DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kemp et al. (US. 20130281935A1) (“Kemp”).
Re claim 1, Kemp discloses a therapeutic agent delivery system (Fig. 1-19, abstract, ¶0028), comprising: a housing ( 2) having a distal end portion (lower end portion, note that the art using a directional system opposite to the current application); a therapeutic agent delivery assembly carried by the housing (3), the therapeutic agent delivery assembly( close to the needle 4 comprising: a chamber (inside the syringe 3, ¶0074) comprising a first passageway configured to carry a therapeutic agent (lower passage close to the needle 4, ¶0074); a needle (4, ¶0074) in communication with the first passageway (Fig. 1-19); the therapeutic agent delivery assembly being translatable relative to the housing from a stowed configuration (Fig. 13) to a deployed configuration (Fig. 14-Fig. 18), in the deployed configuration the needle at least partially extending distally from the distal end portion of the housing (Fig. 14), and the therapeutic agent delivery assembly being translatable relative to the housing from the deployed configuration (Fig. 14) to a retracted configuration (Fig. 19), in the retracted configuration the needle being disposed proximally relative to the distal end portion of the housing (¶0098); a drive mechanism carried by the housing, the drive mechanism comprising: a torsion spring (11, ¶0078); a first release device (12, 13, ¶0078) being actuatable to permit the torsion spring to release energy and reconfigure from a higher energy storage configuration (Fig. 12-13) to an intermediate energy storage configuration (¶0078), the drive mechanism thereby translating the therapeutic agent delivery assembly from the stowed configuration (Fig. 13) to the deployed configuration (Fig. 14); and a second release device (20, 17, 19, 18, ¶0080, Fig. 2-3) being actuatable to permit the torsion spring to further release energy and reconfigure from the intermediate energy storage configuration (Fig. 14-18) to a lower energy storage configuration (Fig. 19), the drive mechanism thereby translating the therapeutic agent delivery assembly from the deployed configuration to the retracted configuration (¶0098, Fig. 18-Fig. 19).
Re claim 2, Kemp discloses comprising a user input (10) carried by the housing and configured to be actuated by a user, upon actuation the user input thereby actuating the first release device (¶0085).
Re claim 5, Kemp discloses further comprising the therapeutic agent carried in the first passageway of the chamber (¶0074).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemp in view of Ring (US 20190366011A1).
Re claim 3, Kemp fails to disclose further comprising an electronics assembly carried by the housing and operably coupled to the second release device, the electronics assembly sending a retraction signal to actuate the second release device.
However, Ring discloses a medical device (Fig. 1-7) and wherein an electronics assembly carried by the housing (circuit ¶0032, 16, Fig. 1) and operably coupled to the second release device (223), the electronics assembly sending a retraction signal to actuate the second release device (¶0049, ¶0002, such as shape memory wire).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kemp to include the electronics assembly so that the electronics assembly carried by the housing and operably coupled to the second release device, the electronics assembly sending a retraction signal to actuate the second release device as taught by Ring for the purpose of operating the delivering device and electrically controlling the advancing or retracting the syringe/needle (Ring, ¶0002).
Re claim 4, Kemp fails to disclose wherein the second release device comprises a wire, and the second release device is actuatable by contracting the wire.
However, Ring discloses a medical device (Fig. 1-7) and wherein the second release device comprises a wire, and the second release device is actuatable by contracting the wire (¶0049, ¶0002, such as shape memory wire which can be contracted at a desired temperature).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kemp to include the electronics assembly so that the second release device comprises a wire, and the second release device is actuatable by contracting the wire as taught by Ring for the purpose of using an art recognized elements for controlling the needle’s movement (Ring, ¶0002).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783