DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In this instance, the limitation “a first edge of a slot in the battery” (in both independent claims 1 and 15) does not have support in the applicants’ originally filed specification nor in the applicants’ drawings, and thus is considered to be new matter. For purposes of examination, the new matter limitation “a slot in the battery” is broadly interpreted as to be used in order to accommodate “the latch in the locked position”, as claimed in independent claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 8,094,439), cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated February 7, 2023.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 15, Lin discloses a mobile device and its method of assembly (column 1, line 52 through column 3, line 63; and Figures 1-6), in which the mobile device (100) comprises the following structural features and process steps:
providing a body (housing (20)) defining a first surface (204) and a second surface (202) opposite the first surface (204), as shown in Figures 1 and 2;
providing a cavity (22) defined in the body (20) at the second surface (202) and configured to receive a battery (30) therein, wherein the cavity (22) comprises a first end and a second end (see Figures 1 and 2); and
providing a locking mechanism (latching mechanism (10)) coupled with the cavity (22) of the body (20), wherein the locking mechanism (10) comprises a latch (16) having an end and being configured to move between an unlocked position and a locked position at which the locking mechanism (10) is configured to secure the battery (30) within the cavity (22) in an instance in which the battery (30) is received by the cavity (22), wherein the cavity (22) and the locking mechanism (10) are configured to prevent a contact between the battery (30) and the locking mechanism (10) that results in movement of the locking mechanism (10) from the locked position to the unlocked position, wherein the end of the locking mechanism (10) is not in contact with the battery (30) in the locked position and in the unlocked position (see Figures 2-4 and 6). Furthermore, and as broadly interpreted in the “locked position”, a first distance between the battery and the end of the latch is greater than a second distance between the battery and the first end of the cavity, preventing a movement of the battery from causing the locking mechanism to move from the locked position to the unlocked position. In this instance, the examiner is interpreting Figures 3 and 6 of Lin et al. for the distance interpretation of relative relation on how the latch and the battery are to be locked to one another.
As to the “new matter” limitation (in the 35 USC 112(a) rejection above) pertaining to “a slot in the battery”, Lin discloses a slot (342) in Figure 6, wherein the slot (342) assists in operably latching the battery securely (see column 3, lines 52-56), wherein the end of the locking mechanism (10) is receivable in the “slot in the battery” when the locking mechanism (10) is in the locked position.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses that the latch (16) is configured to translate relative to the body (20) from the locked position to the unlocked position at which the latching element (164) of the latch (16) projects at least partially into the cavity (22) and the unlocked position at which the latch (16) is at least partially retracted from the cavity (22), as shown in Figures 2, 3, and 6.
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses that the cavity (22) is dimensioned to limit movement of the battery (30) in a first plane, wherein the first plane is parallel with respect to at least one of the first surface (204) or the second surface (202) of the body (20), as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses that the latch (16) is configured to limit movement of the battery (30) in the second plane while in the locked position, wherein the second plane is perpendicular to the first plane (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses that the latch (16) is configured to project in the first plane into the corresponding notch (342) of the battery (30) such that a first distance is defined between an end of the latch (16) and the battery (30) in the first plane (see Figures 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses that a battery cover is removably attached to cover the battery (30) on an inner side of the second surface (202) of the body (20) in order to cover the cavity (22), as shown in Figures 1, 2, and 5.
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses that the cavity (22) defines a first end supporting the locking mechanism (10) such that, in the locked position and in an instance in which the battery (30) is received by the cavity (22), the latching element (164) of the latch (16) in the locking mechanism (10) engages a corresponding first end of the battery (30), as shown in Figure 4.
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses that the cavity (22) defines a second end opposite the first end, the second end defines one or more extensions configured to, in an instance in which the battery (30) is received by the cavity (22), engage a second end of the battery (30) opposite the first end of the battery (30), as shown in Figures 1, 2, and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 8,094,439).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the features of claims 1 and 8, but fails to explicitly teach a pair of latches supported by the first end of the cavity and configured to, in the locked position, collectively engage a corresponding notch defined by the battery.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that adding another similar latch to provide two securing latches would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success, since Lin discloses a latch for securing the battery, as set forth in the combination of claims 1 and 8. In this instance, addition of a duplicate latch would provide even further securing means to hold the battery, which is merely a design choice of routine experimentation with predictable results. Moreover, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ after final amendment entered upon filing of the request for continued examination received by the USPTO on December 15, 2025 and January 14, 2026, respectively. The amendments to independent claims 1 and 15 raise new 35 USC 112(a) rejections based on inclusion of new matter. Claims 1, 3-10, and 15 remain under consideration in the application.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-10, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the argument pertaining to the new limitations has been addressed in the newly underlined portions applied above in the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection addressing the applicants’ amendments to independent claims 1 and 15.
Conclusion
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 February 4, 2026