DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-20 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-20 are amended
- claims 2 and 5 are cancelled
b. This is a final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 10/05/2025.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 1 and 20 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2), Applicant's arguments, see “The Applicant submits that the combination of Ishikawa and Su does not teach, suggest or render obvious at least, for example, the features of “the transmission unit ... dynamically or quasi-statically notify the second communication device of sequence information of identification information associated with each of the plurality of signal processing blocks, wherein the identification information comprises an index value for identification of a signal processing block of the plurality of signal processing blocks,” as recited in amended independent claim 1.” on page 14, filed on 10/05/2025, with respect to Ishikawa et al. US Pub 2006/0199550 (hereinafter “Ishikawa”), have been fully considered but are moot, over the limitations of “the identification information comprises an index value for identification of a signal processing block of the plurality of signal processing blocks”. Said limitations are newly added to the amended Claims 1 and 20 and have been addressed in instant office action, as shown in section 35 USC 103 rejection below, with newly identified prior art teaching from newly found reference Sheng et al. US Pub 2018/0220360 (hereinafter “Sheng”), in combination with previously applied references Ishikawa and Su, thus rendering said Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. US Pub 2006/0199550 (hereinafter “Ishikawa”), in view of Su et al. US Pub 2015/0092708 (hereinafter “Su”), and further in view of Sheng et al. US Pub 2018/0220360 (hereinafter “Sheng”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa discloses a first communication device (“FIG. 3 shows an embodiment of an arrangement of a software defined radio in accordance with the present invention.” [0040]; Fig. 3), comprising:
a determination unit (e.g. “signal processing blocks 305 to 310” in Fig. 3) configured to non-statically determine a first signal processing scheme, from a plurality of signal processing scheme s(“install a library input from the software writer via the interface 312 and perform digital signal processing operation. Each library is software in which small units of radio signal processing operations including spread, despread, modulation, demodulation, CRC, scramble, and FIR filter are described. “ [0041]), in communication using a specific channel (“The transmission data input to the digital signal processor 303 from the CPU 304 is sent to the signal processing blocks sequentially from their right side in synchronism with the clock 311, and subjected to signal processing operation by each signal processing block.” [0041]), wherein
a communication control unit (e.g. “radio modem 302” in Fig. 3) configured to control the communication in the specific channel based on the determined first signal processing scheme (“A signal output from the final stage of signal processing block 310 is sent to the radio modem 302. A reception signal sent from the radio modem 302 to the digital signal processor 303 is sent to the signal processing blocks 305 to 307 sequentially from their left side in synchronism with the clock 311, subjected to signal processing operation by each of the signal processing blocks 305 to 307, and then sent to the CPU 304 from the last stage of signal processing block 307.” [0041]); and
Ishikawa does not specifically teach a determination unit configured to non-statically determine a first signal processing scheme, in communication with a second communication device; a transmission unit configured to: transmit information of the determined first signal processing scheme to the second communication device;
In an analogous art, Su discloses a determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) configured to non-statically determine a first signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “FIG. 5 illustrates select wireless signal processing elements 500 that can be contained in a dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver (TX/RX) 516 of a dual radio wireless communication device 102. An LTE signal processing chip 502 can be used to provide connections between the dual radio wireless communication device 102 and the LTE wireless network 300, while a CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be used to provide connections between the dual radio wireless communication device 102 and the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200.” [0044]), in communication with a second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3).
a transmission unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver 516” in Fig. 5) configured to:
transmit information of the determined first signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “FIG. 5 illustrates select wireless signal processing elements 500 that can be contained in a dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver (TX/RX) 516 of a dual radio wireless communication device 102. An LTE signal processing chip 502 can be used to provide connections between the dual radio wireless communication device 102 and the LTE wireless network 300, while a CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be used to provide connections between the dual radio wireless communication device 102 and the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200.” [0044]) to the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3);
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa’s software defined radio in which a software library is controlled by distributed control scheme, to include Su’s method for managing connections between wireless communication devices and wireless networks, in order to select appropriate signal processing scheme (Su [Abstract]).
Ishikawa and Su do not specifically teach each of the plurality of signal processing schemes has a different signal processing block configuration, and the first signal processing scheme comprises a plurality of signal processing blocks;
dynamically or quasi-statically notify the second communication device of sequence information of identification information associated with each of the plurality of signal processing blocks, wherein the identification information comprises an index value for identification of a signal processing block of the plurality of signal processing blocks.
In an analogous art, Sheng discloses each of the plurality of signal processing schemes has a different signal processing block configuration (“FIG. 11 is a diagrammatic view showing of different schemes for generating plural synchronization signal block types for differing frequency bands.” [0035]), and
the first signal processing scheme comprises a plurality of signal processing blocks (“Further to the foregoing, in some example embodiments and modes the synchronization signal block generator may process different frequency bands differently in terms of generation and transmission of the plural types of synchronization signal blocks. For example, FIG. 5E shows an access node 22E in which the synchronization signal block generator 60E generates different synchronization signal block schemes for different frequency bands, each synchronization signal block scheme having a different set of differing synchronization signal block types.” [0086]);
dynamically or quasi-statically notify the second communication device of sequence information of identification information associated with each of the plurality of signal processing blocks, wherein the identification information comprises an index value for identification of a signal processing block of the plurality of signal processing blocks (“In an example embodiment and mode, in processing a series of synchronization signal blocks the wireless terminal may use a combination of index indication of synchronization signal block type (to determine the synchronization signal block type of some of the synchronization signal blocks of the series) and the wireless terminal's own decoding to determine the synchronization signal block types of other synchronization signal blocks of the series. For example, the synchronization signal block type detector 70 may start to process one or more synchronization signal blocks of a series of synchronization signal blocks using the indication of synchronization signal block type as provided by the access node, but thereafter may switch over to using its synchronization signal block type detector with candidate trial field decoding 70H, as described above.” [0115]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa’s software defined radio in which a software library is controlled by distributed control scheme, as modified by Su, to include Sheng’s method for using different synchronization signal blocks to process different transmission modes, in order to select appropriate signal processing scheme (Sheng [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Sheng’s method for using different synchronization signal blocks to process different transmission modes into Ishikawa’s software defined radio in which a software library is controlled by distributed control scheme since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1,
Su further discloses wherein the transmission unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver 516” in Fig. 5) is further configured to dynamically or quasi-statically (switching between LTE and CDMA 2000 transmission schemes) notify the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) of the information of the determined first signal processing scheme (“The eNodeB 310 can determine downlink transmission parameters, e.g., the use of MIMO transmissions, based at least in part on the reported values in the channel status reports provided by the user equipment 302.” [0042]).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1,
Su further discloses wherein the transmission unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver 516” in Fig. 5) is further configured to implicitly notify the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) of the information of the determined first signal processing scheme by control of at least one of a time, a frequency (i.e. switching between LTE and CDMA 2000 transmission schemes), or a sequence of a synchronization signal.
Ishikawa further discloses information of the determined first signal processing scheme by control of at least one of a sequence of a synchronization signal (“radio signal processing operations including spread, despread, modulation, demodulation, CRC, scramble, and FIR filter are described. “ [0041]).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, wherein
Ishikawa further discloses at least one signal processing block of the plurality of signal processing blocks configures the determined first signal processing scheme, the at least one signal processing block includes a plurality of functions (“FIG. 12 shows a fourth arrangement of the signal processing library, which is the same as the second arrangement, except for function and operation to be explained later.” [0064-0065] and furthermore “said signal processor including a plurality of signal processing blocks whose functions can be modified by rewriting software” [Claim 1]), and
the transmission unit is further configured to dynamically or quasi-statically notify the second communication device of sequence information (as taught by Su) of identification information associated with each of the plurality of signal processing blocks (“A signal output from the final stage of signal processing block 310 is sent to the radio modem 302. A reception signal sent from the radio modem 302 to the digital signal processor 303 is sent to the signal processing blocks 305 to 307 sequentially from their left side in synchronism with the clock 311, subjected to signal processing operation by each of the signal processing blocks 305 to 307, and then sent to the CPU 304 from the last stage of signal processing block 307.” [0041]).
Su further discloses at least one signal processing block of the plurality of signal processing blocks configures the determined first signal processing scheme, the at least one signal processing block includes a plurality of functions (“the single radio wireless transmitter/receiver 614 can be connected to an application processor (not shown) that can perform "higher layer" functions such as establishing connections for applications and forming messages to be communicated with various wireless networks, while the single radio wireless transmitter/receiver 614 can perform "lower layer" functions such as ensuring integrity of transmitted and received radio frequency signals that carry messages for the application processor.” [0045]).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, wherein
Ishikawa further discloses the determination unit is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme for a random access procedure (“As shown by a frame structure 902 in FIG. 9, a radio frame for the radio communication system is made up of fields of preamble (i.e. used for random access procedure), header, data, CRC, etc. The frame structure is assumed to conform to the frame structure of a desired communication system to be realized.” [0053]) from the plurality of signal processing schemes (“install a library input from the software writer via the interface 312 and perform digital signal processing operation. Each library is software in which small units of radio signal processing operations including spread, despread, modulation, demodulation, CRC, scramble, and FIR filter are described. “ [0041]),
the transmission unit (“The wireless circuitry can include a transmitter (TX) and a first receiver (RX0) that can each be tuned to a different carrier frequency, e.g., using separate voltage controlled crystal oscillators (VCX0s)” [0031]) is further configured to broadcast-transmit system information including information of the second signal processing scheme (“In mode 1, the single radio wireless communication device can be unable to communicate with (transmit to and/or receive from) a second wireless network, e.g., a legacy CDMA 2000 1x wireless network as all of the wireless circuitry can be configured to support communication to and from the LTE wireless network.” [0031]), and
the communication control unit is further configured to process the random access procedure with the second communication device based on the second signal processing scheme (“The eNodeB 310 can determine downlink transmission parameters, e.g., the use of MIMO transmissions, based at least in part on the reported values in the channel status reports provided by the user equipment 302.” [0042]).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, further comprising:
Su further discloses a reception unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver 516” in Fig. 5) configured to receive capability information about the first signal processing scheme (i.e. switching between LTE and CDMA 2000 transmission schemes) of the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3), wherein
the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”) for the communication with the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) based on the capability information (“With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5), and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication with the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) using the specific channel based on the second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, further comprising:
Su further discloses a reception unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver 516” in Fig. 5) configured to receive a reference signal (“With at least one radio frequency receive signaling chain being available to each signal processing chip independently in the dual chip wireless communication device and individually tunable to different carrier frequencies, signaling messages (e.g., pages) and/or references signals (e.g., for cell selection/reselection measurement) can be received independently and simultaneously from two different wireless networks, such as from the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network and from the LTE wireless network.” [0004]) from the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3), wherein
the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”) for the communication with the second communication device based on information about the reference signal (“references signals (e.g., for cell selection/reselection measurement) can be received independently and simultaneously from two different wireless networks, such as from the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network and from the LTE wireless network.” [0004]), and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication with the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) using the specific channel based on the second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, further comprising:
Su further discloses a reception unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver 516” in Fig. 5) configured to receive channel state information associated with a state of the specific channel (“Without receiving channel status reports that can provide channel quality indicators, rank indicators, and pre-coder matrix indicators, the LTE wireless network can determine "stale" channel downlink indicators that can be used for downlink scheduling. Similarly, during the tune-away event, without receiving a sounding reference signal from the single radio wireless communication device, the LTE wireless network can determine incorrect channel uplink conditions that can influence uplink scheduling. With a sufficiently long tune-away event, a radio resource control (RRC) inactivity timer at a network element of the LTE wireless network can expire, and the LTE wireless network can transition to an RRC idle state, while the single radio wireless communication device can expect to return in an RRC connected state when the tune-away event ends. This can result in errant mis-synchronization of states between the LTE wireless network and the single radio wireless communication device.” [0029]), wherein
the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme for the communication using the specific channel based on the channel state information (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5) determined by the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) , and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication with the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) using the specific channel based on the second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5) determined by the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, wherein
Su further discloses the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme for the communication with the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) based on information of service quality (“In mode 2, the single radio wireless communication device can be able to maintain full communication with the LTE wireless network, without the highest data rate MIMO downlink configurations that can require multiple receivers simultaneously tuned to the LTE wireless network, while also listening for signaling messages, e.g., pages, from the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network and/or measuring cell strength or quality for a serving cell and/or neighbor cells of the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network” [0033]) required for the communication with the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3), and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication with the second communication device (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3) using the specific channel based on the second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, wherein
Su further discloses the first communication device is configured to manage a plurality of cells (“a serving cell and/or neighbor cells of the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network” [0033]),
the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”) in the communication using the specific channel for each cell of the plurality of cells (“In mode 2, the single radio wireless communication device can be able to maintain full communication with the LTE wireless network, without the highest data rate MIMO downlink configurations that can require multiple receivers simultaneously tuned to the LTE wireless network, while also listening for signaling messages, e.g., pages, from the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network and/or measuring cell strength or quality for a serving cell and/or neighbor cells of the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network” [0033]), and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication using the specific channel for the each cell of the plurality of cells based on the second signal processing scheme (“In mode 2, the single radio wireless communication device can be able to maintain full communication with the LTE wireless network, without the highest data rate MIMO downlink configurations that can require multiple receivers simultaneously tuned to the LTE wireless network, while also listening for signaling messages, e.g., pages, from the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network and/or measuring cell strength or quality for a serving cell and/or neighbor cells of the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network” [0033]).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, wherein
Sheng further discloses the first communication device (“next generation new radio (NR) technology” [0006]) is configured to be beamformable (“In order to fulfill 5G requirements, changes with regard to 4G LTE system have been proposed for study, such as higher frequency spectrum usage (e.g., 6 GHz, 40 GHz or up to 100 GHz), scalable numerology (e.g., different subcarrier spacing (SCS), 3.75 KHz, 7.5 KHz, 15 KHz (current LTE), 30 KHz . . . possibly 480 KHz), beam based initial access (one traditional cell may contain multiple beams due to the particular beamforming adopted).” [0004]),
Su further discloses the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”) in communication using the specific channel for each beam (as taught by Sheng), and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication using the specific channel for each beam (as taught by Sheng) based on the second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, wherein
Su further discloses the first communication device (i.e. “wireless communication devices 102”) is linked to a plurality of communication devices (“FIG. 1 illustrates a representative "generic" wireless network 100 that can include multiple wireless communication devices 102 connected by radio links 126 to radio sectors 104 provided by a radio access network 128.” [0038]; Fig. 1),
the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”) in the communication using the specific channel for each of the plurality of communication devices (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5), and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication using the specific channel for the each of the plurality of communication devices based on the second signal processing scheme (e.g. “LTE”, “CDMA 2000”; “With the separate CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504, the dual radio wireless communication device 102 can transmit and receive radio frequency signals with the CDMA 2000 1x wireless network 200 through a transmit antenna 512 and a receive antenna 514, while simultaneously transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals with the LTE wireless network 300 through the separate transmit antenna 506 and receive antennas 508/510. The LTE signal processing chip 502 and the CDMA 2000 1x signal processing chip 504 can be connected to each other in order to coordinate radio frequency signal communication with their respective wireless networks.” [0044]; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, further comprising:
Ishikawa discloses a reception unit (“The wireless circuitry can include a transmitter (TX) and a first receiver (RX0) that can each be tuned to a different carrier frequency, e.g., using separate voltage controlled crystal oscillators (VCX0s)” [0031]) configured to receive, from the second communication device, the information of the first signal processing scheme in the communication using the specific channel, wherein
the determination unit is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme in the communication using the specific channel based on the received information of the first signal processing scheme, and
the communication control unit is further configured to control the communication with the second communication device using the specific channel based on the second signal processing scheme (as afore-mentioned in claim 2 discussion).
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 15 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 2. Therefore apparatus claim 15 corresponds to apparatus claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended)
The first communication device according to claim 15, wherein
the reception unit is further configured to receive information of the second signal processing scheme, wherein
the information of the second signal processing scheme is dynamically or quasi-statically notified from the second communication device, and
Sheng further discloses the determination unit is further configured to non-statically determine a third signal processing scheme (“The types of information that may be included in a synchronization signal block may comprise: data carried by Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) (to be used to perform random access procedure)” [0065]) in the communication using the specific channel (“data carried by Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)” [0064]) based on the received information of the second signal processing scheme.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 16 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 3. Therefore apparatus claim 16 corresponds to apparatus claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended)
The first communication device according to claim 15, wherein
the reception unit is further configured to receive a synchronization signal in which the second communication device controls at least one of a time, a frequency, or a sequence based on information about the second signal processing scheme, and
the determination unit is further configured to non-statically determine a third signal processing scheme in communication using the specific channel based on the synchronization signal from the second communication device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 17 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 4. Therefore apparatus claim 17 corresponds to apparatus claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended)
The first communication device according to claim 15, wherein
the determination unit is further configured to non-statically determine a third signal processing scheme, for a random access procedure, from the plurality of signal processing schemes,
the reception unit is further configured to receive system information broadcast- transmitted from the second communication device,
the system information includes information about the third signal processing scheme for the random access procedure, and
the communication control unit is further configured to perform random access to the second communication device based on the third signal processing scheme identified by the system information.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 18 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to apparatus claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended)
Ishikawa, as modified by Su and Sheng, previously discloses the first communication device according to claim 1, wherein
Su further discloses the second communication device is a base station (“eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3; [0042]),
the first communication device is a terminal device (e.g. “user equipment 302” in Fig. 3) that is linked to a base station (e.g. “eUTRAN 306/eNodeB 310” in Fig. 3), and
the first communication device includes a reception unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless transmitter/receiver 516” in Fig. 5) configured to receive, from the base station, the information of the first signal processing scheme in the communication using the specific channel,
the determination unit (i.e. “signal processing elements 500” in Fig. 5) is further configured to non-statically determine a second signal processing scheme in the communication using the specific channel based on the received information of the first signal processing scheme, and
the communication control unit (i.e. “dual radio wireless communication device 102”) is further configured to control the communication with the base station using the specific channel based on the second signal processing scheme.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 19 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 8. Therefore apparatus claim 19 corresponds to apparatus claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 8 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended)
A communication method, comprising:
in a first communication device:
non-statically determining a signal processing scheme, from a plurality of signal processing schemes, in communication with a second communication device using a specific channel, wherein
each of the plurality of signal processing schemes has a different signal processing block configuration, and
the determined signal processing scheme comprises a plurality of signal processing blocks;
controlling the communication in the specific channel based on the determined signal processing scheme;
transmitting information of the determined signal processing scheme to the second communication device; and
dynamically or quasi-statically notifying the second communication device of sequence information of identification information associated with each of the plurality of signal processing blocks, wherein
the identification information includes an index value for identification of a signal processing block of the plurality of signal processing blocks.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 20 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 20 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411