DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on December 3, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dijkstra (CA 3021202 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dijkstra discloses a system for the production of sulfur dioxide gas comprising: a submerged combustion reactor for the combustion of molten sulfur to sulfur dioxide comprising an inlet for a supply of molten sulfur, an inlet for a supply of oxygen at > 90% purity by volume, an inlet for condenser sulfur, and an outlet, since Dijkstra discloses using a submerged combustion system where the oxygen is sparged into molten sulfur, the majority of the sulphur contained in the process gas is condensed in the sulphur condenser and returned to the combustion system (see page 6, lines 1-8 and figures 2-3); a vapour phase combustion chamber (secondary combustion chamber) for the combustion of sulfur vapour to sulfur dioxide comprising an inlet connected to the outlet of the submerged combustion reactor, an inlet for a supply of oxygen at > 90% purity by volume, and an outlet, since Dijkstra discloses that in the secondary combustion chamber/system the process gas is mixed with additional oxygen and recycled process gas from the absorber tower to convert any remaining sulphur to SO2, and that the O2:SO2 ratio of the process gas (see figures 2-3 and page 6, line 1-32); and an apparatus (superheater) for cooling a gas and for condensing sulfur vapor into liquid sulfur comprising an inlet connected to the outlet of the vapour phase combustion chamber, an outlet for liquid sulfur connected to the condensed sulfur inlet of the submerged combustion reactor, and an outlet for a gas mixture comprising sulfur dioxide and residual sulfur vapour (see figures 2-3 and page 6, line 1-32), since Dijkstra discloses that the process gas is cooled in a superheater (see page 6, lines 10-14) and since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are allowed.
The closest prior art references are Dijkstra (CA 3021202 A1) and Schendel (US 5,204,082).
Regarding claim 2-3, Dijkstra fails to disclose or suggest a system wherein the apparatus for cooling a gas and for condensing sulfur vapour into liquid sulfur comprises: a heat exchanger for cooling a gas comprising the inlet connected to the outlet of the vapour phase combustion chamber, and an outlet; and a sulfur condenser for condensing sulfur vapour into liquid sulfur comprising an inlet connected to the outlet of the heat exchanger, the outlet for liquid sulfur connected to the condensed sulfur inlet of the submerged combustion reactor, and the outlet for a gas mixture comprising sulfur dioxide and residual sulfur vapour; and wherein the sulfur condenser is sized to condense less than 10 times the mass of molten sulfur supplied to the submerged combustion reactor.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 4-8 are allowed.
Regarding claim 4, Dijkstra discloses a sulfur dioxide production system of claim 1 (see figures 2-3 and page 6, line 1-32).
Dijkstra fails to disclose or suggest a sulfuric acid plant comprising: a secondary combustion chamber for the combustion of residual sulfur vapour to sulfur dioxide comprising an inlet connected to the outlet of the sulfur condenser for the gas mixture, an inlet for an oxygen containing gas, and an outlet for process gas consisting essentially of sulfur dioxide and oxygen; a contact apparatus for converting sulfur dioxide to sulfur trioxide comprising an inlet connected to the process gas outlet of the secondary combustion chamber and an outlet for sulfur trioxide; and an absorption system for converting sulfur trioxide to sulfuric acid comprising an inlet connected to the sulfur trioxide outlet of the contact apparatus, and an outlet for sulfuric acid.
Claims 5-8 depend on claim 4.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774