Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on June 2nd, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending in the application. Claim 15 and claim 16 have been cancelled.
The rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dkidak (US 20170015944 A1), and in further view of Meschke (EP 0506087 A2) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dkidak (US 20170015944 A1), and in further view of Dkidak 2 (EP 3118298 B1).
With regard to claim 1 and claims 5-14, Dkidak discloses a hard surface cleaning composition (see Abstract). Dkidak further discloses a composition comprising 6.2wt% of Neodol C9/11, 0.30wt% of citric acid, 0.73wt% of sodium hydroxide, and 2.0wt% of solvent (see Example A). Dkidak further discloses an aqueous composition comprising 50-98wt% water (see [0017]). Dkidak further discloses additional surfactants at up to 15wt% (see [0080]). Dkidak further discloses a method of cleaning comprising the steps of optionally pre-wetting the hard surface, applying the hard surface cleaning composition, and optionally rinsing the hard surface with water.
However, Dkidak fails to disclose propoxylated methyl isobutyl carbinol or propoxylated di-isobutyl carbinol.
Dkidak 2 discloses hard surface cleaning compositions, an analogous art (see Abstract). Dkidak 2 further discloses 1-10wt% of nonionic surfactants (see [0030]). Dkidak 2 further discloses the nonionic surfactants may be alkoxylated nonionic surfactants according to the formula RO-(A)nH, wherein R is a C6 to C18 alkyl chain; A is an ethoxy or propoxy or butoxy unit, and wherein n is from 1 to 30 (see [0034]). Dkidak further teaches R may be a linear or branched alkyl chain (see [0034]). Methyl isobutyl carbinol would correspond to the disclosed R group as the compound comprises a branched six carbon alkyl chain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the alkoxylated nonionic surfactants of Dkidak 2 in the cleaning composition of Dkidak, as the alkoxylated nonionic surfactants of Dkidak 2 are surfactants used in cleaning compositions and Dkidak discloses a cleaning composition comprising additional surfactants.
With regard to claim 2, Dkidak discloses a liquid hard surface cleaning composition which may be for cleaning kitchen work surfaces, glass, steel, and metal (see [0016]).
With regard to claim 3 and claim 4, while Dkidak and Dkidak 2 do not disclose improved cleaning performance measured by the standard ASTM D4488-95 as compared to a comparative cleaning solution without propoxylated methyl isobutyl carbinol or propoxylated di-isobutyl carbinol and wherein the improvement in cleaning performance is in the range of from 6-121% compared to the standard cleaning compositions, Dkidak and Dkidak 2 discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. It stands to reason that the disclosed composition would meet the requirement of improved cleaning performance measured by the standard ASTM D4488-95 as compared to a comparative cleaning solution without propoxylated methyl isobutyl carbinol or propoxylated di-isobutyl carbinol and wherein the improvement in cleaning performance is in the range of from 6-121% compared to the standard cleaning compositions. Applicant is directed to MPEP 2112.01(I), “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)” and 2112.01(II), "products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 2nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Meschke does not disclose a propoxylated methyl carbinol according to formula (I). Applicant further argues that all examples disclosed by Meschke are ethoxylated or ethoxylatedpropoxylated carbinols. As Meschke is no longer relied upon as prior art, Applicant’s arguments regarding Meschke are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761