DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
112 Rejections
The 112(b) rejections of claim 1 and 2 are withdrawn based on applicant’s filed amendments.
102/103 Rejection
Applicant argues Kawabe makes no mention or suggestion of obtaining the recited pre-Ave, the post-Ave, the pre-SD, the post-SD, the pre-CV, the post-CV, the pre-post average difference, the pre-post SD ratio, the distortion index, and the peakedness index which are statistics of pk or qk calculated using n-number of pk or qk (where k represents a series of integers from 1 to n).
As an initial point, the claim recites “calculating at least one selected from the group consisting of a pre-Ave, a post-Ave, a pre-SD, a post-SD, a pre-CV, a post-CV, a pre-post average difference, a pre-post SD ratio, a distortion index, and a peakedness index” (emphasis added). Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim only requires at least one of the argued “statistics”.
As detailed below, Kawabe teaches calculating a peak apex in paragraph [0009], which the examiner considered to read on the claimed “peakedness index.” Notably, the limitations describing the other calculated elements of the “at least one” statement do not further define the examiner's elected alternative.
Further, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the peakedness index “representing (sum or average value of Wk with respect to lower part of peak of V(i))/(sum or average value of Wk with respect to upper part of peak of V(i)), Wk representing qk-pk” is not an active step defining the calculation of the peakedness index. Therefore, insofar as what is structurally recited, the peakedness index is capable of representing the sum or average value of Wk with respect to lower part of peak of V(i))/(sum or average value of Wk with respect to upper part of peak of V(i), Wk representing qk-pk insofar as what is positively recited.
The examiner suggests further defining an active step of calculating the argued “statistics” with positively defined calculative steps and involved variables.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawabe (JP 2019086518A).
With respect to claim 1, Kawabe teaches a method of measuring blood coagulation characteristics of a subject (as read in the abstract), the method comprising: isolating a plasma test sample (i.e. a test sample composed of a reaction liquid containing of plasma a reagent; [0009]) from the blood of the subject (step 1; [0009]), measuring a blood coagulation reaction of the isolated subject plasma test sample (as Kawabe teaches in [0009], a step of acquiring coagulation reaction curve data of the reaction liquid, X axis: reaction time, Y axis: coagulation reaction amount) and acquiring a coagulation reaction curve Ri (step 2; [0009]), where i time (as the X axis is disclosed as time where a coagulation reaction amount is plotted against), of the subject specimen (i.e. the test sample composed of a reaction liquid containing of plasma a reagent; [0009]) and second data for estimating a blood coagulation abnormality factor of the subject (i.e. a reaction rate is considered to read on the claimed “second data”; [0025]), calculating a blood coagulation time from the coagulation reaction curve R(i) (using equation 3; [00025]), obtaining a first derivative V(i) of the coagulation reaction curve R(i) (as para. [00026] details a first derivative is calculated from the curve); determining a point Pk where V(i) assumes Xk before reaching a maximum value of V(i), Vmax, and a point qk where V(i) assumes Xk after reaching Vmax, where Xk is a variable specified by Vmax x Sk%, wherein 0< Sk<100 (S reads as an adjustable percentage coefficient falling within the recited range; [0019]), k represents a series of integers with an increment of 1 from 1 to n, n denotes an integer ranging from 5 to 50, and 0 <Xk<Vmax (as Kawabe teaches selecting points, before and after, to aid in selecting a maximum value; [0007]); calculating at a peakedness index (as Kawabe teaches in [0009] calculating a peak apex), the peakedness index (is capable of) representing (sum or average value of Wk with respect to lower part of peak of V(i))/(sum or average value of Wk with respect to upper part of peak of V(i)), Wk representing qk-pk; as the limitation does not reads as an active step, therefore, the peakedness index is capable of representing sum or average value of Wk with respect to lower part of peak of V(i))/(sum or average value of Wk with respect to upper part of peak of V(i), Wk representing qk-pk insofar as what is positively recited) and performing an estimation of a blood coagulation abnormality factor characteristic of the plasma test sample (as Kawabe teaches using the disclosed method for estimating a blood coagulation abnormality factor characteristic more accurately; [00010]): wherein the method does not comprise combining the isolated plasma test sample with a reference plasma sample (as Kawabe does discloses combining the patient’s plasma with a reagent while not mixing in a reference/normal plasma sample; abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Kawabe teaches the method wherein Sk ranges from 0.5 to 99 (as S being an adjustable percentage coefficient and is taught in [0019] falls into the recited range).
With respect to claim 7, Kawabe teaches the method further comprising a point R(E), E denoting a coagulation reaction end point (as Kawabe discloses a coagulation reaction end point being Te; [0018]; Fig. 1), on the coagulation reaction curve R(i); as determined [0025]).
With respect to claim 8, Kawabe teaches the method, wherein the method comprises continuing measurement of the blood coagulation reaction until an end of the coagulation reaction (as Kawabe teaches measurements occur until coagulation has been reached; [0004]).
With respect to claim 10, Kawabe teaches the method wherein the estimating of the blood coagulation abnormality factor comprises estimating a type of the blood coagulation abnormality factor of the subject specimen (as Kawabe teaches the blood coagulation comprises estimating effects caused by coagulation inhibitor factors; [0002]), and the type of the blood coagulation abnormality factor is a coagulation factor inhibitor [0002]).
With respect to claim 11, Kawabe teaches the method, wherein the estimating of the blood coagulation abnormality factor comprises estimating a presence or absence of the blood coagulation abnormality factor of the subject specimen (as Kawabe teaches determining the presence of coagulation inhibitors, which could indicate hemophilia A conditions; [0002-0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabe (JP 2019086518A).
With respect to claim 5, Kawabe et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 4, but remains silent regarding the blood coagulation reaction analysis method wherein the acquiring of the second data further comprises calculating, as the second data, a standard deviation interval of an objective parameter with respect to the subject specimen, wherein the SDI of the objective parameter with respect to the subject specimen = (α-β) ÷ γ, wherein
The statistical process of calculating a standard deviation of a data set to indicate how spread-out values are around a mean is a well-known statistical method in engineering. In addition, Kawabe et al. discloses using statistical processing of the data set to understand or determine how “normal” a particular data point is relative to an average of an objective parameter from a subject and reference values.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the instant invention to derive the claimed equation based on the variables taught in Kawabe et al., as there are only a finite number of predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of deriving the claimed equation from the taught variables of the prior art. MPEP 2141 III.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Das et al. (2016/0364536) which teaches using machine learning to predict patient conditions.
/MATTHEW G MARINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853