DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herczeg (US 20040045890).
With respect to claim 1, Herczeg discloses a bioreactor comprising a shell (Figure 1:400) defined by one or more walls and a length. A plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes (Figure 1:20) are inside the shell, wherein the plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes are potted at both ends. See, for example, paragraph [0037] (“The filter comprises at least one, and more preferably, two or more hollow fiber membranes. The filter is sealed in the filter housing which is potted at both ends with an encapsulant such as an adhesive (e.g., urethane and/or epoxy), thus sealing the feed and retentate from the permeate”). At least Fig. 3 shows that the hollow fiber membranes do not span the entire length of the shell, especially given that chambers 160, 180 are located at each end. Each potted end of the plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes is also directly connected to a port (Figure 3:202, 203, 204, 205) on the shell.
With respect to claim 2, Herczeg discloses the apparatus as described above. Herczeg shows in at least Fig. 3 that between about 10% and about 70% of the length of the shell remains unoccupied by the hollow fiber membranes.
With respect to claim 4, Herczeg discloses the apparatus as described above. Herczeg teaches that the plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes comprise polymeric materials, non-polymeric materials, or a combination thereof.
With respect to claim 8, Herczeg discloses the apparatus as described above. Herczeg depicts the hollow fiber membranes as cylindrical tube bundles in Figs. 1-3.
With respect to claim 9, Herczeg discloses the apparatus as described above. Herczeg shows in Fig. 1 that the shell as a square and/or rectangle cross-sectional shape.
With respect to claim 13, Herczeg discloses the apparatus as described above. Paragraph [0044] of Herczog states that the bioreactor is for treating a fluid containing microorganisms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parameswaran (US 20170015968) in view of Herczeg (US 20040045890).
With respect to claim 1, Parameswaran discloses a bioreactor comprising a shell (Figure 4B:150) defined by one or more walls and a length and a plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes (Figure 4B:110) inside the shell. This taught in paragraphs [0032]-[0043]. Figure 4B shows that the porous hollow fiber membranes do not span the entire length of the shell. As shown by Fig. 4B, a first end of the porous hollow fiber membranes are potted at a first port for introducing gas (“the plurality of hollow fiber membranes 110 are coupled to one or more modules 170 defining at least one gas inlet and at least one conduit for delivering the gaseous substrate to lumen 112 of membranes 110”). A second end of the porous hollow fiber membranes are fluidically and/or indirectly connected to second ports that receive a processed medium. Parameswaran, however, does not expressly state that the second end of the porous hollow fiber membranes is also potted and directly connected to a port.
Herczeg discloses a bioreactor comprising a shell (Figure 1:400) defined by one or more walls and a length. A plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes (Figure 1:20) are inside the shell, wherein the plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes are potted at both ends. See, for example, paragraph [0037] (“The filter comprises at least one, and more preferably, two or more hollow fiber membranes. The filter is sealed in the filter housing which is potted at both ends with an encapsulant such as an adhesive (e.g., urethane and/or epoxy), thus sealing the feed and retentate from the permeate”). At least Fig. 3 shows that the hollow fiber membranes do not span the entire length of the shell, especially given that chambers 160, 180 are located at each end. Each potted end of the plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes is also directly connected to a port (Figure 3:202, 203, 204, 205) on the shell.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the second ends of the Parameswaran hollow fiber membranes are potted, and to modify the recycle loop so that a second port on the shell is immediately connected to the end of each porous hollow fiber membrane.
The recycle line 126 is described as providing a simple recirculation function to allow repeated processing of medium through the hollow fibers (“A re-circulating liquid conduit 125, 126 can re-circulate medium 120 through vessel 150”). Those of ordinary skill would have recognized that the same recycling function would be achieved when the end of each hollow fiber membranes is directly connected to a recycling port (as depicted in the annotated Figure above). A mere rearrangement of parts (here, moving the recycling port on the shell to more directly communicate with the end of each hollow fiber membrane) or duplication of parts (here, providing an additional recycling loop port that more directly communicate with the end of each hollow fiber membrane) that produces a negligible change in device operation is generally considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
With respect to claim 2, Parameswaran and Herczeg disclose the combination as described above. Parameswaran shows in Fig. 4B that approximately 50% of the length of the shell remains unoccupied by the plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes.
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Parameswaran and Herczeg disclose the combination as described above. Parameswaran shows in Figs. 3 and 4a show that the porous hollow fiber membranes 110 are incorporated into a module (Figure 3:170). A first end of each hollow fiber is potted at a first portion of the module, and a second end of each hollow fiber is potted at a second portion of the module. As previously discussed, Fig. 4B shows that the module and hollow fibers extend to the middle of the bioreactor shell 150. Paragraph [0045] states that the porous hollow fiber membranes may include polypropylene materials.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Parameswaran and Herczeg disclose the combination as described above. Parameswaran depicts in Figs. 4B and %a-5C that the porous hollow fiber membranes are cylindrical tube bundles, and that the shell has the shape of a cylinder.
With respect to claim 13, Parameswaran and Herczeg disclose the combination as described above. Parameswaran states that microorganisms are grown on outer surfaces of the porous hollow fiber membranes. See paragraph [0018] (“a biofilm disposed on the outer surface of the hollow fiber membrane”).
With respect to claim 16, Parameswaran and Herczeg disclose the combination as described above. Parameswaran teaches a corresponding method for extracting compounds from a broth. Parameswaran states that microorganisms are cultured on outer surfaces of the hollow fiber membranes so that they are in direct contact with a shell side stream containing the broth.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parameswaran (US 20170015968) in view of Herczeg (US 20040045890) as applied to claims 1 and 13, and further in view of Kasuto (US 20150232797).
Parameswaran and Herczeg disclose the combination as described above, however do not teach the use of biocarriers.
Kasuto discloses a bioreactor comprising a plurality of biocarriers (Figure 1A:10) comprising pores for supporting cell growth. See paragraph [0061] (“the material used to produce any of the devices describe herein can…have a hollow or porous interior”). Paragraph [0076] teaches that the biocarriers are configured to be utilized within hollow fiber bioreactors.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to support microorganism growth within the pore spaces of a plurality of biocarriers disposed within the shell volume of the Parameswaran reactor. Kasuto teaches that this would increase the surface area for cell attachment and facilitate the formation of cell biofilms. Kasuto further states that the provision of biocarriers improves cell recovery and product purification, which enables commercial up-scaling.
Claims 17, 21-25 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parameswaran (US 20170015968) in view of Herczeg (US 20040045890) as applied to claims 1 and 13, and further in view of Kipp (US 20120184759) and Angenent (US 20140322772).
With respect to claim 17, Parameswaran and Herczeg disclose the combination described above. Parameswaran teaches that chemical fuel products and precursors (e.g., carboxylates) are purified from the shell side broth using an extraction process. Parameswaran, however, does not appear to teach that the shell side stream of broth flows in a cross-current or co-current pattern in relation to a solvent flowing axially through the plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes.
Kipp discloses a method of extracting one or more compounds from a broth (Figure 1:102). The broth containing microorganisms flows in a counter-current pattern relative to the flow of a solvent flowing axially through a plurality of porous hollow fiber membranes (Figure 1:104a-c). This is taught in paragraphs [0058]-[0063].
Angenent discloses a method of producing and extracting carboxylate from a fermentation broth. Angenent teaches that a hollow fiber separation device is configured to permit extraction of carboxylate products across a porous membrane using a mineral oil solvent comprising trioctylphosphine oxide. This is taught in paragraphs [0051], [0075], [0095] and [0100].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to pass a solvent through the plurality of hollow fiber membranes taught by Parameswaran for the purpose of extracting a product from the culture broth. As evidenced by Kipp and Angenent, this is an effective way to obtain a purified compound of interest from a cell culture fluid that is particularly well suited for the recovery of carboxylates. Angenent teaches in paragraph [0051] that membrane-based liquid-liquid extraction using a mineral oil stripping solution is a well-known strategy characterized by a high degree of predictability. It is well within the ability of one of ordinary skill to select an art-recognized solution when determining how to extract product compounds from the Parameswaran broth.
With respect to claim 21, Parameswaran, Herczeg, Kipp and Angenent disclose the combination described above. As previously discussed, Angenent states in paragraphs [0051], [0075], [0095] and [0100] that the membrane separation device utilizes a mineral oil solvent comprising trioctylphosphine oxide.
With respect to claims 22-24, Parameswaran, Herczeg, Kipp and Angenent disclose the combination described above. Angenent teaches in paragraph [0051] that a stripping aqueous phase petraction solution is maintained “at pH greater of 8.0 or above” for removal of carboxylates from the solvent. See also paragraph [0095] (“The solvent, which wet the hydrophobic membranes, was pumped at the same rate on the shell side (outside the fibers) of the membrane, counter-flow to the bioreactor liquid. The solvent was constantly recirculated between contact with the bioreactor liquid and the shell side of a second membrane unit, where it contacted an aqueous phase buffered with a 0.5 M borate solution at pH 9. The pH 9 solution was continuously recirculated from a 5-L reservoir where a pH controller maintained the pH by automatic addition of 5M NaOH”).
With respect to claims 25, 27 and 28, Parameswaran, Herczeg, Kipp and Angenent disclose the combination described above. Parameswaran teaches in paragraph [0036] that temperature and pH within the bioreactor are maintained at optimum values based on the type of microorganism in the culture. The vessel is configured to control temperature and pH, and Parameswaran shows in Table 1 different microorganisms that require temperatures between about 25°C and 35°C and a pH between about 5 and 6. Parameswaran teaches that pH may be controlled through the recirculation of gases through the bioreactor. Paragraph [0094] of Angenent discloses an embodiment in which the bioreactor is maintained at a pH of about 5.5 and a temperature of about 30°C. Angenent states that biogas is recirculated through the reactor. Paragraph [0044] indicates that hydraulic retention time may be about 24 hours.
With respect to claim 29, Parameswaran, Herczeg, Kipp and Angenent disclose the combination described above. Angenent states in paragraph [0003] that medium chain carboxylic acids are produced.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s amendment filed 23 July 2026, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the Herczeg reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Klaus (US 20060014274), Kim (US 20140175006) and Taylor (US 20150053083) references disclose the state of the art regarding hollow fiber membrane bioreactors.
This is non-final rejection.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799