DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 20-41 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on December 23, 2025, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Specification
3. The correction to the title has been approved, and the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. The correction to claim 41 has been approved, and the rejection to claim 41 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. The correction to claims 22 and 33 have been approved, and the rejections to claims 22 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 20, 22, 24, 26-29, 31, 33, 35, 37-39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0367483) in view of Chen (Pub. No. US 2006/0288077), herein after, Chen ‘077.
7-1. Regarding claims 20 and 31, Rodriguez teaches the claim comprising displaying a chat interface of an instant messaging application, by disclosing displaying a first chat interface on a first user device [paragraph 85].
Rodriguez teaches detecting a preset operation in the chat interface;… displaying a list in the chat interface, by disclosing receiving an input by the first device and displaying a menu or other set of options listing available embedded applications [paragraph 89, lines 1-10].
Rodriguez does not expressly teach requesting, from a server, first device information of a device associated with a first account; receiving the first device information from the server; selecting one or more online devices based on the first device information to obtain one or more selected devices;… wherein the list comprises second device information of the one or more selected devices. Chen ‘077 discloses sending a contact list request from a client to a server, and receiving a contact list response from the server [paragraph 29]. Additionally, detailed information of each contact buddy name is received from the server, and the slave list is updated and displayed [paragraph 32]. The updating and displaying may be repeated according to direction of the user [paragraph 36]. This would provide an efficient process for displaying a contact list with updated presence information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive information regarding items in the list of Rodriguez from a server in response to a request, such that selected ones of the items in the list are updated and displayed with current presence information, as taught by Chen ‘077. This would provide an efficient process for displaying a contact list with updated presence information.
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach where the one or more selected devices comprise a second electronic device, by disclosing that one or more parts or components of an embedded application is executed by one or more other devices in communication with the first device, e.g., one or more server systems [Rodriguez, paragraph 91, lines 25-28]. Further, embedded applications include bots [Rodriguez, paragraphs 40, lines 10-15; paragraph 407, lines 11-13] and such bots may represent or be associated with devices such as cameras, appliances, and imaging devices [Rodriguez, paragraph 84, lines 9-15]. Thus, the list of embedded applications represents a list of devices.
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach detecting, in the chat interface, a first instruction that is for the second electronic device; and sending to the second electronic device, the first instruction, by disclosing that the first embedded application operates to receive input, update states, and provide output [Rodriguez, paragraph 103].
7-2. Regarding claims 22 and 33, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 20 and 31 respectively, wherein the chat interface comprises a one-to-one chat interface of two members or a group chat interface of three or more members, by disclosing that the chat conversation may be with one or more other users [Rodriguez, paragraph 86].
7-3. Regarding claims 24 and 35, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 22 and 33 respectively, further comprising: displaying a first chat interface of the instant messaging application, wherein the first chat interface is the group chat interface, by disclosing that the chat conversation may be with one or more other users [Rodriguez, paragraph 86].
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach further detecting, in the first chat interface, the preset operation; displaying, in response to detecting the preset operation in the first chat interface, a second chat interface of the instant messaging application, wherein the second chat interface comprises the list, by disclosing receiving an input by the first device to display the menu or other set of options listing available embedded applications [Rodriguez, paragraph 89].
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach detecting a first operation that selects the second electronic device from the list, by disclosing that after displaying the menu or other set of options listing available embedded applications by the first device, user input can select a first embedded application from the options [Rodriguez, paragraph 89, lines 6-10].
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach switching, in response to the first operation, from the second chat interface to the first chat interface, by disclosing that after selecting the first embedded application from the options, the first embedded application is run in association with that chat conversation [Rodriguez, paragraph 89, lines 10-18].
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach further obtaining, from the user in the first chat interface, the first instruction, by disclosing that the first embedded application operates to receive input, update states, and provide output [Rodriguez, paragraph 103].
7-4. Regarding claims 26 and 37, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 20 and 31 respectively, further comprising: receiving an execution result of executing the first instruction by the second electronic device; and displaying the execution result in the chat interface, by disclosing that output displayed by the embedded application is based on received input [Rodriguez, paragraphs 108, 111]. The embedded application is executed by a device in communication with the first device [Rodriguez, paragraph 91, lines 25-28; paragraph 363, lines 5-9].
7-5. Regarding claims 27 and 38, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 20 and 31 respectively, wherein the one or more selected devices comprise a first device that has an intelligence capability supported by the first account, and wherein the first account is a logged-in account on the instant messaging application, by disclosing that embedded applications include bots [Rodriguez, paragraphs 40, lines 10-15; paragraph 407, lines 11-13] that are added by a user of a messaging application [Rodriguez, paragraph 89].
7-6. Regarding claims 28 and 39, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 27 and 38 respectively, wherein the one or more selected devices further comprise a second device that has the intelligence capability and that is authorized, by a second account, to use the first account, by disclosing that bots may interact with two or more users, as well as other bots [Rodriguez, paragraph 413], and may be implemented on another user’s client device [paragraph 424]. Bots are permitted to communicate with users upon specific user authorization [Rodriguez, paragraph 428].
7-7. Regarding claim 29, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claim 28, wherein the second account comprises a third account of a chat object of a second user corresponding to the first account in the chat interface, by disclosing that bots may interact with two or more users, as well as other bots [Rodriguez, paragraph 413], and may be implemented on another user’s client device [Rodriguez, paragraph 424]. Bots are permitted to communicate with users upon specific user authorization [Rodriguez, paragraph 428].
7-8. Regarding claim 41, Rodriguez teaches the claim comprising: a server; a second electronic device configured to execute an instruction; and a first electronic device is coupled to the second electronic device and comprising: one or more memories configured to store computer readable instructions, by disclosing one or more devices in communication with a first device, e.g., one or more server systems, that execute one or more parts or components of an embedded application [paragraph 91, lines 25-28]. Further, embedded applications include bots [paragraphs 40, lines 10-15; paragraph 407, lines 11-13] and such bots may represent or be associated with devices such as cameras, appliances, and imaging devices [paragraph 84, lines 9-15]. Thus, an embedded application is representative of a device.
Rodriguez teaches one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the first electronic device to: detect a preset operation in a chat interface of an instant messaging application;… display a list in the chat interface, by disclosing receiving an input by the first device and displaying a menu or other set of options listing available embedded applications [paragraph 89, lines 1-10].
Rodriguez does not expressly teach request, from the server, first device information of a device associated with a first account, wherein the first account is a logged-in account on the instant messaging application; receive the first device information from the server; select one or more online devices based on the first device information to obtain one or more selected devices, wherein the one or more selected devices are associated with the first account;… wherein the list comprises second device information of the one or more selected devices. Chen ‘077 discloses, for a user logged-in to a server, updating a locally stored contact list using a selected part of a master contact list associated with the logged-in user, by sending a contact list request from a client to the server, and receiving a contact list response from the server [paragraphs 26, 29]. Additionally, detailed information of each contact buddy name is received from the server, and the slave list is updated and displayed [paragraph 32]. The updating and displaying may be repeated according to direction of the user [paragraph 36]. This would provide an efficient process for displaying a contact list with updated presence information. Since Rodriguez discloses that bots may be implemented on another user’s client device [Rodriguez, paragraph 424] such that bots are permitted to communicate with users upon specific user authorization [Rodriguez, paragraph 428] in association with the chat interface of a user [Rodriguez, paragraph 93], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive information regarding items in the list of Rodriguez from a server in response to a request, such that selected ones of the items in the list are updated and displayed with current presence information, as taught by Chen ‘077. This would provide an efficient process for displaying a contact list with updated presence information.
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach detect an operation that selects the second electronic device from the list and enters the instruction for the second electronic device, by disclosing that after displaying the menu or other set of options listing available embedded applications by the first device, user input can select a first embedded application from the options [Rodriguez, paragraph 89, lines 6-10].
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach send, in response to detecting the operation, the first instruction to the second electronic device, by disclosing that the first embedded application operates to receive input, update states, and provide output [Rodriguez, paragraph 103].
8. Claims 21 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0367483), in view of Chen (Pub. No. US 2006/0288077), and further in view of Miller et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,870,403).
8-1. Regarding claims 21 and 32, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 20 and 31 respectively, wherein before obtaining the first instruction, the method further comprises: detecting, in the chat interface, a first operation comprising selection of the second electronic device from the list, by disclosing that after displaying the menu or other set of options listing available embedded applications by the first device, user input can select a first embedded application from the options [Rodriguez, paragraph 89, lines 6-10].
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 do not expressly teach sending, to the second electronic device and in response to detecting the first operation, a second instruction to wake up the second electronic device to request to interact with the second electronic device using the first electronic device. Miller discloses providing a centralized wake service that allows computing devices to be awakened when they are in a reduced power mode by network applications [column 2, lines 30-32]. When one of the network services wishes to communicate with a computing device even when it is in a reduced power mode, the particular network service can contact the wake service for assistance [column 2, lines 54-58]. This would allow devices to conserve power when not in use, while allowing communication with the devices when needed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, for the devices of Rodriguez-Chen ‘077, a centralized wake service that allows computing devices to be awakened when they are in a reduced power mode, as taught by Miller. This would allow devices to conserve power when not in use, while allowing communication with the devices when needed.
9. Claims 23 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0367483), in view of Chen (Pub. No. US 2006/0288077), and further in view of Chen et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,212,107), herein after, Chen ‘107.
9-1. Regarding claims 23 and 34, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 20 and 31 respectively. Rodriguez=Chen ‘077 do not expressly teach wherein the list further comprises member information. Chen ‘107 discloses providing a chat interface for a social network platform on an electronic device [column 18, lines 1-11] along with a listing of social network contacts including at least a first contact that is a human user, and at least a second contact that is a machine [column 17, lines 50-54; column 18, lines 12-18; figure 5E]. A machine may be selected for inclusion in a chat session where a chat message transmitted during the chat session causes the machine to perform a requested function of the machine [column 17, lines 15-30, 42-49; column 19, lines 60-66]. This would allow the user to more easily initiate conversations with both users and devices. Since Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 disclose initiating chat sessions with both users and embedded applications [Rodriguez, paragraphs 86, 362, 413], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display, in the list of Rodriguez-Chen ‘077, both devices and users, as taught by Chen ‘107. This would allow the user to more easily initiate conversations with both users and devices.
10. Claims 25, 30, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0367483), in view of Chen (Pub. No. US 2006/0288077), and further in view of Park et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,637,804).
10-1. Regarding claims 25 and 36, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 20 and 31 respectively, further comprising:… sending a third instruction to the second electronic device, wherein the third instruction instructs to end interaction with a second device, or ending interaction with the second device when no instruction is received within a preset duration, by disclosing that the embedded application can be terminated if the chat conversation is ended, e.g., if the user closes the messaging application or, in some implementations, switches to a different chat conversation [Rodriguez, paragraph 83, lines 16-20].
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach receiving, from the second electronic device, reminder information comprising a prompt…; displaying, in the chat interface, the prompt, by disclosing that suggested response items can be generated by the embedded application and displayed in the chat interface or embedded interface [Rodriguez, paragraph 32]. For example, a suggestion “@assistant lunch, Italian, table for 2” may be provided in the chat interface, which includes a bot (identified by the symbol @ and bot handle assistant) [Rodriguez, paragraph 249, lines 11-20]. A specific bot or a bot performing a specific task is invoked by typing a bot name or bot handle (e.g., taxi, @taxibot, @movies, etc.) [Rodriguez, paragraph 418]. Thus, the suggestion provides reminder information that a bot is available and how to execute such a bot that would be relevant given the context of the conversation.
Rodriguez-Chen ‘077, however, do not teach that the prompt repeats the preset operation, because it is not clear that the prompt comprising symbol “@” is used to display the list of device information of one or more devices for selection, as discussed in [Rodriguez, paragraph 89, lines 6-10]. Park discloses a user terminal apparatus configured to provide a messenger service for supporting real-time text communication of two or more users using a network, such as the Internet [column 5, lines 11-35]. The user terminal apparatus is configured to communicate with an app management server to provide an app execution image during provision of the messenger service [column 5, lines 46-53]. A controller of the user terminal apparatus receives and displays an app list from the app management server according to a preset event [column 8, lines 3-8]. The preset event includes a user command for inputting identifier information (e.g., a URL address of the app management server 200) including a specific identifier code (e.g., a special character such as ‘@’ and ‘/’) to a chat window [column 8, lines 10-17]. This would provide a quicker way to access a list of applications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow access of the list of embedded applications of Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 by using the ‘@’ symbol, as taught by Park. This would provide a quicker way to access the list. Thus, since use of the “@” symbol accesses the list, the suggestions provided in Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 would comprise a prompt that repeats the preset operation used to display the list.
10-2. Regarding claims 30 and 40, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 teach all the limitations of claims 20 and 31 respectively. Although Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 disclose use of the ‘@’ symbol to invoke a specific bot [Rodriguez, paragraph 418], Rodriguez=Chen ‘077 do not teach using the ‘@’ symbol to display the list of embedded applications. That is, Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 do not expressly teach wherein the preset operation comprises entry of an"@" symbol. Park discloses a user terminal apparatus configured to provide a messenger service for supporting real-time text communication of two or more users using a network, such as the Internet [column 5, lines 11-35]. The user terminal apparatus is configured to communicate with an app management server to provide an app execution image during provision of the messenger service [column 5, lines 46-53]. A controller of the user terminal apparatus receives and displays an app list from the app management server according to a preset event [column 8, lines 3-8]. The preset event includes a user command for inputting identifier information (e.g., a URL address of the app management server 200) including a specific identifier code (e.g., a special character such as ‘@’ and ‘/’) to a chat window [column 8, lines 10-17]. This would provide a quicker way to access a list of applications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow access of the list of embedded applications of Rodriguez-Chen ‘077 by using the ‘@’ symbol, as taught by Park. This would provide a quicker way to access the list.
Response to Arguments
11. The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 20-22, 25, 27-28, and 31-41.
Regarding independent claim 20, Applicant alleges that Rodriguez et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0367483) does not disclose or suggest requesting, from a server, device information of a device associated with a first account, receiving the device information from the server, and selecting one or more online devices based on the device information, as has been amended to the claim.
Examiner has rejected claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0367483) in view of Chen (Pub. No. US 2006/0288077). Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Similar arguments have been presented for independent claims 31 and 41 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that dependent claims 21-30 and 32-40 recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding independent claims 1 and 31. However, as discussed above, Rodriguez in view of Chen ‘077 are considered to teach claims 1 and 31, and consequently, claims 21-30 and 32-40 are rejected.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118