Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the phrases "such as" render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim Interpretation
The claims are interpreted as a cleansing bar with components a) 10-25% of a sulfate b) sulfonate c) polyglyceryl ester d) conditioning polymer(s) and a density of o.5 to 1.5. The dependent claims expand on the meaning of each component with no specific conditioning polymer being called out of the Markush group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, states as amended, “a density of the solid composition is between 0.5 and 1.5”. This phrase is indefinite because it does not define what the unit of measurement applicant is referring to with respect to the density. Is it in g/cm3 or g/ml? Appropriate corrections and clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al (20170172892) is withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al (20170172892) in view of Woehrmann et al (10,583,072).
Dai et al disclose cleansing bar comprising a non-soap anionic surfactant, a hydrophobic binder, and a water-soluble bar hardener. The cleansing bars further comprise a polyglycerol ester having a peak melting point of about 40° C. or less and have a pH less of about 8 or less. Surprisingly, incorporation of the polyglycerol ester into these relatively low pH cleansing bars results in a mild cleansing bar composition that is easily processed and provides better lathering than previously thought would be possible (0008). With respect to the non-soap anionic surfactants, they include: acyl isethionates, e.g. Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate; alkyl sulfosuccinates, e.g. Disodium Lauryl Sulfosuccinate; α-sulfo fatty acid esters, e.g. Sodium Methyl 2-Sulfolaurate; α-sulfo fatty acids, e.g. Disodium 2-Sulfolaurate; alkyl glyceryl ether sulfonates, e.g. Sodium Cocoglyceryl Ether Sulfonate; alkyl sulfates, e.g. Sodium Coco-Sulfate, and combinations of two or more thereof. Especially preferred are acyl isethionates. In certain preferred embodiments the acyl isethionate is Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (0043) and wherein said amounts of anionic surfactants in mixtures is suggested by Dai et al to include 30 weight percent or more to about 70 weight percent or less of total non-soap anionic surfactants, based on total weight of cleansing bar (0043). Polyglyceryl ester according to certain embodiments, the PGE.sub.≦40 is used in a concentration from about 0.1% or greater to about 25% by weight in the composition (045-0052); and humectants include polyols such as glycerin, propylene glycol, and sorbitol are present in an amount of from about 0 percent to about 30 percent, such as 0 percent to about 10 percent (0089). Dai et al disclose examples of suitable conditioning agents include cationic or amphoteric water-soluble polymers and proteins. Examples of suitable cationic or amphoteric water-soluble polymers include Polyquaterniums, such as Polyquaternium-7, -10, -39, or -67, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, and Cassia Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride. The conditioning agent may be present in an amount of from about 0 percent to about 5 percent, such as 0 percent to about 1 percent (0090).
Dai et al disclose all of the instantly required components of the composition bar as claimed. However, Dai et al do not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed invention. Accordingly, non-preferred embodiments to the skilled artisan in the absence of criticality to the contrary, would have been motivation to combine the known ingredients of a polyglyceryl ester, anionic sulfate and isethionate, conditioning polymer(s) and adjunct ingredients in bar. Dai et al teach each of those ingredients within the four corners of the reference within the claimed proportions, and in the absence of a showing to the contrary commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, one skilled in the art would have the expectation and motivation to suggest the claimed invention given the teachings of Dai et al.
Dai et al is silent with respect to the lower amount claimed of the sulfate surfactant. The examiner contends that the anionic surfactant mixture as a whole is from 30% which is close enough to optimize in the absence of a showing to the contrary.
Woehrmann et al discloses a cosmetic product comprising a cosmetic stick useful for cleansing skin composition that comprises one or more fatty acids and/or salts thereof, 8% to about 25% by weight of one or more anionic surfactants selected from one or more of alkyl sulfates and alkyl ether sulfate and alkyl benzenesulfonates, and glycerol as well as an application container which contains the stick composition (abstract; col. 4, lines 64-67).
It would have been obvious to the skill artisan to optimize the amount of sulfate anionic surfactant in Dai et al to encompass 10-25% sulfate anionic surfactants as amended given that Woehrmann et al teaches the lower amounts as well known in solid skin cleansing compositions for similar purposes utilizing anionic surfactants for surface tension lowering as their intended use and purpose, absent a showing to the contrary.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
With respect to the density of the solid composition being from o.5 to 1.5, the examiner acquiesces that Dai et al is silent with respect to the measurement assumes that density is measured in g/cm3. Woehrmann et al is relied upon as set forth above and suggests solid compositions having a density of 1.o to 1.1 g/cm3 (col. 7, lines 66-col. 8, line 2).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce a personal cleansing bar of Dai et al to encompass a density of 1.0 g/cm3 in light of the teachings and suggestions of Woehrmann et al. Woehrmann et al teaches that a density of 1.o g/cm3 enables the bar to have “pleasant application properties” which would benefit the bars of Dai et al to comprise for commercial success and application of the user. Accordingly, in the absence of a showing to the contrary, commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, one skilled would be motivated to produce said bars of Dai et al with said density of 1.0 g/cm3 as claimed for the special properties it enables the user.
As stated in KSR Int'l Co., v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007):
"[A]nalysis [of whether the subject matter of a claimwould have been prima facie obvious] need not seek out preciseteachings directed to the specific subject matter of thechallenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferencesand creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the artwould employ."
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2-24-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Dai et al does not teach the claimed invention because the compositions of Dai et al do not use the preferred sulfonate or sulfate anionic surfactant but suggests isethionates as a preferred surfactant.
The examiner contends and respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion because the broad teachings of Dai encompass may well known anionic surfactants including those of applicants such as sulfates and sulfonates as claimed. Applicant is reminded that the transitional phrase of “comprising” opens the claims to additional components not specified, where the use of isethionates and other anionic surfactants taught in Dai, sulfates and sulfonates, are permissible and would have been obvious to the skilled artisan in the cleansing art. Furthermore, the teachings of Woehrmann et al suggests optimizing the sulfate surfactant is well known and utilized before the invention was made for said purpose of creating sulfate surfactants in amounts less than 25 and greater than 8.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761