DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/US2021/050965, filed 09/17/2021, which claims the priority benefit of PRO Application No. 63/109,097, filed 11/03/2020 and PRO Application No. 63/079,720, filed 09/17/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/09/2023, 04/21/2023, and 01/21/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, claims 7-11 and 13 with a species election of Navitoclax as the BCL-XL inhibiting compound for an anti-apoptotic protein inhibiting compound and colorectal cancer is elected as the cancer species in the reply filed 01/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, 15-18, 20, and 22-24 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 15-18, 20, and 22-24 have been withdrawn. Claims 4, 12, 14, 19, 21, and 25-28 have been cancelled by applicant without prejudice or disclaimer. Claims 7-11 and 13 are currently under examination herein insofar as they read on the elected invention and species.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code, https://portals.broadinstitute.org/ccle/data (Specification, pg. 40). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: administering in claim 13 line 2 should be changed to administration or alternatively “a route of the” should be deleted to promote clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the compound name of venetoclax in claim 9, line 2 appears to be misspelled as “ventoclax”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 is dependent on claim 72 which does not exist in the current claim set. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim 13 complies with the statutory requirements.
This rejection may be overcome by amending the dependency of claim 13 to an independent claim under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gavathiotis (WO2018/222473Al).
Gavathiotis teaches Fig. 15A-15B wherein the B-cell lymphoma 2 associated X protein (BAX) activator compound GAV2-006 has significant synergistic cytotoxicity with (A) ABT-263 (navitoclax) and (B) ABT-199 (venetoclax) at non-cytotoxic doses for either compound in OCI-AML3 leukemia cells within 24h treatments [0025] Gavathiotis’s teachings anticipate the instant claims wherein BAX activating compound of GAV2-006 is administered with navitoclax or venetoclax in a treatment for cancer, GAV2-006 is equivalent to applicants structure of BTSA1.2, (MPEP 2131).
Gavathiotis compound GAV2-006 (Left) Applicants compound BTSA1.2 (Right)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavathiotis (WO2018/222473Al).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating a colorectal cancer in a subject comprising administering to the subject a B-cell lymphoma 2 associated X protein (BAX) activating compound of BTSA1.2 in combination with a B-cell lymphoma-extra-large protein (BCL-XL) inhibiting compound of navitoclax.
Gavathiotis et al. teach the B-cell lymphoma 2 associated X protein (BAX) compound of GAV2-006. Fig. 15A-15B wherein the BAX activator compound GAV2-006 has significant synergistic cytotoxicity with (A) ABT-263 (navitoclax) and (B) ABT-199 (venetoclax) at non-cytotoxic doses for either compound in OCI-AML3 leukemia cells within 24h treatments [0025]. Gavathiotis also discloses that the treatable cancer types can be colon cancer or colon carcinoma [0049]. Gavathiotis also teaches routes of administration include, but are not limited to, intravenous, intramuscular, intrathecal or subcutaneous injection, transdermal, oral or rectal administration, and injection into a specific site [0063]. Gavathiotis discloses that BAX activator compounds can have significant synergistic cytotoxicity with ABT-199 (venetoclax) or ABT-263 (navitoclax), as illustrated in Figs. 12-16. [00135]
However, Gavathiotis et al. fail to explicitly disclose applicants elected cancer of colorectal cancer as a condition treated by GAV2-006 and Navitoclax with such sufficient specificity to rise to the level of a 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) rejection.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to administer GAV2-006 and navitoclax in a method of treatment for colorectal cancer in a patient by following the disclosures of Gavathiotis who taught GAV2-006 and navitoclax or venetoclax displayed beneficial synergistic effects when administered in a combination cancer therapy.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer a combination colorectal cancer therapy with the compounds of GAV2-006 and navitoclax with a reasonable expectation of success following Gavathiotis’s disclosure that GAV2-006 and navitoclax displayed synergistic effects when administered together in a cancer therapy. A skilled artisan would have also found it obvious to try the combination cancer therapy on colorectal cancer when Gavathiotis discloses colon cancer and colon carcinoma as conditions treatable with the disclosed treatment method. See MPEP 2144.05(II)
Double Patenting
Claims 7-11 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-9 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. US11382898. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Gavathiotis (US PAT 11382898) anticipates instant claims 7-11 where the compounds of GAV-006 (applicants BTSA1.2) is administered in a combination therapy with ABT-199 (venetoclax) and ABT-263 (navitoclax) in a method of treating a solid tumor including breast cancer. With regard to claim 13, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer the composition via traditional methods of administration.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected, no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623