laser elements stacked vertically one on top of the other.
Mizuno teaches, wherein the surface-emitting laser diode each comprises a plurality of laser elements stacked vertically one on top of the other (Mizuno; Fig. 1, column 4, line 32, a surface emitting diode 10 includes substrate 12 and a plurality of semiconductor layers consisting of a 1st reflecting layer 14, a 1st barrier layer 16, a 1st active layer 18, a 2nd barrier layer 20, a 2nd active layer 22, a 3rd barrier layer 24, a 3rd active layer 26, a 4th barrier layer 28, a 2nd reflecting layer 30, a cladding layer 32, and a current blocking layer 34, which are formed on substrate 12 (1st, 2nd, 3rd active layers 18, 22, 26 with related barrier layers are equivalent to three different surface emitting laser diode stacked vertically one on top of the other); Fig. 2, column 7, line 56, the emission spectrum Ls of the composite light which is composed of the lights generated by the active layers 18, 22, 26 (light-generating layers), which emission spectra L18, L22 L26 are superimposed on one another, so that the wavelength width over which the gain is obtained is larger in the emission spectrum Ls of the composite light emitted from the emitting portion 48 than that in each emission spectrum L18, L22, L26 of each active layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate taught by Baier, include wherein the surface-emitting laser diode comprises a plurality of laser elements stacked vertically one on top of the other taught by Mizuno with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to combine the intensity of three different surface emitting laser diode by stacking vertically one on top of the other predictably to have higher intensity of emitted light signal compare than the light signal which is emitted by only one surface emitting laser diode (Mizuno; Fig. 2, column 7, line 56).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Hamada et al. (JP 2004112235 A, hereinafter “Hamada”).
Regarding claim 11, Baier as modified above teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus as recited to claim 8.
Baier does not teach, wherein the current source is adapted to impress different current intensities into two different surface-emitting laser diodes, respectively.
Hamada teaches, wherein the current source is adapted to impress different current intensities into two different surface-emitting laser diodes, respectively (Hamada; Fig. 3, page 9, line 15, a diagram showing an example of the configuration of a drive circuit 10 (equivalent to current source) for a light source. The drive circuit 10 has a plurality of laser diode drivers (LDDs) 31 to 34 that can control the current values supplied to the light sources (laser diodes, VCSEL) #1 to #4, respectively. The LDDs 31 to 34 each output a different desired current value based on a control signal 35. The drive circuit 10 preferably drives each light source with four independent currents so that the light emission amounts of the respective light sources are 1:2:4:8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate taught by Baier, include wherein the current source is adapted to impress different current intensities into two different surface-emitting laser diodes, respectively taught by Hamada with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is applying different current to different VCSELs diode to possibly generate a multilevel optical signal with different level as shown in Fig. 4 (Hamada; Fig. 4, page 10, line 6).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Masalkar et al. (US 20150229912 A1, hereinafter “Masalkar”).
Regarding claim 12, Baier as modified above teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus as recited to claim 8.
Baier does not teach, wherein the current source is adapted to drive multiple surface-emitting laser diodes of the plurality of pixels simultaneously.
Masalkar teaches, wherein the current source is adapted to drive multiple surface-emitting laser diodes of the plurality of pixels simultaneously (Masalkar; [0026], the driver 418 may be configured to deliver an operating current to the VCSEL array device (including a VCSEL chip 102 (including a plurality of VCSEL emitters 106) mounted on a submount 104, Fig. 1, [0012]) to power the VCSEL array device. In particular, the drive 418 may be configured to receive a modulated input signal 420. The driver may act as a constant current source to deliver the modulated input signal to the VCSEL array device. The VCSEL array device may generate illumination light as a pulse train that corresponds to the modulated input signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate taught by Baier, include wherein the current source is adapted to drive multiple surface-emitting laser diodes of the plurality of pixels simultaneously taught by Masalkar with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is applying current source to an VCSEL array device predictably to have higher emitting light signal compare with the light signal emitted from only one VCSEL laser diode.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baier, modified in view of Moench et al. (US 20100328680 A1, hereinafter “Moench”).
Regarding claim 15, Baier as modified above teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus as recited to claim 8.
Baier does not teach, further comprising an optical element adapted to deflect the direction of electromagnetic radiation emitted by some of the pixels.
Moench teaches, further comprising an optical element adapted to deflect the direction of electromagnetic radiation emitted by some of the pixels (Moench; Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0056]-[0057], line 26, shows a system with an optical sensor 600 comprising an array of lasers, detectors (Fig. 1, VECSEL laser 100 (including VCSEL layer structure 9) and detector 200 attached to the rear side of the VCSEL, [0044]) and filter devices (Fig. 2), further comprising an optical device 300 consisting of first optical devices 310 (micro lenses) for focusing and second optical devices 320 (concave lens) directing the measuring beams of different lasers to different direction in space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate taught by Baier, include further comprising an optical element adapted to deflect the direction of electromagnetic radiation emitted by some of the pixels taught by Moench with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to direct the measuring beams of different lasers to different direction in space predictably to adjust the measuring beams to different ROI as needed.
Regarding claim 16, Baier as modified above teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor apparatus as recited to claim 8.
Baier does not teach, further comprising an array of optical micro elements which are adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to a respective one of the photodetectors.
Moench teaches, further comprising an array of optical micro elements which are adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to a respective one of the photodetectors (Moench; Fig. 4, [0056], shows a system with an optical sensor 600 comprising an array of lasers, detectors (Fig. 1, VECSEL laser 100 (including VCSEL layer structure 9) and detector 200 attached to the rear side of the VCSEL, [0044]) and filter devices (Fig. 2), further comprising an optical device 300 consisting of first optical devices 310 (micro lenses) for focusing and second optical devices 320 (concave lens) directing the measuring beams of different lasers to different direction in space. The individual measurement signals generated by the photodiodes can be processed individually).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device taught by Baier to include a plurality of pixels arranged over the substrate taught by Baier, include further comprising an array of optical micro elements which are adapted to supply electromagnetic radiation reflected by an object to a respective one of the photodetectors taught by Moench with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to using micro lens 310 for focusing the reflected light beam to each individual photodetector such that the individual measurement signals generated by the photodiodes can be processed individually (Moench; [0056]).
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645