DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the non-final office action dated 08/28/2025, applicant has amended claims 31-32, 34, 41-42 and 45. Claims 31-50 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-36, 41-42 and 44-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al (US Pub No. 2016/0360018, hereinafter Watson) in view of Watson et al (US Pub No. 2016/0357510, hereinafter Watson (2016/0357510)).
Regarding claim 31, Watson teaches a Bluetooth headset (See Watson Fig 1 & ¶ [0020], wireless ear buds 102-104 can communicate using Bluetooth): a Bluetooth interface configured to: establish a first Bluetooth connection with a first electronic device (Fig 5, step 502); and establish a second Bluetooth connection with a second electronic device (Fig 5, step 508), wherein the first Bluetooth connection and the second Bluetooth connection are configured to support media audio stream transmission (¶ [0022], wireless devices 102, 104, 106, and 108 can perform media playback) and call audio stream transmission (¶ [0022], wireless devices 102, 104, 106, and 108 can process incoming/outgoing calls); wherein the Bluetooth headset is further configured to: receive, via the first Bluetooth connection, a first audio stream (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], active wireless device sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback); output the first call audio stream (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], active wireless device 208 sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback); and wherein the Bluetooth headset is further configured to: receive, via the second Bluetooth connection, a second call audio stream (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], requesting wireless device 206 sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback); output the second call audio stream (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], requesting wireless device 206 sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback).
Watson does not explicitly teach the Bluetooth headset communicating to the wireless devices that it is unavailable when receiving a call.
Watson (2016/0357510) teaches a wireless ear bud that sends a signal to a companion communication device when it is unavailable to receive a call (See Watson (2016/0357510) ¶ [0036] & Figs 3a-3c, unavailable signal sent to companion device 350 from wireless ear bud 300 to re-route call).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the unavailable signal taught by Watson (2016/0357510) with the headset taught by Watson. As stated by Watson (2016/0357510) ¶ [0036], the unavailable signal sent from the wireless ear bud allows the companion device to route audio to an alternate output which prevents the call from simply being missed. This provides the user with a hands free intuitive call routing feature which enhances efficiency and overall user experience.
Regarding claim 32, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 31, wherein, in response to the second message an audio channel of the first electronic device is switched to a preset channel (¶ [0023], wireless ear buds 102 and 104 can communicate with wireless devices 106 and 108 to determine operating parameters for communication including frequency channels, frequency hopping schedule, link management, and messaging parameters).
Regarding claim 33, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 31, wherein, the second message indicates a service type of a first call service (Fig 3A & ¶ [0028], wireless devices 206-208 can communicate via message and send service type information) wherein, based on the service type, the first electronic device performs an action (Fig 3A, arbitration criteria), wherein the first call audio stream is an audio stream of the first call service, and wherein the action is one of switching the first call service to call hold (¶ [0035], audio data can be paused after an interrupt); outputting the first call audio stream through a preset channel (¶ [0048], after an interrupt the transmitting devices switch between a transmitting and non-transmitting channel); outputting the first call audio stream through a preset channel and decreasing a volume of the first call audio stream ([0035], audio data can be paused or muted after an interrupt); or switching the first call service to the call hold and displaying prompt information, prompting whether to switch an audio channel from the Bluetooth headset to a preset channel.
Regarding claim 34, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 31, wherein the Bluetooth headset is further configured to perform an action when the second call audio stream is not received within a predetermined time period (Fig 3A, no audio arbitration criteria), wherein the action comprises sending the third message, wherein the third message causes the first electronic device to: switch, an audio channel from a preset channel to the Bluetooth headset (¶ [0023], wireless ear buds 102 and 104 can communicate with wireless devices 106 and 108 to determine operating parameters for communication including frequency channels, frequency hopping schedule, link management, and messaging parameters).
Regarding claim 35, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 31, wherein the Bluetooth headset causes the first electronic device to display a first audio switching interface when a first call service is initiated (¶ [0036], selection interface), wherein the first audio switching interface comprises at least two first audio channel options including a Bluetooth headset option (¶ [0020], Bluetooth and wifi protocol options) and first channel usage status information, indicating that the Bluetooth headset is being used (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices), and wherein the Bluetooth headset causes the second electronic device to display a second audio switching interface (¶ [0036], selection interface) when a second call service is initiated, wherein the second audio switching interface comprises at least two second audio channel options including the Bluetooth headset option (¶ [0020], Bluetooth and wifi protocol options) and second channel usage status information (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices).
Regarding claim 36, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 35, wherein the first audio switching interface is configured to receive a first user operation that causes the first call audio stream to be sent to and output by the Bluetooth headset (¶ [0036], user selection takes priority), wherein the Bluetooth headset is further configured to: send to the second electronic device, a third message indicating that the Bluetooth headset is occupied (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices), wherein the second electronic device is further configured to receive, from the Bluetooth headset, the third message (Fig 3A & ¶ [0028], wireless devices 206-208 can communicate via message and send service type information), and wherein the third message causes the second electronic device to switch, an audio channel of the second electronic device from the Bluetooth headset to a preset channel (¶ [0048], after an interrupt the transmitting devices switch between a transmitting and non-transmitting channel).
Regarding claim 41, Watson teaches a system (Fig 1, system 100) comprising: a first electronic device (Fig 1, active wireless device 108); a second electronic device (Fig 1, requesting wireless device 106); and a BLUETOOTH headset (See Watson Fig 1 & ¶ [0020], wireless ear buds 102-104 can communicate using Bluetooth) configured to: establish a first BLUETOOTH connection to the first electronic device (Fig 5, step 502); and establish a second BLUETOOTH connection to the second electronic device (Fig 5, step 508), wherein the first BLUETOOTH connection and the second BLUETOOTH connection support media audio stream transmission (¶ [0022], wireless devices 102, 104, 106, and 108 can perform media playback) and call audio stream transmission (¶ [0022], wireless devices 102, 104, 106, and 108 can process incoming/outgoing calls), wherein the first electronic device is configured to send, in response to a first operation of a user, a first media audio stream to the BLUETOOTH headset (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], active wireless device sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback), wherein the BLUETOOTH headset is further configured to: receive, from the first electronic device, the first media audio stream; output the first media audio stream (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], active wireless device 208 sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback); wherein the second electronic device is configured to: initiate a first call service; and send a first call audio stream of the first call service to the BLUETOOTH headset, and wherein the BLUETOOTH headset is further configured to: receive, from the second electronic device, the first call audio stream (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], requesting wireless device 206 sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback); output the first call audio stream (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], requesting wireless device 206 sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback).
Watson does not explicitly teach the Bluetooth headset communicating to the wireless devices that it is unavailable when receiving a call.
Watson (2016/0357510) teaches a wireless ear bud that sends a signal to a companion communication device when it is unavailable to receive a call (See Watson ¶ [0036] & Figs 3a-3c, unavailable signal sent to companion device 350 from wireless ear bud 300 to re-route call).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the unavailable signal taught by Watson (2016/0357510) with the headset taught by Watson. As stated by Watson (2016/0357510) ¶ [0036], the unavailable signal sent from the wireless ear bud allows the companion device to route audio to an alternate output which prevents the call from simply being missed. This provides the user with a hands free intuitive call routing feature which enhances efficiency and overall user experience.
Regarding claim 42, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 41, wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: receive, from the BLUETOOTH headset, the second message and switch, based on the second message, the audio channel from the BLUETOOTH headset to a preset channel (¶ [0023], wireless ear buds 102 and 104 can communicate with wireless devices 106 and 108 to determine operating parameters for communication including frequency channels, frequency hopping schedule, link management, and messaging parameters).
Regarding claim 44, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 41, wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: receive, from the Bluetooth headset, the second message; determine a service type of a first media service (Fig 3A & ¶ [0028], wireless devices 206-208 can communicate via message and send service type information); and perform, based on the service type, an action, wherein the first media audio stream is an audio stream of the first media service, and wherein the action comprises one of: stopping processing the first media service (¶ [0035], audio data can be paused or muted after an interrupt); continuing to process the first media service; continuing to process the first media service and decreasing an audio volume of the first media service; or stopping processing the first media service and displaying prompt information prompting whether to switch an audio channel from the Bluetooth headset to a first preset channel.
Regarding claim 45, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 41, wherein the Bluetooth headset is further configured to perform an action when the first call audio stream is not received within a preset duration (Fig 3A, no audio arbitration criteria), wherein the action comprises sending the third message to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: receive, from the Bluetooth headset, the third message (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices); and switch, based on the third message, an audio channel of the first electronic device from the preset channel to the Bluetooth headset (¶ 0048], after an interrupt the transmitting devices switch between a transmitting and non-transmitting channel) or switch, in response to a confirmation operation of the user for the third message, the audio channel to the Bluetooth headset, wherein the confirmation operation triggers switching of the audio channel to the Bluetooth headset.
Regarding claim 46, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 41, wherein the first electronic device wherein the first electronic device is further configured to display, in response to the first operation, a first audio switching interface (¶ [0036], selection interface) comprising at least two first audio channel options (¶ [0020], Bluetooth and wifi protocol options) and first channel usage status information (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices), wherein the at least two first audio channel options comprise a Bluetooth headset option (¶ [0020], Bluetooth and wifi protocol options), wherein the first channel usage status information indicates that the Bluetooth headset is being used (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices), wherein the second electronic device is further configured to display a second audio switching interface (¶ [0036], selection interface) when the second call service is initiated, wherein the second audio switching interface comprises at least two second audio channel options (¶ [0020], Bluetooth and wifi protocol options) and second channel usage status information (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices), and wherein the at least two second audio channel options comprise the Bluetooth headset option (¶ [0020], Bluetooth and wifi protocol options).
Regarding claim 47, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 46, wherein the first electronic device is further configured to send the first media audio stream to the Bluetooth headset in response to a second operation of the user on the first audio switching interface (¶ [0036], user selection takes priority), wherein the second operation triggers output of the first media audio stream through the Bluetooth headset (Fig 2 & ¶ [0026], active wireless device sending audio data to wireless earbuds 202-204 for playback), and wherein the Bluetooth headset is further configured to: receive, from the first electronic device, the first media audio stream; output the first media audio stream; and send to the second electronic device, a third message indicating that the Bluetooth headset is occupied (¶ [0020], closed loop status control between connected devices), wherein the second electronic device is further configured to; receive, from the Bluetooth headset, the third message; and switch, based on the third message, an audio channel of the second electronic device from the Bluetooth headset to a preset channel (¶ 0048], after an interrupt the transmitting devices switch between a transmitting and non-transmitting channel).
Claim(s) 37-40, and 48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al (U.S. Pub No. 20160360018) in view of Watson et al (US Pub No. 2016/0357510) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Crystal et al (U.S. Pub No. 20180063308).
Regarding claim 37, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 31.
Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) does not explicitly teach the first Bluetooth connection and the second Bluetooth connection comprising an advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) connection and a hands-free profile (HFP) connection.
Crystal teaches Bluetooth connections comprising an advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) connection and a hands-free profile (HFP) connection (Crystal ¶ [0046], A2DP and HFP).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the A2DP and HFP protocols taught by Crystal with the Bluetooth system taught by Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510). Both A2DP and HFP are well known in the art and widely used in many communications technologies. Including these Bluetooth protocols allows for both high-quality music streaming and hands-free functionality.
Regarding claim 38, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 31.
Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) does not explicitly teach user recognition using voice recognition results being sent to an electronic device, a call audio stream going to the Bluetooth headset when the wearer is verified, and a call audio stream not going through when a wearer is not verified.
Crystal teaches recognize whether a wearer of the Bluetooth headset is an owner of the Bluetooth headset (Crystal ¶ [0032], user voice recognition); and send a recognition result to the first electronic device or the second electronic device (Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 4-20, the headset allows the user to use the smart phone without touching it, this requires the headset to send a recognition result to the smart phone for use), wherein when a call service is performed, the first electronic device or the second electronic device is further configured to: send a call audio stream to the Bluetooth headset when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is the owner (Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, voice recognition input allows the owner voice control commands to control various aspects of the mobile device), and skip sending the call audio stream to the BLUETOOTH headset when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is not the owner (Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, when used, voice recognition is required to perform call functions through the headset).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the voice recognition control taught by Crystal with the Bluetooth system taught by Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510). Doing so provides added security for a user’s mobile devices.
Regarding claim 39, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 31.
Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) does not explicitly teach user recognition and outputting a call when the wearer of the headset is the owner and not outputting a call when the wearer of the headset is not the owner.
Crystal teaches recognize whether a wearer of the Bluetooth headset is an owner of the Bluetooth headset (Crystal ¶ [0032], user voice recognition); output a call audio stream when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is the owner (See Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, voice recognition input allows the owner voice control commands to control various aspects of the mobile device), and after receiving the call audio stream, and skip outputting the call audio stream when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is not the owner (See Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, when used, voice recognition is required to perform call functions through the headset), and after receiving the call audio stream.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the voice recognition control taught by Crystal with the Bluetooth system taught by Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510). Doing so provides added security for a user’s mobile devices.
Regarding claim 40, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) and Crystal teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 38. The Bluetooth headset of claim 38, wherein the Bluetooth headset is further configured to further recognize, based on ear canal recognition, bone voiceprint recognition, or voice recognition, whether the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is the owner (Crystal ¶ [0032], user voice recognition).
Regarding claim 48, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the Bluetooth headset of claim 41.
Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) does not explicitly teach the first Bluetooth connection and the second Bluetooth connection comprising an advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) connection and a hands-free profile (HFP) connection.
Crystal teaches Bluetooth connections comprising an advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) connection and a hands-free profile (HFP) connection (Crystal ¶ [0046], A2DP and HFP).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the A2DP and HFP protocols taught by Crystal with the Bluetooth system taught by Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510). Both A2DP and HFP are well known in the art and widely used in many communications technologies. Including these Bluetooth protocols allows for both high-quality music streaming and hands-free functionality.
Regarding claim 49, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 41.
Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) does not explicitly teach user recognition using voice recognition results being sent to an electronic device, a call audio stream going to the Bluetooth headset when the wearer is verified, and a call audio stream not going through when a wearer is not verified.
Crystal teaches recognizing whether a wearer of the Bluetooth headset is an owner of the Bluetooth headset (Crystal ¶ [0032], user voice recognition); and send a recognition result to the first electronic device or the second electronic device (See Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 4-20, the headset allows the user to use the smart phone without touching it, this requires the headset to send a recognition result to the smart phone for use), wherein when a call service is performed, the first electronic device or the second electronic device is further configured to: send a call audio stream to the Bluetooth headset when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is the owner (See Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, voice recognition input allows the owner voice control commands to control various aspects of the mobile device), and skip sending the call audio stream to the BLUETOOTH headset when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is not the owner (See Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, when used, voice recognition is required to perform call functions through the headset).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the voice recognition control taught by Crystal with the Bluetooth system taught by Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510). Doing so provides added security for a user’s mobile devices.
Regarding claim 50, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 41.
Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) does not explicitly teach user recognition and outputting a call when the wearer of the headset is the owner and not outputting a call when the wearer of the headset is not the owner.
Crystal teaches recognizing whether a wearer of the Bluetooth headset is an owner of the Bluetooth headset (Crystal ¶ [0032], user voice recognition); output a call audio stream when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is the owner (See Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, voice recognition input allows the owner voice control commands to control various aspects of the mobile device), and after receiving the call audio stream, and skip outputting the call audio stream when the wearer of the Bluetooth headset is not the owner (See Crystal ¶ [0032] lines 9-20, when used, voice recognition is required to perform call functions through the headset), and after receiving the call audio stream.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the voice recognition control taught by Crystal with the Bluetooth system taught by Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510). Doing so provides added security for a user’s mobile devices.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al (U.S. Pub No. 20160360018) in view of Watson et al (US Pub No. 2016/0357510) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Desineni et al (U.S. Pub No. 20160111093).
Regarding claim 43, Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) teaches the system of claim 41.
Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510) does not explicitly teach the Bluetooth headset detecting a service tone and mixing that service tone with the active audio stream.
Desineni teaches detecting that the first call audio stream is a preset service prompt tone (See Desineni ¶ [0023] lines 42-43, message notification from tone generator); and in response to detecting that the first call audio stream is the preset service prompt tone: perform audio mixing on the first media audio stream and the first call audio stream to obtain a mixed audio stream; and output the mixed audio stream (See Desineni ¶ [0023] lines 37-47, audio file actively being played and mixed with notification tone).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the audio mixing taught by Desineni with the Bluetooth system taught by Watson in view of Watson (2016/0357510). Doing so allows for seamless transitions between different audio media types and allows the user to still receive audio notifications while listening to other media types.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 31-50 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paycher et al (US Pub No. 20180352558) teaches optimized scheduling for accessory devices.
Jorgovanovic et al (US Patent No. 10542574) teaches wireless device connection handover.
Achamola et al (US Patent No. 10187870) teaches systems and methods for intelligent routing of notifications of incoming voice communication requests.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694