Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannle (US 2006/0252862) in view of Lindeman (WO 2019042999 cited by the applicants)
With respect to claim 1, Mannle discloses an additive for thermoplastic which includes making a master batch comprising thermoplastic polymer (see examples). The additive comprises reaction product of ferric salt and fatty acid as well as UV absorber and radical scavenger [0019]. The master batch is granulated before it is incorporated into polymer.
The content of additives in master batch includes 57% phosphine stabilizer (free radical scavenger), 28% hindered phenol and 15% benzofuranone stabilizer (UV absorber). The additives are sold under tradename Irgafos or Irganox (see Table 3) in form of the granules, wherein largest particle size is 50 microns or less (see manufacturer’s website).
Mannle discloses additive that is utilized with thermoplastic resin; however the only examples are polyethylenes and polypropylene.
In the same field of endeavor which includes making films Lindeman discloses combination of the same additives which includes UV absorber and radical scavenger. The additives are incorporated into mixture of ethylenically unsaturated (vinyl) monomers.
The polymers of Lindeman are formed from monomers such as methyl methacrylates and 0.1-20 wt.% of multifunctional monomers which include divinyl benzene, diacrylates, triacrylates and the like.
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize thermoplastic polymers of Lindeman with the additive of Mannle. The additive will still provide the same result to the thermoplastic polymers of Lindeman. Additionally, Mannle clearly teaches thermoplastics which includes not only acrylates but many others. Additionally Lindeman teaches incorporating additive composition into polymeric carrier (master batch) in the amounts that encompass the amounts disclosed in Mannle.
Conclusion
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 17, 2027