DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 10, 2016.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “collecting and sorting a feed stock containing refractory waste, pretreating of the feed stock from at least of iron/steel recovery, recovery of nonferrous material, washing, decontamination (e.g., sulfur, slags, dross, glass, dusts, coke), sieving, crushing, milling, and thermal treatment”. It is unclear from the language whether the claim requires all of the recited pretreatment steps or if it simply requires one from the list. The examiner has interpreted the claim as requiring only pretreatment from the recruited list.
Claim 2 recites “(2) High Alumina refractory waste, composed of following component: at least 45 wt. % of aluminum oxide (Al2O3), and inevitable impurities due to the waste nature from 0.01 to 5 wt.% of the composition. This family includes ceramics such as sillimanite, mullite, bauxite, corundum;”. It is unclear whether the claim requires sillimanite, mullite, bauxite, or corundum. Additionally, claims must be written in the form of a single sentence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOSZO et al. (WO 2016/011668).
Koszo teaches a method of producing a ceramic product (abstract) comprising collecting and sorting a feed stock containing refractory waste (page 4), pretreating of the feed stock by sieving and milling (page 4). Koszo teaches receiving as a first component material a first recovered refractory material (page 4 “coal ash”); receiving as a second component material a binder (page 4 “standard mix of clay and binder”); combining the first and second component materials with water to form a granulated mixture (page 4 “To these ingredients is added enough water”); forming a green body from the granulated mixture (page 4 “spray-dried”, page 5 “After pressing”); drying the green body (page 5 “aggressive drying”); firing the green body to form the ceramic product at a temperature in a range of 1170°C to 1220°C (page 5 “firing curve”) which falls into the claimed range of 11000C to 14000C for a time period in the range of about 60 to about 80 minutes (page 6) which falls into the claimed range of 0.5 hours to 12 hours; and cooling the ceramic product (page 6).
Regarding claim 3, Koszo teaches the second component material is a binder selected from the group consisting of natural clay and clay-like materials (page 4 “standard mix of clay and binder”).
Regarding claim 5, Koszo teaches the first component material is about 40% by weight of the first and second component materials (page 4 “about 40% by weight ash”) which falls into the claimed range of at least 30%.
Regarding claim 6, Koszo teaches the second component material is about 60% by weight of the first and second component materials (page 4 “about 50% by weight standard clay, and about 10% by weight high plasticity clay”) which falls into the claimed range of at least 20%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSZO et al. (WO 2016/011668) in view of LEE et al. (US 3,342,461).
Koszo teaches a method of producing a ceramic product from refractory waste. Koszo teaches that the refractory waste comprises insulating or fireclay refractory waste such as fly ash (page 1) but is silent to the composition of fly ash.
Lee teaches a method of producing a ceramic product from refractory waste by combining fly ash and clay (abstract). Lee teaches in Table 1 that fly ash contains 65.87 wt. % SiO2, which falls into the claimed range of from 45 wt. % to 70 wt. % of SiO2, and 23.3 wt. % of Al2O3, which falls into the claimed range of from 25 wt. % to 45 wt. % of Al2O3.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the composition suggested by Lee in the method of Koszo because Lee teaches that fly ash with this composition is suitable for use in ceramic products (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the clay-like materials comprises dust (col. 6 lines 42-49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest that the first component material is AZS refractory waste, and wherein the second component material is clay, and wherein the first and second component materials have relative weight of 70% and 30% respectively.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not teach or suggest the first component material is a combination of AZS refractory waste and high alumina refractory waste, and wherein the second component material is a clay-like material, and wherein AZS refractory waste, high alumina refractory waste and clay-like material have relative weights of 30%, 30% and 40% respectively.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not teach ort suggest the first component material is a combination of AZS refractory waste and magnesite refractory waste, and wherein the second component material is a clay-like material, and wherein AZS refractory waste, magnesite refractory waste and clay-like material have relative weights of 35%, 35% and 30% respectively.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741