DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 3, 21, 23, and 29-30 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 are presently pending.
1. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 14-19, 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (US 20230380002, hereinafter, “HONG”) in view of US 20230247401, hereinafter, “YU”), and further in view of Park et al. (US 20100255859, hereinafter, “Park”).
Claim 1. HONG teaches: A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: - See Fig. 9
identifying that the UE is operating in accordance with a first state, wherein the first state is either a radio resource control-inactive state or a radio resource control-idle state; - in ¶ [0151 - 0152], (“the network may allow the UE in the RRC idle/inactive state to configure an RRC connection to receive the corresponding MBS configuration through paging…allow only UEs interested in the corresponding MBS session to perform the following operations to receive the corresponding configuration.”)
wherein the trigger message comprises a radio resource control paging message – in ¶ [0192], (“the message for MBS session notification may be a paging message.”) that triggers the UE to transition from the first state to a connected state – in ¶ [0294], (“Upon receiving the MBS session notification through the above-described message, the controller 1410 may initiate the RRC connection resume procedure to switch the state from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state.”) and includes a paging record which indicates that one or more multicast services are available for use by the UE while the UE is in the connected state, - in ¶ [0255], (“The paging message may include the paging record or UE identifier information element included in the paging record.”)
determining whether to transition from the first state to the connected state to receive the one or more multicast services based at least in part on the trigger message. - in ¶ [0295], (“upon receiving the paging message for MBS session notification, the controller 1410 identifies the MBS session identification information included in the paging message. When joining the MBS session included in the paging message, the controller 1410 may trigger initiation of the RRC connection resume procedure to switch to the RRC connected state…¶ [0296], (“the UE 1400 may switch the RRC state only when necessary based on the notification for the MBS session, preventing unnecessary power consumption.”)
HONG does not explicitly teach:
receiving, in downlink control information, scheduling information that indicates one or more occasions to receive a trigger message in a physical downlink shared channel, wherein the trigger message comprises a radio resource control paging message that triggers the UE to transition from the first state to a connected state and includes a paging record which indicates that one or more multicast services are available for use by the UE while the UE is in the connected state;
receiving the trigger message based at least in part on the scheduling information;
However, YU teaches:
receiving, in downlink control information, scheduling information that indicates one or more occasions to receive a trigger message in a physical downlink shared channel, - in ¶ [0215], (“the terminal device may receive third information from the network device…¶ [0216]… the third information is carried on a PDSCH for paging (on a resource indicated by DCI for scheduling a paging message)…¶ [0217]…the third information is carried in first DCI, the first DCI is used to schedule a paging message (therefore, the DCI may also be referred to as scheduling information), and the paging message may be used to indicate arrival of the multicast service.”); ¶ [0224], (“…paging occasions (PO). The terminal device attempts to receive a paging message on a PO…to save energy. Therefore, the network device needs to send, at a time domain position of the PO, the DCI used to schedule the paging message, so that the terminal device can receive the paging message.”)
wherein the trigger message comprises a radio resource control paging message that triggers the UE to transition from the first state to a connected state and includes a paging record which indicates that one or more multicast services are available for use by the UE while the UE is in the connected state; - See Fig. 19, ¶ [0222], (“the first DCI may be used to schedule a paging message, and the information used to indicate that the data of the multicast service is to be sent may be included in the paging message.”); ¶ [0245], (“If the terminal device is in an idle mode or an inactive mode…after the terminal device enters a connected mode, the network device sends the multicast configuration information to the terminal device by using RRC signaling, where the RRC signaling may be an RRC reconfiguration message or another RRC message”)
receiving the trigger message based at least in part on the scheduling information; - in ¶ [0224], (“The terminal device attempts to receive a paging message on a PO in time domain…Therefore, the network device needs to send, at a time domain position of the PO, the DCI used to schedule the paging message, so that the terminal device can receive the paging message.”) and
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG with YU to include receiving scheduling information that indicates occasions for receiving a trigger message in a PDSCH, one or more multicast services are available for use by the UE in the connected state, and receiving the trigger message based on the scheduling information, as taught by YU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce energy consumption, as suggested by YU, The terminal device attempts to receive a paging message on a PO in time domain but does not need to listen to a paging message at another time domain position, to save energy. - ¶ [0224]
Combination of HONG and YU does not explicitly teach:
wherein the paging record includes a UE specific paging record and a multicast group paging record;
However, Park teaches:
wherein the paging record includes a UE specific paging record and a multicast group paging record; - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0054], (“the paging message includes a type indicator indicating a paging type. The paging type is the type of a service or the type of control information to be provided to the UE”); ¶ [0067], (“The paging type indicator 711 indicates the paging type of the related paging record 710…the paging type indicator 711 may be a specific bit or a bit sequence indicating the paging type…The type indicator may be UE-specific, service-specific or group-specific…¶ [0068], (“the paging type indicator 711 indicates whether the related paging record 710 is associated with a MBMS service, a UE-dedicated terminating call or a UE group command…When the paging type indicator 711 indicates that the related paging record 710 is associated with a UE group command, the paging content 712 further includes information of commands common to a plurality of UEs.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG and YU with Park to include the paging record includes a UE specific paging record and a multicast group paging record, as taught by Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve reliability, as suggested by Park, solve the problem lies in providing a method for simultaneously or selectively receiving control information associated with different kinds of services using a paging procedure. - ¶ [0009]
Claim 2. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: receiving the radio resource control paging message in accordance with the scheduling information; - in ¶ [0219 - 0220], (“the system information scheduling information…the MBS configuration information may be received through the RRC dedicated message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) transmitted from the base station…the MBS configuration information may be received through the (periodically broadcast) MBS control logical channel message…the MBS configuration information may be received through a CCCH RRC message (broadcast in response to the request) to indicate the MBS configuration.”)
identifying a first field in the radio resource control paging message that indicates a multicast group paging identity associated with the one or more multicast services; - in ¶ [0244], (“the RNTI for MBS data identification means a multicast session/multicast group specific RNTI or a group common RNTI for multicast traffic/data, similar to SC-RNTI and G-RNTI.”); ¶ [0255 - 0256], (“The paging message transmitted to the UE by the base station may include one or more of MBS session ID information, information for indicating the MBS session state, and information for indicating activation/deactivation of the MBS session…If the MBS session ID is a value smaller than 48 bits, it may be included and transmitted on the UE identifier information element. When the MBS session ID included in the paging message matches the MBS session ID of the inactive multicast session joined by the UE, the UE may initiate/perform any operation for receiving data…”) and transitioning to the connected state to receive the one or more multicast services based at least in part on the multicast group paging identity. - in ¶ [0151], (“the network may allow the UE in the RRC idle/inactive state to configure an RRC connection to receive the corresponding MBS configuration through paging.”); ¶ [0256], (“When the MBS session ID included in the paging message matches the MBS session ID of the inactive multicast session joined by the UE, the UE may initiate/perform any operation for receiving data through the MBS radio bearer or any procedure (RRC resume or RRC establishment) to resume the MBS radio bearer.”)
Claim 3. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Park further teaches:
wherein the first field comprises a paging record type field comprising the paging record. – in ¶ [0066], (“Each paging record includes a paging type indicator…¶ [0067] The paging type indicator 711 indicates the paging type of the related paging record 710. As described above, the paging type indicator 711 may be a specific bit or a bit sequence indicating the paging type. The paging type indicator 711 may be a unique identifier, unique identification information or a unique index that is defined according to the paging type. The type indicator may be UE-specific, service-specific or group-specific.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG and YU with Park to include the first field comprises a paging record type field comprising the paging record, as taught by Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency, as suggested by Park, solve the problem lies in providing a method for simultaneously or selectively receiving control information associated with different kinds of services using a paging procedure. - ¶ [0009]
Claim 4. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
wherein the multicast group paging identity comprises a group-radio network temporary identifier, a temporary mobile group identity, a multicast-broadcast session identifier, or any combination thereof. - in ¶ [0244], (“the RNTI for MBS data identification means a multicast session/multicast group specific RNTI or a group common RNTI for multicast traffic/data, similar to SC-RNTI and G-RNTI.”); ¶ [0255 - 0256], (“The paging message transmitted to the UE by the base station may include one or more of MBS session ID information…”)
Claim 5. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: identifying, in the radio resource control paging message, a service type indication associated with receiving the one or more multicast services - in ¶ [0155], (“the MBS session may be classified in association with any (5G) QoS parameter. As another example, the MBS session may be classified on the MBS session identifier. As another example, the MBS session may be classified through modular operation.”) based at least in part on the multicast group paging identity. - in ¶ [0255], (“When the MBS session ID included in the paging message matches the MBS session ID of the inactive multicast session joined by the UE, the UE may initiate/perform any operation for receiving data through the MBS radio bearer”)
Claim 6. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: receiving the radio resource control paging message in accordance with the scheduling information; - in ¶ [0219 - 0220], (“the system information scheduling information…the MBS configuration information may be received through the RRC dedicated message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) transmitted from the base station…the MBS configuration information may be received through the (periodically broadcast) MBS control logical channel message. As another example, the MBS configuration information may be received through a CCCH RRC message (broadcast in response to the request) to indicate the MBS configuration.”)
identifying a paging identifier in the radio resource control paging message, wherein the paging identifier comprises a paging record and a multicast session identifier associated with the UE; - in ¶ [0255], (“The paging message may include the paging record or UE identifier information element included in the paging record. As the UE identifier information element included in the paging record, a 48-bit NG-5G-S-TMSI or a 40-bit full-RNTI may be selected. If the MBS session ID is a value smaller than 48 bits, it may be included and transmitted on the UE identifier information element.”) and transitioning to the connected state to receive the one or more multicast services based at least in part on the paging identifier. – in ¶ [0256], (“When the MBS session ID included in the paging message matches the MBS session ID of the inactive multicast session joined by the UE, the UE may initiate/perform any operation for receiving data through the MBS radio bearer or any procedure (RRC resume or RRC establishment) to resume the MBS radio bearer.”)
Claim 7. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YU further teaches:
further comprising: determining that the scheduling information is scheduling the one or more multicast services based at least in part on a value of a one-bit indicator received in the downlink control information. - in ¶ [0337], (“obtaining manner of multicast configuration information of the multicast service by using scheduling information (that is, first DCI) of the paging message.”); ¶ [0342], (“the scheduling information may carry indication information of the obtaining manner of the multicast configuration information, for example, 1-bit (or more) indication information.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG with YU to include determining that the scheduling information is scheduling the one or more multicast services based at least in part on a value of a one-bit indicator received in the DCI, as taught by YU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in reliable reception of trigger messages and scheduled multicast data, as suggested by YU, the first DCI may be used to indicate the obtaining manner of the multicast configuration information of the multicast service. This improves efficiency of obtaining the multicast configuration information. - ¶ [0217]
Claim 8. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: receiving the trigger message in a system information block, the system information block comprising a multicast-broadcast control channel configuration; – in ¶ [0199], (“the MBS configuration information for the RRC idle/inactive UE to receive MBS data may be indicated through MBS-related system information and/or MBS control logical channel”); ¶ [0149], (“MBS control information/configuration parameters for MBS data reception through the SIB”) and determining whether to receive the one or more multicast services on a multicast- broadcast control channel in accordance with the first state or the connected state based at least in part on the multicast-broadcast control channel configuration. - in ¶ [0149], (“MBS control information/configuration parameters for MBS data reception through the SIB only may affect other UEs which are not interested in receiving the MBS when system information is changed due to a change in any parameter related to the MBS session. For example, even for the UE which is not interested in receiving the MBS, if the UE is notified of a system information change, it should be checked whether a change is made to any system information related to the UE regardless of whether the UE is interested in receiving the MBS.”)
Claim 9. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YU further teaches:
further comprising: receiving a multicast-broadcast control channel change notification during a multicast-broadcast control channel modification period, - in ¶ [0133], (“if a repetition period RP of the SC-MCCH is one radio frame, 48 SC-MCCHs are included in one modification period.”); ¶ [0140], (“Content of the SC-MCCH in a same MP is the same. When the SC-MCCH changes, a PDCCH including a change notification (MCCH change notification) is sent.”)
wherein the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification indicates content change information for the multicast-broadcast control channel; - in ¶ [0140], (“Content of the SC-MCCH in a same MP is the same. When the SC-MCCH changes, a PDCCH including a change notification (MCCH change notification) is sent.”) and
monitoring the multicast-broadcast control channel for the content change information based at least in part on the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification. - in ¶ [0133], (“if a repetition period RP of the SC-MCCH is one radio frame, 48 SC-MCCHs are included in one modification period.”); ¶ [0140], (“Content of the SC-MCCH in a same MP is the same. When the SC-MCCH changes, a PDCCH including a change notification (MCCH change notification) is sent.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG with YU to specify the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification, as taught by YU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in reliable reception of trigger messages and scheduled multicast data, as suggested by YU, the first DCI may be used to indicate the obtaining manner of the multicast configuration information of the multicast service. This improves efficiency of obtaining the multicast configuration information. - ¶ [0217]
Claim 10. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Park further teaches:
wherein the content change information indicates a start of a multicast-broadcast session, a change in multicast-broadcast control channel content or service, or both. - in ¶ [0057], (“the control information associated with the MBMS service includes information as to whether or not a specific MBMS service has started, whether or not a change has been made in MTCH configuration information associated with the specific MBMS service, or whether or not a change has been made in control information transmitted in a MCCH associated with the MBMS service.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG and YU with Park to specify the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification, as taught by Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve reliability, as suggested by Park, solve the problem lies in providing a method for simultaneously or selectively receiving control information associated with different kinds of services using a paging procedure. - ¶ [0009]
Claim 11. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YU further teaches:
wherein the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification comprises a downlink control information message scrambled with a multicast-broadcast control channel radio network temporary identifier, a medium access control message, a system information block, or any combination thereof. - in ¶ [0140], (“a PDCCH including a change notification (MCCH change notification) is sent…The SC-N-RNTI is used to scramble the change notification. When obtaining the SC-MCCH, the terminal device needs to detect the PDCCH scrambled by the SC-RNTI, to obtain scheduling information of the SC-MCCH.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG with YU to include to specify the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification, as taught by YU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in reliable reception of trigger messages and scheduled multicast data, as suggested by YU, the first DCI may be used to indicate the obtaining manner of the multicast configuration information of the multicast service. This improves efficiency of obtaining the multicast configuration information. - ¶ [0217]
Claim 14. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: identifying a change to a multicast service or a broadcast service based at least in part on the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification; - in ¶ [0188], (“the MBS control channel change notification may be indicated using one or more bits…Upon receiving the paging message (or short message), the UE may recognize the change and receive and apply the MBS control channel.”) and
determining whether to transition to the connected state or to remain in the first state to receive the change based at least in part on the multicast service or the broadcast service. - in ¶ [0149], (“even for the UE which is not interested in receiving the MBS, if the UE is notified of a system information change, it should be checked whether a change is made to any system information related to the UE regardless of whether the UE is interested in receiving the MBS.”); ¶ [0295], (“upon receiving the paging message for MBS session notification, the controller 1410 identifies the MBS session identification information included in the paging message. When joining the MBS session included in the paging message, the controller 1410 may trigger initiation of the RRC connection resume procedure to switch to the RRC connected state…¶ [0296], (“the UE 1400 may switch the RRC state only when necessary based on the notification for the MBS session, preventing unnecessary power consumption.”)
Claim 15. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: receiving, in the downlink control information, an indication that the trigger message is included with the downlink control information in a physical downlink control channel, - in ¶ [0156], (“The short message may be masked using the P-RNTI and transmitted on the PDCCH. The short message may also be transmitted using a short message field in DCI format 1_0.”) wherein the trigger message comprises a short message that indicates the one or more multicast services. - in ¶ [0158], (“an MBS control channel change may be notified of using one (or more) bit among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message…Upon receiving the paging message (or short message), the UE may recognize the change and receive and apply the MBS control channel. The UE may transfer and apply the message to the higher layer and receive MBS data.”)
Claim 16. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: identifying a plurality of reserved bits associated with the short message; - See Fig. 11, ¶ [0158], (“an MBS control channel change may be notified of using one (or more) bit among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message.”)
determining a value of one or more bits of the plurality of reserved bits, wherein the value of the one or more bits indicates the one or more multicast services; - in ¶ [0158], (“the MBS control channel change notification may be indicated using one or more bits among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message. Upon receiving the paging message (or short message), the UE may recognize the change and receive and apply the MBS control channel”) and transitioning to the connected state to receive the one or more multicast services based at least in part on the value of the one or more bits. - in ¶ [0158], (“The UE may transfer and apply the message to the higher layer and receive MBS data. Otherwise, the UE may perform an operation for receiving and processing a paging message…”)
Claim 17. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 16, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: determining the one or more bits comprises a single reserved bit associated with the short message; - See Fig. 11, ¶ [0158], (“an MBS control channel change may be notified of using one (or more) bit among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message.”) and transitioning to the connected state to receive the one or more multicast services based at least in part on a value of the single reserved bit. - in ¶ [0158], (“Upon receiving the paging message (or short message), the UE may recognize the change and receive and apply the MBS control channel. The UE may transfer and apply the message to the higher layer and receive MBS data. Otherwise, the UE may perform an operation for receiving and processing a paging message…”)
Claim 18. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 16, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: determining the one or more bits comprises a set of reserved bits associated with the short message; - See Fig. 11, ¶ [0158], (“an MBS control channel change may be notified of using one (or more) bit among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message.”)
identifying a multicast service or a group of multicast services of the one or more multicast services based at least in part on a value of the set of reserved bits; - in ¶ [0158], (“Upon receiving the paging message (or short message), the UE may recognize the change and receive and apply the MBS control channel. The UE may transfer and apply the message to the higher layer and receive MBS data.”) and transitioning to the connected state to receive the multicast service or the group of multicast services based at least in part on the value of the set of reserved bits. - in ¶ [0158], (“Upon receiving the paging message (or short message), the UE may recognize the change and receive and apply the MBS control channel. The UE may transfer and apply the message to the higher layer and receive MBS data.”)
Claim 19. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 18, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
wherein identifying the multicast service or the group of multicast services further comprises: receiving a radio resource control message indicating a mapping between the value of the set of reserved bits and a plurality of different multicast services or groups of multicast services. See Fig. 11, ¶ [0158], (“an MBS control channel change may be notified of using one (or more) bit among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message.”); ¶ [0158], (“Upon receiving the paging message (or short message), the UE may recognize the change and receive and apply the MBS control channel. The UE may transfer and apply the message to the higher layer and receive MBS data. Otherwise, the UE may perform an operation for receiving and processing a paging message…”)
Claim 22. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 21, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: transmitting the radio resource control paging message in accordance with the scheduling information, - in ¶ [0219 - 0220], (“the system information scheduling information…the MBS configuration information may be received through the RRC dedicated message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) transmitted from the base station…the MBS configuration information may be received through the (periodically broadcast) MBS control logical channel message…the MBS configuration information may be received through a CCCH RRC message…to indicate the MBS configuration.”) the radio resource control paging message including a first field in that indicates a multicast group paging identity associated with the one or more multicast services. - in ¶ [0244], (“the RNTI for MBS data identification means a multicast session/multicast group specific RNTI or a group common RNTI for multicast traffic/data, similar to SC-RNTI and G-RNTI.”); ¶ [0255 - 0256], (“The paging message transmitted to the UE by the base station may include one or more of MBS session ID information…When the MBS session ID included in the paging message matches the MBS session ID of the inactive multicast session joined by the UE, the UE may initiate/perform any operation for receiving data…”)
Claim 26. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 21, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: transmitting the radio resource control paging message in accordance with the scheduling information, - in ¶ [0219 - 0220], (“the system information scheduling information…the MBS configuration information may be received through the RRC dedicated message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) transmitted from the base station…the MBS configuration information may be received through the (periodically broadcast) MBS control logical channel message…the MBS configuration information may be received through a CCCH RRC message…to indicate the MBS configuration.”) the radio resource control paging message comprising a paging identifier that includes a paging record and a multicast session identifier associated with the UE. - in ¶ [0255], (“The paging message may include the paging record or UE identifier information element included in the paging record. As the UE identifier information element included in the paging record, a 48-bit NG-5G-S-TMSI or a 40-bit full-RNTI may be selected.”)
Claim 27. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 21, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YU further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting a one-bit indicator in the downlink control information, wherein the one-bit indicator comprises a notification that the one or more multicast services are scheduled. - in ¶ [0337], (“obtaining manner of multicast configuration information of the multicast service by using scheduling information (that is, first DCI) of the paging message.”); ¶ [0342], (“the scheduling information may carry indication information of the obtaining manner of the multicast configuration information, for example, 1-bit (or more) indication information.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG with YU to include transmitting a one-bit indicator, as taught by YU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in reliable reception of trigger messages and scheduled multicast data, as suggested by YU, the first DCI may be used to indicate the obtaining manner of the multicast configuration information of the multicast service. This improves efficiency of obtaining the multicast configuration information. - ¶ [0217]
Claim 28. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 21, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
HONG teaches:
further comprising: transmitting the trigger message in a system information block, the system information block including a multicast-broadcast control channel configuration. – in ¶ [0199], (“the MBS configuration information for the RRC idle/inactive UE to receive MBS data may be indicated through MBS-related system information and/or MBS control logical channel”); ¶ [0149], (“MBS control information/configuration parameters for MBS data reception through the SIB”)
Claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 3-5 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 29 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 30 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 21 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 21 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 12-13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (US 20230380002, hereinafter, “HONG”) in view of US 20230247401, hereinafter, “YU”), and further in view of Park et al. (US 20100255859, hereinafter, “Park”) and FUJISHIRO (WO 2018143246, hereinafter, “FUJISHIRO”).
Claim 12. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YU further teaches:
wherein the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification further comprises a single bit or a group of bits in a downlink control information message, - in ¶ [0158], (“an MBS control channel change may be notified of using one (or more) bit among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message. Or…may be indicated using one or more bits among the bits (e.g., 4-8) not used in the short message”)
Combination of HONG, YU, and Park does not explicitly teach:
wherein each bit of the group of bits indicates a different type of multicast-broadcast control channel change.
However, FUJISHIRO teaches:
wherein each bit of the group of bits indicates a different type of multicast-broadcast control channel change. - in ¶ [0115], (“assume that the notification information is three bits, with the first bit corresponding to TMGI A, the next bit corresponding to TMGI B, and the next bit corresponding to TMGI C. Under these assumptions, when eNB200 starts providing the MBMS service of TMGI B, it sends "010" as notification information”); ¶ [0088], (“The first notification is one bit in the (M/N) PDCCH transmitted using the SC-RNTI. The first notification indicates whether or not there is a change in the SC-MCCH”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG, YU, and Park with FUJISHIRO to specify the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification, as taught by FUJISHIRO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in reliable reception of scheduled multicast/broadcast data, as suggested by FUJISHIRO, the UE 100 in the RRC idle mode can transition to the RRC connected mode if the provision of a particular MBMS service that the UE 100 is interested in receiving does not start at the provision start time. - ¶ [0131]
Claim 13. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FUJISHIRO further teaches:
wherein the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification indicated by a group of bits comprises a start of a new multicast-broadcast session, - in ¶ [0090 - 0091], (“The third notification indicates whether a new MBMS service will be started within the next SC-MCCH modification period…The first to third notifications may be referred to as "Direct indications." Although an example in which the notification is made up of one bit has been described, the notification may be made up of multiple bits.”) an addition of a multicast-broadcast service, - in ¶ [0093], (“The predetermined notification information may be information indicating that the SC-MCCH (SC-PTM setting information) will be changed due to the second MBMS service. In this case, the specified notification information can be considered as an SC-MCCH change notification.”) an indication of a multicast-broadcast service update, or any combination thereof. - in ¶ [0089], (“The second notification indicates whether the SC-MTCH configuration of the MBMS service (TMGI) corresponding to the G-RNTI will be changed within the next SC-MCCH modification period.")
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG, YU, and Park with FUJISHIRO to specify the multicast-broadcast control channel change notification, as taught by FUJISHIRO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in reliable reception of scheduled multicast/broadcast data, as suggested by FUJISHIRO, the UE 100 in the RRC idle mode can transition to the RRC connected mode if the provision of a particular MBMS service that the UE 100 is interested in receiving does not start at the provision start time. - ¶ [0131]
Claim 20. Combination of HONG, YU, and Park teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FUJISHIRO further teaches:
further comprising: monitoring a group-radio network temporary identifier or paging radio network temporary identifier associated with the trigger message; - in ¶ [0068], (“Each SC-MTCH-Info includes information about the ongoing MBMS session (mbmsSessionInfo) transmitted via the SC-MRB, the G-RNTI (Group RNTI) corresponding to the MBMS session…The G-RNTI is an RNTI that identifies a multicast group (specifically, an SC-MTCH addressed to a specific group).”); ¶ [0117], (“eNB 200 transmits, to UE 100 via (M/N) PDCCH, control information including a 1-bit notification indicating that a new MBMS service will be started within the next SC-MCCH modification period.”) and identifying the trigger message associated with the one or more multicast services based at least in part on the monitoring. - in ¶ [0117], (“eNB 200 transmits, to UE 100 via (M/N) PDCCH, control information including a 1-bit notification indicating that a new MBMS service will be started within the next SC-MCCH modification period.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HONG, YU, and Park with FUJISHIRO to include monitoring a group-radio network temporary identifier or paging radio network temporary identifier associated with the trigger message; and identifying the trigger message associated with the one or more multicast services based at least in part on the monitoring, as taught by FUJISHIRO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to result in reliable reception of trigger messages and scheduled multicast/broadcast data, as suggested by FUJISHIRO, the UE 100 in the RRC idle mode can transition to the RRC connected mode if the provision of a particular MBMS service that the UE 100 is interested in receiving does not start at the provision start time. - ¶ [0131]
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475