DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection. This action is made final in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-42 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 40-42, the filter cups comprising mesh configured to strain the insect larvae appear to be the same structure claimed in independent claim 16 relating to the strainer having a mesh sized to strain the insect larvae. As the disclosure does not recite a separate strainer and filter cup within the same catch basin, the amendment is understood to unintentionally recite the same structure. However, the scope of the claims remain unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 36-37, 40-43, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (CN 110074060), hereinafter Ding.
In re. claim 16, Ding teaches an insect dispensing system, comprising: a first section (1) comprising a first inlet (at valve (13)) and a first outlet (at manifold (6)); a divider (2) connected to the first outlet defining three or more divider outlets (3); and a plurality of second sections (4), each second section comprising a second inlet (at chamber (3)) and a second outlet (at valve plate (8)), each second inlet connected to a respective divider outlet (fig. 1), wherein each of the plurality of second outlets is configured to drain liquid introduced at the first inlet into a respective plurality of catch basins (outlet provides recited function), wherein the respective plurality of catch basins each support a strainer, each strainer comprising a mesh, each mesh sized to strain insect larvae or insect pupae from the liquid introduced at the first inlet for retention for dispensing a population of insect larvae or insect pupae (as the structure of the catch basin fails to further define the dispensing system).
In re. claim 36, Ding teaches the insect dispensing system of claim 16, further comprising: for a third outlet of the plurality of second outlets: a second divider comprising a second divider outlet (fig. 1), each second divider outlet having a first end (at valve plate (8)) in fluid communication with the third outlet and a second end (end of pipe (4)) in fluid communication with a first catch basin (equivalent structure provides equivalent function).
In re. claim 37, Ding teaches the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of second outlets are separated from the respective plurality of catch basins by an air gap (air gap shown in figure 1).
In re. claim 40, Ding teaches a filter cup removably mounted within the catch basin, wherein the filter cup is configured to filter materials suspended in the liquid introduced at the first inlet (as the structure of the catch basin fails to further define the dispensing system).
In re. claim 41, Ding teaches the insect dispensing system of claim 40, wherein the plurality of filter cups further comprise mesh configured to strain insect larvae or insect pupae from the liquid introduced at the first inlet (as the structure of the catch basin fails to further define the dispensing system).
In re. claim 42, Ding teaches the insect dispensing system of claim 40, wherein the plurality of filter cups are removable from the catch basins (as the structure of the catch basin fails to further define the dispensing system).
In re. claim 43, Ding teaches the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of second outlets are positionable to drain the liquid introduced at the first inlet into the respective plurality of catch basins (fig. 1) (equivalent structure provides equivalent function).
In re. claim 45, Ding teaches the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the population of insect larvae or insect pupae comprise mosquito larvae or pupae (as the type of insect fails to further define the structure of the insect dispensing system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 36-37, and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobecki et al. (US 2018/0271074), hereinafter Sobecki in view of Ding.
In re. claim 16, Sobecki teaches an insect dispensing system, comprising: a first section (1208) comprising a first inlet and a first outlet (fig. 12); wherein the outlet is configured to drain liquid introduced at the first inlet into a catch basin (into container (1202)) (fig. 12); wherein the respective plurality of catch basins each support a strainer (104), each strainer comprising a mesh (102), each mesh sized to strain insect larvae or insect pupae from the liquid introduced at the first inlet for retention for dispensing a population of insect larvae or insect pupae (figs. 12-13).
Sobecki fails to disclose a divider connected to the first outlet defining three or more divider outlets; and a plurality of second sections, each second section comprising a second inlet and a second outlet, each second inlet connected to a respective divider outlet.
Ding teaches a divider (2) connected to the first outlet defining three or more divider outlets (3); and a plurality of second sections (4), each second section comprising a second inlet (at chamber (3)) and a second outlet (at valve plate (8)), each second inlet connected to a respective divider outlet (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sobecki to incorporate the teachings of Ding to have the recited divider, for the purpose of evenly distributing the pupae and larvae into a plurality of collection pans, enabling the processing of a greater amount of pupae/larvae more efficiently.
In re. claim 36, Sobecki as modified by Ding (see Ding) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, further comprising: for a third outlet of the plurality of second outlets: a second divider comprising a second divider outlets (fig. 1), each second divider outlet having a first end (at valve plate (8)) in fluid communication with the third outlet and a second end (end of pipe (4)) in fluid communication with a first catch basin (equivalent structure provides equivalent function).
In re. claim 37, Sobecki as modified by Ding (see Ding) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of second outlets are separated from the respective plurality of catch basins by an air gap (air gap shown in figure 1).
In re. claim 40, Sobecki as modified by Ding (see Sobecki) teach a filter cup (104) removably mounted within the catch basin (1202) (fig. 13), wherein the filter cup is configured to filter materials suspended in the liquid introduced at the first inlet (fig. 12).
In re. claim 41, Sobecki as modified by Ding (see Sobecki) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 40, wherein the plurality of filter cups further comprise mesh (fig. 3) configured to strain insect larvae or insect pupae from the liquid introduced at the first inlet (figs. 12-13).
In re. claim 42, Sobecki as modified by Ding (see Sobecki) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 40, wherein the plurality of filter cups are removable from the catch basins (figs. 12-13).
In re. claim 43, Sobecki as modified by Ding (see Ding) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of second outlets are positionable to drain the liquid introduced at the first inlet into the respective plurality of catch basins (fig. 1) (equivalent structure provides equivalent function).
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobecki in view of Ding as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Harrod (US 3,223,237).
In re. claim 18, Sobecki as modified by Ding fail to disclose the first inlet comprises a funnel.
Harrod teaches the first inlet comprises a funnel (16) (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sobecki as modified by Ding to incorporate the teachings of Harrod to have the first inlet comprise a funnel, for aiding in adding a large amount of larvae/pupae to the distribution device, enabling more material to be introduced simultaneously.
In re. claim 19, Sobecki as modified by Ding fail to disclose a fluid source and an insect source, wherein the first inlet is in fluid communication with the fluid source and the insect source.
Harrod teaches a fluid source (23) and an insect source (pupae/larvae flow) (21), wherein the first inlet is in fluid communication with the fluid source and the insect source (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sobecki as modified by Ding to incorporate the teachings of Harrod to have the recited fluid and insect sources, for the purpose of enabling an enhanced flow of material through the distribution device, reducing the chances of clogging.
In re. claim 20, Sobecki as modified by Ding and Harrod (see Harrod) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 19, wherein the fluid source comprises an inlet port (24) to introduce fluid (23) into the first inlet (fig. 1), and wherein the insect source further comprises a funnel (16) for introducing the population of insect larvae or insect pupae into the fluid (fig. 1).
In re. claim 21, Sobecki as modified by Ding and Harrod (see Ding) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 20, wherein the plurality of second outlets output a plurality of individual streams of fluid (material flow at pipe (4)) to distribute the population of insect larvae or insect pupae among the plurality of catch basins when the population of insect larvae or insect pupae and the fluid flow from the first inlet towards the plurality of outlets (fig. 1).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobecki as modified by Ding as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Selby et al. (US 10,448,623)
In re. claim 36, If the applicant is of the opinion that Ding fails to disclose for a third outlet of the plurality of second outlets: a second divider comprising a second divider outlet, each second divider outlet having a first end in fluid communication with the third outlet and a second end in fluid communication with a first catch basin,
Selby teaches for a third outlet of the plurality of second outlets (outlet at top of page) (fig. 5) a second divider (506) comprising second divider outlet (outlets of 506), each second divider outlet having a first end in fluid communication with the third outlet and a second end in fluid communication with a first catch basin (fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sobecki as modified by Ding to incorporate the teachings of Selby to have the recited second divider, for the purpose of further distributing the insect larvae or insect pupae among the catch basins.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobecki as modified by Ding as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 20100000253).
In re. claim 39, Sobecki as modified by Ding fail to disclose at least one catch basin of the plurality of catch basins comprises a substantially rectangular box having four sloping walls and an open top configured to receive the liquid introduced at the first inlet.
Lee teaches at least one catch basin of the plurality of catch basins (115a,b) comprises a substantially rectangular box having four sloping walls and an open top configured to receive the liquid introduced at the first inlet (fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sobecki as modified by Ding to incorporate the teachings of Lee to have the recited catch basin structure, to improve the collection rate of the pupae or larvae.
.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobecki as modified by Ding.
In re. claim 44, Sobecki as modified by Ding fail to disclose the divider comprises nine divider outlets.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sobecki as modified by Ding, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so enables more outlets to be connected to the distribution device, improving distribution of the incoming material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647