DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed 8/4/2026 merit new grounds for rejection in view of Baarman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0335490).
Attention is brought to the Baarman reference, which teaches a sleep state wherein the sleep state has a first power consumption level (¶[0186] lowest, medium/low, and higher sampling rates, ¶[0185] sampling rate tied to battery drain);
a first wake state, wherein the first wake state has a second power consumption level that is greater than the first power consumption level (¶[0186] lowest, medium/low, and higher sampling rates,¶[0185] sampling rate tied to battery drain);
while in the first wake state, collecting biometric data using the biometric sensor and posture-related data from the movement sensor, wherein the biometric data is collected at a first rate in the first wake state (¶[0186] a medium or lower sampling rate while the average position of the user is sitting);
determining a change in body posture of the subject (¶[0186]) based on the data from the movement sensor (¶[0188] derived from accelerometer data),
based on determining the change in the body posture of the subject, transitioning from the first wake state to a second wake state (¶[0186]), wherein the biometric data is collected at a second rate (¶[0186] higher sampling rate while average position of the user is standing) in the second wake state, the second rate being greater than the first rate (¶¶[0185-0186]),
wherein the change in the body posture of the subject comprises a transition from a seated or reclined position to a standing position (¶¶[0186-0187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the power optimization of LeBoeuf as modified, to include additional power optimization modes, as taught by Baarman, because Baarman teaches transitioning sampling rates based on patient postural transitions, such as sitting to standing, ensures that pertinent data is not missed as these transitions may indicate a user that may become active even when they are not currently active (Baarman ¶[0187]).
Applicant’s arguments on pp. 8-10 of the remarks filed 8/4/2026 have been considered but are not fully persuasive. These arguments are confined to whether the Scheider reference teaches amended subject matter. As the claims are currently rejected in view of Baarman, not Scheider, these arguments are not persuasive.
On p. 11, Applicant argues that “the record identifies no rational basis for (the construction of the claims) other than the claim itself, citing the motivations that the Examiner identified for modifications in view of the Li and Schneider reference.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the cited references provide a reason PHOSITA would alter a system operation to include various battery management. Applicant’s allegations that the improvements are “generalized” and “would not have directed a person of ordinary skill” are mere argument, and not a factual basis. Furthermore, the rejection in view of Baarman relies on a specific set of postural transitions for transitioning sensor sampling rates and power consumption, with a specific purpose: Baarman teaches transitioning sampling rates based on patient postural transitions, such as sitting to standing, ensures that pertinent data is not missed as these transitions may indicate a user that may become active even when they are not currently active (Baarman ¶[0187]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 11-12, 16, 25, 32-33, 37, 43, 47-49, and 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeBoeuf et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0135596) hereinafter referred to as LeBoeuf; in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0000332) hereinafter referred to as Li; in view of Baarman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0335490) hereinafter referred to as Baarman.
Regarding claims 1, 87 and 12, LeBoeuf teaches a device (¶[0011]) for long-term, continuous monitoring of a subject (¶[0096] throughout the day, week, month), the device comprising:
a biometric sensor configured to monitor at least one biometric parameter of the subject (¶[0075]), wherein the biometric sensor comprises an optical sensor (Fig. 12, ¶[0077]);
a movement sensor configured to monitor at least one activity parameter of the subject (¶[0075]);
an energy storage bank (¶[0069]);
a wireless communications transceiver (¶[0067]); and
an attachment mechanism for securing the device to an auricle of the subject (¶[0070]);
wherein the biometric sensor, the movement sensor, the energy storage bank, and the wireless communications transceiver are adapted to fit within a volume and wherein the device is configured to attach to the auricle (¶[0058] pinna, ¶[0073] Fig. 4A-D, the sensor region 204 targets the auricle between the anti-tragus and acoustic meatus as depicted, the hollow tube element 206 is inserted into the acoustic meatus, thereby locating the sensors at the skin surface on the external ear) of the subject (¶[0090], ¶[0096]) to target at least a portion of the posterior auricular artery (¶[0073] Fig. 4A-D, the sensor region 204 targets the auricle between the anti-tragus and acoustic meatus as depicted, the hollow tube element 206 is inserted into the acoustic meatus, thereby locating the sensors at the skin surface on the external ear);
wherein the at least one biometric parameter of the subject comprises one or more of: cerebral blood flow, blood pressure, blood volume, heart rate, heart rate variability, and blood oxygenation (¶[0065]).
LeBoeuf teaches that the size and shape of the housing of a device is a matter of design, and results-effective for a user’s comfort and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in changing size and shape of the device (¶[0090]). Applicant does not disclose a criticality to the dimension of the device in the specification dated 3/8/2023.
LeBoeuf does not explicitly teach a volume 20 mm or less in its longest dimension.
However, it would nevertheless have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sensor device of LeBoeuf to be less than 20mm in a longest length, because courts have held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to fit a sensor to a user, in order to best match the ear of a user (LeBoeuf, ¶[0090]).
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach a processor configured to perform a state management protocol, wherein the state management protocol includes: entering a sleep state wherein the sleep state has a first power consumption level; transitioning from the sleep state to a first wake state, wherein the first wake state has a second power consumption level that is greater than the first power consumption level; while in the first wake state, collecting biometric data using the biometric sensor and posture-related data using the movement sensor, wherein the biometric data is collected at a first rate in the first wake state; based on the posture-related data, assessing that a body posture of the subject has changed; and based on the assessment that the body posture of the subject has changed, transitioning from the first wake state to a second wake state, wherein the biometric data is collected at a second rate in the second wake state, the second rate being greater than the first rate; maintaining the device in the sleep state, wherein the energy storage bank is charged; shifting the device to the first wake state intermittently, at a predefined interval; and shifting the device to a second wake state to perform asynchronous monitoring of the subject.
Attention is brought to the Li reference, which teaches a processor configured to perform a state management protocol (¶[0042]), wherein the state management protocol includes:
entering a sleep state wherein the sleep state has a first power consumption level (¶[0043] sleep mode);
transitioning from the sleep state to a first wake state, wherein the first wake state has a second power consumption level that is greater than the first power consumption level (¶[0043] duty cycle, ¶[0045]);
while in the first wake state, collecting biometric data using the biometric sensor and posture-related data from the movement sensor, wherein the biometric data is collected at a first rate in the first wake state (¶[0043] biosignal sampling mode);
maintaining the device in the sleep state, wherein the energy storage bank is charged (¶[0043] sleep mode);
shifting the device to the first wake state intermittently, at a predefined interval (¶[0043] duty cycle, ¶[0045]); and
shifting the device to a second wake state to perform asynchronous monitoring of the subject (¶[0046], depending e.g. on the energy harvesting parameter ¶[0052] derived from motion sensing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sensing system of LeBoeuf as modified to include a state management protocol, as taught by Li, because Li discloses that improving the battery life capabilities of wearable sensing devices solves a long-felt need in the art of monitoring (Li, ¶[0003]).
While Li teaches multiple modes of the active wake mode, these are duty cycle configurations, and differ in power consumption by virtue of the duty cycle changing based on an energy harvesting parameter, not due to sampling frequency changes.
Attention is brought to the Baarman reference, which teaches a sleep state wherein the sleep state has a first power consumption level (¶[0186] lowest, medium/low, and higher sampling rates, ¶[0185] sampling rate tied to battery drain);
a first wake state, wherein the first wake state has a second power consumption level that is greater than the first power consumption level (¶[0186] lowest, medium/low, and higher sampling rates,¶[0185] sampling rate tied to battery drain);
while in the first wake state, collecting biometric data using the biometric sensor and posture-related data from the movement sensor, wherein the biometric data is collected at a first rate in the first wake state (¶[0186] a medium or lower sampling rate while the average position of the user is sitting);
determining a change in body posture of the subject (¶[0186]) based on the data from the movement sensor (¶[0188] derived from accelerometer data),
based on determining the change in the body posture of the subject, transitioning from the first wake state to a second wake state (¶[0186]), wherein the biometric data is collected at a second rate (¶[0186] higher sampling rate while average position of the user is standing) in the second wake state, the second rate being greater than the first rate (¶¶[0185-0186]),
wherein the change in the body posture of the subject comprises a transition from a seated or reclined position to a standing position (¶¶[0186-0187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the power optimization of LeBoeuf as modified, to include additional power optimization modes, as taught by Baarman, because Baarman teaches transitioning sampling rates based on patient postural transitions, such as sitting to standing, ensures that pertinent data is not missed as these transitions may indicate a user that may become active even when they are not currently active (Baarman ¶[0187]).
Regarding claim 3, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches the device configured to monitor the subject for at least about 24 hours continuously (¶[0096] throughout the day, week, month).
Regarding claim 5, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the energy storage bank comprises a micro battery (¶[0069]).
Regarding claim 7, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf teaches further comprising an energy harvesting element configured to charge the energy storage bank (¶[0069]), and wherein the energy harvesting element compromises one or more of:
a photovoltaic cell configured to harvest energy from natural daylight, interior lighting, infrared emitters, or a combination thereof (¶[0069]),
a RF antenna configured to harvest energy from the environment of the device (¶[0069]);
a thermoelectric generator configured to harvest energy from body heat of the subject (¶[0069]); and
a piezoelectric material configured to harvest energy from motion of the subject (¶[0069]).
Regarding claim 11, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach further comprising a logic element performing a charge management protocol comprising:
monitoring the charge of the energy storage bank;
when the charge is below a predetermined threshold, allowing the energy harvesting element to charge the micro energy storage bank; and
when the charge is above a second predetermined threshold, allowing the micro energy storage bank to power operation of the biometric sensor, the movement sensor, or the wireless communications transceiver.
Attention is brought to the Li reference, which teaches a logic element performing a charge management protocol (¶[0034]) comprising:
monitoring the charge of the energy storage bank (¶[0022], ¶[0063]);
when the charge is below a predetermined threshold, allowing the energy harvesting element to charge the energy storage bank (Fig. 4, ¶[0051], ¶[0052]); and
when the charge is above a second predetermined threshold, allowing the energy storage bank to power operation of the biometric sensor, the movement sensor, or the wireless communications transceiver (Fig. 4, ¶[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sensing system of LeBoeuf to include a charge management protocol, as taught by Li, because Li discloses that improving the battery life capabilities of wearable sensing devices solves a long-felt need in the art of monitoring (Li, ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 16, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 12.
Li teaches further comprising an energy harvesting element configured to charge the energy storage bank, and wherein, in the first wake state or the second wake state, the power consumption of the device is more than the power output of the energy harvesting element (¶¶[0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 25, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the attachment mechanism is a custom molded elastomer configured to lock into the subject's unique concha morphology (¶[0070], ¶[0090]).
Regarding claim 32, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 31.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the optical sensor comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor (¶[0077], ¶[0065]).
Regarding claim 33, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the movement sensor comprises at least one accelerometer (¶[0059]).
Regarding claim 37, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the wireless communications transceiver utilizes a Near-Field Communication (NFC) protocol, LoRa, or Wi-Fi (¶[0067]).
Regarding claim 43, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf teaches further comprising a microcontroller configured to analyze the at least one biometric parameter and the at least one activity parameter (¶[0067] time-dependent analysis).
Regarding claim 47, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 43.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the analysis comprises identification of physiological trends (¶[0067] over time).
Regarding claim 48, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 47.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the physiological trends comprise trends in one or more of: cerebral blood flow, blood pressure, blood volume, heart rate, heart rate variability, blood oxygenation, and activity level (¶[0067], ¶[0065] and ¶[0075]).
Regarding claim 49, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 47.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the physiological trends are interday and intraday trends (¶[0067] over time, and ¶[0096], day, week, month).
Claim(s) 19-20, 22, 24, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeBoeuf, Li, and Baarman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wetmore et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0160995) hereinafter referred to as Wetmore.
Regarding claim 19, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach wherein the attachment mechanism is a biocompatible adhesive.
Attention is brought to the Wetmore reference, which teaches an adhesive with a retention structure for an wearable (¶[0164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the earpiece of LeBeouf as modified to include an adhesive, as taught by Wetmore, because it helps hold a measuring device in place (Wetmore, ¶[0164]).
Regarding claim 20, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the attachment mechanism is one or more elastomeric wings configured to extend into the triangular fossa while pressing into the helix, and/or to extend into the concha cavum while pressing into the antihelix or antitragus (Fig. 4A-D, ¶[0070]).
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach a durometer less than 80 Shore A.
Attention is brought to the Wetmore reference, which teaches an attachment mechanism with a durometer less than 80 Shore A (¶[0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the earpiece of LeBoeuf as modified to use an attachment mechanism with a durometer as taught by Wetmore, because relatively conforming hydrogel helps hold a measuring device in place (Wetmore, ¶[0164]).
Regarding claim 22, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the attachment mechanism is one or more elastomeric rough surface finishes (Fig. 4A-D, ¶[0070] no particular relative roughness is claimed)
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach a durometer less than 80 Shore A, configured to maximize the presence of Van Der Waals forces.
Attention is brought to the Wetmore reference, which teaches an attachment mechanism with a durometer less than 80 Shore A (¶[0021]). The result, configured to maximize the presence of Van Der Waals forces, appears to be an intended use of the required structural feature, of the durometer. The combination of LeBouef and Wetmore is capable of this use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the earpiece of LeBoeuf as modified to use an attachment mechanism with a durometer as taught by Wetmore, because relatively conforming hydrogel helps hold a measuring device in place (Wetmore, ¶[0164]).
Regarding claim 24, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the attachment mechanism is a set of elastomeric appendages configured to maximize friction by pressing into the helix, antihelix, antitragus, and/or the cymba concha of the subject (Fig. 4A-D, ¶[0070]).
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach durometer less than 50 Shore A,
Attention is brought to the Wetmore reference, which teaches an attachment mechanism with a durometer less than 50 Shore A (¶[0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the earpiece of LeBoeuf as modified to use an attachment mechanism with a durometer as taught by Wetmore, because relatively conforming hydrogel helps hold a measuring device in place (Wetmore, ¶[0164]).
Regarding claim 40, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach wherein the device further comprises an acoustic transducer for communicating audio messages with low sound leakage perceived by others near the subject.
Attention is drawn to the Wetmore reference, which teaches an acoustic transducer for communicating audio messages with low sound leakage perceived by others near the subject (¶[0018], ¶[0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of LeBoeuf to include a speaker, as taught by Wetmore, because applying audio content to a user helps treat disorders related to sympathetic function (Wetmore ¶[0006]).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeBoeuf, Li, and Baarman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yuen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0278220) hereinafter referred to as Yuen.
Regarding claim 34, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 1.
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach wherein the movement sensor comprises at least one altimeter.
Attention is drawn to the Yuen reference, which teaches at least one altimeter (¶[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the monitoring system of LeBoeuf to include an altimeter, as taught by Yuen, because it aids in the determination of location and context of a user (Yuen ¶[0397], Abstract).
Claim(s) 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeBoeuf, Li, and Baarman as applied to claim 1 and 43 above, and further in view of Tzvieli et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0313915) hereinafter referred to as Tzvieli.
Regarding claims 44-46, LeBoeuf as modified teaches the device of claim 43.
LeBoeuf as modified does not teach wherein the analysis comprises application of one or more artificial neural networks (ANNs), wherein the one or more ANNs are configured to detect or predict one or more of: poor cerebral blood flow, poor blood pressure, presyncope, syncope, and a fall event; and wherein the one or more ANNs are configured to infer systolic and diastolic blood pressure from the at least one biometric sensor or activity sensor.
Attention is drawn to the Tzvieli reference, which teaches application of one or more artificial neural networks (ANNs) (¶[0445]), wherein the one or more ANNs are configured to detect or predict one or more of: poor cerebral blood flow, poor blood pressure, presyncope, syncope, and a fall event (¶[0079] orthostatic hypotension); and wherein the one or more ANNs are configured to infer systolic and diastolic blood pressure (¶[0076], ¶[0079]) from at least one biometric sensor or activity sensor (¶[0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the analysis of LeBoeuf as modified to include artificial neural networks, as taught by Tzvieli, because Tzvieli teaches an accurate blood pressure estimation using ANNs, which adjusts for user posture (Tzvieli ¶[0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon remains pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0236077 to Robertson et al. teaches a power state machine for a body associated wearable device.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0358473 to Goel et al. teaches sampling rate selection based on user activity data.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0386310 to Hong et al. teaches sampling rate and power rate modes for a wearable device based on the worn and activity status of the device and user.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3792