DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 12/12/2025:
Claims 17-20, 22-29, and 33-38 are pending.
Claims 1-16, 21, and 30-32 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20, 22, 23, 29, 33-35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Cook et al. (US20190131196), and further in view of Houbertz et al.
(US20190193204) and Sakurai et al. (US20100052189).
Regarding claim 17, Cook teaches a method for producing at least one component
([0024] A method for encapsulating an IC will now be disclosed in which a structure to perform
an additional package function may be created during the process of encapsulation; IC die 100
in Figure 1) comprising a main body (IC die 102; Figure 1), an electrode structure configured for
electrically contacting the main body ([0032] IC die 102 may include an epitaxial (epi) layer on
the top surface in which are formed various semiconductor transistor devices and
interconnects. One or more conductive layers may be formed on the epi layer and patterned
into interconnect traces and bond pads), and a housing body bordering the main body and the
electrode structure (solid encapsulant material 110; Figure 1), the method comprising:
providing a container comprising a liquid solution located, wherein the liquid solution
comprises a light-curing material, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are
disposed in the container and surrounded by the liquid solution ([0064] In this example, a vat
photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it,
such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid photopolymer resin); and
manufacturing the housing body by a two-photon lithography,
polymerizing and curing the light-curing material to form the housing body ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have
feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon
lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or
projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes).
While Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to polymerize and cure the light-
curing material to manufacture the housing body, Cook fails to explicitly teach the photons are
focused on targeted local points on the main body and on the electrode structure, and the polymerization occurs at the focused local points to form the housing body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing with two-photon-
absorbed photopolymerization, Houbertz teaches that laser pulses are shaped such that they
impinge in a focal point or focal volume in the region of material to be process such that two-
photon polymerization takes place ([0124] focusing optics (6) which can shape the laser pulses
or laser pulse sequences in such a way that they impinge in a focal point or a focal volume in
the region of the material or body to be processed in such a way that a 2- or multi-photon
polymerization can take place there, or in that they impinge in a focal point or in a focal volume
in the region of the body in such a way that material located in this focal point or focal volume
is subjected to the desired chemical and/or physical changes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system of Cook focus
the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, on the main body and on the
electrode structure, to achieve the predictable result of polymerizing and curing the light-curing
material at focused local points to form the housing body. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success for the photons of Cook to be focused on targeted local points since
both Cook and Houbertz are directed to additively manufacturing three-dimensional structures
that encapsulate circuit components (see [0068] and Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and curing epoxy-based materials using two photon lithography (Houbertz teaches the types of
materials used in [0078] and Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104] The
nodes may be fabricated using various materials, such as: various polymers such as
polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..). Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-
curing material, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the
interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
However, Cook and Houbertz fails to teach wherein a carrier structure is located in the container and has an opening, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components, Sakurai teaches wherein a carrier structure (liquid crystal layer 640b; Figure 6A and Figure 6B) is located in the container ([0178] a liquid crystal panel is disposed at bottom surface 61a of container 61 for feeding photosensitive resin liquid 33) and has an opening ([0178] shape and position of first opening 64a for transmission of light are electrically controlled by the driving signal voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel), and
wherein the main body (electronic component 10; Figure 6A) and the electrode structure (plurality of electrode terminals 10a, 101a; Figure 6A) are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially ([0180]). The carrier structure of Sakurai allows for multiple components to be formed at desired locations simultaneously ([0182]) with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering ([0187]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the method of Cook modified with Houbertz include a carrier structure with an opening in the container where the main body and electrode structure are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially, as taught by Sakurai, for the benefit of forming multiple components at desired locations simultaneously with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering.
Regarding claim 18, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. Further, Cook teaches wherein the light-curing material comprises monomers of a light-curing polymer ([0064] A light source, such as a laser or projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes).
Regarding claim 19, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. Further, Cook teaches wherein the liquid solution is an acrylic resin or epoxy resin solution ([0034] and [0104] The nodes may be fabricated using various materials, such as: various polymers such as polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..).
Regarding claim 20, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17.
Further, Cook teaches wherein the main body and the electrode structure are completely surrounded by the liquid solution ( [0033] In this example, a solid encapsulant material 110 surrounds and encapsulates IC die 102 and [0064] In this example, a vat photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it, such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid photopolymer resin. A light source, such as a laser or projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes), and wherein the housing body is formed without additional auxiliaries (additional auxiliaries is to be interpreted as additional supporting structures or other additional structures outside or on the side of the housing in light of [0018] of Applicant’s specification: “the housing body is formed without additional auxiliaries, such as without additional supporting structures”).
Further, Houbertz teaches two-photon polymerization occurs exclusively by focusing of
the photons on targeted local points as noted in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system
of Cook focus the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, to achieve the
predictable result of polymerizing and curing the light-curing material at focused local points to
form the housing body. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the
photons of Cook to be focused on targeted local points since both Cook and Houbertz are
directed to additively manufacturing three-dimensional structures that encapsulate circuit
components (see [0068] and Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and curing epoxy-based
materials using two photon lithography (Houbertz teaches the types of materials used in [0078]
and Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104] The nodes may be fabricated
using various materials, such as: various polymers such as polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..).
Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-curing material, prompting one of
ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
Regarding claim 22, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 21.
Further, Sakurai teaches wherein the photons are focused through the opening in the carrier structure when the housing body is formed on the surfaces of the main body and/or of the electrode structure that are facing the opening, and
wherein the photons are not focused through the opening in the carrier structure when the housing body is formed on the surfaces of the main body and/or of the electrode structure that are facing away from the opening ([0178]-[0180]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the photons of of Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai be focused through the opening in the carrier structure when the housing body is formed on the surfaces of the main body and/or of the electrode structure that are facing the opening, and for the photons to not focus through the opening when the housing body is formed on the surfaces of the main body and/or of the electrode structure that are facing away from the opening, as taught by Sakurai, for the benefit of forming multiple components at desired locations simultaneously with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering.
Regarding claim 23, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. Further, Cook teaches the housing body encloses the main body and/or the electrode structure in lateral directions to a full extent (Abstract: An encapsulated integrated circuit package is provided that includes an integrated circuit (IC) die… Encapsulation material encapsulates the IC die; See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 29, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17.
Further, Houbertz teaches wherein photons from different photon sources are used,
and wherein a component is formed simultaneously at different points by the different photon sources ([0097]). Forming a component simultaneously at different points by different photon
sources allows for large structures to be produced in a short time ([0097]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the housing body of Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai formed simultaneously at different points by the different photon sources, as taught by Houbertz, for the benefit of producing large structures in a short time.
Regarding claim 33, Cook teaches a method for producing a component ([0024] A
method for encapsulating an IC will now be disclosed in which a structure to perform an
additional package function may be created during the process of encapsulation; IC die 100 in
Figure 1) comprising a main body (IC die 102; Figure 1), an electrode structure configured for
electrically contacting the main body ([0032] IC die 102 may include an epitaxial (epi) layer on
the top surface in which are formed various semiconductor transistor devices and
interconnects. One or more conductive layers may be formed on the epi layer and patterned
into interconnect traces and bond pads), and a housing body bordering the main body and the
electrode structure (solid encapsulant material 110; Figure 1), the method comprising:
providing a container comprising a liquid solution, wherein the liquid solution
comprises a light-curing material, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are
disposed in the container and surrounded by the liquid solution ([0064] In this example, a vat
photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it,
such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid photopolymer resin); and
polymerizing and curing the solution, and forming the housing body ([0063] Recent
process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon lithograph, two-photon
polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or projector, may then expose
selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate polymerization that converts
exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers of encapsulant material 110
may be formed in selected shapes).
While Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to polymerize and cure the light-
curing material to manufacture the housing body, Cook fails to explicitly teach the photons are
focused on targeted local points on the electrode structure, wherein the light-curing material is polymerized and cured at the focused local points to form the housing body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing with two-photon-
absorbed photopolymerization, Houbertz teaches that laser pulses are shaped such that they
impinge in a focal point or focal volume in the region of material to be process such that two-
photon polymerization takes place ([0124] focusing optics (6) which can shape the laser pulses
or laser pulse sequences in such a way that they impinge in a focal point or a focal volume in
the region of the material or body to be processed in such a way that a 2- or multi-photon
polymerization can take place there, or in that they impinge in a focal point or in a focal volume
in the region of the body in such a way that material located in this focal point or focal volume
is subjected to the desired chemical and/or physical changes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system of Cook focus
the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, on the electrode structure, to achieve the predictable result of polymerizing and curing the light-curing material at focused local points to form the housing body. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the photons of Cook to be focused on targeted local points since both Cook and Houbertz are directed to additively manufacturing three-dimensional structures that encapsulate circuit components (see [0068] and Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and
curing epoxy-based materials using two photon lithography (Houbertz teaches the types of materials used in [0078] and Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104] The
nodes may be fabricated using various materials, such as: various polymers such as polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..). Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-
curing material, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the
interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
However, Cook and Houbertz fail to teach the container comprising a carrier structure having an opening on which the electrode structure is located and the photons are targeted on the electrode structure through the opening.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components, Sakurai teaches a container comprising a carrier structure (liquid crystal layer 640b in Figure 6A and Figure 6B; [0178] a liquid crystal panel is disposed at bottom surface 61a of container 61 for feeding photosensitive resin liquid 33) having an opening ([0178] shape and position of first opening 64a for transmission of light are electrically controlled by the driving signal voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel) on which the electrode structure is located, and light is targeted on the electrode structure through the opening ([0180] In the above condition, strong light (having energy equivalent to 70% to 100% curing of photosensitive resin liquid) is applied through first opening 64a formed in the liquid crystal panel of photo-mask 64, bottom surface 61a of container 61, for the purpose of exposure. In this way, first layer of high polymerization degree 331a of photosensitive resin is formed all together on a plurality of electrode terminals 10a, 101a; see light going through openings 64a in Figure 6A and 64b in Figure 6B onto the electrode terminals 101a, 10a, and 331a). The carrier structure of Sakurai allows for multiple components to be formed at desired locations simultaneously ([0182]) with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering ([0187]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the method of Cook modified with Houbertz include a carrier structure with an opening in the container on which the electrode structure is located and the photons are targeted on the electrode structure through the opening, as taught by Sakurai, for the benefit of forming multiple components at desired locations simultaneously with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering.
Regarding claim 34, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 33.
Further, Cook teaches wherein the main body and the electrode structure are
completely surrounded by the liquid solution ( [0033] In this example, a solid encapsulant material 110 surrounds and encapsulates IC die 102 and [0064] In this example, a vat photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it,
such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid photopolymer resin. A light source, such as a
laser or projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes), and wherein the housing body
is formed without additional auxiliaries (additional auxiliaries is to be interpreted as additional
supporting structures or other additional structures outside or on the side of the housing in light of [0018] of Applicant’s specification: “the housing body is formed without additional
auxiliaries, such as without additional supporting structures”).
Further, Houbertz teaches two-photon polymerization occurs exclusively by focusing of
the photons on targeted local points as noted in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system
of Cook focus the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, to achieve the
predictable result of polymerizing and curing the light-curing material at focused local points to
form the housing body. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the
photons of Cook to be focused on targeted local points since both Cook and Houbertz are
directed to additively manufacturing three-dimensional structures that encapsulate circuit
components (see [0068] and Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and curing epoxy-based
materials using two photon lithography (Houbertz teaches the types of materials used in [0078]
and Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104] The nodes may be fabricated
using various materials, such as: various polymers such as polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..).
Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-curing material, prompting one of
ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
Regarding claim 35, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 33.
Further, Cook teaches wherein the light-curing material comprises monomers of a light-curing polymer ([0064] A light source, such as a laser or projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes).
Regarding claim 38, Cook teaches a method (([0024] A method for encapsulating an IC will now be disclosed) comprising:
disposing a main body and a related electrode structure into a container comprising a liquid solution ([0064] In this example, a vat photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it, such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid photopolymer resin); and
forming a housing body on the main body and the related electrode structure by a two- photon lithography directly ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes), thereby polymerizing and curing a light-curing material at the focused local points to form the housing body.
forming a housing body on the main body and the related electrode structure ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have
feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon
lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or
projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes).
While Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to polymerize and cure the light-
curing material to manufacture the housing body, Cook fails to explicitly teach the photons are
focused on targeted local points on the main body and on the electrode structure, and the polymerization occurs at the focused local points to form the housing body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing with two-photon-
absorbed photopolymerization, Houbertz teaches that laser pulses are shaped such that they
impinge in a focal point or focal volume in the region of material to be process such that two-
photon polymerization takes place ([0124] focusing optics (6) which can shape the laser pulses
or laser pulse sequences in such a way that they impinge in a focal point or a focal volume in
the region of the material or body to be processed in such a way that a 2- or multi-photon
polymerization can take place there, or in that they impinge in a focal point or in a focal volume
in the region of the body in such a way that material located in this focal point or focal volume
is subjected to the desired chemical and/or physical changes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system of Cook focus
the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, on the main body and on the
electrode structure, to achieve the predictable result of polymerizing and curing the light-curing
material at focused local points to form the housing body. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success for the photons of Cook to be focused on targeted local points since
both Cook and Houbertz are directed to additively manufacturing three-dimensional structures
that encapsulate circuit components (see [0068] and Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and curing epoxy-based materials using two photon lithography (Houbertz teaches the types of
materials used in [0078] and Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104] The
nodes may be fabricated using various materials, such as: various polymers such as
polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc..). Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-
curing material, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the
interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
However, Cook and Houbertz fails to teach wherein a carrier structure is located in the container and has an opening, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components, Sakurai teaches wherein main body and related electrode structure are placed on a carrier structure (liquid crystal layer 640b; Figure 6A and Figure 6B) having an opening into a container comprising a liquid solution ([0178] a liquid crystal panel is disposed at bottom surface 61a of container 61 for feeding photosensitive resin liquid 33… shape and position of first opening 64a for transmission of light are electrically controlled by the driving signal voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel). The carrier structure of Sakurai allows for multiple components to be formed at desired locations simultaneously ([0182]) with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering ([0187]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the method of Cook modified with Houbertz include a carrier structure with an opening in the container where the main body and electrode structure are disposed on the carrier structure, as taught by Sakurai, for the benefit of forming multiple components at desired locations simultaneously with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering.
Claim(s) 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et
al. (US20190131196), Houbertz et al. (US20190193204), and Sakurai et al. (US20100052189), and further in view of Tanguy et al. (US20200047408).
Regarding claim 27, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. However, Cook fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing body is one piece and is free from sublayers which are disposed one above another and run parallel to one another.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Tanguy teaches
wherein a component is one piece and is free from sublayers which are disposed one above
another and run parallel to one another ([0061] For example, the partial structures 14 can be written by the focus region passing through the scan curve 22 and emitting a sequence of laser
pulses having a defined pulse rate and pulse length. As a result, along the scan curve 22, a
series of voxels 24 or volume elements 24 is defined, which form the partial structure 14; the
component of Tanguy uses two photon polymerization to form individual partial structures 14
that coalesce together as shown in Figure 4). The formation of partial structures allows for the
formation of components with decreased deviations, particularly at edge and curved portions
of the component ([0062]-[0063] and see Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the component of Cook modified with
Houbertz and Sakurai to be formed as one piece free from sublayers which are disposed one above another and run parallel to one another, as taught by Tanguy, for the benefit of forming components with decreased deviations, particularly at edge and curved portions of the component.
Regarding claim 28, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. However, Cook fails to teach wherein subregions of the housing body grow by focusing of radiations and ultimately coalesce to form an unitary housing body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Tanguy teaches
wherein subregions of the housing body are formed initially at different points spatially
separate from one another, and wherein the subregions of the housing body grow by focusing of radiations and ultimately coalesce to form an unitary housing body ([0062]-[0063] and see Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the housing body of Cook modified with
Houbertz and Sakurai to be formed as subregions initially at different points spatially separate from one another that ultimately coalesce to provide a unitary housing body, as taught by Tanguy, for the benefit of forming components with decreased deviations, particularly at edge and curved portions of the component.
Claim(s) 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et
al. (US20190131196), Houbertz et al. (US20190193204), and Sakurai et al. (US20100052189), and further in view of Yu et al. (US20190097066).
Regarding claim 36, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. While Cook teaches a socket formed on top surface of the housing body in the embodiment of Figure 6, Cook fails to teach the method further comprising forming, by the two-photon lithography, an outer layer together with the housing body, wherein the outer layer has a form of a ring around the main body, and wherein the outer layer and the housing body are formed from the same material.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components, Yu teaches forming an outer layer (opaque coating material 24; Figure 6c and Figure 6D) together with a housing body (encapsulation material 8 in Figure 6C; [0521] The opaque coating material 24 can be spray-coated onto the clear encapsulation material 8. Other ways of applying opaque coating material 24 can be used),
wherein the outer layer has a form of a ring around the main body ([0520] In FIG. 6A, opaque coating material 24 is still unstructured. Thereafter, it is structured in order to produce a multitude of apertures 25 and thus to create opaque coating 23 as depicted in FIG. 6B; see multitude of apertures 25 around optical component 2 in Figure 6C), and
wherein the outer layer and the housing body are formed from the same material ([0356] The opaque encapsulation which, e.g., can be a hardenable polymer material, e.g., a curable epoxy and [0479] Clear encapsulation material 8 can be a hardenable material such as a curable epoxy). The apertures formed by the ring around the main body are integral to the performance of many optoelectronic modules, and forming the apertures with high precision is crucial for achieving optimal performance ([0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the method of Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai to form an outer layer together with the housing body, wherein the outer layer has a form of a ring around the main body, and wherein the outer layer and the housing body are formed from the same material, as taught by Yu, for the benefit of forming apertures around the main body that are integral to the performance of many optoelectronic modules.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the method of Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai to form the outer layer by the two-photon lithography, as Cook and Houbertz teach, to form the apertures with the high precision that is crucial for achieving optimal performance.
Regarding claim 37, Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. While Cook teaches a socket formed on top surface of the housing body in the embodiment of Figure 6, Cook fails to teach the method further comprising forming, by the two-photon lithography, an outer layer subsequently directly on the housing body, wherein the outer layer has a form of a ring around the main body, and wherein the outer layer and the housing body are formed from different materials.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components, Yu teaches forming an outer layer (opaque coating material 24; Figure 6c and Figure 6D) together with a housing body (resilient encapsulation material 7 and encapsulation material 8 in Figure 2 and Figure 3; [0469], [0521] The opaque coating material 24 can be spray-coated onto the clear encapsulation material 8. Other ways of applying opaque coating material 24 can be used),
wherein the outer layer has a form of a ring around the main body ([0520] In FIG. 6A, opaque coating material 24 is still unstructured. Thereafter, it is structured in order to produce a multitude of apertures 25 and thus to create opaque coating 23 as depicted in FIG. 6B; see multitude of apertures 25 around optical component 2 in Figure 6C), and
wherein the outer layer and the housing body are formed from different materials (0356] The opaque encapsulation which, e.g., can be a hardenable polymer material, e.g., a curable epoxy and [0458] The resilient encapsulation material 7 can be an elastic material, such as an elastic polymeric material, e.g., a silicone such as PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane). Other resilient materials can be used. too). The apertures formed by the ring around the main body are integral to the performance of many optoelectronic modules, and forming the apertures with high precision is crucial for achieving optimal performance ([0008]). Further, the different materials can provide some protection for the main body when desired ([0456] Resilient encapsulation material 7 is resilient and can therefore provide some protection for active optical components 2 and in particular reduce mechanical stress exterted on active optical components 2 and on electrical connections thereof such as on the wirebonds 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the method of Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai to form an outer layer together with the housing body, wherein the outer layer has a form of a ring around the main body, and wherein the outer layer and the housing body are formed from different material, as taught by Yu, for the benefit of forming apertures around the main body that are integral to the performance of many optoelectronic modules, and for providing protection to the main body components when desired.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the method of Cook modified with Houbertz and Sakurai to form the outer layer by the two-photon lithography, as Cook and Houbertz teach, to form the apertures with the high precision that is crucial for achieving optimal performance.
Claim(s) 17 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Richter et al. (US20180337290), and further in view of Cook et al. (US20190131196),
Houbertz et al. (US20190193204), and Sakurai et al. (US20100052189).
Regarding claim 17, Richter teaches a method for producing a component (see Figure 2
and Figure 5) comprising a main body (optoelectronic semiconductor chip 40; Figure 2), an
electrode structure (contact regions 33; Figure 2) configured for electrically contacting the main
body ([0058]-[0059],[0061]), and a housing body (housing body 20; Figure 2) bordering the
main body and the electrode structure (see Figure 2 and Figure 5).
However, Richter teaches using an injection molding method to produce the component
([0044]-[0057]), and fails to teach the housing is produced by a stereolithography method such
that the method comprises the steps of:
providing a container comprising a liquid solution, wherein the liquid solution
comprises a light-curing material, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are
disposed in the container and surrounded by the liquid solution; and
manufacturing the housing body by a two-photon lithography, in which photons are
focused on targeted local points on the main body and on the electrode structure, thereby polymerizing and curing the light-curing material at the focused local points to form the housing body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electronic components
(Abstract: An encapsulated integrated circuit package is provided that includes an integrated
circuit (IC) die), Cook teaches providing a container comprising a liquid solution,
wherein the liquid solution comprises a light-curing material, and
wherein the main body and the electrode structure are disposed in the container and surrounded by the liquid solution ([0064] In this example, a vat photopolymerization process may be used in which leadframe strip and the ICs attached to it, such as IC die 102, are lowered into a vat of liquid photopolymer resin); and
manufacturing the housing body by a two-photon lithography, thereby polymerizing and curing the light-curing material to form the housing body ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes). Two-photon polymerization can increase the housing’s resolution to have features of less than 100 nm ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the housing body of Richter to be
formed by two-photon lithography, as taught by Cook, for the benefit of increasing the
housing’s resolution to have features of less than 100 nm.
While Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to polymerize and cure the light-
curing material to manufacture the housing body, Cook fails to explicitly teach the photons are
focused on targeted local points on the main body and on the electrode structure, wherein the
light-curing material is polymerized and cured at the focused local points to form the housing
body.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing with two-photon-
absorbed photopolymerization, Houbertz teaches that laser pulses are shaped such that they
impinge in a focal point or focal volume in the region of material to be process such that two-
photon polymerization takes place ([0124] focusing optics (6) which can shape the laser pulses
or laser pulse sequences in such a way that they impinge in a focal point or a focal volume in
the region of the material or body to be processed in such a way that a 2- or multi-photon
polymerization can take place there, or in that they impinge in a focal point or in a focal volume
in the region of the body in such a way that material located in this focal point or focal volume
is subjected to the desired chemical and/or physical changes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two-photon lithography system of Richter
modified with Cook focus the photons on targeted local points, as taught by Houbertz, on the
main body and on the electrode structure, to achieve the predictable result of polymerizing and
curing the light-curing material at focused local points to form the housing body. There would
have been a reasonable expectation of success for the photons of Richter modified with Cook
to be focused on targeted local points since Richter, Cook, and Houbertz are directed to
molding three-dimensional structures that encapsulate circuit components (see [0068] and
Figure 3 of Houbertz) by polymerizing and curing epoxy-based materials (Houbertz teaches the
types of materials used in [0078], Cook teaches the types of materials used in [0035] and [0104]
The nodes may be fabricated using various materials, such as: various polymers such as
polyurethane, polyacrylates, etc.., and Cook teaches using epoxy as a molding material in
[0052]). Cook is silent as to how the photons interact with the light-curing material, prompting
one of ordinary skill to look to related art to determine the interaction, as Houbertz teaches.
However, Cook and Houbertz fails to teach wherein a carrier structure is located in the container and has an opening, and wherein the main body and the electrode structure are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electrical circuit components, Sakurai teaches wherein a carrier structure (liquid crystal layer 640b; Figure 6A and Figure 6B) is located in the container ([0178] a liquid crystal panel is disposed at bottom surface 61a of container 61 for feeding photosensitive resin liquid 33) and has an opening ([0178] shape and position of first opening 64a for transmission of light are electrically controlled by the driving signal voltage applied to the liquid crystal panel), and
wherein the main body (electronic component 10; Figure 6A) and the electrode structure (plurality of electrode terminals 10a, 101a; Figure 6A) are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially ([0180]). The carrier structure of Sakurai allows for multiple components to be formed at desired locations simultaneously ([0182]) with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering ([0187]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the method of Richter modified with Cook and Houbertz include a carrier structure with an opening in the container where the main body and electrode structure are disposed on the carrier structure in such a way that in plan view the main body and/or the electrode structure cover/covers the opening at least partially, as taught by Sakurai, for the benefit of forming multiple components at desired locations simultaneously with excellent positioning accuracy and reduced light scattering.
Regarding claim 24, Richter modified with Cook, Houbertz, and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17.
Further, Richter teaches wherein an outer layer is formed together with the housing
body (see molding material 60 in Figure 5), wherein the outer layer has a form of a lens ([0068]
the molding material 60 forms a lens 61 above the cavity 21 of the housing body 20) on the
main body (molding material 60 forming lens 61 is within cavity 21 and on optoelectronic
semiconductor chip 40 as shown in Figure 5).
While Richter teaches the outer layer and the housing body are formed from different
materials, and fails to explicitly teach the outer layer and the housing body are formed from the
same material, Richter also teaches a potting material that partially encapsulates the main body (optoelectronic semiconductor chip 40) which may be the same material as the lens ([0052] The
molding material and the potting material may each comprise an epoxy or a silicone). Having
the same materials can match refractive indices ([0064] By contrast, if the optoelectronic
semiconductor chip 40 is completely embedded into the potting material 70, then there is, for
example, the possibility of refractive index matching by selection of the potting material 70)
and allow for the lens to disperse electromagnetic radiation emitted by the optoelectronic
semiconductor chip ([0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the outer layer and the housing body of
Richter modified with Cook, Houbertz, and Sakurai to be formed from the same material, as suggested by Richter, for the benefit of matching refractive indices and allowing for the lens to disperse electromagnetic radiation emitted by the optoelectronic semiconductor chip.
However, Richter fails to teach the outer layer is formed together with the housing body
by the two-photon lithography.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electronic components
(Abstract: An encapsulated integrated circuit package is provided that includes an integrated
circuit (IC) die), Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to encapsulate electronic
components ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures
that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon
lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or
projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes). Further, Cook teaches forming
component with multiple functionalities ([0033]] In this example, a solid encapsulant material
110 surrounds and encapsulates IC die 102. A portion of the encapsulation material may include
a matrix of interstitial nodes such as indicated at 121). Two-photon polymerization can increase
the housing’s resolution to have features of less than 100 nm ([0063] Recent process advances
allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm,
such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the outer layer of Richter modified with
Cook, Houbertz, and Sakurai to be formed together, as suggested by Cook, with the housing body by the two-photon lithography, as taught by Cook, , for the benefit of increasing the outer layer’s resolution to have features of less than 100 nm.
Regarding claim 25, Richter modified with Cook, Houbertz, and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. Further, Richter teaches wherein an outer layer is formed together with the housing body (see molding material 60 in Figure 5), wherein the outer layer has a form of a lens ([0068] the molding material 60 forms a lens 61 above the cavity 21 of the housing body 20) on the main body (molding material 60 forming lens 61 is within cavity 21 and on optoelectronic semiconductor chip 40 as shown in Figure 5), and wherein the outer layer and the housing body are formed from the different materials ([0057] The material from which the housing body 20 is molded may comprise a polyphthalamide (PPA), for example and [0052] The molding material and the potting material may each comprise an epoxy or a silicone). However, Richter fails to teach the outer layer is formed by the two-photon lithography.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to encapsulating electronic components
(Abstract: An encapsulated integrated circuit package is provided that includes an integrated
circuit (IC) die), Cook teaches using two-photon lithography to encapsulate electronic
components ([0063] Recent process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures
that have feature resolution of less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon
lithograph, two-photon polymerization, etc and [0064] A light source, such as a laser or
projector, may then expose selected regions of the liquid photopolymer resin to initiate
polymerization that converts exposed areas of the liquid resin to a solid. In this manner, layers
of encapsulant material 110 may be formed in selected shapes). Two-photon polymerization
can increase the housing’s resolution to have features of less than 100 nm ([0063] Recent
process advances allow additive manufacturing of 3D structures that have feature resolution of
less than 100 nm, such as direct laser lithography, multi-photon lithograph, two-photon
polymerization, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the outer layer of Richter modified with
Cook, Houbertz, and Sakurai to be formed by the two-photon lithography, as taught by Cook, for the benefit of increasing the outer layer’s resolution to have features of less than 100 nm.
Regarding claim 26, Richter modified with Cook, Houbertz, and Sakurai teaches the method of claim 17. Further, Richter teaches the housing body is produced without subsequent processing (see Figure 2) and that the housing body has a cavity in which the main body is disposed (see optoelectronic semiconductor chip 40 inside cavity 23 in Figure 2). However, Richter fails to teach wherein the housing body is produced by polymerization and curing of the light-curing
material.
Further, Cook teaches wherein the housing body is produced by two-photon
polymerization and curing of the light-curing material, as noted in the rejection of claim 17
above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art for the housing body of Richter modified with Cook, Houbertz, and Sakurai to be formed by the two-photon lithography, as taught by Cook, for the benefit of increasing the outer layer’s resolution to have features of less than 100 nm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17, 33, and 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743