DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 07/31/26 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claims 15, 27 and 29 have been amended, while all other claims are maintained as previously presented in the application. In view of amendment, the rejections under 35 U.S.C §102 is retained and maintained (details below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 (see ‘Remark’; pages 6-7) and in view of amendment, the applicant submits a new limitation to claim 15, 17 and 29: “connecting element simultaneously provides: “(a) a pivotable connection for connects at least a part of the rear triangle about a joint axis to the main frame so as to be pivotable about a joint axis, and (b) a mounting interface configured to fasten the at least one connecting element is configured for mounting a drive unit to the main frame along the joint axis, such that the connecting element forms an integral pivot and mounting point.” In view of amendment, the newly added limitations have been fully considered but are not found persuasive for this reason:
As depicted in figs. 1 and 4 of Mano, Mano expressly discloses a chain-mesh point between the bicycle chain and a chainring of the two-wheeled vehicle. The connecting element (125 and 33) identifies the connection point, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the pivotal connection defines an axis about which pivotal motion occurs. Both Mano and Win further disclose that the drive unit, suspension, and main frame are swingable about a common joint axis.
In view of further consideration, it has been noted that Mano discloses the very structural features recited in the claim. As shown in Mano’s figs. 1 and 4, the pivotable connection is explicitly described as a configuration in which at least a portion of the triangular swing element is swingably connected to the main frame 10 about a joint axis. Mano further illustrates in fig. 4 a mounting interface that fastens connecting element 125 about the same joint axis and enables mounting of the drive unit. Under MPEP §2131, a reference anticipates when it discloses each and every element of the claim, either expressly or inherently. Mano’s express depiction of the pivotable joint axis and the mounting interface that secures the connecting element, such as 125 necessarily meets the claimed limitation.
Consistent with In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473 (Fed Cir. 1997), anticipation does not require that the reference describe the claimed invention in the same words or for the same purpose; it is sufficient that the structural arrangement is disclosed. Mano’s disclosure of the swingable triangular element, joint axis, and the fastening interface inherently provides the same structural configuration required by the claims.
Therefore, Mano and Winora, when considered individually, still anticipates the claimed invention and in view of the amendment, claims 15, 27 and 29 are rejected (detail below). Accordingly, claims 15-29 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 15-25 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mano Yasunori (US 20170314593; hereinafter “Mano”).
Regarding claim 15, Mano teaches: A frame assembly (12, fig. 1-8B) of a two-wheeled vehicle (bicycle 10), the two-wheeled vehicle (10) being operable with muscle power (pedal drive, [0003]) and/or motor power (electric motor-assisted bicycle, [page1, Title’]), the frame assembly (12) comprising:
a main frame (12);
a sprung rear triangle (triangle formed by rear elements 30, 301 and 124, fig. 1); and
at least one connecting element (125, fig. 1) arranged on the main frame (10), wherein the connecting element (125) simultaneously provides:
a pivotable connection for (a pivotable connection at 125 to main frame 10 via 123 of the mainframe; [0044]) at least a part of the rear triangle (via 303 and 30, fig. 1) about a joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano below; [ para 0113 discloses: “the chain stays 301 which are swingably or pivotably attached to the bracket 125” and para. 0044 discloses that pivot relative to the bracket 125 about an axis]), and
a mounting interface (support 33, fig. 4) configured to fasten a drive unit (20, fig. 1) to the main frame (10) [para. 0041 discloses: “bracket 125 is located at a bottom of the vehicle-body frame 12. The bracket 125 supports the drive unit 20”] along the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano below; see figs. 1 and 4 at CL1), such that the connecting element forms an integral pivot and mounting point (CL1, fig. 4),
wherein the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano below; note that: joint axis AA' representation is perpendicular to the plane of the paper) is arranged at or near a chain mesh point between a bicycle chain (36) and a chainring of the two-wheeled vehicle (see annotated fig.1 of Mano below).
Annotated fig. 1 of Mano
Regarding claim 16, Mano further teaches that the frame assembly (10) wherein the rear triangle (rear triangle at fig. 1) includes a suspension element (304, [0042]), the at least one connecting element (125) pivotably interconnecting the main frame (10 via 124) and the suspension element (40) [para. 0053 discloses: “a bottom end of the suspension 304 is attached to the bracket (connecting element 125). The suspension 304 swings or pivots relative to the bracket 125”; thus, the at least one connecting element pivotably interconnecting the main frame and the suspension element.]
Regarding claim 17, Mano further teaches that the frame assembly (10) as recited in claim 15, wherein the rear triangle includes a rear triangle frame ([fig. 1 shows seat tube 124, swing arm 30 and chain stay 301 collectively constitute ‘a rear triangle frame’], the at least one connecting element (125) pivotably interconnecting (via connecting arm 303, [0048]) the main frame (10) and the rear triangle frame (triangle formed at fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Mano further teaches that frame assembly (10) as recited in claim 15, further comprising:
a drive unit (20, [0041]) mounted on the main frame (10, fig. 1) using the at least one connecting element (125), the drive unit including a motor and/or a transmission [ para 0059 discloses: “reduction gear that reduces a speed of a rotation of a motor is housed in this space”; thus, drive unit at 20 includes both motor and transmission.]
Regarding claim 19, Mano further teaches that frame assembly (10) as recited in claim 18, wherein the drive unit (motor and reduction gear [0059]) is arranged at least partly between two frame walls (left and right walls 211 and 212 formed by 213, fig. 3 and [0058]); [para. 0060 discloses that the cover 213 is laid over the left housing 211 from the left in the left/right direction.; thus, drive unit (unit at 12) is arranged at least partly between two frame walls 211 and 212] of the main frame (10).
Regarding claim 20, Mano further teaches that frame assembly as recited in claim 18, wherein the at least one connecting element (125; [note that at least one connecting element among plural connecting elements, fig. 4]) includes a through-bolt (bolt 60, fig. 5), which extends along the joint axis (axis of hole 2154, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 21, Mano further teaches at least one connecting element (125, fig. 6C) includes two mounting screws [fig. 6C shows 2 mounting screws in another embodiment], which each extend along the joint axis and with which the main frame and the drive unit are screwed together [para. 0115 discloses: “In this preferred embodiment, the separate nut may be attached to the housing 21 in advance, and then screwed onto the bolt 60, or the separate nut may be screwed onto the bolt 60 while outside the housing 21”].
Regarding claim 22, Mano further teaches that the drive unit (20) includes two mounting lugs (attachment portions 216 and 217, figs. 2-3 and [0070]) with which the drive unit (20) is mounted on the main frame (10) using the at least one connecting element (125), a swing arm area (area around 30, fig. 1) of the rear triangle being arranged between the two mounting lugs (216 and 217). See fig. 1 and fig. 5 where the rear triangle being arranged between the two mounting lugs (216 and 217, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, Mano further teaches that the rear triangle includes two chainstays (pair of 301, [0042]) which are connected to the main frame (10, fig. 1) in an articulated manner using the at least one connecting element (125) [ para. 0044 discloses “the chain stays 301 swing or pivot relative to the bracket (connecting member) 125 about an axis that extends in the left/right direction”.]
Regarding claim 24, Mano further teaches that each of the two chainstays (pair of 301, [0042 and 0043]) is arranged between (fig. 2) the drive unit (20) and one of two frame walls (left 211 and right 212 walls formed by 213, fig. 5) of the main frame (10) with respect to the joint axis (axis at 125).
Regarding claim 25, Mano further teaches that the drive unit and two frame walls (211 and 212) of the main frame (10) are arranged between (fig. 1) the two chainstays (pair of 311) with respect to the joint axis (axis at 125) [ with reference to fig. 1, when looking at the transverse direction of the bicycle, the drive unit and two frame walls of the drive unit are arranged between the two-chain stay; also para. 0054 discloses: “a driving sprocket 34 is attached to the drive unit 20 with a support 33 located in between. A chain 36 is wound about the driving sprocket 34 and driven sprocket 32”; thus, two frame walls (211 and 212) of the main frame are arranged between the two chainstays.]
Regarding claim 27, Mano further teaches that a two-wheeled vehicle including a bicycle operable with muscle power (pedal drive, [0003]) and/or motor power (electric motor-assisted bicycle, [page1, ‘Title’]), the two-wheeled (bicycle wheels) vehicle comprising:
a frame assembly (10) including:
a main frame (10), a sprung rear triangle (triangle formed by rear elements 30, 301 and 124, fig. 1); and
at least one connecting element (125, fig. 1) arranged on the main frame (10), wherein the connecting element (125) simultaneously provides (via CL1 and AA'):
a pivotable connection for (a pivotable connection at 125 to main frame 10 via 123 of the mainframe; [0044]) at least a part of the rear triangle (via 303 and 30, fig. 1) about a joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano above; [ para 0113 discloses: “the chain stays 301 which are swing ably or pivotably attached to the bracket 125” and para. 0044 discloses that pivot relative to the bracket 125 about an axis]) to the main frame (10) so as to be pivotable (“swingably”; [0113]) about a joint axis (AA'), and
a mounting interface (support 33, fig. 4) configured to fasten (fig. 4) the at least one connecting element (125) is configured for mounting a drive unit (20, fig. 1) to the main frame (10) [para. 0041 discloses: “bracket 125 is located at a bottom of the vehicle-body frame 12. The bracket 125 supports the drive unit 20”] along the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano above; see figs. 1 and 4 at CL1), such that the connecting element (125) forms an integral pivot and mounting point (CL1, fig. 4),
wherein the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano above; note that: joint axis AA' representation is perpendicular to the plane of the paper) is arranged at or near a chain mesh point between a bicycle chain (36) and a chainring of the two-wheeled vehicle (see annotated fig.1 of Mano above).
Regarding claim 28, Mano further teaches that the two-wheeled vehicle (bicycle) as recited in claim 27, wherein the frame assembly (10) further includes a drive unit (20), the drive unit being mounted on the main frame (10 via 125) using the at least one connecting element (either bolt 60 or connecting arm 303), and the at least one connecting element (125) being arranged on a rear area of the drive unit ( see fig. 1) in a direction of travel [ para. 0005 discloses: “a bolt is inserted through the hole in one of the side plates from an outside in a left-right direction of the vehicle [ travel direction). The bolt extends through the suspension boss and is inserted through the hole in the other side plate from an inside in the left-right direction of the vehicle. A nut is attached to a tip of the bolt. Thus, the drive unit is attached to the bracket”.]
Regarding claim 29, Mano further teaches that a frame assembly (10) of a two-wheeled vehicle (bicycle), the two-wheeled vehicle being operable with muscle power (pedal drive, [0003]) and/or motor power (electric motor-assisted bicycle, [page1, ‘Title’]), the frame assembly (10) comprising: a main frame (12, [0032]);a sprung rear triangle (triangle formed by rear elements 30, 301 and 124, fig. 1); a drive unit (20) including a motor (‘electric motor’, [0032]) and/or a transmission (“reduction gear”, [0058]); and
at least one connecting element (125, figs. 1 and 4) simultaneously provides:
a pivotable connection for (a pivotable connection at 125 to main frame 10 via 123 of the mainframe; [0044]) at least a part of the rear triangle (via 303 and 30, fig. 1) about a joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano above; [ para 0113 discloses: “the chain stays 301 which are swingably or pivotably attached to the bracket 125” and para. 0044 discloses that pivot relative to the bracket 125 about an axis]) to the main frame (10) so as to be pivotable (“swingably”; [0113]) about a joint axis (AA'), and
a mounting interface (support 33, fig. 4) configured to fasten (fig. 4) the at least one connecting element (125) is configured for mounting a drive unit (20, fig. 1) to the main frame (10) [para. 0041 discloses: “bracket 125 is located at a bottom of the vehicle-body frame 12. The bracket 125 supports the drive unit 20”] along the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 1 of Mano above; see figs. 1 and 4 at CL1), such that the connecting element (125) forms an integral pivot and mounting point (CL1, fig. 4),
wherein the rear triangle (fig. 1) includes a suspension element (304, [0042]), the at least one connecting element (125) pivotably interconnecting the main frame (12 via 124), the drive unit, and the suspension element (304) about the joint articulation axis (AA'), such that the joint articulation axis (AA') holds the main frame (12), the drive unit (20), and the suspension element (304) together in a common articulated connection (AA').
Claims 15-20 and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winora Staiger (DE202010010521 U1; hereinafter “Win”).
Regarding claim 15, Win teaches: a frame assembly (fig. 1) of a two-wheeled vehicle (bicycle), the two-wheeled vehicle being operable with muscle power (pedal drive, [page 1, main claim]) and/or motor power (motor-assisted bicycle, [page 1]), the frame assembly comprising:
a main frame (10, [0028]);
a sprung rear triangle (triangle formed by rear fork 30, fig. 1); and
at least one connecting element (34, fig. 1) arranged on the main frame (28), wherein the connecting element (34) simultaneously provides:
(a) a pivotable connection for (via swivel bearing 34 pivotally mounted with lever element 38, resulting to pivoting movement as disclosed by [0028]) at least a part of the rear triangle (via 38 at 24) about a joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win below) and
(b) a mounting interface (support unit 12, fig. 1) configured to fasten a drive unit (drive unit at drive support unit 12 via frame 20; note that: frame element 20 supports drive unit at 12) to the main frame (28) along the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win below) such that the connecting element (34) forms an integral pivot and mounting point (point where axis passes through near a chain mess point, fig. 2),
wherein the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win below; note that: joint axis AA' representation is perpendicular to the plane of the paper) is arranged at or near a chain mesh point between a bicycle chain (‘chain’, [0036]) and a chainring of the two-wheeled vehicle (see annotated fig.2 of Win below).
Annotated fig. 2 of Win
Regarding claim 16, Win further teaches that the frame assembly (Assy. of 10) wherein the rear triangle (rear triangle at fig. 1) includes a suspension element (40, [0028]), the at least one connecting element (34) pivotably interconnecting (via 38) the main frame (section 26 of main frame 28) and the suspension element (40) [end 36 with seat tube 26 pivotally mounted lever element 38, which transmits a pivoting movement of the rear fork 30 to a damper element 40; thus the at least one connecting element (34) pivotably interconnecting the main frame (28) and the suspension element (40) via 38 and 26.]
Regarding claim 17, Win further teaches that the frame assembly (Assy. of frame 10) as recited in claim 15, wherein the rear triangle includes a rear triangle frame ([fig. 1 shows seat tube 26, fork 30 and lower end part 32 collectively constitute ‘a rear triangle frame’], the at least one connecting element (34) pivotably interconnecting (via swivel bearing) the main frame (28) and the rear triangle frame (triangle formed at fig. 1 has pivotal joint at 34) [ para. 0028 discloses: “pivotally mounted lever element 38, which transmits a pivoting movement of the rear fork 30 to a damper element 40”; thus, 34 pivotably interconnecting the main frame 26 and thereby 28 and the rear triangle frame.]
Regarding claim 18, Win further teaches that frame assembly (Assy. of 10) as recited in claim 15, further comprising:
a drive unit (motor and gearbox at 12, [0014]) mounted on the main frame (28) using the at least one connecting element (34 via 20, fig. 1), the drive unit including a motor and/or a transmission [ para 0015 discloses: “the shell-shaped receiving element has a lower gearbox housing half and the motor-driven support unit one upper gearbox housing half”; thus, drive unit at 12 includes both motor and transmission.]
Regarding claim 19, Win further teaches that frame assembly as recited in claim 18, wherein the drive unit (motor and gearbox at 12, [0014 and 0015]) is arranged at least partly between two frame walls (lower half shell and upper half shell); [para. 0015 discloses that the transverse direction of the bicycle pointing end of the shell-shaped receiving element; note that: transverse direction is perpendicular to the direction of motion, thereby forming left and right walls on the provided shell; thus, drive unit (unit at 12) is arranged at least partly between two frame walls) of the main frame (10)]).
Regarding claim 20, Win further teaches that frame assembly as recited in claim 18, wherein the at least one connecting element (56; [note that at least one connecting element among plural connecting elements, fig. 3]) includes a through-bolt (bolt 56 [0034]), which extends along the joint axis (axis at bolt 56 which is sharing another axis of hole at frame element 20 of main frame 28). See annotated fig. 3 of Win below.
Annotated fig. 3 of Win
Regarding claim 22, Win further teaches that the drive unit includes two mounting lugs (A and B, see annotated fig. 3 above) with which the drive unit (motor and gearbox at 12) is mounted on the main frame (20 of 28) using the at least one connecting element (20), a swingarm area (area around 34 at 38, fig. 1) of the rear triangle being arranged between
(annotated fig. 3 above) the two mounting lugs (A and B).
Regarding claim 23, Win further teaches that the rear triangle includes two chainstays which are connected to the main frame in an articulated manner using at least one connecting element.
Regarding claim 24, Win further teaches that each of the two chainstays (fig. 2 shows 2 chainstays) is arranged between (fig. 2) the drive unit (motor and gearbox) and one of two frame walls (left and right shell of 12 in transverse direction of the bicycle) of the main frame (28) with respect to the joint axis (axis at 34).
Regarding claim 25, Win further teaches that the drive unit and two frame walls of the main frame; are arranged between the two chainstays (2 chainstays at fig. 2) with respect to the joint axis (axis at 34) [ with reference to fig. 1, when looking at the transverse direction of the bicycle, the drive unit and two frame walls of the drive unit are arranged between the two-chain stay.]
Regarding claim 26, Win further teaches that the frame assembly as recited in claim 15, wherein the at least one connecting element (34) includes at least one bearing (swivel bearing, [0028]), which is arranged between the main frame and at least part of the rear triangle.
Regarding claim 27, Win further teaches that a two-wheeled vehicle including a bicycle operable with muscle power (pedal drive, [page 1, main claim]) and/or motor power (motor-assisted bicycle, [page 1]), the two-wheeled (bicycle wheels) vehicle comprising:
a frame assembly (Assy. of 10) including:
a main frame (10), a sprung rear triangle (fig. 1), and
at least one connecting element (34, fig. 1) arranged on the main frame (28), wherein the connecting element (34) simultaneously provides:
a pivotable connection for (via swivel bearing 34 pivotally mounted with lever element 38, resulting to pivoting movement as disclosed by [0028]) at least a part of the rear triangle (via 38 at 24) about a joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win above) to the main frame [fig. 1 shows connection at 34 on the frame element 20 and 26 of the main frame 28 as disclosed by para. 0028 and at least at a part of a rear triangle via 38 at 24] so as to be pivotable (” via swivel bearing 34 pivotally mounted with lever element 38, resulting to pivoting movement” as disclosed by [0028]) about a joint axis (axis at 34), and
a mounting interface (support unit 12, fig. 1) configured to fasten a drive unit (drive unit at drive support unit 12 via frame 20; note that: frame element 20 supports drive unit at 12) to the main frame (28) along the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win above) such that the connecting element (34) forms an integral pivot and mounting point (point where axis passes through near a chain mess point, fig. 2),
wherein the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win above; note that: joint axis AA' representation is perpendicular to the plane of the paper) is arranged at or near a chain mesh point between a bicycle chain (‘chain’, [0036]) and a chainring of the two-wheeled vehicle (see annotated fig.2 of Win above).
Regarding claim 28, Win further teaches that the two-wheeled vehicle (bicycle) as recited in claim 27, wherein the frame assembly (Assy. of 10) further includes a drive unit ( motor and gearbox), the drive unit being mounted on the main frame (28 via 20) using the at least one connecting element (either bolt 56 or swivel 34), and the at least one connecting element (34) being arranged on a rear area of the drive unit in a direction of travel [ fig. 1 shows at rear area of the drive unit in a direction of travel).
Regarding claim 29, Win further teaches that a frame assembly (fig. 1) of a two-wheeled vehicle (bicycle), the two-wheeled vehicle being operable with muscle power (pedal drive, [page 1, main claim]) and/or motor power (electric motor-assisted bicycle, [page1, ‘Title’]), the frame assembly comprising: a main frame (10, [0028]);a sprung rear triangle (triangle formed by rear fork 30, fig. 1); a drive unit (motor and gearbox at 12, [0014]) including a motor (‘motor-driven, [0027]) and/or a transmission [ para 0015 discloses: “the shell-shaped receiving element has a lower gearbox housing half and the motor-driven support unit one upper gearbox housing half”; thus, drive unit at 12 includes both motor and transmission] and
at least one connecting element (34, fig. 1) arranged on the main frame (28), wherein the connecting element (34) simultaneously provides:
(a) a pivotable connection for (via swivel bearing 34 pivotally mounted with lever element 38, resulting to pivoting movement as disclosed by [0028]) at least a part of the rear triangle (via 38 at 24) about a joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win above) to the main frame [fig. 1 shows connection at 34 on the frame element 20 and 26 of the main frame 28 as disclosed by para. 0028 and at least at a part of a rear triangle via 38 at 24] so as to be pivotable (” via swivel bearing 34 pivotally mounted with lever element 38, resulting to pivoting movement” as disclosed by [0028]) about a joint axis (axis at 34), and
(b) a mounting interface (support unit 12, fig. 1) configured to fasten a drive unit (drive unit at drive support unit 12 via frame 20; note that: frame element 20 supports drive unit at 12) to the main frame (28) along the joint axis (AA’, see annotated fig. 2 of Win above) such that the connecting element (34) forms an integral pivot and mounting point (point where axis passes through near a chain mess point, fig. 2),
wherein the rear triangle (fig. 2) includes a suspension element (40, [0028]) , the at least one connecting element (34) pivotably interconnecting the main frame (28), the drive unit (gear box), and the suspension element (40; [end 36 with seat tube 26 pivotally mounted lever element 38, which transmits a pivoting movement of the rear fork 30 to a damper element 40; thus the at least one connecting element (34) pivotably interconnecting the main frame (28) and the suspension element (40) via 38 and 26] about the joint articulation axis (AA', annotated fig. 2 above), such that the joint articulation axis (AA') holds the main frame (28 or the main frame of 10), the drive unit (gear box at 12), and the suspension element (40) together in a common articulated connection (AA', see fig. 2 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or no obviousness.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mano in view of Win.
Regarding claim 26, Mano further teaches that at least one connecting element but failed to teach that the connecting element includes at least one bearing, which is arranged between the main frame and at least part of the rear triangle.
Win, in another electric-motor-assisted bicycle similar to Mano’s, teaches that at least one connecting element (34) includes at least one bearing (swivel bearing, [0028]), which is arranged between the main frame (28) and at least part of the rear triangle (fig. 1 of Win).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mano to incorporate the teaching of Win and provide the swivel bearing to a pivotal point of the connecting element with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously optimize the bicycle design where the bearing point can be used as a rigid connection and a precision – engineered swivel bearing – empowering the rear fork to pivot seamlessly with the frame [0009 of Win].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Win in view of Mano.
Regarding claim 21. Win further teaches that at least one connecting element (any one of 56 or 34), but failed to teach that includes two mounting screws, which each extend along the joint axis and with which the main frame and the drive unit are screwed together.
Mano in another electric motor assisted bicycle similar to Win teaches that at least one connecting element (125, fig. 6C) includes two mounting screws [fig. 6C shows 2 mounting screws in another embodiment], which each extend along the joint axis (axis at 34) and with which the main frame and the drive unit are screwed together [para. 0115 discloses: “In this preferred embodiment, the separate nut may be attached to the housing 21 in advance, and then screwed onto the bolt 60, or the separate nut may be screwed onto the bolt 60 while outside the housing 21”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Win to incorporate the teaching of Mano and provide two mounting screws as an substitute to the bearing of the connecting element with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously optimize bicycle design to harness the pivotal point as either robust fixed connection variations and modifications will be apparent to those skilled in the art without departing from the scope and spirit of the present invention [ 0117 of Mano].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200231246 A1 to Madsen teaches: an improved rear suspension for a two wheeled vehicle. The improved rear suspension includes a rear triangle connected to a wheel. The rear triangle is connected to the front triangle by an upper linkage.
NABIN KUMAR SHARMA
Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
September 28, 2026