DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed April 26, 2026. Currently, claims 1-14, 20-24 are pending. Claims 6-14, 20-24 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I and -13910C/T in the paper filed December 29, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Applicant added Claims 20-24 directed to methods. Methods were non-elected, therefore Claims 20-24 have been withdrawn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/085058, filed September 13, 2021 and claims priority to EP 20195885.7, filed September 14, 2020.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlos et al. (Biotechnology Reports, Vol 16, pages 21-25, 2017) in view of Jiang et al. (J. of Dairy Science, Vol. 103, Issue 5, Pages 4002-4012, May 2020) and Nguyen et al. (WO2018068064, April 12, 2018).
Carlos teaches allele -specific LAMP for the lactose intolerance (-13910 C/T dpSNP rs4988235) SNP using Au-nanoprobes. Carlos teaches primers and probes for MCM6 SNP -13910C/T characterization in Table 1.
These primers and probes are identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2, 11, 4, 1, and 3 of Table 1 (page 20 of the specification). Carlos teaches these AS-LAMP amplification and primer design were performed according to Notomi (page 23, col. 1).
Carlos does not teach using a lateral flow immunoassay device or the LB biotin primer of SEQ ID NO: 5.
However, Jiang teaches LAMP may be used on lateral flow device. Jiang illustrates the test strip for multiplex loop-mediated isothermal amplification (mLAMP) on lateral flow dipstick (LFD). Thus, the art teaches LAMP may be performed on lateral flow strips. Jiang teaches Anti-FITC, anti-dioxin antibodies on the detection region. Jiang teaches the labels may be Au-particles.
Moreover, Nguyen teaches a lateral flow rapid test strip (see Figure 1). Nguyen teaches these test strips have a sample pad, a conjugate pad, nitrocellulose membrane, backing card (i.e backing support), absorbent wick and cover tape (page 46, lines 26-30). Nguyen teaches the base substrate is a nitrocellulose member and onto which the capture antigens are immobilized (capture line or test line). Nguyen teaches rapid lateral flow assays are capable of detecting multiple analytes simultaneously on a single strip. Nguyen teaches peptides may be conjugated to a ligand (e.g. biotin) and complexed with labeled ligand receptor (e.g. streptavidin-colloidal gold)(page 28)(limitations of Claim 5). An antibody specific to the labeled antibody or a second labeled antibody can be used to product a control signal. Nguyen teaches the lateral flow devices are rapid diagnostic tests for detecting complexes (page 8).
With respect to Claim 3, Nguyen teaches multiple test lines (namely allows up to 10 antigens may be evaluated in a single assay). Figure 2B illustrates multiple capture test reagents (namely 5).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the invention to have modified the LAMP detection method of the T allele (-13910 C/T) as taught by Carlos to use a lateral flow rapid test strip of Nguyen in view of Jiang. Jiang teaches LAMP methods may be performed on lateral flow sticks. mLAMP-LFD assays are rapid and efficient, user-friendly and point of care. Additionally, Nguyen teaches the lateral flow rapid test strip is rapid and allows for diagnostic testing. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use a lateral flow rapid test strip because it allows point of care analysis and does not require sophisticated machinery.
With respect to SEQ ID NO: 5, it would have been prima facie obvious to have designed the Loop B (LB) primer between the B1c and B2 sequences. SEQ ID NO: 5 is located in Loop B and would have been a functional equivalent for the LB primer.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Duong et al. teaches Evaluation of LAMP technique for the diagnosis of genetic predisposition to lactose intolerance Loop-Mediated isothermal amplification detection of lactose intolerance (Revue Francophone des Laboratories, Vol. 2018, No. 504, pages 20-26, July-August 2018). Duong teaches using LAMP to detect rs4988235 (13910C>T). Duong does not teach the sequence for the primers.
Abildgaard et al. (Clinica Chimica Acta, Vol. 482, pages 50-56, 2018) teaches lactase persistence genotyping on whole blood b LAMP and melting curve analysis. Abildgaard teaches LAMP amplification but does not provide the sequence for the primers.
Augustine et al. (Biology, Vol. 9, No. 8, 2020) teaches LAMP is a rapid, sensitive, specific and cost-effective point of care test for COVID. Augustine teaches LAMP analysis on a lateral flow device.
Becherer et al. (Anal. Methods, Vol. 12, pages 717-746, 2020) teaches LAMP analysis on lateral flow dipsticks (see 4.3.4.1. Figure 7).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
May 14, 2026