DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 21, 36-37, 39, 42-44, and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lolley (US 10,842,138) in view of Van Decker (US 7,096,885).
In re. claim 16, Lolley teaches an insect dispensing system, comprising:a first section comprising a first inlet and a first outlet (first section of feeding tube (7) upstream of divider) (fig. 1); a divider connected to the first outlet defining two or more divider outlets (first feeding tube divided into two separate feeding tubes at divider) (fig. 1); a plurality of catch basins (shelves (1)), each catch basin supporting a strainer (3), each strainer comprising a mesh, each mesh sized to strain insect larvae and insect pupae from liquid introduced at the first inlet for retention for dispensing a population of insect larvae or insect pupae (wire mesh screen supports the larvae colony) (col. 2, ln. 11-13); and a plurality of second sections, each second section comprising a second inlet and a second outlet (second feeding tubes (7) downstream of divider) (fig. 1), each second inlet connected to a respective divider outlet (fig. 1), wherein each of the plurality of second outlets is configured to drain the liquid introduced at the first inlet into a respective catch basin of the plurality of catch basins (fig. 1).
Lolley fails to disclose the first outlet defining three or more divider outlets.
Van Decker teaches the first outlet defining three or more divider outlets (116, 128, 132, 132) (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Lolley to incorporate the teachings of Van Decker to have the first outlet defining three or more divider outlets, for the predictable result of providing feed evenly to additional containers.
In re. claim 21, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Van Decker) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 20, wherein the plurality of second outlets output a plurality of individual streams of fluid (in units (134)) (fig. 3) to distribute the population of insect larvae or insect pupae among the plurality of catch basins when the population of insect larvae or insect pupae and the fluid flow from the first inlet towards the plurality of divider outlets (equivalent structure provides equivalent function).
In re. claim 36, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Van Decker) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, further comprising: for a third outlet (130) of the plurality of second outlets: a second divider (132) comprising one or more second divider outlets (fig. 3), each second divider outlet having a first end in fluid communication with the third outlet (fig. 3) and a second end in fluid communication with a first catch basin (modified structure would have the outlet in fluid communication with the catch basin of Lolley).
In re. claim 37, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Lolley) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of second outlets are separated from the respective plurality of catch basins by an air gap (fig. 1).
In re. claim 39, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Lolley) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein at least one catch basin of the plurality of catch basins comprises a substantially rectangular box having four sloping walls and an open top configured to receive the liquid introduced at the first inlet (col. 6, ln. 45-51).
In re. claim 42, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Lolley) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein each strainer supported by a catch basin is removable from the respective catch basin (trays (2) can be removed from shelf (1)) (col. 2, ln. 32-34).
In re. claim 43, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Lolley) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of second outlets are positionable to drain the liquid introduced at the first inlet into the respective plurality of catch basins (fig. 1).
In re. claim 44, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Van Decker) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the divider comprises nine divider outlets (seven dividers create 14 outlets) (fig. 3).
In re. claim 46, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Lolley) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein each mesh is formed from a from a rigid material and has a fixed shape (col. 8, ln. 20-24).
In re. claim 47, Lolley as modified by Van Decker (see Lolley) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 16, wherein the liquid is water (col. 8, ln. 50-54).
Claims 18-20 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lolley as modified by Van Decker as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Harrod, Jr. et al. (US 3,223,237), hereinafter Harrod.
In re. claim 18, Lolley as modified by Van Decker fail to disclose the first inlet comprises a funnel.
Harrod teaches a first inlet (17) comprises a funnel (16).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Lolley as modified by Van Decker to incorporate the teachings of Harrod to have the first inlet comprise a funnel, for the predictable result of adding more feed to the system at the same time.
In re. claim 19, Lolley as modified by Van Decker fail to disclose a fluid source and an insect source, wherein the first inlet is in fluid communication with the fluid source and the insect source.
Harrod teaches a fluid source (24) and an insect source (22), wherein the first inlet (17) is in fluid communication with the fluid source and the insect source (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Lolley as modified by Van Decker to incorporate the teachings of Harrod to have the first inlet comprise a funnel, for the predictable result of distributing the larvae colony to the trays via the fluid source.
In re. claim 20, Lolley as modified by Van Decker and Harrod (see Harrod) teach the insect dispensing system of claim 19, wherein the fluid source comprises an inlet port (23) to introduce fluid into the first inlet (17), and wherein the insect source further comprises a funnel (16) for introducing the population of insect larvae or insect pupae into the fluid (fig. 1).
In re. claim 45, Lolley as modified by Van Decker fail to disclose the population of insect larvae or insect pupae comprise mosquito larvae or pupae.
Harrod teaches the population of insect larvae or insect pupae comprise mosquito larvae or pupae (col. 2, ln. 70-71).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Lolley as modified by Van Decker to incorporate the teachings of Harrod to have the population of insect larvae or insect pupae comprise mosquito larvae or pupae, for the purpose of applying the teachings of the invention to additional insect cultivating fields.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647