Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3-9-23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that amended claim 1 now recites that the dissolvable fiber and the insoluble fiber are “twisted around one another to form the thread or yarn with one of an S twist, a Z twist, or an SZ twist. “ Applicants states that USP5577307 does not disclose this structure and instead teaches a dissolvable fiber wound around a central insoluble fiber.
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. USP5577307 discloses combining a dissolvable fiber with an insoluble fiber to form a composite thread. See col. 4 , lines 37-53 and Figure 5. The reference therefore teaches the same fibers arranged together to form a yarn structure.
Applicant argues that USP5577307 shows the dissolvable fiber wound around the central insoluble fiber rather than fibers twisted around one another. However, USP5577307 discloses the dissolvable fiber spirally wound around the insoluble fiber during formation of the composite thread which results in a helical fiber arrangement characteristic of twisted yarn structures. See Figure. 5 and col. 4, lines 37-53. Yarn structures having S-twist or Z-twist configurations are well known in the textile art. Forming the fibers of USP5577307 into a twisted yarn configuration would have been an obvious way to produce a thread from the disclosed fibers.
Applicant also asserts that the structure shown in USP5577307 would create internal stress in the resulting fabric, while the claimed configuration would not. These statements are un supported by evidence and therefore are not persuasive. The recited twist structures (S twist, Z twist, or SZ twist) represent standard yarn configurations commonly used in textile manufacturing. Selecting one of these known twist structures for the fibers disclosed by USP5577307 would have been an obvious matter of yarn formation. Applying a known technique to a known structure to produce a predictable result would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
According, the amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over as applied to claims above, and further in view of USP 5577307 cols. col. 2
lines 1-10 and cols 3-4; in view of USP 2714758 see abstract col. 2 lines 43-52 and
col. 3 lines 40-45; further in view of WO2019202608 see pages 1-10 ; further in
view of EP0439339B1 see abstract and pages 1-10.
With regard to claim 1, the claim is directed to a recyclable thread or yarn
incorporated into a woven article, garment or textile, the recyclable thread or yarn
comprising:
a dissolvable fiber; and
an insoluble fiber, said dissolvable fiber and said insoluble fiber twisted to form
the thread or yarn.
USP 5577307 discloses a process for making a multi-ply fabric, which includes
the steps of applying a water soluble material, which has no adverse effect on fabrics,
around a water insoluble thread to provide a binding yarn; binding a plurality of unit
fabrics one upon another with the binding yam to provide a multi-ply fabric; putting the
multi-ply fabric in water to dissolve the water soluble material, thereby providing a multi-
ply fabric bound with only the water insoluble thread.
Note column 2 lines 1-10 that the reference discloses "a first aspect of the
present invention, there is provided a method for producing a multi-ply fabric which
comprises the steps of: binding a plurality of fabrics, together with a binding yarn
reinforced by intertwining a soluble thread which melts or dissolves in a treatment
solution that does not have an adverse effect on the fabrics, around a insoluble thread,
note (5a) of Figure 6, which does not melt in the treatment solution and is not spun to
form a multi-ply fabric base in which the fabrics are placed one upon the other "
More specifically, the reference also discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is
incorporated into a woven article, garment or textile, the recyclable thread comprising a
dissolvable fiber and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn.
USP5577307 further teaches subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution at elevated temperature sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
Thus, the reference discloses each of the limitations as claimed in applicants'
claim 1 but does not expressly describe the thread or yarn as recyclable. The reference
does teach a fabric in which the dissolvable component is intentionally removed through
washing or dissolution to recover the remaining insoluble component. Since this results
in a reuse of the insoluble fiber or fabric, the resulting characteristic of recycling
naturally flows therefrom. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to
recognize that a textile containing a dissolvable and insoluble fiber where one
component tis removed by washing to recover the other, is in fact a recyclable structure.
With regard to claim 2 is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of claim 1
wherein said dissolvable fiber is a synthetic water soluble polymer.
USP 5577307 discloses a process for making a multi-ply fabric, which includes
the steps of applying a water soluble material, which has no adverse effect on fabrics,
around a water insoluble thread to provide a binding yarn; binding a plurality of unit
fabrics one upon another with the binding yarn to provide a multi-ply fabric; putting the
multi-ply fabric in water to dissolve the water soluble material thereby providing a multi-
ply fabric bound with only the water insoluble thread.
Specifically, USP 5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is
incorporated into a woven article, garment or textile the recyclable thread comprising a
dissolvable fiber and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn. USP
5577307 further teaches subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution
at elevated temperature sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
However, USP 5577307 does not specify the use of the synthetic water soluble
polymers as claimed.
USP 2714758 teaches water-soluble polyvinyl alcohol fibers and their use in
blended yarns with insoluble fibers such as cotton. Specifically in col. 2 lines 43-52 the
reference discloses that "One of several alternative procedures is here outlined by
which a suitable sewing thread embodying this invention can be made. Such a thread
can be made by twisting three duplex components. Each of the said three duplex
components is made up of a permanent yarn (as cotton) and a destructible yarn (as
oriented polymerized ethylene). The members of each duplex component are twisted
together with both components under tension in the singling operation. Note also in col.
6 claims 2 and 3 the reference discloses that water is used with the "destructible yarn".
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in
the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the water
soluble polymer or similar water-soluble polymers of USP 2714758 as the dissolvable
fiber of USP 5577307 since each reference teaches compatible fiber materials and
dissolution conditions that would yield predictable results.
With regard to claim 3, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 2 wherein said synthetic water soluble polymer is at least one of polydioxanone,
poly(ethylene glycol) (PEG), polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA),
polyacrylic acid (PAA), polyglycolic acid, polyacrylamide, N-(2-
Hydroxypropyl)methacrylamide (HPMA), divinyl ether-maleic anhydride (DIVEMA),
polyoxazoline, poly(caprolactone), polyphosphate, or polyphosphazenes.
USP 5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is incorporated into a
woven article, garment or textile the recyclable thread comprising a dissolvable fiber
and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn and further teaches
subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution at elevated temperature
sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
However, USP 5577307 does not specify the use of the synthetic water soluble
polymers as those listed in claim 3.
Note that USP 2714758 teaches water-soluble polymers such as polyethylene
glycol and their use in blended yarns with insoluble fibers such as cotton. And in col. 3
lines 40-45 which discloses examples of such oriented synthetic yarns or filaments are:
An oriented copolymer of vinyl chloride with vinyl acetate; an oriented polymerized
ethylene (polyethylene); an oriented copolymer of vinylidene chloride and a pro portion
of vinyl chloride; an oriented polyester of terephthalic acid with ethylene glycol. Such
material should be made in order that it will dissolve or be destroyed at the ordinary
temperatures of the hot wash water used in commercial laundries, which ranges
generally between 140°F and 180°F or (60°C to 82.2 °C).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in
the art at the time the invention was made, in view of these combined teachings, to
substitute a known synthetic water soluble polymer such as Polyvinyl alcohol for the
soluble fibers of USP 5577307 since Note that USP 2714758 teaches water-soluble
polymers such as polyethylene glycol and their use in blended yarns with insoluble
fibers such as cotton. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to employ the water
soluble polymerized ethylene or similar water-solve polymers of USP 2714758 as the
dissolvable fiber of USP 5577307 since each reference teaches compatible fiber
materials and dissolution conditions that would yield the same claimed results. Note
also that the polymers listed are well known to be used in most instances as equivalents
since each is used for water soluble fiber formation and substituting one for another
would have been obvious.
With regard to claim 4, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 1 wherein said dissolvable fiber is only polyvinyl alcohol (PVA).
USP 5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is incorporated into a
woven article, garment or textile, the recyclable thread comprising a dissolvable fiber
and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn and further teaches
subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution at elevated temperature
sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
USP 2714758 teaches water-soluble polyvinyl fibers such as polyethylene glycol
though it does not specifically mention polyvinyl alcohol.
WO2019202608 teaches yarns from cotton blended with PVA fibers that
dissolve at approximately 90°C or higher to create voids in the resulting fabric.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made, in view of these combined teachings, to substitute a known
synthetic water soluble polymer such as polyvinyl alcohol for the soluble fibers of USP
5577307 since WO2019202608 teaches compatible fiber materials and dissolution
conditions yielding predictable results. Note that generally, it is prima facie obvious to
select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized
suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. V. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor
pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink
compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125
USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container
found obvious on its face).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 1 wherein said dissolvable fiber is a naturally occurring water soluble polymer that
is at least one of: plant ucilage, water-soluble hemicellulose, inulin, alginates, dextrins,
maltodextrins, galactommannans, arabanogalactans, beta glucans, cellulose ethers,
pectins, pectic material, dextran, and partially hydrolyzed products thereof or mixtures
thereof.
USP 5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is incorporated into a
woven article, garment or textile, the recyclable thread comprising a dissolvable fiber
and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn and further teaches
subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution at elevated temperature
sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
USP 2714758 discloses the blending between natural and synthetic soluble
polymers for dissolvable yarns
WO2019202608 also teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers for us in
forming a composite fiber structure.
EP0439339B1 explicitly shows the preparation of water-soluble alginate fibers
from naturally occurring polysaccharides.
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of these
combined teachings, to use the known natural, water-soluble polymers such as alginate
etc. instead of synthetic polymers to achieve the same predictable effect of a fiber
dissolving in water while the insoluble fiber remains. One of ordinary skill would have
been motivated to substitute the natural polymers for the purpose of biodegradability.
With regard to claim 6, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 1 wherein said insoluble fiber is cotton.
USP 5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is incorporated into a
woven article, garment or textile, the recyclable thread comprising a dissolvable fiber
and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn and further teaches
subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution at elevated temperature
sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
Note that both USP 2714758 and WO2019202608 teach the blending soluble
and insoluble fibers and list cotton specifically as a compatible insoluble.
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use cotton as the
insoluble fiber in the structure of USP 577307 since cotton's solubility, strength and
availability were well known to the skill artisan.
With regard to claim 7, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of 6
wherein said cotton is an extra-long staple (ELS) cotton.
In addition to the teachings of USP 5577307 and USP 2714758 above, and the
disclosure in WO2019202608 teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers to form a
composition and that cotton fibers may be blended with PVA fibers. It is well known in
the art that extra-long stable cotton is a routine equivalent to regular cotton, differing
only in length and fineness.
In view of the combined teachings, it would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to substitute ELS cotton,
including any high-grade ELS cotton, for the regular cotton in order to optimize and
improve strength, softness and durability while having the identical insolubility.
With regard to claim 8, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 7 wherein said extra-long staple (ELS) cotton is a Supima cotton.
See discussion rejection 112b rejection above as well as the 103 rejection for
claim 7 above.
In addition to the teachings of USP 5577307 and USP 2714758 above, and the
disclosure in WO2019202608 teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers to form a
composition and that cotton fibers may be blended with PVA fibers. It is well known in
the art that extra-long stable cotton is a routine equivalent to regular cotton, differing
only in length and fineness.
In view of the combined teachings, it would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to substitute ELS cotton
including any high grade ELS cotton in order to optimize and improve strength, softness
and durability while having the identical insolubility.
With regard to claim 9, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 1 wherein insoluble fiber is at least one of: cotton, silk, modal, acrylics, a blend of
cotton and polyester, a blend of polyester and viscose, a blend of poly(trimethylene
terephthalate) and cotton, a blend of Lyocell and cotton, a blend of cotton and bamboo,
a blend of cotton and sea weed, a blend of cotton and silver, a blend of cotton and
charcoal, and a blend of cotton and modal or any combination thereof.
USP 5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is incorporated into a
woven article, garment or textile, the recyclable thread comprising a dissolvable fiber
and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn and further teaches
subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution at elevated temperature
sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
WO2019202608 also teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers for us in
forming a composite fiber structure.
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to substitute any
convention cotton-based or mixed fiber blends, as listed, since each material is routinely
used in woven fabrics.
With regard to claim 10, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 1 wherein said dissolvable fiber dissolves in water at between 60 °C and 100 °C.
USP 5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is incorporated into a
woven article, garment or textile 1 the recyclable thread comprising a dissolvable fiber
and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn. USP 5577307 further
teaches subjecting the woven article to washing in an aqueous solution at elevated
temperature sufficient to dissolve the dissolvable fiber.
However, USP 5577307 does not specify the use of water soluble polyvinyl
alcohol or other similar polymers and it does not teach the dissolution temperature
range of 60 °C and 100 °C for controlling the removal of the dissolvable component.
USP 2714758 teaches water-soluble polyvinyl alcohol fibers and their use in
blended yarns with insoluble fibers such as cotton. Moreover, WO2019202608 teaches
polymer blends and water-soluble fibers that dissolve between 60 °C and 100 °C.
Each reference teaches compatible fiber systems and dissolution temperatures, and their combination would have yielded predictable results. Thus, it would have been
obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to employ the polyvinyl alcohol or similar water-solve polymers of
USP 2714758 as the dissolvable fiber of USP 5577307 and to employ the temperature
range taught by WO2019202608 since each reference teaches compatible fiber
materials and dissolution conditions that would yield predictable results.
With regard to claim 11, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim1 wherein the thread or yarn are formed with one of: S twist, Z twist, or sZ twist.
In addition to the teachings of USP 5577307 which discloses twist yarns in general, and
the disclosure in WO2019202608 teaches spinning cotton and PVA fibers using S or Z
twist and low twist multipliers for better thermal performance and comfort. Note
paragraph [0013] and [0016].
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the
teachings of WO2019202608 and USP5577307 to optimize fibers performance and
recyclability.
With regard to claim 12, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
caim1 wherein said dissolvable fiber ranges between 100 dtex to 3000 dtex.
USP5577307 discloses a recyclable thread or yarn that is incorporated into a
woven article, garment or textile 1 the recyclable thread comprising a dissolvable fiber
and an insoluble fiber twisted together to form the thread or yarn but does not specify
fiber fineness. Note that WO2019202608 teaches in paragraph [0012] that the PVA
fibers having a fineness of about 0.9-1.2 denier which is approximately 100-130detx and
which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to select fiber linear densities within that range to balance solubility
and strength and solubility since these adjustments are routine in textile processing art.
With regard to claim 13, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim1 wherein a blending ratio of said dissolvable fiber to said insoluble fiber ranges
between 0.1-9:1.
USP 5577307 discloses forming composite yearns with both soluble and
insoluble fibers.
WO2019202608 teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers for us form
structure and further discloses that the blend contain about 10% to 25% weight of PVA
fiber with cotton.
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of these
combined teachings USP5577307 and WO2019202608, to optimize the ratio of
dissolvable to insoluble fibers within known ranges, e.g. 10-25%, to achieve uniform
spinning and predictable dissolution during washing.
With regard to claim 14, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 1 further comprising a lubricant or a dye.
USP 5577307 discloses coating the external surface of the yarn in col. 2 line 20-
21 which would include lubricants. WO2019202608 discloses in paragraph [0065 that
dyes may be used see figure 5 (412). Thus it would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a coating which may
be a lubricant easier to twist and combine other components or a dye to make it more
aesthetic easier to twist and combine other components. Note that generally, it is prima
facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on
its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. V.
Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having
boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks
into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d
197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic
container found obvious on its face).
With regard to claim 15, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
caim1 further comprising a plurality of like enzymatic cleavage sites on said dissolvable
fiber.
WO2019202608 disclose in paragraph [0065] the step of desizing with enzymes.
See also figure 5. The reference also teaches dissolution of PVA fibers through hot
water treatment, enzymatic degradation etc
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to introduce
enzymatic cleavage to accelerate or control dissolution, to improve results.
With regard to claim 16, the claim is directed to the recyclable thread or yarn of
claim 1 further comprising a water insoluble barrier coating on said dissolvable fiber that
is selectively compromised.
USP 5577307 discloses coating the external surface of the yarn in col. 2 line 20-
21. Note that a known coating material would have been recognized as a suitable for
protecting or modifying fiber surfaces. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to apply
a barrier coating to the dissolvable fiber to control dissolution rate or provide handling
stability. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation
into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See
Sinclair & Carroll Co. V. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
(Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as
being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face).
See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a
known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
With regard to claim 17, the claim is directed to a woven article, garment or
textile formed comprising at least two swatches sewn with the recyclable thread or yarn
of claim 1.
USP 5577307 discloses multi-ply fabrics formed with soluble and insoluble
fibers.
WO2019202608 also teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers that may be
woven cotton /PVA fabrics used in bedding such as sheets and duvets.
Thus, forming swatches or panels sewn with the recyclable thread would have
been an obvious variation of the fabric described in the prior art.
With regard to claim 18, the claim is directed to a process for recycling a woven
article, garment or textile made with recyclable thread or yarn of claim 1 comprising:
subjecting the woven article, garment or textile in water to a condition to cause said
dissolvable fiber to lose long-range order and to form a slurry or solution.
USP 5577307 discloses washing multi-ply fabrics in water to dissolve a water
soluble material and recover an insoluble fabric base. the same recyclable structure as
noted above.
WO2019202608 also teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers for use in
forming a structure and teaches washing cotton/PVA fabrics at about 98°C to remove
the soluble PVA fibers.
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of these
combined teachings, to employ a similar aqueous washing process since both reference
describe substantially the same methods to reclaim the insoluble components.
With regard to claim 19, the claim is directed to the process of claim 18 wherein
said condition is washing in an aqueous solution at an elevated temperature range
sufficient to induce dissolution of said dissolvable fiber, chemical reaction to remove
protecting groups or a coating from said dissolvable fiber, catalytic cleavage through
aqueous contact with a synthetic or enzymatic catalyst, or a combination thereof.
USP 5577307 discloses washing multi-ply fabrics in water to dissolve a water
soluble material and recover an insoluble fabric base the same recyclable structure as
noted above.
WO2019202608 also teaches blending soluble and insoluble fibers for us form
structure and teaches washing cotton/PVA fabrics at about 98°C to remove the soluble
PVA fibers.
In view of the combined teachings above, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ an aqueous
washing process at elevated temperature to dissolve the water soluble component and
recover the insoluble base having the same recyclable structure as noted above as
both references teach similar processing conditions.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference
between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not
specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention
cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765