Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 6th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9, and 11-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 101 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 30th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokuda (United States Patent Application Publication 20170276773 A1), hereinafter Tokuda.
Regarding claim 1, Tokuda teaches a distance measuring device ([Title]; [0027] The distance measuring device 1), comprising:
a light emitting unit that emits light ([0027] The distance measuring device 1 includes a light emitting unit 100.);
a light receiving sensor that receives the light emitted from the light emitting unit and reflected by a target object ([0032] The reference pulsed light and the measuring pulsed light are received by a light receiving element 113, such as a photodiode, and are converted into pulsed detection signals.); and
a calibration calculation unit that performs, as calibration, calculation processing for obtaining a correction parameter for distance information calculated by an indirect ToF method on a basis of a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor ([0043] a correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0056] At this time, at least one of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is corrected by using a correction parameter that is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated.),
calculation processing using a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a first light emission frequency and a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a second light emission frequency different from the first light emission frequency ([0075] As described above, in this embodiment, the distance calculating unit 1 includes the first filter 203 that receives the detection signal of the reference pulsed light, and the second filter 204 that has the center frequency different from that of the first filter 203 and that receives the detection signal of the measuring pulsed light. The distance calculating unit 1 also includes the adder circuit 207 that adds the outputs from the first filter 203 and the second filter 204 together, the A/D converter 209 that receives the output signal from the adder circuit 207, and the separated-signal calculating unit 211 that processes the output from the A/D converter 209 by FFT analysis and that generates the first separated signal corresponding to the reference detection signal and the second separated signal corresponding to the measurement detection signal.).
Regarding claim 2, Tokuda teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the calibration calculation unit performs calculation processing based on a phase difference between light emission and light reception detected on a basis of the light reception signal, and obtains the correction parameter ([0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated.).
Regarding claim 3, Tokuda teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 2, wherein the calibration calculation unit performs indefiniteness elimination processing of eliminating indefiniteness in units of 2π for the phase difference ([0039] ω=2πf; [0049] A group delay Tg is obtained by differentiating a phase difference φ between an input waveform and an output waveform with an angle frequency ω and is represented as Tg=−dφ/dω. In the above case, when Tg is constant, the phase difference φ is proportional to the angle frequency ω).
Regarding claim 4, Tokuda teaches The distance measuring device according to claim 3, wherein the calibration calculation unit determines, among phase differences detected from the light reception signal when light emission is performed at a lowest light emission frequency that is a lowest light emission frequency among light emission frequencies of the light emitting unit for the calibration calculation processing, a determined phase difference detected from the light reception signal having an amplitude equal to or more than a predetermined value as a phase difference corresponding to the lowest light emission frequency, and performs processing of eliminating the indefiniteness with respect to the phase difference corresponding to another one of the light emission frequencies other than the lowest light emission frequency on a basis of the determined phase difference corresponding to the lowest light emission frequency. ([0056] The distance calculating unit 213 compares the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal in the same frequency and calculates the distance from the distance measuring device 1 to the object, which has been hit by the measuring light and has reflected the measuring light. At this time, at least one of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is corrected by using a correction parameter that is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, which is described later. Thus, a corrected value of one or each of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is obtained. The corrected value is used for calculating the distance. The use of the correction parameter decreases the phase errors that occur by the circuits.; [0064] These problems can be solved by performing the following processing. A correction parameter is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and the correction parameter is used as a correction value to obtain a corrected distance that is calculated by using the phase difference between the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal. [0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated. [0071] Specifically, assuming that the phase of the corrected measurement detection signal in 480 MHz is φ10.sub.480′, φ10.sub.480′=φ10.sub.480−δφ. The phase difference between the phase φ10.sub.480′ and the phase φ10 is the distance to the object. This processing is performed by the distance calculating unit 213.).
Regarding claim 5, Tokuda teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the calibration calculation unit executes the calibration calculation processing on a basis of an elapsed time from previous execution ([0073] The correction parameter may be calculated at the timing when the distance measuring device 1 is started, at every predetermined time while the distance measuring device 1 is operated, or at the timing when a temperature variation of a threshold value or greater is detected.).
Regarding claim 6, Tokuda teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a distance measurement instruction is given during execution of the calibration calculation processing, the calibration calculation unit interrupts the calibration calculation processing and performs processing for distance measurement ([0035] FIG. 2 shows an outline of the signal processing unit 200... The RF switch 201 leads the reference detection signal to a first filter 203, and the RF switch 202 leads the measurement detection signal to a second filter 204. ...Under these conditions, the RF switch 201 is turned on while the RF switch 202 is turned off at the timing when the reference detection signal enters the RF switch 201, whereas the RF switch 202 is turned on while the RF switch 201 is turned off at the other time.[0073] The correction parameter may also be calculated at multiple timings that are selected from among the above timings or at another timing. Naturally, the timing for performing the calibration processing may be manually determined by an operator.).
Regarding claim 7, Tokuda teaches a calibration method in a distance measuring device ([Title]; [0027] The distance measuring device 1) that includes
a light emitting unit that emits light ([0027] The distance measuring device 1 includes a light emitting unit 100.), and
a light receiving sensor that receives the light emitted from the light emitting unit and reflected by a target object ([0032] The reference pulsed light and the measuring pulsed light are received by a light receiving element 113, such as a photodiode, and are converted into pulsed detection signals.), and
performs distance measurement by an indirect ToF method on a basis of a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor ([0056] The distance calculating unit 213 compares the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal in the same frequency and calculates the distance from the distance measuring device 1 to the object, which has been hit by the measuring light and has reflected the measuring light.),
the calibration method comprising performing, as calibration calculation processing for obtaining a correction parameter for distance information calculated by the indirect ToF method ([0043] a correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0056] At this time, at least one of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is corrected by using a correction parameter that is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated.),
calculation processing using a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a first light emission frequency and a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a second light emission frequency different from the first light emission frequency ([0075] As described above, in this embodiment, the distance calculating unit 1 includes the first filter 203 that receives the detection signal of the reference pulsed light, and the second filter 204 that has the center frequency different from that of the first filter 203 and that receives the detection signal of the measuring pulsed light. The distance calculating unit 1 also includes the adder circuit 207 that adds the outputs from the first filter 203 and the second filter 204 together, the A/D converter 209 that receives the output signal from the adder circuit 207, and the separated-signal calculating unit 211 that processes the output from the A/D converter 209 by FFT analysis and that generates the first separated signal corresponding to the reference detection signal and the second separated signal corresponding to the measurement detection signal.).
Regarding claim 18, Tokuda teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the light emission frequencies differ by at least a predetermined frequency interval that resolved phase ambiguity in an indirect ToF measurement ([0039] ω=2πf; [0049] A group delay Tg is obtained by differentiating a phase difference φ between an input waveform and an output waveform with an angle frequency ω and is represented as Tg=−dφ/dω. In the above case, when Tg is constant, the phase difference φ is proportional to the angle frequency ω).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10-13, 15-16, 19-20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuda in view of Ohtomo et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20110169948 A1), hereinafter Ohtomo.
Regarding claim 8, Tokuda teaches a distance measuring device ([Title]; [0027] The distance measuring device 1), comprising:
a light emitting unit that emits light ([0027] The distance measuring device 1 includes a light emitting unit 100.);
a light receiving sensor that receives the light emitted from the light emitting unit and reflected by a target object ([0032] The reference pulsed light and the measuring pulsed light are received by a light receiving element 113, such as a photodiode, and are converted into pulsed detection signals.); and
a calibration calculation unit that performs, as calibration calculation processing for obtaining a correction parameter for distance information calculated by an indirect ToF method on a basis of a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor ([0043] a correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0056] At this time, at least one of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is corrected by using a correction parameter that is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated.),
performs, as the calibration calculation processing, calculation processing using a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emitting unit performs light emission at a first light emission frequency and a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a second light emission frequency different from the first light emission frequency ([0075] As described above, in this embodiment, the distance calculating unit 1 includes the first filter 203 that receives the detection signal of the reference pulsed light, and the second filter 204 that has the center frequency different from that of the first filter 203 and that receives the detection signal of the measuring pulsed light. The distance calculating unit 1 also includes the adder circuit 207 that adds the outputs from the first filter 203 and the second filter 204 together, the A/D converter 209 that receives the output signal from the adder circuit 207, and the separated-signal calculating unit 211 that processes the output from the A/D converter 209 by FFT analysis and that generates the first separated signal corresponding to the reference detection signal and the second separated signal corresponding to the measurement detection signal.).
Tokuda fails to teach the device comprising a sensor with a plurality of pixels, and a calculation processing using a condition that respective distance measurement points projected onto a plurality of the pixels are in a specific positional relationship with each other.
However, Ohtomo teaches a device comprising a sensor with a plurality of pixels ([0024] The photodetection element 12 is an array sensor having the pixels 11a, 11b, 11c, . . . and 11n arranged in a matrix)
calculation processing using a condition that respective distance measurement points projected onto a plurality of the pixels are in a specific positional relationship with each other ([0024] The photodetection element 12 is an array sensor having the pixels 11a, 11b, 11c, . . . and 11n arranged in a matrix. Each photodetection element 12 converts a photodetection amount into electrical signal (i.e., electric charge) and output the electrical signal. Positions of the pixels 11 on the photodetection element 12 can be specified.; [0054] Thus, a distance to the object to be measured 32 corresponding to the pixel 11a is obtained. That is, a distance about the pixel 11a can be measured through the acquisition of the image data of the frame memories 19 of the number corresponding to the dividing number with respect to the object to be measured 32.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the pixel array used to calculate distance by positional relationships similar to Ohtomo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a known sensor array system for depth and relative position measuring to generate a more complete distance map of a surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 10, Tokuda, as modified above, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 8, wherein the calibration calculation unit performs, as the calibration calculation processing, calculation processing using a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a first light emission frequency and a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a second light emission frequency different from the first light emission frequency ([0075] As described above, in this embodiment, the distance calculating unit 1 includes the first filter 203 that receives the detection signal of the reference pulsed light, and the second filter 204 that has the center frequency different from that of the first filter 203 and that receives the detection signal of the measuring pulsed light. The distance calculating unit 1 also includes the adder circuit 207 that adds the outputs from the first filter 203 and the second filter 204 together, the A/D converter 209 that receives the output signal from the adder circuit 207, and the separated-signal calculating unit 211 that processes the output from the A/D converter 209 by FFT analysis and that generates the first separated signal corresponding to the reference detection signal and the second separated signal corresponding to the measurement detection signal.).
Regarding claim 11, Tokuda, as modified above, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 8, wherein the calibration calculation unit performs calculation processing based on a phase difference between light emission and light reception detected on a basis of the light reception signal, and obtains the correction parameter ([0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated.).
Regarding claim 12, Tokuda, as modified above, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 11, wherein the calibration calculation unit performs indefiniteness elimination processing of eliminating indefiniteness in units of 2π for the phase difference ([0039] ω=2πf; [0049] A group delay Tg is obtained by differentiating a phase difference φ between an input waveform and an output waveform with an angle frequency ω and is represented as Tg=−dφ/dω. In the above case, when Tg is constant, the phase difference φ is proportional to the angle frequency ω).
Regarding claim 13, Tokuda, as modified above, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 12, wherein the calibration calculation unit determines, among phase differences detected from the light reception signal when light emission is performed at a lowest light emission frequency that is a lowest light emission frequency among light emission frequencies of the light emitting unit for the calibration calculation processing, a determined phase difference detected from the light reception signal having an amplitude equal to or more than a predetermined value as a phase difference corresponding to the lowest light emission frequency, and performs processing of eliminating the indefiniteness with respect to the phase difference corresponding to another one of the light emission frequencies other than the lowest light emission frequency on a basis of the determined phase difference corresponding to the lowest light emission frequency ([0056] The distance calculating unit 213 compares the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal in the same frequency and calculates the distance from the distance measuring device 1 to the object, which has been hit by the measuring light and has reflected the measuring light. At this time, at least one of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is corrected by using a correction parameter that is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, which is described later. Thus, a corrected value of one or each of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is obtained. The corrected value is used for calculating the distance. The use of the correction parameter decreases the phase errors that occur by the circuits.; [0064] These problems can be solved by performing the following processing. A correction parameter is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and the correction parameter is used as a correction value to obtain a corrected distance that is calculated by using the phase difference between the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal. [0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated. [0071] Specifically, assuming that the phase of the corrected measurement detection signal in 480 MHz is φ10.sub.480′, φ10.sub.480′=φ10.sub.480−δφ. The phase difference between the phase φ10.sub.480′ and the phase φ10 is the distance to the object. This processing is performed by the distance calculating unit 213.).
Regarding claim 15, Tokuda teaches a calibration method comprising,
receiving a light reception signal by a plurality of pixels of a light receiving sensor that receives light emitted from a light emitting unit and reflected by a target object ([0032] The reference pulsed light and the measuring pulsed light are received by a light receiving element 113, such as a photodiode, and are converted into pulsed detection signals.);
performing, as calibration calculation processing for obtaining a correction parameter for distance information calculated by an indirect ToF method on a basis of a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor ([0043] a correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0056] At this time, at least one of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is corrected by using a correction parameter that is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated.),
performing, as the calibration calculation processing, calculation processing using a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a first light emission frequency and a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a second light emission frequency different from the first light emission frequency ([0075] As described above, in this embodiment, the distance calculating unit 1 includes the first filter 203 that receives the detection signal of the reference pulsed light, and the second filter 204 that has the center frequency different from that of the first filter 203 and that receives the detection signal of the measuring pulsed light. The distance calculating unit 1 also includes the adder circuit 207 that adds the outputs from the first filter 203 and the second filter 204 together, the A/D converter 209 that receives the output signal from the adder circuit 207, and the separated-signal calculating unit 211 that processes the output from the A/D converter 209 by FFT analysis and that generates the first separated signal corresponding to the reference detection signal and the second separated signal corresponding to the measurement detection signal.),
wherein performing the calculation processing comprises executing hardware-implemented signal processing on the light reception signal obtained from the plurality of pixel of the light receiving signal ([0028] a signal processing unit 200,).
Tokuda fails to teach a method comprising calculation processing using a condition that respective distance measurement points projected onto a plurality of the pixels are in a specific positional relationship with each other; and
However, Ohtomo teaches a method comprising a calculation processing using a condition that respective distance measurement points projected onto a plurality of the pixels are in a specific positional relationship with each other ([0024] The photodetection element 12 is an array sensor having the pixels 11a, 11b, 11c, . . . and 11n arranged in a matrix. Each photodetection element 12 converts a photodetection amount into electrical signal (i.e., electric charge) and output the electrical signal. Positions of the pixels 11 on the photodetection element 12 can be specified.; [0054] Thus, a distance to the object to be measured 32 corresponding to the pixel 11a is obtained. That is, a distance about the pixel 11a can be measured through the acquisition of the image data of the frame memories 19 of the number corresponding to the dividing number with respect to the object to be measured 32.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the pixel array used to calculate distance by positional relationships similar to Ohtomo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a known sensor array system for depth and relative position measuring to generate a more complete distance map of a surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 16, Tokuda, as modified above, teaches the calibration method according to claim 15, further comprising: determining a correction parameter by performing 2π phase unwrapping on phase differences obtained from the plurality of pixels ([0039] ω=2πf; [0049] A group delay Tg is obtained by differentiating a phase difference φ between an input waveform and an output waveform with an angle frequency ω and is represented as Tg=−dφ/dω. In the above case, when Tg is constant, the phase difference φ is proportional to the angle frequency ω).
Regarding claim 19, Tokuda, as modified, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 8,
Tokuda fails to teach the device wherein the specific positional relationship comprises that the plurality of distance measurement points lie on a planar surface.
However, Ohtomo teaches the device wherein the specific positional relationship comprises that the plurality of distance measurement points lie on a planar surface ([0024] The photodetection element 12 is an array sensor having the pixels 11a, 11b, 11c, . . . and 11n arranged in a matrix. Each photodetection element 12 converts a photodetection amount into electrical signal (i.e., electric charge) and output the electrical signal. Positions of the pixels 11 on the photodetection element 12 can be specified.; [0054] Thus, a distance to the object to be measured 32 corresponding to the pixel 11a is obtained. That is, a distance about the pixel 11a can be measured through the acquisition of the image data of the frame memories 19 of the number corresponding to the dividing number with respect to the object to be measured 32.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the pixel array used to calculate distance by positional relationships similar to Ohtomo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a known sensor array system for depth and relative position measuring to generate a more complete distance map of a surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 20, Tokuda, as modified, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 8,
Tokuda fails to teach the device wherein the calibration calculation unit identifies the specific positional relationship by fitting the plurality of distance measurement points to a geometrical constraint comprising a plane or surface of known curvature.
However, Ohtomo teaches the device wherein the calibration calculation unit identifies the specific positional relationship by fitting the plurality of distance measurement points to a geometrical constraint comprising a plane or surface of known curvature ([0021] A grating 33 illustrated in FIG. 1 is a virtual surface corresponding to a photodetection surface of the photodetection element 12. Each grid of the grating 33; [0054] Thus, a distance to the object to be measured 32 corresponding to the pixel 11a is obtained. That is, a distance about the pixel 11a can be measured through the acquisition of the image data of the frame memories 19 of the number corresponding to the dividing number with respect to the object to be measured 32.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the pixel array used to calculate distance by positional relationships similar to Ohtomo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a known sensor array system for depth and relative position measuring to generate a more complete distance map of a surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 21, Tokuda teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for calibration, the program being executable by a processor to perform operations ([0026] and hardware and software that are the same as those equipped in a publicly known distance measuring device.) comprising:
receiving a light reception signal by a plurality of pixels of a light receiving sensor that receives light emitted from a light emitting unit and reflected by a target object ([0032] The reference pulsed light and the measuring pulsed light are received by a light receiving element 113, such as a photodiode, and are converted into pulsed detection signals.);
performing, as calibration calculation processing for obtaining a correction parameter for distance information calculated by an indirect ToF method on a basis of a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor ([0043] a correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0056] At this time, at least one of the phases of the reference detection signal and the measurement detection signal is corrected by using a correction parameter that is calculated by the correction parameter calculating unit 216; [0070] In view of this, the phases of the first calibration separated signal and the second calibration separated signal are compared with each other by the correction parameter calculating unit 216, and a correction parameter is calculated.),
performing, as the calibration calculation processing, calculation processing using a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a first light emission frequency and a light reception signal of the light receiving sensor when the light emitting unit performs light emission at a second light emission frequency different from the first light emission frequency ([0075] As described above, in this embodiment, the distance calculating unit 1 includes the first filter 203 that receives the detection signal of the reference pulsed light, and the second filter 204 that has the center frequency different from that of the first filter 203 and that receives the detection signal of the measuring pulsed light. The distance calculating unit 1 also includes the adder circuit 207 that adds the outputs from the first filter 203 and the second filter 204 together, the A/D converter 209 that receives the output signal from the adder circuit 207, and the separated-signal calculating unit 211 that processes the output from the A/D converter 209 by FFT analysis and that generates the first separated signal corresponding to the reference detection signal and the second separated signal corresponding to the measurement detection signal.).
Tokuda fails to teach a method comprising calculation processing using a condition that respective distance measurement points projected onto a plurality of the pixels are in a specific positional relationship with each other
However, Ohtomo teaches a method comprising calculation processing using a condition that respective distance measurement points projected onto a plurality of the pixels are in a specific positional relationship with each other ([0024] The photodetection element 12 is an array sensor having the pixels 11a, 11b, 11c, . . . and 11n arranged in a matrix. Each photodetection element 12 converts a photodetection amount into electrical signal (i.e., electric charge) and output the electrical signal. Positions of the pixels 11 on the photodetection element 12 can be specified.; [0054] Thus, a distance to the object to be measured 32 corresponding to the pixel 11a is obtained. That is, a distance about the pixel 11a can be measured through the acquisition of the image data of the frame memories 19 of the number corresponding to the dividing number with respect to the object to be measured 32.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the pixel array used to calculate distance by positional relationships similar to Ohtomo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing a known sensor array system for depth and relative position measuring to generate a more complete distance map of a surrounding environment.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuda in view of Ohtomo, further in view of Rafii et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20030063775 A1), hereinafter Rafii.
Regarding claim 9, Tokuda, as modified above, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 8,
Tokuda fails to teach the device wherein the calibration calculation unit performs calculation processing using a condition that the distance measurement points are on an object having a known shape as the calibration calculation processing
However, Rafii teaches the device wherein the calibration calculation unit performs calculation processing using a condition that the distance measurement points are on an object having a known shape as the calibration calculation processing ([0048] Shown in FIG. 2A is an optional reflectivity target 520 having at least one region of known and preferably calibrated reflectance. For ease of illustration target 520 is drawn in the plane of substrate 50. In practice, however, target 520 will have a somewhat elevated surface to ensure being observed by system 10. A similar target, shown as a ring 520 worn on one or more of a user's fingers is also shown in FIG. 1B. When one or more such targets are placed on substrate 50 or otherwise within the field of view of system 10 as shown in FIG. 1B, system 10 upon locating such targets can calibrate reflectance data using known information previously stored (e.g., within memory 280 and/or 285 from such targets), or using information now acquired from the calibrated target.; [0147] Note that a system-recognizable reflectivity-calibrated sub-target can be placed within the field of view to assist in the above determinations.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the test object of known shape similar to Rafii, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of quickly calibrating in reference to a target of already known shape and dimensions, expediting the calibration process overall.
Regarding claim 14, Tokuda, as modified, teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 8,
Tokuda fails to teach the device further comprising a guide display processing unit that performs display processing of a guide image that guides a composition for satisfying a condition that the distance measurement points are in a specific positional relationship with each other
However, Rafii teaches a device further comprising a guide display processing unit that performs display processing of a guide image that guides a composition for satisfying a condition that the distance measurement points are in a specific positional relationship with each other ([0058] As shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, if desired a light or other projector 145 that emits visual light beams 147 could be used to project an image of a virtual keyboard to guide the user in typing. For example, a source of visible light (perhaps laser light in a visible wavelength) may be used with diffraction type lenses to project an image to guide the user in typing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the display image guide used for calibrating the distance sensor similar to Rafii, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of more easily calibrating the overall system by means of user alignment of the imaging system with a target expected by the sensor.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuda in view of Sun et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20160010986 A1), hereinafter Sun.
Regarding claim 17, Tokuda teaches the distance measuring device according to claim 1,
Tokuda fails to teach the device wherein the light emitting unit is configured to switch between the first light emission frequency and the second light emission frequency according to a timing signal generated by the calibration calculation unit.
However, Sun teaches the device wherein the light emitting unit is configured to switch between the first light emission frequency and the second light emission frequency according to a timing signal generated by the calibration calculation unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Tokuda to comprise the timing based emission system of two frequencies similar to Sun, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known system in the art to space out the frequency emissions towards a target for enhance cohesion of the returned signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 6th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments that Tokuda fails to disclose the limitations of claim 1, specifically the light emissions, is not persuasive. The filters to which the prior art points to are arranged in a way such that they can filter the two light beams emitted from the same source. One light beam is used as a reference light and the other is used as a measuring source. As the filter is used with different frequencies, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation to one of reasonable skill in the art is taught by the prior art of Tokuda. Similarly, the likewise arguments that Tokuda would then fail to teach the limitations of the similar independent claims are also found unpersuasive.
Further, the argument that Tokuda and Ohtomo fail to disclose the pixel arrangement of the immediate application are likewise unpersuasive. The geometric properties of the pixels array and configuration, as a pixel-by-pixel sensor, requires that the pixels be in a specific positional relationship with each other, as claimed in the limitation. As such the rejection is maintained in this Final Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645