DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4,9,10, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Kong (CN 101700497 A) and Chen(US 20080044330 A1).
Regarding claims 1,2,9, and 10, Kong discloses a catalyst with two active layers, layer A (bottom layer) is comprised of platinum and palladium while layer B (top layer) is comprised of platinum, palladium, and rhodium (Kong[0016]). Within these layers the Pd/Pt ratio is 2-2.33(Kong[0016]) . Kong also teaches a process of preparing a metal honeycomb carrier where the carrier is loaded with a transition layer slurry containing alumina (Kong [0025-0026]).
While Kong does not teach a substrate without an intermediate layer, Chen, who teaches a preparation process for a three-way catalyst (TWC), suggests that TWCs can be supported on a metal or ceramic honeycomb structure (Chen [0034]). Chen further teaches that metal carrier may need to be oxidized to improve their corrosion resistance (Chen [0036]). Chen uses a wash coat to coat the carrier, allowing the gas to flow through the carrier and contact the catalytic material (Chen [0034]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the metal honeycomb substrate in Kong with a ceramic substrate taught in Chen in order to skip the oxidation step required for metal carriers, this in turn reduces production time and lowers cost.
Regarding claim 4, Kong discloses the weight ratio of the palladium to platinum which is 2-2.33 (Kong[0016]). Therefore, this disclosure meets the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the weight ratio of the palladium and platinum components to be between 24.
Regarding claim 19, Kong does not disclose the properties of the metal honeycomb carrier used to manufacture the catalyst. However, Kong does mention that the purification process used in testing the catalyst involves exhaust flow passing through the catalysts (Kong[0034]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the honeycomb carrier would be a flow through substrate due to its numerous open pores allowing gas to flow through during the testing process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,5-8, and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In the prior art Kong discloses a catalyst with two active layers, layer A (bottom layer) is comprised of platinum and palladium while layer B (top layer) is comprised of platinum, palladium, and rhodium (Kong[0016]). Within these layers the Pd/Pt ratio is 2-2.33 (Kong[0016]). Chen teaches a preparation process for a three-way catalyst (TWC), suggesting that TWCs will comprise of a metal or honeycomb carrier that is coated using a wash coat as opposed to applying an intermediate/transition layer on the carrier(Chen [0034-0036]).
However, regarding claims 3,5-8, and 11-17, the prior references do not describe the application of the front and rear zones of the layers being a portion of the substrate's length nor do they mention the change in composition between the front and rear of the top and bottom layer. In Kong, while they disclose the weight ratio between palladium and platinum, they do not disclose the weight ratio of rhodium content in relation to other components in the catalyst. Furthermore, while Kong and Chen mention the use of a substrates and active layers comprising of platinum group metals, they do not disclose the use of an oxygen storage components as required in claim 11. It is for these reasons that the claims are considered nonobvious and novel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2026 have been fully considered. The allowability of the limitations added into claim 1 has been reconsidered due to the structural implications of “the bottom layer is applied on the substrate, and the top layer is applied on the bottom layer without any intermediate layers” and clarification on what constitutes a transition/intermediate layer.
Conclusion
/ANNETTE PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736