18/044,827
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “claim 1,wherein wherein a first”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hynecek (US 2018/0308881 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hynecek discloses a light detecting device ([Abstract] A back side illuminated image sensor may operate… for single photon detection) comprising;
an avalanche photodiode disposed in a first layer ([0025]-[0026] image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101… In order to form the single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD));
readout circuitry disposed in a second layer and a third layer ([0025]-[0033] image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201 [second layer], and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301 [third layer]… analog pulse counting circuit 310 may include circuitry in the top chip (formed from SOI substrate 101 and SOI circuit portion 201) and circuitry in ASIC circuit 301), the readout circuitry including
quench circuitry coupled to the avalanche photodiode ([0033] The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409. Avalanche quenching transistor 403 may be a p-type transistor Examiner Note: Fig. 3 shows the quenching transistor 403 directly coupled to the SPAD node),
pulse shape circuitry coupled to the avalanche photodiode ([0033] The SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407 Examiner Note: The inverters act as the pulse shaping mechanism), and
logic circuitry coupled to the pulse shape circuitry ([0034] Output from this buffer (formed by transistors 408 and 409) may drive the bump pad 410 that connects the top chip to the ASIC chip… The corresponding circuits of the ASIC chip may include a current source formed by the transistors 411 and 412 and the capacitor 414 Examiner Note: This processing logic in the ASIC is coupled to the pulse output from the SOI layer),
wherein the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer are stacked on each other ([0025] As shown in FIG. 2, image sensor 14 may include stacked chips… image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301),
wherein a portion of the quench circuitry is disposed in the second layer ([0030]-[0033] SOI circuit section 201 of the image sensor may include a fully depleted silicon layer 203… The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403), and
wherein the logic circuitry is disposed in the third layer ([0031]-[0032] The ASIC section 301 of the image sensor may include pulse counting pixel circuits 310 and the time-of-flight (ToF) to voltage converter pixel circuits 311… Details of the illustrative signal processing circuits (i.e., analog or digital pulse counting circuit 310 and ToF to voltage converter circuit 311) are shown in FIGS. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Hynecek discloses that the avalanche photodiode operates in a Geiger mode ([Abstract] using the single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) concept in a Geiger mode of operation).
Regarding Claim 3, Hynecek discloses that the avalanche photodiode is a single-photon avalanche diode ([Abstract] using the single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)).
Regarding Claim 4, Hynecek discloses that the readout circuitry includes multiple transistor circuit sections ([0025] , image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301… The SOI circuit section 201 of the image sensor may include a fully depleted silicon layer 203… The transistor gates are the regions 204… The ASIC section 301 of the image sensor may include pulse counting pixel circuits 310 and the time-of-flight (ToF) to voltage converter pixel circuits 311 built in the p-type doped region… For simplicity, certain details of the circuit cross section are omitted from FIG. 2), and
the multiple transistor circuit sections are stacked on each other in a stacking direction ([0025], [0030]-[0031] As shown in FIG. 2, image sensor 14 may include stacked chips… image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301).
Regarding Claim 5, Hynecek discloses that the multiple transistor circuit sections include the pulse shape circuitry ([0033] The SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407) and the logic circuitry ([0034] Output from this buffer (formed by transistors 408 and 409) may drive the bump pad 410 that connects the top chip to the ASIC chip… The corresponding circuits of the ASIC chip may include a current source formed by the transistors 411 and 412 and the capacitor 414), the pulse shape circuitry configured to shape a pulse signal output from the avalanche photodiode ([0033] The SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407 Examiner Note: The inverters act as the pulse shaping mechanism to buffer/condition the raw avalanche signal into a usable pulse), the logic circuitry configured to process the pulse signal output that is shaped by the pulse shaping circuitry ([0031] The ASIC section 301 of the image sensor may include pulse counting pixel circuits 310… built in the p-type doped region… [0035] When the SPAD pulses are detected, the resulting current pulses gradually charge the capacitor 414 and its bias voltage change is detected at the node 418 Examiner Note: This counting/integration function is the processing logic that acts on the output provided by the inverters/shaping circuitry).
Regarding Claim 6, Hynecek discloses that the quench circuitry is configured to suppress avalanche multiplication of the avalanche photodiode ([0014] The light sensing diode is biased slightly above its breakdown point and when an incident photon generates an electron or hole, this carrier initiates an avalanche breakdown with additional carriers being generated. The process needs to be stopped (quenched) by lowering the diode bias below its breakdown point. This is called the Geiger mode of SPAD operation).
Regarding claim 8, Hynecek discloses that the avalanche photodiode, the quench circuitry, and the pulse shape circuitry are stacked in a stacking direction ([0025] As shown in FIG. 2, image sensor 14 may include stacked chips… image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301… [0033] The SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407… The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 illustrates that the diode in layer 101 is vertically stacked with the quenching and shaping transistors located in layer 201), and wherein the avalanche photodiode, the quench circuitry, and the pulse shape circuitry are electrically coupled to each other by an electrical conductor that extends in the stacking direction ([0030] The transistor gates are the regions 204 and the contact vias are the regions 205 [0033] he SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407… The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 shows that the vertical contact via 205 is the electrical conductor that extends in the stacking direction to couple the output of the first diode in layer 101 to the shared circuit node of the quench and shaping transistors in the second layer 201).
Regarding Claim 9, Hynecek discloses that the electrical conductor is electrically coupled to the quench circuitry and the pulse shape circuitry by a contact section ([0030] The transistor gates are the regions 204 and the contact vias are the regions 205… The metal wirings in this section of the pixel are the regions 206… [0033] The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409 Examiner Note: The vertical via 205 (conductor) is physically connected to the horizontal metal wiring 206, which then distributes the signal to the gates of the quenching and shaping transistors).
Regarding Claim 11, Hynecek discloses that a first semiconductor chip includes the first layer and the second layer, and a second semiconductor chip includes the third layer ([0025] As shown in FIG. 2, image sensor 14 may include stacked chips… image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301).
Regarding Claim 14, Hynecek discloses that the avalanche photodiode has a back-illuminated pixel structure that takes in light applied from a substrate back surface side ([0011] specifically to photon counting CMOS image sensor arrays with pixels that use single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) for single photon detection and that are illuminated from the back side of the substrate… [0025] The SOI substrate section 101 may include a silicon epitaxial layer 102 that has a P+ doped region 103 deposited at the back side surface interface (facing the light illumination flow)) in a case where a side on which a wiring layer is provided, is regarded as a substrate front surface side ([0030] The metal wirings in this section of the pixel are the regions 206 with bump pad 207 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 Shows light 113 incident on the back side surface interface of substrate 101 while the wiring 206 is provided on the opposite substrate front side of the circuit section 201).
Regarding Claim 15, Hynecek discloses a distance measuring apparatus ([0039] One advantage of using the ToF to voltage conversion circuit of FIG. 4 is that the global ramp slope can be changed, which corresponds to a range change of the distance measurement) comprising:
a light source unit that applies light to a distance measurement target ([0037] The global ramp start may be coincidental with the scene illumination pulse (e.g., from an infrared light source). When the SPAD pulse is later detected, the detection corresponds to the reflected photon from the scene); and
a light receiving device that receives reflected light from the distance measurement target, the reflected light being based on the light applied from the light source unit ([0037] When the SPAD pulse is later detected, the detection corresponds to the reflected photon from the scene), wherein
the light receiving device includes
an avalanche photodiode disposed in a first layer ([0025]-[0026] image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101… In order to form the single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD));
readout circuitry disposed in a second layer and a third layer ([0025]-[0033] image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201 [second layer], and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301 [third layer]… analog pulse counting circuit 310 may include circuitry in the top chip (formed from SOI substrate 101 and SOI circuit portion 201) and circuitry in ASIC circuit 301), the readout circuitry including
quench circuitry coupled to the avalanche photodiode ([0033] The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409. Avalanche quenching transistor 403 may be a p-type transistor Examiner Note: Fig. 3 shows the quenching transistor 403 directly coupled to the SPAD node),
pulse shape circuitry coupled to the avalanche photodiode ([0033] The SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407 Examiner Note: The inverters act as the pulse shaping mechanism), and
logic circuitry coupled to the pulse shape circuitry ([0034] Output from this buffer (formed by transistors 408 and 409) may drive the bump pad 410 that connects the top chip to the ASIC chip… The corresponding circuits of the ASIC chip may include a current source formed by the transistors 411 and 412 and the capacitor 414 Examiner Note: This processing logic in the ASIC is coupled to the pulse output from the SOI layer),
wherein the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer are stacked on each other ([0025] As shown in FIG. 2, image sensor 14 may include stacked chips… image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301),
wherein a portion of the quench circuitry is disposed in the second layer ([0030]-[0033] SOI circuit section 201 of the image sensor may include a fully depleted silicon layer 203… The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403), and
wherein the logic circuitry is disposed in the third layer ([0031]-[0032] The ASIC section 301 of the image sensor may include pulse counting pixel circuits 310 and the time-of-flight (ToF) to voltage converter pixel circuits 311… Details of the illustrative signal processing circuits (i.e., analog or digital pulse counting circuit 310 and ToF to voltage converter circuit 311) are shown in FIGS. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Hynecek discloses that the avalanche photodiode, the quench circuitry, and the pulse shape circuitry are stacked in a stacking direction ([0025] As shown in FIG. 2, image sensor 14 may include stacked chips… image sensor 14 includes a SOI substrate 101, a SOI circuit section 201, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip section 301… [0033] The SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407… The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 illustrates that the diode in layer 101 is vertically stacked with the quenching and shaping transistors located in layer 201), and wherein the avalanche photodiode, the quench circuitry, and the pulse shape circuitry are electrically coupled to each other by an electrical conductor that extends in the stacking direction ([0030] The transistor gates are the regions 204 and the contact vias are the regions 205 [0033] he SPAD diode 402 may generate a pulse in response to an incident photon that is buffered by two inverters formed by transistors 404, 405, 406, and 407… The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 shows that the vertical contact via 205 is the electrical conductor that extends in the stacking direction to couple the output of the first diode in layer 101 to the shared circuit node of the quench and shaping transistors in the second layer 201).
Regarding Claim 17, Hynecek discloses that the logic circuitry includes a counter ([0031] The ASIC section 301 of the image sensor may include pulse counting pixel circuits 310).
Regarding Claim 19, Hynecek discloses that the second layer includes one or more transistors with a light receiving side facing the avalanche photodiode and a second side opposite to the light receiving side and facing away from the avalanche photodiode ([0030] The SOI circuit section 201 of the image sensor may include a fully depleted silicon layer 203 deposited over the oxide layers 202… The transistor gates are the regions 204 and the contact vias are the regions 205 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 Shows the silicon layer 203 facing the photodiode 101/102, while the gates 204 face away from the photodiode 101/102 toward the ASIC 301), and wherein the one or more transistors are electrically connected to the avalanche photodiode on the second side ([0030] The metal wirings in this section of the pixel are the regions 206 with bump pad 207 (sometimes referred to as an interconnect layer) that is connected to underlying ASIC chip 301 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 Shows the electrical path through the circuit section 201 to the metal wirings 206 and bump pads 207 located on the side facing away from the photodiode 101/102).
Regarding Claim 20, Hynecek discloses that the second layer includes a wiring layer disposed adjacent to the second side ([0030] The metal wirings in this section of the pixel are the regions 206 with bump pad 207 (sometimes referred to as an interconnect layer) that is connected to underlying ASIC chip 301 Examiner Note: Fig. 2 Shows metal wirings 206 and bump pads 207 located on the side of the SOI circuit section 201 that faces the ASIC chip section 301, which is the side opposite the light-receiving silicon layer 203).
Regarding Claim 21, Hynecek discloses that the second layer includes a PMOS transistor and an NMOS transistor ([0011] The following relates to solid-state image sensor arrays, specifically to photon counting CMOS image sensor arrays with pixels that use single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs)… [0030] The SOI circuit section 201 of the image sensor may include a fully depleted silicon layer 203 deposited over the oxide layers 202 (OX) with the P+ [PMOS] or N+ [NMOS] doped regions 208 under the contacts depending on the type of SOI transistor used. The transistor gates are the regions 204 and the contact vias are the regions 205. Examiner Note: CMOS architecture requires both NMOS and PMOS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynecek (US 2018/0308881 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20220149098 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Hynecek is not relied upon as teaching that an interface between the second layer and the third layer includes a junction using a stacked copper-to-copper (Cu-Cu) connection.
However, Wang teaches that an interface between the second layer and the third layer includes a junction using a stacked copper-to-copper (Cu-Cu) connection ([0388] the sensor wafer 5800 is fabricated separately from the logic ASICs wafer 5802 and then bonded together… where metal electrodes 5822 and 5824 such as copper or copper alloy are bonded at the interface.).
Hynecek and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both used in the same field of stacked CMOS image sensors utilizing single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stacked chip connection of Hynecek to include the copper-to-copper connection of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to increase pixel density and reduce the overall footprint of the sensor array. While Hynecek teaches a general stacked structure using bump pads, Wang explicitly teaches that in high performance stacked sensors “metal electrodes 5822 and 5824 such as copper… are bonded at the interface” [0388]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to replace the solder bumps of Hynecek with the Cu-Cu hybrid bonding of Wang because it allows for a significantly finer interconnect pitch compared to traditional micro-bumps. This yields the predictable result of an image sensor with improved resolution and higher integration density without increasing the physical size of the chip.
Regarding Claim 12, Hynecek is not relied upon as teaching that the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip are electrically coupled to each other via a junction using a copper electrode.
However, Wang teaches that the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip are electrically coupled to each other via a junction using a copper electrode ([0338] the sensor wafer 5800 is fabricated separately from the logic ASICs wafer 5802 and then bonded together… where metal electrodes 5822 and 5824 such as copper or copper alloy are bonded at the interface. Also shown are the connecting electrodes 5820).
Hynecek and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of stacked SPAD image sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the interconnect structure of Hynecek to include the copper electrode of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to improve electrical conductivity and thermal stability at the chip-to-chip interface. Why Hynecek teaches that the top chip and ASIC are connected via “bump pads 207” [0030], Wang teaches the use of “metal electrodes 5822 and 5824 such as copper” [0388] for the coupling of stacked wafers. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize copper electrodes specifically because copper offers lower resistivity and higher electromigration resistance than traditional solder-based materials. Implementing the copper electrodes of wang into the stacked architecture of Hynecek would yield the predictable result of a more robust electrical coupling with reduced parasitic resistance, thereby enhancing the performance of the photon-counting circuitry.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynecek (US 2018/0308881 A1) in view of Chhabria et al. (US 11601607 B2).
Regarding Claim 13, Hynecek teaches that an analogue circuit section is provided in pixel units together with the avalanche photodiode ([0011] photon counting CMOS image sensor arrays with pixels that use single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) for single photon detection… [0030] The SOI circuit section 201 of the image sensor may include a fully depleted silicon layer 203… The fully depleted transistors used in these pixels help achieve high speeds of operation and low parasitic capacitances… The metal wirings in this section of the pixel are the regions 206… [0033] In FIG. 3, the circuitry in the top chip is shown in block 401. Analog SPAD pulse counting circuit 310 may include a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) 402), the analogue circuit section including the quench circuitry ([0033] The resulting pulse output may be fed to the gate of avalanche quenching transistor 403 and to the buffer circuit formed by transistors 408 and 409),
a digital circuit section includes the logic circuitry ([0031] The ASIC section 301 of the image sensor may include pulse counting pixel circuits 310 and the time-of-flight (ToF) to voltage converter pixel circuits 311 built in the p-type doped region… [0035] the resulting current pulses gradually charge the capacitor 414 and its bias voltage change is detected at the node 418).
Hynecek is not relied upon as teaching that the digital circuit section is shared by the analogue circuit section including multiple pixels.
However, Chhabria teaches that the digital circuit section is shared by the analogue circuit section including multiple pixels ([Col. 7 ll. 60-66] a single memory bank is shared by multiple photodiodes, and the quantization of the output of one photodiode needs to be put on hold until the quantization result stored in the memory bank is read out and can be erased, the arrangements above can reduce the delay introduced to the quantization operations and can improve the operational speed of the image sensor).
Hynecek and Chhabria are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of CMOS image sensors utilizing single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ASIC section 301 of Hynecek to include shared digital circuits (such as the memory banks) of Chhabria with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to optimize the balance between sensor resolution and silicon area efficiency. By integrating Chhabria’s teaching of sharing a single memory bank among multiple photodiodes into Hynecek’s stacked chip architecture, the system can reduce the overall power consumption and physical size of the image sensor array. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that reducing the footprint of the digital logic through sharing would yield the predictable result of allowing for a higher density of SPAD pixels within the sensing layer while simultaneously improving the operational speed of the quantization process.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynecek (US 2018/0308881 A1) in view of Mandai et al. (US 11,476,372 B1).
Regarding Claim 18, Hynecek is not relied upon as teaching that the logic circuitry includes a time-to-digital converter (TDC).
However, Mandai et al teaches that the logic circuitry includes a time-to-digital converter (TDC) ([Col. 1, ll. 37-47] The precision of ToF measurements made by a SPAD-based photon detector can be compromised by a variety of factors. For example, the use of a TDC or histogram memory with too few memory locations, or the use of memory locations with too shallow depth, can provide too coarse of a resolution or too much uncertainty (e.g., a sampling rate below the Nyquist frequency) for a desired application. However, TDCs and histogram memories capable of finer resolution or more measurement certainty can be costly in terms of area requirements, power consumption, manufacturing cost, and so on).
Hynecek and Mandai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of SPAD-based photon detectors and time-of-flight sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ToF-to-voltage converter of Hynecek to include the time-to-digital converter (TDC) of Mandai with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to improve the resolution and measurement certainty of depth measurements. While Hynecek teaches an analog method for converting pulses to voltage [0034], Mandai teaches that “TDCs and histogram memories [are] capable of finer resolution or more measurement certainty” (Col. 1, ll. 37-47). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the analog converter of Hynecek with a TDC as taught by Mandai because digital conversion allows for more precise time-stamping that is less susceptible to the noise and scaling limitations of analog voltage ramps. This modification would yield the predictable result of a higher-performance distance measuring apparatus with a more accurate digital output suitable for high-speed ASIC processing.
Conclusion
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645