Status of Claims
Claims 1-9, as filed 10 March 2023, are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (US 20150125746 A1) in view of Nakamura (US 20040077814 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Sonobe teaches a binder composition for a non-aqueous secondary battery negative electrode comprising a particulate binder (abstract: binder resin) and a dispersion medium, ([0101] medium for adjusting the viscosity … dispersing agent)
Sonobe does not explicitly teach wherein the particulate binder has a cross-linked structure through bonding via sulfur, however Sonobe teaches [0026] “copolymerizable monomers having crosslinkable
and reactive functional groups can also be added.” And [0036-0038] “other additives may include … thiuram-based compounds. [0038] “the amount of additive … 0 to 5 parts by mass of the copolymerizable monomers.”)
Nakamura, in the field of conjugated diene rubber gels, discloses [0077] a binder material having [0035] a particle size range of 5 to 1000 nm, and at [0050] the use of chain transfer agents, including thiuram disulfides, at 0.05 to 3 parts by weight. (Examiner notes that thiuram is an organosulfur compound). As shown in Table 3, the amount of chain transfer agent influences stickiness of the binder material and [0037] the toluene swelling index. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select a thiuram disulfide as one of several chain transfer agent for the binder of Sonobe, with a reasonable expectation of successfully improving stickiness and the toluene swelling index of the binder. The person of ordinary skill would then be motivated to optimize the amount of thiuram disulfide with a reasonable expectation of improving stickiness and the toluene swelling index, thus rendering obvious a sulfur cross-linked structure.
Sonobe discloses [0033] the copolymer is dispersed in solvent and [0040] dispersing agents. Sonobe at [0030] discloses the number average particle size of the obtained polymer (latex) is preferably 50 to 500 nm, further preferably 70 to 400 nm from the viewpoint in that the strength and flexibility of the obtained negative electrode is improved.
Sonobe is silent on sedimentation and does not teach an amount of sediment obtained upon centrifugation of the binder composition for a non-aqueous secondary battery negative electrode at a rotation speed of 110,000 rpm is less than 5.0 parts by mass when an amount of all solid content contained in the binder composition for a non-aqueous secondary battery negative electrode is taken to be 100 parts by mass. The chemistry of the claimed binder composition has been rendered obvious Sonobe in view of Nakamura, as set forth above. The gel content of Sonobe’s binder resin (abstract: 70 to 98%) falls within the claimed range of 40% to 99.5%. Because the chemistry and gel content of the claimed invention have been rendered obvious, therefore the binder composition of Sonobe in view of Nakamura necessarily meets the sediment limitation.
The optimized amount of thiuram disulfide as set forth above also renders obvious the limitation of claim 2, wherein a proportion constituted by sulfur among all solid content is 0. 1 mass% or more.
Regarding claim 3, Sonobe in view of Nakamura teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Sonobe further teaches wherein the particulate binder includes an aliphatic conjugated diene monomer unit. ([0023] examples of the conjugated diene-based monomers include isoprene, 2,3-dimethyl-1,3-butadiene, 1,3-pentadiene and piperylene.)
Regarding claim 4, Sonobe in view of Nakamura teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Sonobe further teaches wherein the particulate binder has (abstract) a gel content of 70 to 98%, which falls within the claimed range of 40% to 99.5%.
Regarding claim 5, Sonobe in view of Nakamura teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Sonobe further teaches a slurry composition for a non-aqueous secondary battery negative electrode comprising: a negative electrode active material; and the binder composition for a non-aqueous secondary battery negative electrode according to any one of claim1. ([0035])
Regarding claim 6, Sonobe in view of Nakamura teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Sonobe further teaches wherein the negative electrode active material includes a silicon-based negative electrode active material. ([0087])
Regarding claim 7, Sonobe in view of Nakamura teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Sonobe further teaches wherein a proportion constituted by the silicon-based negative electrode active material among the negative electrode active material is not less than 1 mass% and not more than 50 mass%. (Table 3)
Regarding claim 8, Sonobe in view of Nakamura teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Sonobe further teaches a negative electrode for a non-aqueous secondary battery comprising a negative electrode mixed material layer formed using the slurry composition for a non-aqueous secondary battery negative electrode according to claim 5. ([0121-0122])
Regarding claim 9, Sonobe in view of Nakamura teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Sonobe further teaches non-aqueous secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator, and an electrolyte solution, wherein the negative electrode is the negative electrode for a non-aqueous secondary battery according to claim 8. ([0129])
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 12/30/2025