DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-16, 18-22, 24, and 26-30 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the provided arguments that prior art of record Da Silva et al. (US 2023/0007499), hereinafter Da Silva, does not teach the newly added claim limitations. Da Silva teaches 1) “MAC CE that indicates to the UE that reconfiguration with synch jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell in addition to an activation or a deactivation of the one or more SCells” and 2) “a second identification of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as SpCell.”
Da Sliva teaches: receive, from the network entity, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell: “The problem addressed herein is how to enable e.g. a PSCell addition or inactivation, and a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells, e.g. move from one beam from one cell to another beam from another cell, by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs “ (DaSilva ¶ 0144) and “upon transmitting a lower layer indication to activate an SpCell, network node 110 decides, also referred to as assumes, after X ms that the UE 120 has applied a stored SpCell configuration that is indexed by the index received in the MAC CE” (Da Silva ¶ 0217) wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell: “In this variant of the provided method the list of SCell(s) may also be used to indicate cells that may also be candidates as additional SpCells, according to what is described in this document as additional SpCell(s). This variant may comprise two different ways to enable the UE to distinguish that a given cell and its configuration in the list is an SCell or an SpCell candidate. In the first way, a new field is added to indicate that the cell is an SpCell candidate. In another way, this is implicitly indicated e.g. by the fact that the SCell frequency is in the same frequency as the SpCell frequency (i.e. the frequency of the SpCell where the UE has been configured) . . . In one embodiment, the same MAC CE used for SCell activation is received by the UE and upon reception, if that is activating a cell in the list known to be an SpCell candidate, the UE performs lower layer mobility (i.e. synchronizes with the new cell and apply parameters associated to the configured cell in the SCell configuration list). In another solution, a new MAC CE is defined for lower layer mobility, to distinguish from SCell activation. There may be a third solution enabling the UE to distinguish yet another use case: multi-TRP transmission. In that third solution, the candidate for SpCell may also be a candidate for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission. In that solution, the UE may receive a MAC CE that indicates the addition of that cell for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission, distinguishing from lower layer mobility and SCell activation/deactivation” (Da Silva ¶ 0250-0251); and communicate via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “upon reception of a MAC CE whose identifier is associated to that cell whose indication indicates that this is an SpCell candidate, the UE performs inter-cell lower layer mobility instead of activating an SCell” (Da Silva ¶ 0253).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 14-22, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0334270), hereinafter Zhang in further view of Da Silva et al. (US 2023/0007499), hereinafter Da Silva.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured: “there is a wireless communications apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory and implement any methods recited in any of the embodiments. In some embodiments, a computer program product comprising a computer-readable program medium code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement any method recited in any of the embodiments” (Zhang ¶ 0025) to: receive, from a network entity, a configuration for layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) mobility cell for a set of cells that are able to be activated or deactivated for data or control transmission using L1 or L2 signaling: “Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling” (Zhang ¶ 0070), the configuration including at least one cell that supports L1 or L2 activation as a special cell (SpCell): “applies/activates the stored SpCell configuration (i.e. the configuration including SpCell specific configuration(s)) of the indicated/selected candidate/target cell(s) when the cell is indicated to be activated as SpCell by the NW” (Zhang ¶ 0131); wherein a single L1 or L2 message carries information about activation, deactivation, or update of the SpCell: “The command is a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) signaling and the communication sent to the identified candidate cell is L1/L2 signaling, wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (“DCI”), a uplink control information (“UCI”), a physical layer acknowledge (“ACK”) signaling, further wherein the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is the cell to be activated . . . The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the candidate cells can be configured as a special cell (“SpCell”) or secondary cell (“SCell”). The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the cells can be configured as a candidate cell for both a special cell (“SpCell”) and a secondary cell (“SCell”)” (Zhang ¶ 0005) and “In another alternative of this example, there may be a SpCell specific configuration (e.g. SpCellConfig, reconfiguration WithSync, PUCCH-Config) in the candidate cell configuration that can be used to distinguish whether the candidate cell can be activated as SpCell or SCell. For example, if the candidate cell configuration includes a SpCell specific command, the candidate cell is used as a candidate SpCell. Otherwise, it is used as a candidate SCell . . . an indicator or flag in the L1/L2 command that triggers the mobility may also indicate whether the cell is activated as a SpCell. The SpCell specific configuration may be used/applied by the UE when the cell is activated as a SpCell” (Zhang ¶, 0079 and 0081), and an update of one or more secondary cells (SCells) in a group of cells associated with SpCell: “the UE directly triggers L1/L2 mobility when at least one of the execution conditions is met. After completion of L1/L2 mobility (e.g. successful completion RA towards the DU, or successful reception of L1/L2 signaling at the DU from the UE), the DU may inform the activated/target cell to the CU. In one embodiment, the DU only informs the activated/target SpCell, but not the activated/target SCells to the CU. If the candidate cells are all activated as SCells (i.e. the L1/L2 mobility is triggered for SCell addition/change), then the DU shall not inform the CU. In another embodiment, the DU informs all activated candidate cell(s), including both SpCell and SCell(s)” (Zhang ¶ 0177). In summary, Zhang teaches the L1/L2 message as being a message updating SpCell configuration wherein that update may be a reconfiguration of an SCell in the group being activated as a SpCell; and communicate via one or more activated cells in the set of cells based on the L1 or L2 signaling: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073).
Zhang does not teach: receive, from the network entity, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell; and communicate via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE.
Regarding Claim 1, DaSilva teaches: receive, from the network entity, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell: “The problem addressed herein is how to enable e.g. a PSCell addition or inactivation, and a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells, e.g. move from one beam from one cell to another beam from another cell, by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs “ (DaSilva ¶ 0144) and “upon transmitting a lower layer indication to activate an SpCell, network node 110 decides, also referred to as assumes, after X ms that the UE 120 has applied a stored SpCell configuration that is indexed by the index received in the MAC CE” (DaSilva ¶ 0217) wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell: “In this variant of the provided method the list of SCell(s) may also be used to indicate cells that may also be candidates as additional SpCells, according to what is described in this document as additional SpCell(s). This variant may comprise two different ways to enable the UE to distinguish that a given cell and its configuration in the list is an SCell or an SpCell candidate. In the first way, a new field is added to indicate that the cell is an SpCell candidate. In another way, this is implicitly indicated e.g. by the fact that the SCell frequency is in the same frequency as the SpCell frequency (i.e. the frequency of the SpCell where the UE has been configured) . . . In one embodiment, the same MAC CE used for SCell activation is received by the UE and upon reception, if that is activating a cell in the list known to be an SpCell candidate, the UE performs lower layer mobility (i.e. synchronizes with the new cell and apply parameters associated to the configured cell in the SCell configuration list). In another solution, a new MAC CE is defined for lower layer mobility, to distinguish from SCell activation. There may be a third solution enabling the UE to distinguish yet another use case: multi-TRP transmission. In that third solution, the candidate for SpCell may also be a candidate for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission. In that solution, the UE may receive a MAC CE that indicates the addition of that cell for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission, distinguishing from lower layer mobility and SCell activation/deactivation” (DaSilva ¶ 0250-0251); and communicate via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “upon reception of a MAC CE whose identifier is associated to that cell whose indication indicates that this is an SpCell candidate, the UE performs inter-cell lower layer mobility instead of activating an SCell” (DaSilva ¶ 0253).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Zhang with Da Silva for the purpose of enabling the UE to receive configurations using more signaling efficient lower layer signals. According to Da Silva: “Different alternatives with different advantages, depending on the scenarios and architectural assumptions, are disclosed in the document. All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling” (Da Silva ¶ 0220).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE message includes: the cell ID of the cell in the set of cells being activated or deactivated: “wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (“DCI”), a uplink control information (“UCI”), a physical layer acknowledge (“ACK”) signaling, further wherein the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”)” (Zhang ¶ 0005); and a field indication whether the cell is activated as a new SpCell: “there may be different cell ID ranges assigned for a candidate SpCell and a candidate SCell (e.g. value 0˜ X are assigned for a candidate SpCell, while value X+1˜ N are assigned for candidate SCell). In another alternative of this example, there may be a bitmap used to indicate which cells can be activated as SpCell (e.g. a bit in the bitmap set to 1 indicates that the cell can be activated as SpCell). In another alternative of this example, there may be a SpCell specific configuration (e.g. SpCellConfig, reconfiguration WithSync, PUCCH-Config) in the candidate cell configuration that can be used to distinguish whether the candidate cell can be activated as SpCell or SCell. For example, if the candidate cell configuration includes a SpCell specific command, the candidate cell is used as a candidate SpCell. Otherwise, it is used as a candidate SCell” (Zhang ¶ 0079). In other words Zhang teaches the field indicates the cell as an SCell or an SpCell, which allows it to be indicated as a new SpCell during an activation message: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the DCI or the single MAC-CE activates a different SpCell: “The message is at least one of a handover command, primary secondary cell (“PSCell”) addition or/change command, or a message to command the release of a radio resource control (“RRC”) connection or the suspension of the RRC connection” (Zhang ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor: “The mobile device 200 includes communication interfaces 212” (Zhang ¶ 0056) and configured to receive the single DCI or the single MAC-CE, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE comprises one or more of: an identifier (ID) pointer to a cell ID of a cell in the set of cells being activated or deactivated: “The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is the cell to be activated” (Zhang ¶ 0005); ID information corresponding to the cell ID: “The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0005); a field indicating whether the cell is activated as a new SpCell; a configuration pointer to an SpCell configuration of multiple previously configured SpCell configurations; SpCell configuration information corresponding to the SpCell configuration of the multiple previously configured SpCell configurations; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to activate for each activated cell in the set of cells: “a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0005); a reference signal (RS) for beam refinement; and an RS ID to use for L1 reporting of the cells being deactivated in the set of cells: “a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE comprises one or more of: activation information indicating activated cells and deactivated cells in the set of cells: “the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated” (Zhang ¶ 0007), a tracing reference signal (TRS) identifier (ID) for each of the activated cells that were deactivated, the cell ID for a new SpCell in the set of cells, and an SpCell configuration ID for an SpCell configuration of multiple SpCell configurations for the new SpCell: “The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated. The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell. The candidate cells comprise separate lists for any of the candidate cells that are configured as special cells (“SpCells”), or any of the candidate cells that are configured as secondary cells (“SCells”)” (Zhang ¶ 0007).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE includes a number of octets corresponding to a first maximum number of cells configured for the data or the control using the L1 or L2 signaling, an overall number of cells configured for the data or the control using the L1 or L2 signaling: “the message comprises one or a plurality of candidate cell to be resumed, activated, maintained, or restored. The candidate cell refers to a candidate cell group, wherein the candidate cell group is at least one of a candidate master cell group (“MCG), or a candidate secondary cell group (“SCG”)” (Zhang ¶ 0006), or a second maximum number of cells that can be configured for the data or the control using the L1 or L2 signaling for the UE.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE comprises the cell ID for the new SpCell in the set of cells: “The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0010) and the SpCell configuration ID: “The execution conditions comprises at least one of a list of measurement configuration identifier information to indicate the execution condition, a measurement event based on the L1 measurement for the candidate cell, or a measurement event based on the L3 measurement for the candidate cell. The configuration message comprises at least one of an information to indicate a plurality of candidate cells can be identified together, or an execution condition for a plurality of candidate cells to be identified together.” (Zhang ¶ 0010), wherein the cell ID and the SpCell configuration ID occupy a separate octet with zero or more reserved bits The cell ID and SpCell configuration ID of Zhang are not within the same section of the message, or in other words they occupy a separate octet. There are zero or more reserved bits since zero or more reserved bits refers to any scenario whether or not there are reserve bits.
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated” (Zhang ¶ 0007) further includes an SpCell configuration ID for an SpCell configuration of multiple SpCell configuration for the new SpCell: “The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated. The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell. The candidate cells comprise separate lists for any of the candidate cells that are configured as special cells (“SpCells”), or any of the candidate cells that are configured as secondary cells (“SCells”)” (Zhang ¶ 0007).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory: “The basestation may also include system circuitry 122. System circuitry 122 may include processor(s) 124 and/or memory 126. Memory 126 may include operations 128 and control parameters 130” (Zhang ¶ 0054) and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) mobility cell for a set of cells that are able to be activated or deactivated for data or control transmission using L1 or L2 signaling: “Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling” (Zhang ¶ 0070), the configuration including at least one cell that supports L1 or L2 activation as a special cell (SpCell): “applies/activates the stored SpCell configuration (i.e. the configuration including SpCell specific configuration(s)) of the indicated/selected candidate/target cell(s) when the cell is indicated to be activated as SpCell by the NW” (Zhang ¶ 0131) ); wherein a single L1 or L2 message carries information about activation, deactivation, or update of the SpCell: “The command is a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) signaling and the communication sent to the identified candidate cell is L1/L2 signaling, wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (“DCI”), a uplink control information (“UCI”), a physical layer acknowledge (“ACK”) signaling, further wherein the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is the cell to be activated . . . The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the candidate cells can be configured as a special cell (“SpCell”) or secondary cell (“SCell”). The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the cells can be configured as a candidate cell for both a special cell (“SpCell”) and a secondary cell (“SCell”)” (Zhang ¶ 0005) and “In another alternative of this example, there may be a SpCell specific configuration (e.g. SpCellConfig, reconfiguration WithSync, PUCCH-Config) in the candidate cell configuration that can be used to distinguish whether the candidate cell can be activated as SpCell or SCell. For example, if the candidate cell configuration includes a SpCell specific command, the candidate cell is used as a candidate SpCell. Otherwise, it is used as a candidate SCell . . . an indicator or flag in the L1/L2 command that triggers the mobility may also indicate whether the cell is activated as a SpCell. The SpCell specific configuration may be used/applied by the UE when the cell is activated as a SpCell” (Zhang ¶, 0079 and 0081), and an update of one or more secondary cells (SCells) in a group of cells associated with SpCell: “the UE directly triggers L1/L2 mobility when at least one of the execution conditions is met. After completion of L1/L2 mobility (e.g. successful completion RA towards the DU, or successful reception of L1/L2 signaling at the DU from the UE), the DU may inform the activated/target cell to the CU. In one embodiment, the DU only informs the activated/target SpCell, but not the activated/target SCells to the CU. If the candidate cells are all activated as SCells (i.e. the L1/L2 mobility is triggered for SCell addition/change), then the DU shall not inform the CU. In another embodiment, the DU informs all activated candidate cell(s), including both SpCell and SCell(s)” (Zhang ¶ 0177). In summary, Zhang teaches the L1/L2 message as being a message updating SpCell configuration wherein that update may be a reconfiguration of an SCell in the group being activated as a SpCell; and communicate via one or more activated cells in the set of cells based on the L1 or L2 signaling: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073); and communicate with the UE via one or more activated cells in the set of cells based on the L1 or L2 signaling: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073).
Zhang does not teach: transmit, to the UE, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell; and communicate with the UE via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE.
Regarding Claim 15, DaSilva teaches: transmit, to the UE, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell: “The problem addressed herein is how to enable e.g. a PSCell addition or inactivation, and a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells, e.g. move from one beam from one cell to another beam from another cell, by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs “ (DaSilva ¶ 0144) and “upon transmitting a lower layer indication to activate an SpCell, network node 110 decides, also referred to as assumes, after X ms that the UE 120 has applied a stored SpCell configuration that is indexed by the index received in the MAC CE” (DaSilva ¶ 0217) wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell: “In this variant of the provided method the list of SCell(s) may also be used to indicate cells that may also be candidates as additional SpCells, according to what is described in this document as additional SpCell(s). This variant may comprise two different ways to enable the UE to distinguish that a given cell and its configuration in the list is an SCell or an SpCell candidate. In the first way, a new field is added to indicate that the cell is an SpCell candidate. In another way, this is implicitly indicated e.g. by the fact that the SCell frequency is in the same frequency as the SpCell frequency (i.e. the frequency of the SpCell where the UE has been configured) . . . In one embodiment, the same MAC CE used for SCell activation is received by the UE and upon reception, if that is activating a cell in the list known to be an SpCell candidate, the UE performs lower layer mobility (i.e. synchronizes with the new cell and apply parameters associated to the configured cell in the SCell configuration list). In another solution, a new MAC CE is defined for lower layer mobility, to distinguish from SCell activation. There may be a third solution enabling the UE to distinguish yet another use case: multi-TRP transmission. In that third solution, the candidate for SpCell may also be a candidate for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission. In that solution, the UE may receive a MAC CE that indicates the addition of that cell for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission, distinguishing from lower layer mobility and SCell activation/deactivation” (DaSilva ¶ 0250-0251); and communicate with the UE via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “upon reception of a MAC CE whose identifier is associated to that cell whose indication indicates that this is an SpCell candidate, the UE performs inter-cell lower layer mobility instead of activating an SCell” (DaSilva ¶ 0253).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Zhang with Da Silva for the purpose of enabling the UE to receive configurations using more signaling efficient lower layer signals. According to Da Silva: “Different alternatives with different advantages, depending on the scenarios and architectural assumptions, are disclosed in the document. All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling” (Da Silva ¶ 0220).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE includes the cell ID of the cell in the set of cells being activated or deactivated:: “The candidate cells comprise separate lists for any of the candidate cells that are configured as special cells (“SpCells”), or any of the candidate cells that are configured as secondary cells (“SCells”), wherein the identifying is based on the separate lists” (Zhang ¶ 0005), : “wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (“DCI”), a uplink control information (“UCI”), a physical layer acknowledge (“ACK”) signaling, further wherein the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”)” (Zhang ¶ 0005); and a field indication whether the cell is activated as a new SpCell: “there may be different cell ID ranges assigned for a candidate SpCell and a candidate SCell (e.g. value 0˜ X are assigned for a candidate SpCell, while value X+1˜ N are assigned for candidate SCell). In another alternative of this example, there may be a bitmap used to indicate which cells can be activated as SpCell (e.g. a bit in the bitmap set to 1 indicates that the cell can be activated as SpCell). In another alternative of this example, there may be a SpCell specific configuration (e.g. SpCellConfig, reconfiguration WithSync, PUCCH-Config) in the candidate cell configuration that can be used to distinguish whether the candidate cell can be activated as SpCell or SCell. For example, if the candidate cell configuration includes a SpCell specific command, the candidate cell is used as a candidate SpCell. Otherwise, it is used as a candidate SCell” (Zhang ¶ 0079). In other words Zhang teaches the field indicates the cell as an SCell or an SpCell, which allows it to be indicated as a new SpCell during an activation message: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the information, in the single DCI or the single MAC-CE, about the activation or the deactivation of the SpCell indicates that a current SpCell is unchanged: “The method further includes receiving a message, from the basestation, to resume the suspended radio resource control (“RRC”) connection; wherein the message comprises one or a plurality of candidate cell to be resumed, activated, maintained, or restored” (Zhang ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE activates a different SpCell: “The message is at least one of a handover command, primary secondary cell (“PSCell”) addition or/change command, or a message to command the release of a radio resource control (“RRC”) connection or the suspension of the RRC connection” (Zhang ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 15, further comprising: at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor: “The example basestation may include radio Tx/Rx circuitry 113 to receive and transmit with user equipment (UEs)” (Zhang ¶ 0053) and configured to receive the single DCI or the single MAC-CE, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE comprises one or more of: an identifier (ID) pointer to a cell ID of a cell in the set of cells being activated or deactivated: “The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is the cell to be activated” (Zhang ¶ 0005); ID information corresponding to the cell ID: “The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0005); a field indicating whether the cell is activated as a new SpCell; a configuration pointer to an SpCell configuration of multiple previously configured SpCell configurations; SpCell configuration information corresponding to the SpCell configuration of the multiple previously configured SpCell configurations; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to activate for each activated cell in the set of cells: “a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0005); a reference signal (RS) for beam refinement; and an RS ID to use for L1 reporting of the cells being deactivated in the set of cells: “a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE comprises one or more of: activation information indicating activated cells and deactivated cells in the set of cells: “the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated” (Zhang ¶ 0007), a tracing reference signal (TRS) ID for each of the activated cells that were deactivated, a cell ID for a new SpCell in the set of cells, and an SpCell configuration ID for an SpCell configuration of multiple SpCell configurations for the new SpCell: “The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated. The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell. The candidate cells comprise separate lists for any of the candidate cells that are configured as special cells (“SpCells”), or any of the candidate cells that are configured as secondary cells (“SCells”)” (Zhang ¶ 0007).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE includes a number of octets corresponding to a first maximum number of cells configured for the data or the control using the L1 or L2 signaling, an overall number of cells configured for the data or the control using the L1 or L2 signaling: “the message comprises one or a plurality of candidate cell to be resumed, activated, maintained, or restored. The candidate cell refers to a candidate cell group, wherein the candidate cell group is at least one of a candidate master cell group (“MCG), or a candidate secondary cell group (“SCG”)” (Zhang ¶ 0006), or a second maximum number of cells that can be configured for the data or the control using the L1 or L2 signaling for the UE.
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE comprises the cell ID for the new SpCell in the set of cells: “The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell” (Zhang ¶ 0010) and the SpCell configuration ID: “The execution conditions comprises at least one of a list of measurement configuration identifier information to indicate the execution condition, a measurement event based on the L1 measurement for the candidate cell, or a measurement event based on the L3 measurement for the candidate cell. The configuration message comprises at least one of an information to indicate a plurality of candidate cells can be identified together, or an execution condition for a plurality of candidate cells to be identified together.” (Zhang ¶ 0010), wherein the cell ID and the SpCell configuration ID occupy a separate octet with zero or more reserved bits The cell ID and SpCell configuration ID of Zhang are not within the same section of the message, or in other words they occupy a separate octet. There are zero or more reserved bits since zero or more reserved bits refers to any scenario whether or not there are reserve bits.
Regarding Claim 28, Zhang teaches: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated” (Zhang ¶ 0007) further includes an SpCell configuration ID for an SpCell configuration of multiple SpCell configuration for the new SpCell: “The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is a cell to be activated. The cell ID information comprises at least one of a candidate cell configuration index, a serving cell ID, a physical cell identity (“PCI”), a PCI and frequency, a reference signal (“RS”) ID related to the candidate cell, or a transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state ID related to the candidate cell. The candidate cells comprise separate lists for any of the candidate cells that are configured as special cells (“SpCells”), or any of the candidate cells that are configured as secondary cells (“SCells”)” (Zhang ¶ 0007).
Regarding Claim 29, Zhang teaches: A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) mobility cell for a set of cells that are able to be activated or deactivated for data or control transmission using L1 or L2 signaling: “Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling” (Zhang ¶ 0070), the configuration including at least one cell that supports L1 or L2 activation as a special cell (SpCell): “applies/activates the stored SpCell configuration (i.e. the configuration including SpCell specific configuration(s)) of the indicated/selected candidate/target cell(s) when the cell is indicated to be activated as SpCell by the NW” (Zhang ¶ 0131) ); wherein a single L1 or L2 message carries information about activation, deactivation, or update of the SpCell: “The command is a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) signaling and the communication sent to the identified candidate cell is L1/L2 signaling, wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (“DCI”), a uplink control information (“UCI”), a physical layer acknowledge (“ACK”) signaling, further wherein the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is the cell to be activated . . . The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the candidate cells can be configured as a special cell (“SpCell”) or secondary cell (“SCell”). The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the cells can be configured as a candidate cell for both a special cell (“SpCell”) and a secondary cell (“SCell”)” (Zhang ¶ 0005) and “In another alternative of this example, there may be a SpCell specific configuration (e.g. SpCellConfig, reconfiguration WithSync, PUCCH-Config) in the candidate cell configuration that can be used to distinguish whether the candidate cell can be activated as SpCell or SCell. For example, if the candidate cell configuration includes a SpCell specific command, the candidate cell is used as a candidate SpCell. Otherwise, it is used as a candidate SCell . . . an indicator or flag in the L1/L2 command that triggers the mobility may also indicate whether the cell is activated as a SpCell. The SpCell specific configuration may be used/applied by the UE when the cell is activated as a SpCell” (Zhang ¶, 0079 and 0081), and an update of one or more secondary cells (SCells) in a group of cells associated with SpCell: “the UE directly triggers L1/L2 mobility when at least one of the execution conditions is met. After completion of L1/L2 mobility (e.g. successful completion RA towards the DU, or successful reception of L1/L2 signaling at the DU from the UE), the DU may inform the activated/target cell to the CU. In one embodiment, the DU only informs the activated/target SpCell, but not the activated/target SCells to the CU. If the candidate cells are all activated as SCells (i.e. the L1/L2 mobility is triggered for SCell addition/change), then the DU shall not inform the CU. In another embodiment, the DU informs all activated candidate cell(s), including both SpCell and SCell(s)” (Zhang ¶ 0177). In summary, Zhang teaches the L1/L2 message as being a message updating SpCell configuration wherein that update may be a reconfiguration of an SCell in the group being activated as a SpCell; and communicate via one or more activated cells in the set of cells based on the L1 or L2 signaling: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073); and communicating via one or more activated cells in the set of cells based on the L1 or L2 signaling: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073).
Zhang does not teach: receiving, from the network entity, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell; and communicating via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE.
Regarding Claim 29, DaSilva teaches: receiving, from the network entity, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell: “The problem addressed herein is how to enable e.g. a PSCell addition or inactivation, and a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells, e.g. move from one beam from one cell to another beam from another cell, by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs “ (DaSilva ¶ 0144) and “upon transmitting a lower layer indication to activate an SpCell, network node 110 decides, also referred to as assumes, after X ms that the UE 120 has applied a stored SpCell configuration that is indexed by the index received in the MAC CE” (DaSilva ¶ 0217) wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell: “In this variant of the provided method the list of SCell(s) may also be used to indicate cells that may also be candidates as additional SpCells, according to what is described in this document as additional SpCell(s). This variant may comprise two different ways to enable the UE to distinguish that a given cell and its configuration in the list is an SCell or an SpCell candidate. In the first way, a new field is added to indicate that the cell is an SpCell candidate. In another way, this is implicitly indicated e.g. by the fact that the SCell frequency is in the same frequency as the SpCell frequency (i.e. the frequency of the SpCell where the UE has been configured) . . . In one embodiment, the same MAC CE used for SCell activation is received by the UE and upon reception, if that is activating a cell in the list known to be an SpCell candidate, the UE performs lower layer mobility (i.e. synchronizes with the new cell and apply parameters associated to the configured cell in the SCell configuration list). In another solution, a new MAC CE is defined for lower layer mobility, to distinguish from SCell activation. There may be a third solution enabling the UE to distinguish yet another use case: multi-TRP transmission. In that third solution, the candidate for SpCell may also be a candidate for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission. In that solution, the UE may receive a MAC CE that indicates the addition of that cell for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission, distinguishing from lower layer mobility and SCell activation/deactivation” (DaSilva ¶ 0250-0251); and communicating via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “upon reception of a MAC CE whose identifier is associated to that cell whose indication indicates that this is an SpCell candidate, the UE performs inter-cell lower layer mobility instead of activating an SCell” (DaSilva ¶ 0253).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Zhang with Da Silva for the purpose of enabling the UE to receive configurations using more signaling efficient lower layer signals. According to Da Silva: “Different alternatives with different advantages, depending on the scenarios and architectural assumptions, are disclosed in the document. All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling” (Da Silva ¶ 0220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Zhang with Da Silva for the purpose of enabling the UE to receive configurations using more signaling efficient lower layer signals. According to Da Silva: “Different alternatives with different advantages, depending on the scenarios and architectural assumptions, are disclosed in the document. All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling” (Da Silva ¶ 0220).
Regarding Claim 30, Zhang teaches: A method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) mobility cell for a set of cells that are able to be activated or deactivated for data or control transmission using L1 or L2 signaling: “Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling” (Zhang ¶ 0070), the configuration including at least one cell that supports L1 or L2 activation as a special cell (SpCell): “applies/activates the stored SpCell configuration (i.e. the configuration including SpCell specific configuration(s)) of the indicated/selected candidate/target cell(s) when the cell is indicated to be activated as SpCell by the NW” (Zhang ¶ 0131) ); wherein a single L1 or L2 message carries information about activation, deactivation, or update of the SpCell: “The command is a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) signaling and the communication sent to the identified candidate cell is L1/L2 signaling, wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (“DCI”), a uplink control information (“UCI”), a physical layer acknowledge (“ACK”) signaling, further wherein the L2 signaling comprises a medium access control element (“MAC CE”). The command comprises cell ID information of the identified candidate cell, which is the cell to be activated . . . The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the candidate cells can be configured as a special cell (“SpCell”) or secondary cell (“SCell”). The candidate cells comprise a list wherein each of the cells can be configured as a candidate cell for both a special cell (“SpCell”) and a secondary cell (“SCell”)” (Zhang ¶ 0005) and “In another alternative of this example, there may be a SpCell specific configuration (e.g. SpCellConfig, reconfiguration WithSync, PUCCH-Config) in the candidate cell configuration that can be used to distinguish whether the candidate cell can be activated as SpCell or SCell. For example, if the candidate cell configuration includes a SpCell specific command, the candidate cell is used as a candidate SpCell. Otherwise, it is used as a candidate SCell . . . an indicator or flag in the L1/L2 command that triggers the mobility may also indicate whether the cell is activated as a SpCell. The SpCell specific configuration may be used/applied by the UE when the cell is activated as a SpCell” (Zhang ¶, 0079 and 0081), and an update of one or more secondary cells (SCells) in a group of cells associated with SpCell: “the UE directly triggers L1/L2 mobility when at least one of the execution conditions is met. After completion of L1/L2 mobility (e.g. successful completion RA towards the DU, or successful reception of L1/L2 signaling at the DU from the UE), the DU may inform the activated/target cell to the CU. In one embodiment, the DU only informs the activated/target SpCell, but not the activated/target SCells to the CU. If the candidate cells are all activated as SCells (i.e. the L1/L2 mobility is triggered for SCell addition/change), then the DU shall not inform the CU. In another embodiment, the DU informs all activated candidate cell(s), including both SpCell and SCell(s)” (Zhang ¶ 0177). In summary, Zhang teaches the L1/L2 message as being a message updating SpCell configuration wherein that update may be a reconfiguration of an SCell in the group being activated as a SpCell; and communicate via one or more activated cells in the set of cells based on the L1 or L2 signaling: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073); and communicating with the UE via one or more activated cells in the set of cells based on the L1 or L2 signaling: “The identifying in block 808 may also include activating or switching to the target cell, and the UE can communicate with the target cell in block 810” (Zhang ¶ 0073).
Zhang does not teach: transmitting, to the UE, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell; and communicating with the UE via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE.
Regarding Claim 30, DaSilva teaches: transmitting, to the UE, a single downlink control information (DCI) or a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that jointly updates one or more secondary cells (SCells) in the set of cells and activates one cell as the SpCell: “The problem addressed herein is how to enable e.g. a PSCell addition or inactivation, and a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells, e.g. move from one beam from one cell to another beam from another cell, by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs “ (DaSilva ¶ 0144) and “upon transmitting a lower layer indication to activate an SpCell, network node 110 decides, also referred to as assumes, after X ms that the UE 120 has applied a stored SpCell configuration that is indexed by the index received in the MAC CE” (DaSilva ¶ 0217) wherein, in addition to an activation or deactivation of the one or more SCells, the single DCI or the single MAC-CE jointly includes a first indication of a cell identifier (ID) for the one cell in the set of cells that is activated as the SpCell and a second indication of a cell configuration identified from multiple previously configured cell configurations for the one cell as the SpCell: “In this variant of the provided method the list of SCell(s) may also be used to indicate cells that may also be candidates as additional SpCells, according to what is described in this document as additional SpCell(s). This variant may comprise two different ways to enable the UE to distinguish that a given cell and its configuration in the list is an SCell or an SpCell candidate. In the first way, a new field is added to indicate that the cell is an SpCell candidate. In another way, this is implicitly indicated e.g. by the fact that the SCell frequency is in the same frequency as the SpCell frequency (i.e. the frequency of the SpCell where the UE has been configured) . . . In one embodiment, the same MAC CE used for SCell activation is received by the UE and upon reception, if that is activating a cell in the list known to be an SpCell candidate, the UE performs lower layer mobility (i.e. synchronizes with the new cell and apply parameters associated to the configured cell in the SCell configuration list). In another solution, a new MAC CE is defined for lower layer mobility, to distinguish from SCell activation. There may be a third solution enabling the UE to distinguish yet another use case: multi-TRP transmission. In that third solution, the candidate for SpCell may also be a candidate for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission. In that solution, the UE may receive a MAC CE that indicates the addition of that cell for inter-cell multi-TRP transmission, distinguishing from lower layer mobility and SCell activation/deactivation” (DaSilva ¶ 0250-0251); and communicating with the UE via the one cell activated as the SpCell and one or more activated SCells in the set of cells based on the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “upon reception of a MAC CE whose identifier is associated to that cell whose indication indicates that this is an SpCell candidate, the UE performs inter-cell lower layer mobility instead of activating an SCell” (DaSilva ¶ 0253).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Zhang with Da Silva for the purpose of enabling the UE to receive configurations using more signaling efficient lower layer signals. According to Da Silva: “Different alternatives with different advantages, depending on the scenarios and architectural assumptions, are disclosed in the document. All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling” (Da Silva ¶ 0220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Zhang with Da Silva for the purpose of enabling the UE to receive configurations using more signaling efficient lower layer signals. According to Da Silva: “Different alternatives with different advantages, depending on the scenarios and architectural assumptions, are disclosed in the document. All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling” (Da Silva ¶ 0220).
Claims 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Da Silva as applied to claims 7 and 20 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0007879), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang and Da Silva teach: The apparatus of claim 7.
Zhang and Da Silva do not teach: a first octet of the number of octets comprises a reserved bit, and the reserved bit is configured to indicate one or more of: whether the MAC-CE carries an SpCell update; and a new status of a current SpCell in the set of cells.
Regarding Claim 9, Liu teaches: a first octet of the number of octets comprises a reserved bit, and the reserved bit is configured to indicate one or more of: whether the MAC-CE carries an SpCell update; and a new status of a current SpCell in the set of cells: “if new beam is identified from NBI RS set#2 of SpCell, the AC field is set to 1, and the octet including the AC field also includes a Candidate RS ID field (6 bits) that is set to the index of the new beam, as well as one reserved bit” (Liu ¶ 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Zhang and Da Silva with Liu to achieve the predictable result of improving BFR for a multi-TRP scenario. According to Liu: “However, the traditional BFR procedure only targets single TRP scenario. Enhancement on the BFR procedure in multi-TRP scenario is necessary” (Liu ¶ 0003).
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang and Da Silva teach: The apparatus of claim 21.
Zhang and Da Silva do not teach: a first octet of the number of octets comprises a reserved bit, and the reserved bit is configured to indicate one or more of: whether the MAC-CE carries an SpCell update; and a new status of a current SpCell in the set of cells.
Regarding Claim 23, Liu teaches: a first octet of the number of octets comprises a reserved bit, and the reserved bit is configured to indicate one or more of: whether the MAC-CE carries an SpCell update; and a new status of a current SpCell in the set of cells: “if new beam is identified from NBI RS set#2 of SpCell, the AC field is set to 1, and the octet including the AC field also includes a Candidate RS ID field (6 bits) that is set to the index of the new beam, as well as one reserved bit” (Liu ¶ 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Zhang and Da Silva with Liu to achieve the predictable result of improving BFR for a multi-TRP scenario. According to Liu: “However, the traditional BFR procedure only targets single TRP scenario. Enhancement on the BFR procedure in multi-TRP scenario is necessary” (Liu ¶ 0003).
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Da Silva as applied to claims 7 and 21 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2023/0224126), hereinafter Ahn.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang and Da Silva teach: The apparatus of claim 7.
Zhang and Da Silva do not teach: an octet corresponding to the TRS ID includes an 8-bit TRS ID pointing to an SCell configuration for the SCells activated by the single DCI or the single MAC-CE.
Regarding Claim 10, Anh teaches: an octet corresponding to the TRS ID includes an 8-bit TRS ID pointing to an SCell configuration for the SCells activated by the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “For example, for each SCell, MAC CE including X-bit information indicating whether TRS being triggered or not (or on-off), Y-bit information indicating the SCell index (or ID), and Z-bit information indicating TRS ID (or index) may be defined” (Ahn ¶ 0191) and “The sum of X, Y, and Z bits may be configured as 8 bits or less. One octet including X-bit information, Y-bit information, and/or Z-bit information may be allocated/mapped for each SCell” (Ahn ¶ 0193).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Zhang and Da Silva with Ahn to achieve the predictable result of utilizing new research into device connectivity to improve transmission rates per user in a network. According to Ahn: “The requirements of a next-generation mobile communication system at large should be able to support accommodation of explosive data traffic, a remarkable increase in a transmission rate per user, accommodation of the significantly increased number of connected devices, very low End-to-End latency and high energy efficiency. To this end, a variety of technologies such as Dual Connectivity, Massive Multiple Input Multiple Output (Massive MIMO), In-band Full Duplex, Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA), Super wideband Support, Device Networking, etc. have been researched” (Ahn ¶ 0003).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang and Da Silva teach: The apparatus of claim 21.
Zhang and Da Silva do not teach: an octet corresponding to the TRS ID includes an 8-bit TRS ID pointing to an SCell configuration for the SCells activated by the single DCI or the single MAC-CE.
Regarding Claim 24, Anh teaches: an octet corresponding to the TRS ID includes an 8-bit TRS ID pointing to an SCell configuration for the SCells activated by the single DCI or the single MAC-CE: “For example, for each SCell, MAC CE including X-bit information indicating whether TRS being triggered or not (or on-off), Y-bit information indicating the SCell index (or ID), and Z-bit information indicating TRS ID (or index) may be defined” (Ahn ¶ 0191) and “The sum of X, Y, and Z bits may be configured as 8 bits or less. One octet including X-bit information, Y-bit information, and/or Z-bit information may be allocated/mapped for each SCell” (Ahn ¶ 0193).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Zhang and Da Silva with Ahn to achieve the predictable result of utilizing new research into device connectivity to improve transmission rates per user in a network. According to Ahn: “The requirements of a next-generation mobile communication system at large should be able to support accommodation of explosive data traffic, a remarkable increase in a transmission rate per user, accommodation of the significantly increased number of connected devices, very low End-to-End latency and high energy efficiency. To this end, a variety of technologies such as Dual Connectivity, Massive Multiple Input Multiple Output (Massive MIMO), In-band Full Duplex, Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA), Super wideband Support, Device Networking, etc. have been researched” (Ahn ¶ 0003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473