DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Status of Claims
The amendment, filed on 11 December 2025, is acknowledged.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 22 has been cancelled.
New claim 23 has been added.
Claims 18-20 were previously withdrawn from consideration in the non-final Office Action, mailed on 23 September 2025, as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1-17 and 23 are pending and under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the following previously elected species:
the specific first copolymer is BVOH;
the specific polycarboxylic acid-comprising chelator is citric acid; and
the specific second copolymer is BVOH.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 103
The rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 and in favor of the new grounds of rejection below.
Double Patenting Rejections
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 1-17 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 and in favor of the new grounds of rejection below.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0235608 A1, published on 18 August 2016, provided by Applicant in IDS, hereafter referred to as Zhuang) as evidenced by Deen et al. (J. Sci. Food Agric. 2021, 101, 2182.) in view of Silcock et al. (European Patent Application Publication No. EP 1341561 B1, published on 7 February 2007, provided by Applicant in IDS, hereafter referred to as Silcock).
Zhuang teaches disposable water-soluble absorbent articles, made from a homogenous material, that contains multiple layers (para. [0008-0010] and claim 2). The absorbent articles are taught to have applications including use as personal care absorbent articles, such as diapers or feminine hygiene products, or as medical absorbent articles, such as fenestration materials, bandages, and absorbent drapes (para. [0074]). The article is made from a homogenous blend, which is formed by combining a polymer with at least one active ingredient, and optionally one or more optional ingredients, followed by extrusion to form the article in a variety of forms, including as films (para. [0055] and [0060]). The instant specification defines “water-sensitive” to mean water-soluble, water-dispersible, and/or water-degradable (pg. 2, line 15), therefore the water-soluble absorbent articles/films taught by Zhuang are considered equivalent to the water-sensitive layers recited in the instant application.
The polymer in the composition is taught to be “polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH), polyethylene oxide (PEO), polyethylene glycol (PEG)…or a combination of one or more of these polymers” (para. [0044]). In a preferred embodiment, one of the polymers used to make the article is Nichigo G-Polymer™, a copolymer that comprises divalent hydroxyethylene monomer units and divalent dihydroxybutylene monomer units, and is considered identical to the elected polymer species BVOH (para. [0045]). The active ingredient is taught to be an antimicrobial agent, which in one embodiment is an alpha-hydroxyl acid, and an antibacterial agent that is taught to be well known in the art is citric acid (para. [0004] and [0047]). In addition, Zhuang teaches that a preservative may be included to “inhibit the growth of microorganisms over an extended period of time” and that one such preservative is propylene glycol (para. [0052]).
The active ingredient is taught to be in the core, outer skin, and/or base layer(s) and to be present in a total amount of 0.1-50% weight with respect to the total weight of the article (para. [0048] and [0065-0066]). The core layer is taught to be 2-90% of the thickness of the layered film and each skin layer is taught to be up to 35% of the thickness of the layered film, resulting in the active ingredient being present in a range of ~0.2-45% w/w of the “antimicrobial layer” (para. [0066]). This is exemplified by Tables 1-5, which contain experimental data for active ingredients present in films in amounts of 0-50% w/w. Zhaung also teaches their invention to contain a polymer that may be used alongside the active agents to control odors (para. [0147]). One suitable material is taught to be polyoxyethylene glyceryl monococoate (CTL, para. [0151]), otherwise known as PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, which is a polyglycerol partially esterified with C12-18 alkylcarboxylic acids having at least two free hydroxyl groups, as evidenced by Deen et al. and by the examples provided in para. [0051] of the instant specification. CTL is taught to be present in amounts that may be above 10% w/w, up to 30% (para. [0148] and Tables 2-3).
The article may be multi-layered, and in one embodiment possesses
“an absorbent member 32 sandwiched between a water-impermeable backsheet 34 and a water-permeable liner 36, wherein liner 36 has a body-facing surface 38 and an opposite outward-facing surface 40. A surge member 31 is located between the liner 36 and absorbent member 32. A film 41 of the present disclosure is attached to either the outward-facing surface 33 of the surge member 31 or desirably, an inner-facing surface 35 of the surge member 31. Desirably, film 41 is in direct contact with surge member 31. Should a multi-layer film be used for film 41, the layer containing the largest amount of active agent is adjacent surge member 31 so that the active agent can more easily leach through the liner to contact the wearer's body.” (para. [0076] and Fig. 12)
The layers in Fig. 12 are uninterrupted across the surface and may be made of non-woven web material (para. [0037] and [0078] and claim 10). The layers may be laminated to each other, which Zhuang teaches to mean “adhesively or non-adhesively bonded to a web such as nonwoven or tissue material” (para. [0035] and [0078]). The lamination of layers to each other is interpreted to be equivalent to the adhesive barrier film recited in instant claim 8 as being adhered to the porous core layer. Finally, Zhuang teaches the core layers to be absorbent (para. [0194-0199] and claims 16-18), which is interpreted to be equivalent to being “porous” as recited in instant claims 5-9.
Zhuang does not teach the core layer of the article to comprise foam. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Silcock.
Silcock teaches layered wound dressings that can maintain a specific pH to assist wound healing and release active therapeutic agents (para. [0008-0010]). The wound dressing comprises an absorbent hydrogel layer and a barrier layer, the former containing a buffer system that is intended to both react with wound exudate and maintain a stable pH in the wound environment (para. [0011-0013] and [0035] and claim 1). In a preferred embodiment, the hydrogel layer and barrier layer are separated by an absorbent layer (para. [0015]). The absorbent layer is taught to increase the absorbent capacity of the wound dressing and/or contain antimicrobial agents and is preferably composed of an absorbent foam, such as hydrophilic polyurethane foam (para. [0015-0016]). The buffer system is taught to be water-soluble and to maintain a mildly acidic (pH 3.5-5.5) environment at the wound surface (para. [0038]). In one embodiment, the buffer system comprises a weak water-soluble acid that is citric acid (para. [0039]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to modify the invention of Zhuang to contain an absorbent foam core layer in view of the teachings of Silcock because combining prior art elements from similar inventions to impart a known benefit yields predictable results. Zhuang teaches a multi-layered article, made of the copolymer BVOH, that may comprise citric acid and be used to treat wounds in a medical setting. The core layer of the article taught by Zhuang is absorbent, but is not taught to be a foam. In view of the teachings of Silcock, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to modify the core layer of the invention of Zhuang to comprise foam because Silcock teaches the foam to be suitable for wound dressings, capable of increasing the absorbent capacity of the wound dressing, and to be capable of containing and releasing further antimicrobial agents, which Zhuang teaches to be important for treatment in their article. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-17 in view of the teachings of Zhuang and Silcock.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11 December 2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In para. 1-2 of pg. 9, Applicant argues that the Zhuang reference does not teach the use of a particular species of plasticizer in their invention. This is not found to be persuasive because Zhuang does teach several of the species recited in the Markush group of instant claim 1, including PEO and PEG (para. [0044]), propylene glycol (para. [0052]), and a polyglycerol partially esterified with C12-18 alkylcarboxylic acids having at least two free hydroxyl groups (para. [0151]).
In para. 3-5 of pg. 9, Applicant argues that Zhuang teaches the inclusion of a plasticizer only when in combination with volatile active agents and, because citric acid is not volatile, would not motivate the inclusion of a plasticizer species selected from the Markush group recited in amended claim 1. However, Zhuang teaches the inclusion of several species recited in instant claim 1, referring to them as polymers (para. [0044]), preservatives (para. [0052]), or odor control systems (para. [0147-0151]). Zhuang does not reference volatility in these paragraphs and the argument is therefore found to be unpersuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10-11, and 13 of copending Application No. 17/637,784 in view of Zhuang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0235608 A1, published on 18 August 2016, provided by Applicant in IDS) as evidenced by Deen et al. (J. Sci. Food Agric. 2021, 101, 2182.) and Silcock (European Patent Application Publication No. EP 1341561 B1, published on 7 February 2007, provided by Applicant in IDS).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Copending Application No. 17/637,784 recites a wound dressing material comprising a base fiber web, on one side of which are first water-sensitive fibers made of a “copolymer comprising divalent hydroxyethylene monomer units and divalent dihydroxybutylene monomer units” separated from the base fiber web by a first antimicrobial layer (claim 1). The copolymer is further recited to comprise divalent acetoxyethylene monomer units and the divalent dihydroxybutylene monomer units of the copolymer are recited to comprise divalent 3,4-dihydroxybutan-1,2-diyl monomer units (claims 10-11). The other side of the base fiber web is recited to have adhered to it a flexible adhesive barrier film (claim 2). A second layer of water-sensitive fibers, made of the same copolymer, is on the same side as the adhesive barrier film, separated by a second antimicrobial layer (claim 3). The first fibers are recited as being multilayered, comprising a first and second layer of the copolymer separated by a polyurethane layer (claim 4). Finally, the first water-sensitive fibers are recited to be melt-blown or spunbonded, which is interpreted as being non-woven (claim 13).
Copending Application No. 17/637,784 does not recite the wound dressing material to comprise antimicrobial layers, the antimicrobial layers to comprise a polycarboxylic acid that is citric acid, the quantity of citric acid, the copolymer used in the second water-sensitive layer, the specific copolymer BVOH, the core polyurethane layer to comprise a foam, nor the water-sensitive fiber layers to be perforated or uninterrupted. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Zhang as evidenced by Deen and Silcock.
Zhuang, Deen, and Silcock have been described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to modify the invention recited by copending Application No. 17/637,784 in view of the teachings of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen, and Silcock to arrive at the invention of instant claims 1-17 and 23 because the combination of prior art elements in similar inventions to achieve known benefits yields expected results. Application ‘784 recites a wound dressing with multiple layers, including a core polyurethane layer and non-woven water-sensitive fiber layers that are made of copolymers whose genus encompasses BVOH. An ordinary artisan would be motivated to use BVOH as the copolymer in both water-sensitive layers and to include antimicrobial layers containing citric acid, in the amounts taught by Zhuang, in view of the teachings of Zhuang because Zhuang teaches BVOH to fall within the copolymer genus recited in ‘784 and to be appropriate for medical articles, as well as antimicrobial layers to help treat users in bandages. One of ordinary skill would further be motivated to formulate the layers as perforated and/or uninterrupted in view of the teachings of Zhuang because Application ‘784 does not recite details regarding the surfaces of the layers and the teachings of Zhuang provide a more complete description of a wound dressing. Finally, Application ‘784 recites a core layer made of polyurethane, but does not recite it to comprise a foam. In view of the teachings of Silcock, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to modify the core layer of the invention to comprise foam because Silcock teaches the foam to be made of polyurethane, suitable for wound dressings, capable of increasing the absorbent capacity of the wound dressing, and to be capable of containing and releasing further antimicrobial agents, which Zhuang teaches to be important for treatment in their article. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-17 and 23 in view of the invention recited in copending Application No. 17/637,784 and in view of the teachings of Zhuang and Silcock.
Claims 1-17 and 23 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-4, 10-11, and 13 of commonly assigned copending Application No. 17/637,784 in view of Zhuang as evidenced by Deen and Silcock. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned copending Application No. 17/637,784, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1-17 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 7-10 of copending Application No. 17/925,558 in view of Zhuang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0235608 A1, published on 18 August 2016, provided by Applicant in IDS) as evidenced by Deen et al. (J. Sci. Food Agric. 2021, 101, 2182.).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Copending Application No. 17/925,558 recites a wound dressing material comprising a porous polyurethane foam core sandwiched between two layers of water-sensitive fibers (claims 1 and 7). The first and second water-sensitive fibers comprise a “copolymer comprising divalent hydroxyethylene monomer units and divalent dihydroxybutylene monomer units” (claims 1 and 3). Between the core layer and the layers of water-sensitive fibers are first and second antimicrobial layers (claims 1 and 3). Application ‘558 recites a flexible adhesive barrier film to exist between the second antimicrobial layer and the core layer (claim 2). The copolymer in the first layer of water-sensitive fibers is further recited to comprise divalent acetoxyethylene monomer units and the divalent dihydroxybutylene monomer units to comprise divalent 3,4-dihydroxybutan-1,2-diyl monomer units (claims 8-9). Finally, ‘558 recites the material of the first side to be melt-blown or spunbonded, which is interpreted as being equivalent to a non-woven material (claim 10).
Copending Application No. 17/925,558 does not recite the antimicrobial layer of the wound dressing material to comprise citric acid, the quantity of citric acid, the water-sensitive layers to be perforated or uninterrupted, nor the copolymer used in the second water-sensitive layer. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen.
Zhuang and Deen have been described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to modify the invention recited by copending Application No. 17/925,558 in view of the teachings of Zhuang as evidenced by Deen to arrive at the invention of instant claims 1-17 and 23 because the combination of prior art elements in similar inventions to achieve known benefits yields expected results. Application ‘558 recites a wound dressing with multiple layers, including a core polyurethane foam layer and non-woven water-sensitive fiber layers that are made of copolymers whose genus encompasses BVOH. The wound dressing further comprises antimicrobial layers and a flexible adhesive barrier film, and is made from non-woven materials. An ordinary artisan would be motivated to use BVOH as the copolymer in both water-sensitive layers and to include citric acid, in the amounts taught by Zhuang, in the antimicrobial layers in view of the teachings of Zhuang because Zhuang teaches BVOH to fall within the copolymer genus recited in ‘558 and to be appropriate for medical articles, as well as citric acid in antimicrobial layers to help treat users in medical articles. One of ordinary skill would further be motivated to formulate the layers as perforated and/or uninterrupted in view of the teachings of Zhuang because Application ‘784 does not recite details regarding the surfaces of the layers and the teachings of Zhuang provide a more complete description of a wound dressing. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-17 in view of the invention recited in copending Application No. 17/925,558 and in view of the teachings of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen.
Claims 1-17 and 23 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-3 and 7-10 of commonly assigned copending Application No. 17/925,558 in view of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned copending Application No. 17/925,558, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1-17 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 7, 11-14, and 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/275,271 in view of Zhuang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0235608 A1, published on 18 August 2016, provided by Applicant in IDS) as evidenced by Deen et al. (J. Sci. Food Agric. 2021, 101, 2182.) and Silcock (European Patent Application Publication No. EP 1341561 B1, published on 7 February 2007, provided by Applicant in IDS).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Copending Application No. 18/275,271 recites a wound dressing material comprising a central polyurethane layer sandwiched between top and bottom layers, which comprise water-sensitive fibers (claims 1, 3, and 16). The water-sensitive fibers are recited to comprise copolymers comprising divalent hydroxyethylene monomer units and divalent dihydroxybutylene monomer units (claims 1 and 4). Application ‘271 further recites a first and second antimicrobial layer, sandwiched between the central layer and the first and second water-sensitive layers, respectively (claims 1, 3-4, and 16). The wound dressing material is recited to have “regularly spaced openings extending therethrough”, which is interpreted to be equivalent to perforations (claims 7 and 17). The above copolymers are further recited to comprise divalent acetoxyethylene monomer units and the divalent dihydroxybutylene monomer units to comprise divalent 3,4-dihydroxybutan-1,2-diyl monomer units (claims 11-12). Finally, the first water-sensitive layer and core layer webs are recited by ‘271 to be melt-blown or spunbonded, which is interpreted as being equivalent to a non-woven material (claims 13-14).
Copending Application No. 18/275,271 does not recite the antimicrobial layer of the wound dressing material to comprise citric acid, the quantity of citric acid, the water-sensitive layers to be uninterrupted, the core layer to comprise a foam, nor a flexible adhesive barrier film adhered to the core layer. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen, and Silcock.
Zhuang, Deen, and Silcock have been described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to modify the invention recited by copending Application No. 18/275,271 in view of the teachings of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen, and Silcock to arrive at the invention of instant claims 1-17 and 23 because the combination of prior art elements in similar inventions to achieve known benefits yields expected results. Application ‘271 recites a wound dressing with multiple layers, including a core polyurethane layer and non-woven water-sensitive fiber layers that are made of copolymers whose genus encompasses BVOH. Further, ‘271 recites the wound dressing to comprise antimicrobial layers, to be perforated, and to be made from non-woven material. An ordinary artisan would be motivated to use BVOH as the copolymer in both water-sensitive layers and to include citric acid in the antimicrobial layers, in the amounts taught by Zhuang, in view of the teachings of Zhuang because Zhuang teaches BVOH to fall within the copolymer genus recited in ‘271 and to be appropriate for medical articles, as well as citric acid in antimicrobial layers to help treat bandage users. One of ordinary skill would further be motivated to formulate the layers as uninterrupted and the wound dressing to comprise adhesive layers in view of the teachings of Zhuang because Application ‘271 does not recite details regarding the surfaces or adhesion of the layers and the teachings of Zhuang provide a more complete description of a wound dressing. Finally, Application ‘271 recites a core layer made of polyurethane, but does not recite it to comprise a foam. In view of the teachings of Silcock, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to modify the core layer of the invention to comprise foam because Silcock teaches the foam to be made of polyurethane, suitable for wound dressings, capable of increasing the absorbent capacity of the wound dressing, and to be capable of containing and releasing further antimicrobial agents, which Zhuang also teaches to be important for treatment in their article. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-17 and 23 in view of the invention recited in copending Application No. 18/275,271 and in view of the teachings of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen, and Silcock.
Claims 1-17 and 23 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1, 3-4, 7, 11-14, and 16-17 of commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/275,271 in view of Zhuang, as evidenced by Deen, and Silcock. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/275,271, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Response to Remarks
In para. 4 of pg. 7 of the remarks filed on 11 December 2025, Applicant requested “that the rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter has been indicated in this application”. A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by the Applicant showing that the claims subject to the restriction are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/DAVID J BLANCHARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1619