DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 04/06/2025:
Claims 17-20, 22-29, and 33-37 are allowed.
Claim 38 is pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al. (US20190131196), and further in view of Houbertz et al. (US20190193204) and Sakurai et al. (US20100052189).
Regarding claim 38, Cook teaches a method (([0024] A method for encapsulating an IC
will now be disclosed) comprising:
disposing a main body and a related electrode structure into a container comprising a
liquid solution ([0064] In this example, a vat photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it, such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid
photopolymer resin); and
forming a housing body on the main body and the related electrode structure by a two-
photon lithography directly ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of
3D structures that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography,
multi-photon lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a
laser or projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes), thereby polymerizing and
curing a light-curing material at the focused local points to form the housing body,
forming a housing body on the main body and the related electrode structure ([0063]
Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have
feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon
lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or
projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes).
While Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to polymerize and cure the light-
curing material to manufacture the housing body, Cook fails to explicitly teach the photons are
focused on targeted local points on the main body and on the electrode structure, and the
polymerization occurs at the focused local points to form the housing body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing with two-photon- absorbed photopolymerization, Houbertz teaches that laser pulses are shaped such that they
impinge in a focal point or focal volume in the region of material to be process such that two-
photon polymerization takes place ([0124] focusing optics (6) which can shape the laser pulses
or laser pulse sequences in such a way that they impinge in a focal point or a focal volume in
the region of the material or body to be processed in such a way that a 2- or multi-photon
polymerization can take place there, or in that they impinge in a focal point or in a focal volume
in the region of the body in such a way that material located in this focal point or focal volume
is subjected to the desired chemical and/or physical changes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system of Cook focus
the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, on the main body and on the
electrode structure, to achieve the predictable result of polymerizing and curing the light-curing
material at focused local points to form the housing body. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success for the photons of Cook to be focused on targeted local points since
both Cook and Houbertz are directed to additively manufacturing three-dimensional structures
that encapsulate circuit components (see [0068] and Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and
curing epoxy-based materials using two photon lithography (Houbertz teaches the types of
materials used in [0078] and Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104] The
nodes may be fabricated using various materials, such as: various polymers such as
polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..). Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-
curing material, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the
interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
However, Cook and Houbertz fails to teach disposing the main body and the related electrode structure on a carrier structure having an opening.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components,
Sakurai teaches wherein main body and related electrode structure (see electronic component 10, electrode terminals 10a, layers 331a and 332b) are placed on a carrier structure (liquid crystal layer 640b; Figure 6A and Figure 6B) having an opening ([0178] a liquid crystal panel is disposed at bottom surface 61a of container 61 for feeding photosensitive resin liquid 33… shape and position of first opening 64a for transmission of light are electrically controlled by the driving signal voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel). The carrier structure of Sakurai allows for multiple components to be formed at desired locations simultaneously ([0182]) with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering ([0187]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to dispose the main body and related electrode structure of Cook modified with Houbertz on a carrier structure having an opening, as taught by Sakurai, for the benefit of forming multiple components at desired locations simultaneously with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20, 22-29, and 33-37 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art is: Cook et al. (US20190131196), Houbertz et al. (US20190193204), Sakurai et al. (US20100052189), and Kloke (US20170319358).
Regarding claim 17, and similarly claim 33, Cook teaches a method for producing at least one component ([0024] A method for encapsulating an IC will now be disclosed in which a structure to perform an additional package function may be created during the process of encapsulation; IC die 100 in Figure 1) comprising a main body (IC die 102; Figure 1), an electrode structure configured for electrically contacting the main body ([0032] IC die 102 may include an epitaxial (epi) layer on the top surface in which are formed various semiconductor transistor devices and interconnects. One or more conductive layers may be formed on the epi layer and patterned into interconnect traces and bond pads), and a housing body bordering the main body and the electrode structure (solid encapsulant material 110; Figure 1), the method comprising:
providing a container comprising a liquid solution located, wherein the liquid solution
comprises a light-curing material, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are
disposed in the container and surrounded by the liquid solution ([0064] In this example, a vat
photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it,
such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid photopolymer resin); and
manufacturing the housing body by a two-photon lithography,
polymerizing and curing the light-curing material to form the housing body ([0063]
Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have
feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon
lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or
projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes).
While Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to polymerize and cure the light-
curing material to manufacture the housing body, Cook fails to explicitly teach the photons are
focused on targeted local points on the main body and on the electrode structure, and the
polymerization occurs at the focused local points to form the housing body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing with two-photon-
absorbed photopolymerization, Houbertz teaches that laser pulses are shaped such that they
impinge in a focal point or focal volume in the region of material to be process such that two-
photon polymerization takes place ([0124] focusing optics (6) which can shape the laser pulses
or laser pulse sequences in such a way that they impinge in a focal point or a focal volume in
the region of the material or body to be processed in such a way that a 2- or multi-photon
polymerization can take place there, or in that they impinge in a focal point or in a focal volume
in the region of the body in such a way that material located in this focal point or focal volume
is subjected to the desired chemical and/or physical changes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system of Cook focus the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, on the main body and on the
electrode structure, to achieve the predictable result of polymerizing and curing the light-curing
material at focused local points to form the housing body. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success for the photons of Cook to be focused on targeted local points since
both Cook and Houbertz are directed to additively manufacturing three-dimensional structures
that encapsulate circuit components (see [0068] and Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and
curing epoxy-based materials using two photon lithography (Houbertz teaches the types of
materials used in [0078] and Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104] The
nodes may be fabricated using various materials, such as: various polymers such as
polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..). Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-
curing material, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the
interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
However, Cook and Houbertz fails to teach wherein a carrier structure is located in the
container and has an opening, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are
disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the
electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are surrounded by the liquid solution.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components,
Sakurai teaches wherein main body and related electrode structure (see electronic component 10, electrode terminals 10a, layers 331a and 332b) are placed on a carrier structure (liquid crystal layer 640b; Figure 6A and Figure 6B) having an opening ([0178] a liquid crystal panel is disposed at bottom surface 61a of container 61 for feeding photosensitive resin liquid 33… shape and position of first opening 64a for transmission of light are electrically controlled by the driving signal voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel). The carrier structure of Sakurai allows for multiple components to be formed at desired locations simultaneously ([0182]) with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering ([0187]).
While Sakurai teaches the carrier structure is located within the container (see “Response to Arguments” below), Sakurai fails to teach the carrier structure is surrounded by the liquid solution. Rather, the carrier structure is located in a portion of the container that is not exposed to the liquid solution.
Kloke teaches a carrier structure with openings 26 in Figure 3. However, Kloke fails to teach “wherein the main body and the electrode structure are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially” or the electrode structure located on the opening of the carrier structure. Rather, the components are located in the center with no obstruction to the holes.
Claims 18-20, 22-29 depend from claim 17 and are, therefore, allowed.
Claims 34-37 depend from claim 33 and are, therefore, allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/06/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 17 and claim 33 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 17-20, 22-29, and 33-37 has been withdrawn.
However, Applicant's arguments that claim 38 has similar elements as claim 33 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 38 recites “disposing a main body and a related electrode structure on a carrier structure having an opening into a container comprising a liquid solution”. Said limitation does not explicitly require the carrier structure having an opening to be surrounded by the liquid solution as is recited in claim 17 and claim 33.
Sakurai teaches the carrier structure with an opening is located inside or within the container (see liquid crystal layer 640b held between two sheets of transparent substrates 640c of the container 61 in Figure 6A and Figure 6B and annotated Figure 6B below), such that Sakurai teaches the limitation.
Further, said limitation is interpreted as a main body and a related electrode structure are disposed into a container comprising the liquid solution, and the main body and related electrode structure are also disposed on a carrier structure with an opening. Sakurai teaches the electrical components are disposed in the container and where the carrier structure is located at a bottom portion of the container then the electrical components are disposed on the carrier structure having the opening as well.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743