Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 11/21/2024, 03/22/2023 and 03/08/2023.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-13, 15-21, 23-24, 42 and 44 are pending.
Claims 3, 7-10, 14, 22, 25-41 and 43 are cancelled.
Claims 20-21, 23, 42 and 44 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YILDIRIM (Nanoparticle-Mediated Acoustic Cavitation Enables High Intensity Focused Ultrasound Ablation Without Tissue Heating. Applied Materials and interfaces. 2018.).
Regarding claim 1, YILDIRIM teaches a hydrophobic nanoparticle (abstract) comprising:
a. a 100 nanometer nanoparticle (page 36787, paragraph 3).
b. a dodecyl trichlorosilane layer on the surface (page 36787, paragraph 3), which reads on silane layer coating the outer surface and
c. a stabilization layer of phospholipids (Page 36787, paragraph 2) where there is a portion bonded to the silane later and a non-binding portion free from the silane layer (Figure 1a), which reads on a stabilization layer comprising stabilizing molecules, each stabilizing molecule in the stabilization layer having a binding portion bound to the silane layer and a non-binding portion free from the silane layer.
Regarding claim 1 and 6, The reference does not specifically teach having a nanoparticle size under 100 nm as claimed by the Applicant. The nanoparticle size is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of the ordinary skill to determine the optimal nanoparticle size in order to best achieve desired results, such as increasing penetration and accumulation in solid tumors. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of the nanoparticle size would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Note, since the prior art has the same components, it would have the same inherent property of “the stabilizing molecules in the stabilization layer being spaced apart on the silane layer by distances configured to provide bubble nucleation sites that, in response to the ultrasound equipment delivering an acoustic intensity, initiate cavitation of echogenic micron-sized bubbles”, unless proven otherwise. Furthermore, YILDIRIM teaches the bubbles are capable of acoustic cavitation when under ultrasound (Figure 1b).
Note, with regard to claims 2 and 24, these claims recite a composition, and the intended use recited in the preamble would reasonably appear not to be a claim limitation. “If the claim preamble, when read in the context of the entire claim, recites limitations of the claim, or, if the claim preamble is ‘necessary to give life, meaning, and vitality’ to the claim, then the claim preamble should be construed as if in the balance of the claim…If, however, the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth the complete invention, including all of its limitations, and the preamble offers no distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, but rather merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, then the preamble is of no significance to claim construction because it cannot be said to constitute or explain a claim limitation.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165-66 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the intended use of “the acoustic intensity is delivered at a mechanical index of about 1.9 or less” (instant claim 2) and “substantially completely biodegrades within a period of less than one month after introduction into a body of a subject” (instant claim 24) in the composition claims is met by the prior art, because the prior art compositions would be at least capable of performing said use.
Regarding claims 4-5, the nanoparticle is a mesoporous silica nanoparticle (page 36787, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 11, YILDIRIM teaches a dodecyl trichlorosilane layer on the surface (page 36787, paragraph 3), which reads on a chlorosilane.
Additional disclosure: YILDIRIM teaches that if a nanoparticle is too large it prevents penetration and accumulation in solid tumors (Page 36787, paragraph 1).
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YILDIRIM (Nanoparticle-Mediated Acoustic Cavitation Enables High Intensity Focused Ultrasound Ablation Without Tissue Heating. Applied Materials and interfaces. 2018.) in view of ZHANG (Surface Engineering of Core/Shell Iron/Iron Oxide Nanoparticles from Microemulsions for Hyperthermia. Mater Sci Eng C Biol Appl. 2010.).
YILDIRIM teaches Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
Regarding claim 12, YILDIRIM does not teach adding a hexamethyldisilazane layer.
ZHANG teaches nanoparticles that comprise a saline layer of hexamethyldisilazane (HMDS), which improves the stability of the nanoparticle (page 5, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a hexamethyldisilazane layer. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it improves the stability of the nanoparticle, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles coated in a saline layer.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12, 13, 15-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YILDIRIM (Nanoparticle-Mediated Acoustic Cavitation Enables High Intensity Focused Ultrasound Ablation Without Tissue Heating. Applied Materials and interfaces. 2018.) and ZHANG (Surface Engineering of Core/Shell Iron/Iron Oxide Nanoparticles from Microemulsions for Hyperthermia. Mater Sci Eng C Biol Appl. 2010.) in view of KENNEDY (Human serum albumin stabilizes aqueous silver nanoparticle suspensions and inhibits particle uptake by cells. Environmental Science Nano. 2018.).
YILDIRIM and ZHANG teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
Regarding claim 13, 15-19, YILDIRIM and ZHANG do not teach adding human serum albumin.
KENNEDY teaches nanoparticles that have human serum albumin attached, which stabilizes the nanoparticles against aggregation and dissolution and produces particles that can be lyophilized for long-term storage and redispersed in water consistently (abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate human serum albumin. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it stabilizes the nanoparticles against aggregation and dissolution and produces particles that can be lyophilized for long-term storage and redispersed in water consistently and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles with surface modifications for stability.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618