Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5, 7-9 are pending in the application, with claim 6 cancelled and new claims 8-9 acknowledged. The amendment filed 01/21/2026 has been entered but does not place the application in condition for allowance. The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the original 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections to claims 1-7.
New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a winding axis direction of the wound body.” This is indefinite, because it is unclear if the recited winding axis direction of the wound body is the same as the recited “a winding direction of the wound body” of claim 1. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al (US 20200251783 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches a power storage device comprising a positive (first) electrode 16 ([0044], Fig. 3) having a first current collector 14 and a first active material layer 13 carried on the first current collector. Shimizu also teaches a negative (second) electrode 15 having a second current collector 10 and a second active material layer 11 carried on the second current collector ([0037], Fig. 2).
Shimizu further teaches in [0056] and Fig. 8 that a solid electrolyte sheet 17 can be disposed between the negative electrode sheet 15 and the positive electrode layer sheet 16, which are arranged in a substantially zigzag shape and continuously adjacent to each other, and also discloses that the solid electrolyte body can correspond to the separator ([0069] lines 10-11; [0072] lines 1-4), thus teaching the limitation that “a separator is interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode.” Furthermore, Fig. 1, as described in [0032], also illustrates the positive (first) electrode (formed of positive electrode current collector layer 14 and positive electrode active material layer 13) and the negative (second) electrode (formed of negative electrode current collector 10 and negative electrode active material 11) placed on top of another with solid electrolyte layer 12 (the separator) interposed therebetween to form horizontal columns (i.e., columnar) formed by electrodes arranged in a zigzag shape (a curving line or path, or wound), thereby reading upon the limitation of “a columnar wound body.”
Shimizu teaches in Fig. 3 the first electrode 16 has multiple portions 13 corresponding to portions A; for example, the leftmost portion 13 can be selected to correspond to first portion A and the second portion 13 to its right can be selected to correspond to a second portion A, wherein each portion A is a region denoted by dashed lines. First connection portion 20 connects the current collector panel 14 containing first portion A with the current collector panel 14 containing second portion A. Fig. 8 shows that in arranging the electrodes and separators together, the first connection portion 20 is folded such that the first portion A and the second portion A face each other, as shown in annotated Fig. 8 shown below.
As shown in Figs. 3 and 8, the first connection portion 20 is provided in a band region of the first current collector 14 along the direction T1 that corresponds to a winding direction, which is a winding direction because it follows the zigzag (i.e., series of turns) of the battery laminate. First connection portion 20 is located in region 23 which Shimizu describes as a positive electrode active material layer non-formed portion in which no active material is laminated, and thus would correspond to a first exposed portion not having the first active material layer and exposing the first current collector. Fig. 8, also supported by paragraph [0044], also shows the first portion A and the second portion A as portions each having the first active material layer 13 such that the first active material layer 13 is to the left and the right side of first connection portion 20 and also such that first active material layer 13 is on the front side and the back side of the first current collector 14, thereby reading on the limitation of “the first portion A and the second portion A are portions each having the first active material layer at both sides of the first connection portion,” wherein both sides of the first connection portion can refer to the front and back sides of the first connection portion, or alternatively, to the left and right sides of the first connection portion.
The second electrode 15 (formed of second active material layer 11 on the second current collector 10) is sandwiched between the first portion A (13) and the second portion A (13) with the separator 17 interposed therebetween, also shown in the same annotated version of Fig 8. Fig. 1 also shows the second electrode 15 (formed of second active material layer 11 on the second current collector 10) folded and wound along the same direction T1 that corresponds to a winding direction, which is a winding direction because it follows the zigzag (i.e., series of turns) of the battery laminate.
As previously pointed out, the first connection portion 20 is in an exposed region of the first current collector 14. The rectangular panel of current collector 14 that is to the immediate right of the first connection portion 20, as shown outlined in a solid red border in annotated Fig. 8, corresponds to a current collecting plate. The first connection portion is electrically connected with the current collecting plate, and is located between the current collecting plate and the first portion A, as shown in annotated Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu teaches the power storage device of claim 1, wherein the separator 17 is folded as to sandwich the first portion A and the second portion A of first electrode 16 at an opposite side of a side where the first connection portion of the wound body is disposed. Specifically, Fig. 8 shows the two left-most panels of the accordion-like separators 17 sandwich first portion A (13) including a region of first portion A which is at an opposite side of a side where the first connection portion 20 of the wound body is disposed; this region is circled and labeled as X in the same annotated version of Fig. 8 below. The circled region X is on the bottom side of first portion A instead of on the top side where first connection portion 20 is located. Annotated Fig. 8 also shows the middle two panels of separators 17 sandwiching second portion A (13) such that circled region Y would also be located at a region of second portion A that is an opposite side of a side where the first connection portion of the wound body is disposed. The circled region Y is on bottom side of the second portion A instead of on the top side where first connection portion 20 is located.
Annotated Fig. 8 of Shimizu, version 1:
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu teaches the power storage device of claim 1, and Shimizu further teaches in Fig. 8 the separators 17 are folded as to sandwich the second electrode 15 at a side where the first connection portion 20 of the wound body is disposed. Specifically, as shown in a second annotated version of Fig. 8 included below, sandwiched circled region Z is located at a top side of the second electrode where the first connection 20 portion of the wound body is disposed.
Annotated Fig. 8 of Shimizu, version 2:
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu teaches the power storage device of claim 1, and as shown in Fig. 8, Shimizu further teaches the first connection portion 20 has a shape along direction T1 (taught as the winding direction in previously addressing claim 1; T1 is perpendicular to T2, wherein T2 corresponds to the up-down direction in the page; T1 would thus correspond to a the left-right direction of the page) including two folds or bends, one fold/bend on each side of the first connection portion 20, thereby reading on the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu teaches the power storage device of claim 1. Shimizu further teaches (Figs. 2 and 8) the second electrode 15 has a plurality of second active material layer regions 11, with one region corresponding to the first portion B (for example, the left-most region 11) and another corresponding to a second portion B (for example, the region 11 immediately right of the left-most region 11), and a second connection portion 20 (on the bottom side of the second electrode 15) that connects the second current collector panel 10 of first portion B with the current collector panel 10 of second portion B, and the second connection portion 20 is folded such that the first portion B and the second portion B face each other, as shown in a third annotated version of Fig. 8 below.
Annotated Fig. 8 of Shimizu, version 3:
As shown in Figs. 2 and 8, the second connection portion 20 is provided in a band region, of the second current collector 10 along the direction T1 that corresponds to a winding direction, which is a winding direction because it follows the zigzag (i.e., series of turns) of the battery laminate. Second connection portion 20 is located in region 21 which Shimizu describes as a negative electrode active material layer non-formed portion wherein no active material is laminated, which thus would be a second exposed portion not having the second active material layer and exposing the second current collector ([0037]). Fig. 8, also supported by paragraph [0037], further shows the first portion B and the second portion B of the second electrode as a portion having the second active material layer 11 disposed to the left and the right side of second connection portion 20 and also such that second active material layer 11 is on the front side and the back side of the second current collector 10, thereby reading on the limitation of the first portion B and the second portion B are a portion each having the second active material layer at both sides of the second connection portion, wherein sides can refer to front/back sides or left/right sides.
Fig. 8 shows that the second connection portion 20 of the second electrode 15 is disposed at an opposite side of a side where the first connection portion of the wound body is disposed, as claimed. That is, in Fig. 8, the second connection portion 20 of the second electrode 15 is shown to be located at the bottom side of the arrangement of the negative electrode sheet, separators, and positive electrode sheet, whereas the first connection portion 20 is shown to be located at the upper side of the arrangement.
The third annotated version of Fig. 8 also shows the first portion B and second portion B of the second electrode 15 sandwiching the first electrode 16, and the separator 17 is shown to be interposed therebetween, as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu teaches the power storage device of claim 1. The current collector plate is part of current collector 14 and will have a finite thickness. As shown in annotated Fig. 8 of Shimizu, version 4 (below), a first surface with its length labeled by a thick blue line (and a width going into the page) can be defined such that it is perpendicular to a winding axis direction T1 of the wound body (with T1 shown in Figs 2-3), and such that the first connection portion 20 contacts with the first surface.
Annotated Fig. 8 of Shimizu, version 3:
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu teaches the power storage device of claim 1, and as shown in annotated Fig. 8, version 4, Shimizu further teaches the current collecting plate abuts the first connection portion at one end face of the wound body, wherein the one end face is indicated with a circle. The circled region is an end face, because the first connection portion is located at “an end” of the wound body, and the surface of the region corresponds to a face.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamuro et al (JP 2013098502 A) in view of Kim et al (US 20100015529 A1), and in further view of Kitaoka Kazuhiro (JPH0917441A).
Regarding claim 1, Iwamuro teaches a power storage device (machine translation: [0001]) comprising a first electrode having a first current collector 40, and a first active material layer carried on the first current collector ([0038]; Fig. 14), and a second electrode having a second current collector 42, and a second active material layer carried on the second current collector ([0042]; Fig. 15). Iwamuro also teaches the first electrode is wrapped in separator 44 ([0041]; Fig. 18), resulting in the separator 44 interposed between the first electrode (associated with first current collector 40) and the second electrode (associated with current collector 42) placed on top of another with the separator interposed therebetween (Fig. 20-23). The resulting laminate battery would be expected to have a side-view showing a column-like, or columnar, body when the electrode and separator layers are wound together; thus, the arrangement would be expected to read on a columnar wound body.
Iwamuro teaches that the first electrode current collector 40 is formed by forming negative electrode active material layers on both sides of a conductive material with low electrical resistance ([0038]). The first portion A and the second portion A can be assigned to correspond to the two immediately adjacent portions of the first active material layer on 40 that are connected by a fold, such as by fold 46 in Fig. 14. For example, the first portion A can be assigned to the topmost active material layer portion of the electrode strip and the second portion A can be assigned to the portion immediately underneath the first portion, as annotated in annotated Fig. 14 shown below.
Annotated Fig. 14 of Iwamuro:
Fig. 18 further shows that a first connection portion 66 corresponding to formed by folding lines 46 and 48 (described in [0041] and [0050]) is folded so that the first portion A and the second portion A face each other. Iwamuro teaches the first portion A and the second portion A are portions each having the first active material layer at both sides of the first connection portion ([0038]), and Fig. 22 shows the second electrode (associated with second current collector 42) is sandwiched between the first portion A and the second portion A with the separator 44 therebetween and wound along a winding direction (along the zigzag of the wounded body, in Fig. 23) to form the wound body of Fig. 24.
Iwamuro does not teach the first connection portion is provided in a band region of the first current collector along the winding direction of the wound body, as a first exposed portion not having the first active material layer and exposing the first current collector. Iwamuro also does not explicitly disclose the first connection portion is electrically connected with a current collecting plate, and is located between the current collecting plate and the first portion A.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the folded regions of the anode and the cathode may not be easily bent and provides examples of modifications to folded regions 140 (Figs. 5-6 [0040]). For example, Kim teaches in [0041] and Fig. 6 that the folded regions may be provided with regions 170 where an active material does not exist when an active material layer 172 is coated on a current collector. Kim also teaches that their invention has the effect of simplifying a process for manufacturing a battery ([0053]), and that difficulty in bending the battery can lead to increased likelihood of inaccurate stacking of the battery layers that can result in swelling phenomenon and separation of electrode active material ([0050]-[0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Iwamuro’s power storage device to omit active material layer on the folded regions of the first electrode and second electrode as taught by Kim in order to more easily bend the current collectors and improve the accuracy of battery manufacturing processes.
Within the combination, the folded regions omitting active material layer would read on the limitation of “the first connection portion is provided in a band region of the first current collector” because they would correspond to a strip-shaped region, or a band-shaped region. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 23, within the combination there are regions of the first connection portion 66 within the band region of the first current collector which are along the winding direction. Thus, the combination reads on the limitation “the first connection portion is provided in a band region of the first current collector along the winding direction of the wound body, as a first exposed portion not having the first active material layer and exposing the first current collector.”
In the same field of endeavor, Kitaoka teaches the bent portions of accordion-like negative and positive electrodes can be electrically connected with a current collecting plate (i.e., current collector 3), wherein the bent portions are not coated with active material (machine translation [0013]-[0014]; Figs. 1, 4-5) and are analogous to the first connection portion of modified Iwamuro. Kitaoka further teaches the configuration improves current collection performance and vibration resistance ([0015]), and the current collecting plate (i.e., current collector 3) can prevent the electrode plates from shifting due to vibrations and shocks ([0017]). A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified the modified power storage device of Iwamuro to electrically connect the bent portions of the electrodes to the current collecting plate as taught by Kitaoka to take advantage of improved current collection performance and vibration resistance. Within the combination of prior art, the first connection portion would thereby be electrically connected with a current collecting plate, and would be physically located between the current collecting plate and the first portion A, as suggested by the location of the folded regions relative to the active material coated regions in Annotated Fig. 14 of Iwamuro and also Fig. 4 of Kitaoka.
Regarding claim 2, the combination above teaches the power storage device of claim 1. Iwamuro further teaches (Fig. 18) wherein the separator 44 is folded so as to sandwich the first portion A (associated with first electrode and first current collector 40) at an opposite side of a side of the fold 66, which is where the first connection portion of the wound body of the combination would be disposed; the opposite side is circled and labeled as X’ in annotated Fig. 18 included below. The separator 44 is folded to similarly sandwich second portion A at an opposite side of a side of the fold 66 (the first connection portion). Thus, the combination teaches the limitation as claimed.
Annotated Fig. 18 of Iwamuro:
Regarding claim 3, the combination above teaches the power storage device of claim 1. Iwamuro further teaches wherein the separator 44 is folded so as to sandwich the second electrode (associated with current collector 42) at a side corresponding to the folded region 66 of the first electrode, which is where the first connection portion of the wound body is disposed in the combination of prior art. An example of a side corresponding to the location wherein the second electrode is sandwiched where the first connection portion of the wound body is disposed is shown circled in annotated Fig. 20 of Iwamuro below, wherein the circled region of the combined separator/first electrode strips (top-left item of Fig. 20) is shown to correspond to the position of the circled region of the second electrode (bottom-right item of Fig. 20) when the zigzag strips are arranged to be alternately stacked, as shown in Fig. 23.
Annotated Fig. 20 of Iwamuro:
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the power storage device of claim 1, but does not teach a plurality of through holes are formed at the first connection portion along the winding direction. Kim further teaches that the folded regions can be provided with markings 160 including a plurality of holes spaced at predetermined intervals along the folded regions of the current collector (Fig. 5). Given that Kim teaches it is another suitable way to improve the ease of bending of the folded regions ([0017]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the modified power storage device of Iwamuro to further include through holes at the first connection portion along the winding direction, especially given the advantage of simplifying a process for manufacturing a battery ([0053]) and reducing the likelihood of inaccurate stacking of the battery layers that can result in swelling phenomenon and separation of electrode active material associated with inaccurate bending ([0050]-[0051]), as recognized by Kim.
Regarding claim 5, the combination above teaches the power storage device of claim 1. Kitaoka of the combination further teaches that the bent region corresponding to the first connection portion can have a plurality of folds or bends along the winding direction. Specifically, Fig. 1 of Kitaoka shows that the bent region has a fold or bend on each side of the bent region corresponding to the first connection portion, resulting in two folds per first connection portion, therefore Kitaoka teaches having the first connection portion having a shape along the winding direction of a plurality of folds or bends is a known configuration.
A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify the power storage device of modified Iwamuro to incorporate a plurality of folds or bends within the shape of the first connection portion along the winding direction, given that Kitaoka teaches it is a known configuration, and also recognizing that providing the combination of elements in combination, that is of the claimed shape of the first connection portion along the winding direction having a plurality of folds or bends in combination with the elements previously claimed, would merely provide the predictable result of similar function as performed separately with expectation of success; see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP §
2143, A).
Furthermore, the current collecting plate is comb-shaped and inserts into the bent region (Kitaoka [0025]; Fig. 4), and would be expected to have a finite thickness associated each “tooth” of the comb where it contacts the first connection portion, resulting in a plurality of bends/folds to accommodate for the inserted teeth of the comb-shaped current collecting plate.
Regarding claim 7, the combination above teaches the power storage device of claim 1.
Iwamuro further teaches that that the second electrode current collector 42 is formed by forming positive electrode active material layers on both sides of a conductive material with low electrical resistance ([0042]). The first portion B and the second portion B can be assigned to correspond to the two immediately adjacent portions of the first active material layer on 42 that are connected by a fold, such as by fold 52 (Fig. 15). For example, in Fig. 15, the first portion B can be assigned to the topmost active material layer portion of the electrode strip and the second portion B can be assigned to the portion immediately underneath the first portion. Iwamuro further shows in Fig. 19 that fold line portions 70, corresponding to portions formed by folding fold lines 52 and 54 ([0051]) is a second connection portion that connects the first portion B with the second portion B, and it is folded so that the first portion B and the second portion B face each other. Additionally, the teaching of coating of active material layer on both sides of the second current collector ([0042]) teaches the first portion B and the second portion B are portions each having the second active material layer at both sides of the second connection portion.
As shown below in annotated Fig. 23 of Iwamuro, Iwamuro also teaches a region of the second connection portion 70 that is disposed at an opposite side (region along 70 denoted by circled region Y”) of a side where the first connection portion 66 of the wound body is disposed (length along 66 denoted by circled region Z”), and the same figure also shows that in the wound body, the first portion B and the second portion B are sandwiching the first electrode (associated with current collector 40) with the separator 44 interposed therebetween.
Annotated Fig. 23 of Iwamuro:
As previously pointed in addressing the limitations of claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Iwamuro’s power storage device to omit active material layer on the folded regions of the first electrode and second electrode as taught by Kim in order to more easily bend the current collectors and improve the accuracy of battery manufacturing processes. Within the combination, the folded regions omitting active material layer would read on the limitation of “the second connection portion is provided in a band region of the second current collector” because they correspond to a strip-shaped region, or a band-shaped region. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 23, there are regions of the second connection portion 70 within the band region of the second current collector which are along the winding direction. Thus, the combination reads on the limitation “the second connection portion is provided in a band region of the second current collector along the winding direction of the wound body as a second exposed portion not having the second active material layer and exposing the second current collector.”
Regarding claim 8, the combination above teaches the power storage device of claim 1. Within the combination of prior art, Kitaoka teaches the current collecting plate (i.e., current collector 3) has a first surface being perpendicular to a winding axis direction of the wound body, as labeled in annotated Fig. 1 of Kitaoka below, wherein the current collecting plate contacts bent portions of the electrodes which correspond to the first connection portions. Consequently, the first connection portion contacts with the first surface as claimed.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Kitaoka
Regarding claim 9, the combination above teaches the power storage device of claim 1, and within the combination of prior art, Kitaoka teaches the current collecting plate (i.e., current collector 3) abuts bent portions of the electrodes which correspond to the first connection portion. Within the accordion structure of the wound body, as seen in annotated Fig. 1 of Kitaoka, the first connection portion is located at one end face of the wound body. Thus, the current collecting plate abuts the first connection portion at one end face of the wound body as claimed.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s arguments over the applicability of Shimizu to addressing the limitations of amended claim 1, the Examiner respectfully asserts that the language of the amended claim 1 regarding “a current collecting plate” is broad enough to allow for an interpretation of Shimizu’s teachings such that they address the new limitation of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 30 April 2026