DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33, 37-39, and 43-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banwart(US 8,534,694) in view of Orgeron (US 9,051,007). Banwart discloses:
With regard to claim 33 - An apparatus 2 for releasably coupling a second trailer 106 to a first trailer 105 that is releasably coupled to a towing vehicle in a tractor-trailer vehicle configuration, the apparatus comprising:
a first frame counterpart 12 and a second frame counterpart 12;
a first trailer connector assembly 70 disposed on the first frame counterpart 12 for releasably coupling the apparatus 2 to the first trailer 105 such that the apparatus 2 translates with the first trailer 105;
a second trailer connector assembly 50 disposed on the second frame counterpart 12 for releasably coupling the apparatus 2 to the second trailer 106 such that the second trailer 106 translates with the apparatus 2;
a front pair of wheels 28 (Fig. 7) rotatably coupled to the first frame counterpart 12;
a rear pair of wheels 18 rotatably coupled to the second frame counterpart 12;
an energy storing device 36 for storing energy;
at least one motor 226 operably coupled to:
at least one wheel of the pair of wheels 28 for applying rotational force to the at least one wheel (“Reference numeral 202 generally designates an alternative embodiment powered converter dolly embodying the principles of the disclosed subject matter. Referring to FIG. 7, the dolly 202 is shown having a landing gear assembly 282 that is substantially similar to the landing gear assembly 82 described above except that it does not have a motor connected to the wheels 98. Instead, the movement of the dolly 202 is by way of a motor 226 and differential 222 operably connected to the axle 19 of one of the two axle assemblies 18. The motor 226 may be an electrical motor powered by the batteries 36 or generator 38, or may be a hydraulic motor powered by the hydraulic pump 44. Control of the motor 226 is by way of the aforementioned remote control 102. Movement and control of the dolly 2 and landing gear assembly 82 is as described above.” – column 8, line 66 – column 9, line 13), and
the energy storing device 36 for receiving energy, such that the motor 226 is operable in a drive mode for applying a motive rotational force to the at least one wheel (see citation of column 8, line 66 – column 9, line 13 above); and
a controller 102 for selectively activating the drive mode of the motor 226;
a steering device 84 communicatively coupled to the controller 102 for steering the apparatus, the apparatus being operable by the steering device to shunt the second trailer around a staging area when the second trailer is disconnected from the towing vehicle (“Using the remote control 102, an operator powers up the dolly 2 and extends the actuator 88 positioning the landing gear assembly 82 perpendicular to the drawbar assembly 60, and the wheels 98 in contact with the ground. The motor 100 rotates the wheels 98 and moves the dolly 2 in the direction the wheels 98 are pointing. The dolly 2 is maneuvered underneath the trailer 106 enabling engagement of the hitch component 50 with the bearing plate 112. The dolly 2 air brakes are then engaged.” – column 7, lines 11-20),
wherein the at least one wheel 28, the motor 226, and the energy-storing device 36 are co-operatively configured such that while the first trailer 105 is released from the releasable coupling to the apparatus and the releasable coupling of the second trailer to the apparatus is effected, and while the energy is stored on the energy storing device, the motor is operable in the drive mode such that the second trailer translates with the apparatus (see citation of column 7, lines 11-20 above).
Banwart fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart are pivotably connected and wherein the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart.
Orgeron teaches an apparatus for releasably coupling a second trailer to a towing vehicle in a tractor-trailer vehicle configuration, the apparatus comprising: a first frame counterpart 100 and a second frame counterpart 200 that are pivotably connected to define a frame (see Fig. 2); a front pair of wheels 122 rotatably coupled to the first frame counterpart 100; a rear pair of wheels 242 rotatably coupled to the second frame counterpart 200; a steering device 300 for steering the apparatus; and the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart (“Forward portion 260 of rear dolly 200 is pivotally connected to front platform 120 of front dolly 100 by front thrust bearing assembly 130. Rear dolly 200 pushes front dolly 100 forward through the connection at front thrust bearing assembly 130.
“When tractor 40 turns, carried structure 12 (the transported load) rotates with tractor 40. Structure 12 is supported by load cradle 400 which is mounted to turntable 340. Turntable 340 is connected to rear dolly 200 through a rear thrust bearing assembly 230. This allows structure 12, load cradle 400, and turntable 340 to rotate independently of rear dolly 200.
“Rotation of turntable 340 causes opposing directional movement of steering links 360 and 362 to rotate steering frame 320. When tractor 40 turns right, turntable 340 tensions (pulls on) right steering link 362 and compresses (pushes on) left steering link 360. When tractor 40 turns left, turntable 340 tensions (pulls on) left steering link 360 and compresses (pushes on) right steering link 362. The movement of left and right steering links 360 and 362 forces rotation of steering frame 320.” – column 10, lines 46-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Banwart with the teaching of Orgeron such that the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart are pivotably connected and wherein the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for longer and heavier structures to be guided and supported by the dolly.
With regard to claim 37, Orgeron teaches further comprising:
an actuator 350 that is disposed in operable communication with the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200, and is co-operatively configured with the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 such that the actuator 350 is activatable to effect pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 relative to the other of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200;
wherein the controller is configured to selectively activate the actuator (“; and
the steering device 300 is configured to steer the apparatus by sending instructions to the controller to activate the actuator to pivot one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart (“In an optional embodiment also illustrated in FIG. 2, a manually operable override comprising a front cylinder bracket 150 is connected to front dolly 100, and a rear cylinder bracket 250 is connected to rear dolly 200. An actuator 350 is pivotally connected between front cylinder bracket 150 and rear cylinder bracket 250. Actuator 350 may be a hydraulic cylinder that is permitted to free float during normal driving conditions. Actuator 350 may be engaged for overriding the mechanical steering capability of transport system 10 when reversing the system, or when operating in small spaces, like parking lots or drilling rig sites.” – column 8, lines 20-30).
With regard to claim 38, Orgeron teaches wherein the pivotable connection 130 of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 is disposed about a central longitudinal axis of the frame; and
the actuator 350 is disposed offset from the central longitudinal axis (see Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 39, Orgeron teaches wherein the actuator 350 is a linear actuator that is activatable to extend and retract for effecting the pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart.
With regard to claim 43, Orgeron teaches wherein the one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart about a vertical axis that is perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis of the apparatus (see Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 44, Banwart discloses wherein the at least one motor 226 is an electric motor (“The motor 226 may be an electrical motor powered by the batteries 36 or generator 38” – column 9, lines 8 and 9).
With regard to claim 45 - A terminal tractor apparatus for towing trailers, the apparatus comprising:
a first frame counterpart 12 and a second frame counterpart 12;
a trailer connector assembly 50 disposed on the second frame counterpart 12 for releasably coupling the apparatus 2 to a trailer 106 such that the trailer 106 translates with the apparatus 2;
a front pair of wheels 28 (Fig. 7) rotatably coupled to the first frame counterpart 12;
a rear pair of wheels 18 rotatably coupled to the second frame counterpart 12;
an energy storing device 36 for storing energy;
at least one motor 226 operably coupled to at least one wheel of the pair of wheels 28 for applying rotational force to the at least one wheel (“Reference numeral 202 generally designates an alternative embodiment powered converter dolly embodying the principles of the disclosed subject matter. Referring to FIG. 7, the dolly 202 is shown having a landing gear assembly 282 that is substantially similar to the landing gear assembly 82 described above except that it does not have a motor connected to the wheels 98. Instead, the movement of the dolly 202 is by way of a motor 226 and differential 222 operably connected to the axle 19 of one of the two axle assemblies 18. The motor 226 may be an electrical motor powered by the batteries 36 or generator 38, or may be a hydraulic motor powered by the hydraulic pump 44. Control of the motor 226 is by way of the aforementioned remote control 102. Movement and control of the dolly 2 and landing gear assembly 82 is as described above.” – column 8, line 66 – column 9, line 13), and to the energy storing device 36 for receiving energy, such that the motor 226 is operable in a drive mode for applying a motive rotational force to the at least one wheel (see citation of column 8, line 66 – column 9, line 13 above); and
a controller 102 for selectively activating the drive mode of the motor 226;
a steering device 84 communicatively coupled to the controller 102 for steering the apparatus, the apparatus being operable by the steering device to shunt the trailer around a staging area while the trailer is releasably coupled to the apparatus (“Using the remote control 102, an operator powers up the dolly 2 and extends the actuator 88 positioning the landing gear assembly 82 perpendicular to the drawbar assembly 60, and the wheels 98 in contact with the ground. The motor 100 rotates the wheels 98 and moves the dolly 2 in the direction the wheels 98 are pointing. The dolly 2 is maneuvered underneath the trailer 106 enabling engagement of the hitch component 50 with the bearing plate 112. The dolly 2 air brakes are then engaged.” – column 7, lines 11-20),
wherein the at least one wheel 28, the motor 226, and the energy-storing device 36 are co-operatively configured such that while the trailer 106 is releasably coupled to the apparatus, and while the energy is stored on the energy storing device, the motor is operable in the drive mode such that the trailer translates with the apparatus (see citation of column 7, lines 11-20 above).
Banwart fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart are pivotably connected and wherein the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart.
Orgeron teaches an apparatus for releasably coupling a second trailer to a towing vehicle in a tractor-trailer vehicle configuration, the apparatus comprising: a first frame counterpart 100 and a second frame counterpart 200 that are pivotably connected to define a frame (see Fig. 2); a front pair of wheels 122 rotatably coupled to the first frame counterpart 100; a rear pair of wheels 242 rotatably coupled to the second frame counterpart 200; a steering device 300 for steering the apparatus; and the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart (“Forward portion 260 of rear dolly 200 is pivotally connected to front platform 120 of front dolly 100 by front thrust bearing assembly 130. Rear dolly 200 pushes front dolly 100 forward through the connection at front thrust bearing assembly 130.
“When tractor 40 turns, carried structure 12 (the transported load) rotates with tractor 40. Structure 12 is supported by load cradle 400 which is mounted to turntable 340. Turntable 340 is connected to rear dolly 200 through a rear thrust bearing assembly 230. This allows structure 12, load cradle 400, and turntable 340 to rotate independently of rear dolly 200.
“Rotation of turntable 340 causes opposing directional movement of steering links 360 and 362 to rotate steering frame 320. When tractor 40 turns right, turntable 340 tensions (pulls on) right steering link 362 and compresses (pushes on) left steering link 360. When tractor 40 turns left, turntable 340 tensions (pulls on) left steering link 360 and compresses (pushes on) right steering link 362. The movement of left and right steering links 360 and 362 forces rotation of steering frame 320.” – column 10, lines 46-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Banwart with the teaching of Orgeron such that the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart are pivotably connected and wherein the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for longer and heavier structures to be guided and supported by the dolly.
With regard to claim 46, Banwart discloses an apparatus for towing trailers, the apparatus comprising:
a first frame counterpart 12 and a second frame counterpart 12; wherein:
the first frame counterpart 12 is connected to the second frame counterpart 12 such that a frame is defined;
a trailer connector 60 disposed on the second frame counterpart 12 for releasably coupling to a trailer 105 such that the trailer 105 is translatable with the apparatus;
a plurality of wheels 98, 28 distributed amongst the first and second frame counterparts 12, wherein each one of the wheels 98, 28, independently, is coupled to a one of the first and second frame counterparts 12;
wherein the first frame counterpart 12, the second frame counterpart 12, and the wheels 28 are co-operatively configured such that:
the frame 12 is supported above a reaction surface by the wheels 28 (see Fig. 3); and
the frame is moveable across the reaction surface in response to rolling movement of the wheels 28;
an energy storage device 36;
an actuator (“The steering control module 84 contains an actuator (not shown) for rotating the leg 94 and wheels 98 about a vertical axis for steering the dolly 2, and an actuator (not shown) for extending and retracting the telescopic leg 94.” – column 6, lines 17-21);
a drive system 100 operable in a drive mode;
a controller 102 for selectively activating the drive mode of the drive system;
Banwart fails to explicitly disclose wherein the connection between the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart includes a pivotable connection; and wherein the first frame counterpart, the second frame counterpart, the actuator, the drive system, the energy storage device, and the controller are co-operatively configured such that, the drive mode is activatable by the controller with effect that communication between the energy storage device and the drive system is established such that the drive system stimulates the actuator to urge pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart.
Orgeron teaches an apparatus for releasably coupling a second trailer to a towing vehicle in a tractor-trailer vehicle configuration, the apparatus comprising: a first frame counterpart 100 and a second frame counterpart 200 that are pivotably connected to define a frame (see Fig. 2); a front pair of wheels 122 rotatably coupled to the first frame counterpart 100; a rear pair of wheels 242 rotatably coupled to the second frame counterpart 200; a steering device 300 for steering the apparatus; and the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart (“Forward portion 260 of rear dolly 200 is pivotally connected to front platform 120 of front dolly 100 by front thrust bearing assembly 130. Rear dolly 200 pushes front dolly 100 forward through the connection at front thrust bearing assembly 130.
“When tractor 40 turns, carried structure 12 (the transported load) rotates with tractor 40. Structure 12 is supported by load cradle 400 which is mounted to turntable 340. Turntable 340 is connected to rear dolly 200 through a rear thrust bearing assembly 230. This allows structure 12, load cradle 400, and turntable 340 to rotate independently of rear dolly 200.
“Rotation of turntable 340 causes opposing directional movement of steering links 360 and 362 to rotate steering frame 320. When tractor 40 turns right, turntable 340 tensions (pulls on) right steering link 362 and compresses (pushes on) left steering link 360. When tractor 40 turns left, turntable 340 tensions (pulls on) left steering link 360 and compresses (pushes on) right steering link 362. The movement of left and right steering links 360 and 362 forces rotation of steering frame 320.” – column 10, lines 46-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Banwart with the teaching of Orgeron such that the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart are pivotably connected and wherein the apparatus is steerable by effecting pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart pivots relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for longer and heavier structures to be guided and supported by the dolly.
With regard to claim 47, Banwart discloses wherein the trailer connector 60 is a first trailer connector and the trailer is a first trailer 105, further comprising a trailer connector 50 disposed on the first frame counterpart 12 for releasably coupling to a second trailer 106 such that the second trailer 106 is translatable with the apparatus.
With regard to claim 48, Orgeron teaches wherein the pivoting of one of the first frame counterpart 100 and the second frame counterpart 200 relative to the other of the first frame counterpart and the second frame counterpart is such that steerability of the apparatus is thereby effectible.
With regard to claim 49, Banwart discloses wherein the plurality of wheels includes a first pair of wheels 98, 28 rotatably coupled to the first frame counterpart 12, and a second pair of wheels 28 rotatably coupled to the second frame counterpart 12.
With regard to claim 50, Orgeron teaches wherein the drive system 100 is an actuator- stimulating drive system; and
further comprising an apparatus displacement- stimulating drive system operably coupled to at least one of the wheels with effect that, for each one of the at least one operatively coupled wheels, independently, the operable coupling is with effect that the apparatus displacement-stimulating drive system is operable for driving the operatively-coupled wheel.
With regard to claim 51, Banwart discloses wherein the actuator includes at least one of the wheels 98.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-36, 40-42, and 52 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TIMOTHY WILHELM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614 October 31, 2025