DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1,11,33,35,44,75-80, therapeutic payload (Species IV), and tumor/cancer cells (Species V)) in the reply filed on February 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The claims have been amended to state that RNA encodes a bispecific peptide or polypeptide. Because of the relatedness of the binding moieties that can be present on the bispecific peptide or polypeptide, the examiner is withdrawing the restriction requirement for species I-III. Group II (Claim 49) has been canceled. The non-elected species for Species IV and V are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species IV and V, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 16, 2026.
Claims Objections
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: “binding moiety binding moiety” should be –binding moiety--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,11,33,35,44,75-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 mentions a targeted delivery of a payload to a target cell.
Claim 1 recites “transfecting one or more cells with a lipid-based particle comprising an RNA encoding a bispecific peptide or polypeptide comprising a first binding moiety and a third binding moiety” and “the first binding moiety is displayed on the surface of the target cell.” It is unclear if the target cell is from the transfected cell population or another cell population because both the transfected cell/s and the target cell are able to secrete or display the first binding moiety. It is not clear if the first binding moiety is expressed by the target cell and is used by the target cell to bind to the payload or if the first binding moiety merely attaches to the target cell. The claim does mention a third binding moiety produced by one or more transfected cells but does not clarify what the third binding moiety will bind to. The independent and dependent claims fail to provide additional clarification concerning how the target cell interacts with the transfected cells and/or the payload. For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume that the bispecific polypeptide/peptide moieties are capable of binding to both a moiety attached to a payload (2nd binding moiety) and to a moiety on the target cell.
Claim 35 is problematic because independent claim 1 recites that RNA in a lipid-based particle is transfected into cells that are then able to express and secrete a bispecific peptide or polypeptide comprising the first and third binding moieties. However, claim 35 only mentions that the RNA is administered, not the transfected cells. It is not clear how cells are able to become transfected when the RNA is administered without first transfecting the cells. Claim 35 also recites, “(ii) the payload which comprises or is linked to the second binding moiety or RNA coding therefor.” This conflicts with independent claim 1 because claim 1 recites that the second binding moiety attaches to the first binding moiety and not the RNA.
The preamble of claim 44 recites “A method for targeted delivery of a payload to target cells in a subject.” The claim recites, “ a lipid based particle comprising an RNA encoding a bispecific peptide or polypeptide comprising a first binding moiety and a third binding moiety; and a therapeutic payload which comprises or is linked to a second binding moiety, wherein the first bind moiety and the second binding moiety bind to each other.” A target cell is not mentioned. The actual claim limitations fail to clarify how the payload is delivered to the target cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,11,33,35,44,75-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang WO 2019027847 in view of Rezvani (WO 2018237300)
Zhang teaches a method for targeted delivery of a payload to a target cell comprising: (i) transfecting one or more cells with a lipid-based particle (liposome) (Paragraphs 7, 89-90 and 99 of Zhang) comprising a RNA (Paragraphs 7,11 and 71 of Zhang) encoding a bispecific polypeptide (Paragraphs 4,6-7,80,89-90, and 106, 128 of Zhang) comprising a first binding moiety and a third binding moiety (Paragraphs 6-8,103-104 of Zhang), (ii) allowing the one or more transfected cells to express and secrete the bispecific polypeptide such that the bispecific polypeptide’s third binding moiety binds to the target cell/a cancer cell (Paragraphs 6-8 of Zhang) and the first binding moiety attaches to a second binding moiety on a therapeutic payload such as an effecter cell/a T cell, a NK cell, CD4+ T cell, CD8+ T cell, CD19+ cell, a CD20+ cell, a macrophage, or a B cell (Paragraphs 6,9,103-104, 241-242 of Zhang), (iii) adding a payload which comprises or is linked to a second binding moiety, wherein the first binding moiety and the second binding moiety are capable of binding to each other (the 2nd binding moiety present on effector cells—Paragraphs 241-242) as in instant Claim 1. Zhang teaches a method for targeted delivery of a payload to target cells in a subject, comprising administering to the subject : a lipid based particle (Paragraphs 14-15,89-90 and 99) comprising a RNA (Paragraphs 11 and 71) encoding a bispecific polypeptide (Paragraphs 4,7,80,89-90, and 106, 128 of Zhang) comprising a first binding moiety and a third binding moiety (Paragraphs 6-8,20,103-104 of Zhang); and wherein the first binding moiety binds to a second binding moiety attached to an effector cell/payload(Paragraphs 6-8 and 241-242 of Zhang) as in instant Claim 44.
Zhang teaches that effecter cells already present in-vivo can attach to the bispecific polypeptides to attack cancer cells, thus providing a deadly payload in the form of an immune cell (Paragraphs 241-242). The Zhang reference fails to state that effecter cells are administered. However, Rezvani teaches that immune cells such as T cells can be genetically engineered to express chimeric antigen receptors (Paragraph 128 of Rezvani). Rezvani further teaches that such cells can be directly administered to patients (Paragraphs 167-168,181-182 of Rezvani). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have administered T cells with chimeric antigen receptors. An artisan would have been motivated to have engineered such T cells to have chimeric antigen receptors because such cells can be modified to have antigenic specificity to certain cancer antigens, allowing for these cells to attack cancer (Paragraph 128 of Rezvani). Because chimeric antigen receptors help direct T cells to cancer sites, there would be a high expectation for success (Paragraph 128) as in instant Claims 1,44, and 75.
Dependent Claims taught by Zhang
Zhang discloses wherein the first binding moiety and the third binding moiety are linked to each other by a linker (Paragraphs 19-20,110,119, 192,and 200 of Zheng) as in instant Claim 11. Zhang discloses wherein the target cell is present in a subject (Paragraph 245) as in instant Claim 33. Zhang discloses the RNA encoding a bispecific polypeptide comprising the first binding moiety (Paragraphs 6-8,11,71,89-90, and 99); ii the payload which comprises or is linked to the second binding moiety (Paragraphs 6-8) as in instant Claim 35. Zhang discloses wherein the effector cell is a T cell (Paragraphs 8 and 246) as in instant Claim 76. Zhang discloses wherein the target cell is a cancer cell (Paragraphs 9 and 245) as in instant Claim 77. Zhang discloses wherein the second moiety is scFv (Paragraphs 6,25 and 241) as in instant Claim 78.
Zhang teaches delivering RNA that encodes for a bispecific polypeptide. Zhang teaches that such a bispecific polypeptide can successfully bind to immune cells (capable of having a payload) and also target cells (such as cancer cells). The immune cells mentioned in Zhang are already in the body and are not administered into a subject. However, Rezvani teaches that therapeutic T cells (effector/immune cells) can be successfully introduced into the body. Therefore, an artisan would have been motivated to have administered such cells to provide additional therapeutic benefits. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All the clamed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in immunotherapy. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
Claims 1,11,33,35,44,75-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang WO 2019027847 in view of Rezvani (WO 2018237300), Van Hoecke et al. “mRNA Encoding a Bispecific Single Domain Antibody Construct Protects against Influenza A Virus Infection in Mice” Molecular Therapy: Nucleic Acids, Vol. 20, June 2020, and Frey (WO 2020053239). Van Hoecke is cited in the IDS document dated 3/10/2023.
Zhang and Rezvani apply as above to teach claims 1,11,33,35,44,75-78. Zhang teaches that the second moiety can be connected to a payload/effecter cell; however, Zhang does not teach that the second moiety can be VHH. Van Hoecke teaches that the second binding moiety can be VHH/nanobodies (Page 777, right side). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have used VHH as the second binding moiety. An artisan would have been motivated to have used such a binding moiety because VHH can successfully attach to immune cells by binding to FcγReceptors on the immune cells and VHH is able to bind to other targets such as a first binding moiety discussed in Van Hoecke (Page 777, right side, bottom paragraph). There would have been a high expectation for success because Van Hoecke teaches that VHH can successfully connect to immune cells which carry payloads and also bind to other binding moieties. (Page 777, right side, bottom paragraph of Van Hoecke) as in instant Claim 78.
Neither Zhang or Van Hoecke teach the specific CDR sequences associated with the VHH domain. However, Frey recognizes that such binding moieties such as VHH can have the following constructs: CDR1 sequence: GVTISALNAMAMG (SEQ ID NO: 15), CDR2 AVSERGNAM (SEQ ID NO: 16), and CDR3 sequence LEDRVDSFHDY (SEQ ID NO: 17) (Paragraph 77 of Frey). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art to have included VHH binding moieties with these CDR regions. An artisan would have been motivated to have a VHH with these specific CDR regions because they successfully promote binding of moieties to immune cells (Paragraph 77 of Frey). Furthermore, an artisan would have been motivated for the first binding moiety to be SRLEEELRRRLTE (SEQ ID NO: 14) because it can successfully bind to a VHH moiety (Paragraph 76 of Frey) as in instant claims 78-80.
Dependent Claims taught by Frey
Frey teaches wherein the first binding moiety and the third binding moiety are linked to each other by a linker (Paragraphs 76- 78 of Frey) as in instant Claim 11. Frey teaches wherein the payload is an immune effector T cell comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (Paragraph 213 of Frey) as in instant Claims 75-76.
Zhang teaches delivering RNA that encodes for a bispecific polypeptide. Zhang teaches that such a bispecific polypeptide can successfully bind to immune cells (capable of having a payload) and also target cells (such as cancer cells). The immune cells mentioned in Zhang are already in the body and are not administered into a subject. However, Rezvani teaches that therapeutic T cells (effector/immune cells with payloads) can be successfully introduced into the body. Therefore, an artisan would have been motivated to have administered such cells to provide additional therapeutic benefits. An artisan would have been further motivated to have used VHH as a second moiety because Van Hoecke teaches that it can attach to immune cells and bind to additional targets. Furthermore, Frey teaches the CDR regions/sequences that can be present in a VHH moiety to assist with binding. Frey also teaches that a binding moiety that can successfully bind to the VHH second moiety would comprise a sequence SRLEELRRRLTE (SEQ ID NO: 14) which can be used as a first binding moiety. An artisan would have been motivated to have used VHH, attached to immune cells, as a second moiety in order to guide immune cells to additional targets. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All the clamed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in immunotherapy. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
Conclusion
All the claims stand rejected.
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638