DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, & 21-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “further comprising a display device implemented to display an ultrasound image” which renders the claim unclear. It is unclear whether this is the same display device from Claim 1 or a new display device. For the purposes of this examination it is interpreted as being a new display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 21-26, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolschlager et al (US20200305839A1; hereinafter referred to as Wolschlager) in view of Hwang et al (US20150205400A1; hereinafter referred to as Hwang) and further in view of Blow et al (US20120032979A1; hereinafter referred to as Blow)
Regarding Claim 1, Wolschlager teaches an ultrasound system comprising: an ultrasound scanner having a touch sensitive surface (“The term “gesture” as used herein may in some aspects refer to any movement or motion by one or more body parts such as a finger that permits the control or operation of a device without having to use physical buttons or knobs, for example. The use of these gestures may be implemented using touch sensitive surfaces such as capacitive or resistive surfaces including touchscreens. Examples of gestures employable in one embodiment include a tap, a double-tap, swiping motions, or any combination thereof, among others..” [0034], “The base unit 200 further comprises a memory 216 for storing gesture template database 218. When attached to a patient 220, the sensor unit 202 allows wireless health monitoring signals acquisition via a sensors module 222… The sensor unit 202 may be an ultrasound sensor unit for use in ultrasound examinations.” [0044], “Sensor unit 202 may further include capacitive or resistive sensors including touchscreens/touchpads which allow the operator to touch the surface of the sensor unit and which are detected by the sensor unit 202 through a plurality of reference sensor data. A plurality of sensors can be utilized to localize the position of the sensed touch by the operator on the surface of the device.” [0046]);
Wolschlager does not specifically teach a processor configured to: generate a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different; determine a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location; and activate, based on the first grip orientation, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input, wherein the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches detecting and responding to a grip being used to interact with a portable device having a touch or hover-sensitive input/output interface [0004].
Hwang also teaches a processor configured to: generate a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different (“Edge interface 610 may detect, for example, the locations where the edge interface 610 is being touched and the pressure with which the edge interface 610 is being touched. For example, finger 640 may be gripping the apparatus 690 with a first lighter pressure while finger 660 may be gripping the apparatus 699 with a second greater pressure. Edge interface 610 may also detect, for example, whether a touch point is moving along the edge interface 610 and whether the pressure associated with a touch point is constant, increasing, or decreasing. Thus, edge interface 610 may be able to detect events including, for example, a swipe along an edge, a squeeze of apparatus 699, a tap on edge interface 610, or other actions.” [0040])
determine a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location (“Thus, method 1500 may also include, at 1520, determining a grip context based on the set of points. In one embodiment, the grip context identifies whether the apparatus is being gripped in a right hand, in a left hand, by a left hand and a right hand, or by no hands. The grip context may also provide information about the orientation in which the apparatus is being gripped.” [0059]);
and activate, based on the first grip orientation, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input (“User interface element 1120 may be enlarged and moved to location 1121 based on the position of thumb 1192. Additionally, control region 1180 may be repositioned higher on the right side based on the position of thumb 1192. Repositioning region 1180 may be performed by selecting which touch sensors on the right side of apparatus are active. In one embodiment, the right side of apparatus 1199 may have N sensors, N being an integer. The N sensors may be distributed along the right side. Which sensors, if any, are active may be determined, at least in part, by the location of thumb 1192. For example, if there are sixteen sensors placed along the right side, sensors five through nine may be active in region 1180 based on the location of thumb 1192.” [0048])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with a processor configured to: generate a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different; determine a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location; and activate, based on the first grip orientation, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input as taught by Hwang, because it may improve the user interaction experience [0046].
Wolschlager in view of Hwang does not specifically teach that the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blow teaches devices and methods to accommodate a user's grip of a touchscreen display surface by adjusting the displayed content based on grip event parameters [0004].
Blow also teaches that the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device (“device may determine from the layout of the displayed content a grip location that would result in a minimum adjustment to the presentation display, and display a contour to prompt the user to grip the device at the determined location.” [0011], “the mobile device 100 equipped with a touch sensor other than the touchscreen display (e.g., a capacitance sensor on a back surface of the device) may sense locations of a user's fingers and hand on the side, back, bezel or other portion of the device that is not part of the touch screen display. In step 3602, the mobile device may analyze the sensed positions of the user's fingers in order to determine a suggested thumb location consistent with the user's hand position. This determination may be based upon an anatomical model of a typical user's hand, user preference settings, or saved user hand dimensional parameters, such as may be determined in a training routine, such as similar to that described above with reference to FIG. 29.” [0097]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang as outlined above with the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device as taught by Blow, because it may allow the user to view the portion of the display covered and concealed by the user's hand [0047].
Regarding Claim 2, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that the processor is implemented to deactivate, based on a second grip orientation, the region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that the processor is implemented to deactivate, based on a second grip orientation, the region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input (“For example, conventional apparatus may produce inadvertent touches of user interface element 1130 by palm 1190. Therefore, in one embodiment, example apparatus and methods may desensitize interface 1100 in the region of palm 1190. In another embodiment, example apparatus and methods may remove or disable user interface element 1130. Thus, inadvertent touches may be avoided.” [0047])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the processor is implemented to deactivate, based on a second grip orientation, the region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input as taught by Hwang, because it allows for inadvertent touches to be avoided [0047].
Regarding Claim 3, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that the processor is implemented to deactivate, based on a second grip orientation, an additional region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that the processor is implemented to deactivate, based on a second grip orientation, an additional region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input (“For example, conventional apparatus may produce inadvertent touches of user interface element 1130 by palm 1190. Therefore, in one embodiment, example apparatus and methods may desensitize interface 1100 in the region of palm 1190. In another embodiment, example apparatus and methods may remove or disable user interface element 1130. Thus, inadvertent touches may be avoided.” [0047])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the processor is implemented to deactivate, based on a second grip orientation, an additional region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input as taught by Hwang, because it allows for inadvertent touches to be avoided [0047].
Regarding Claim 4, Wolschlager in view of Hwang discloses all limitations noted above except further comprising: the display device implemented to display a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blow teaches the display device implemented to display a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface (“The mobile device 100 may display the recommended grip location 260 for a predetermined amount of time, after which the indication may be removed from the display. Also, once the user grips the mobile device, the recommended grip location indication may be removed from the display.” [0081).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang as outlined above with the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device as taught by Blow, because it may allow the user to view the portion of the display covered and concealed by the user's hand [0047].
Regarding Claim 5, Wolschlager in view of Hwang discloses all limitations noted above except that the visual representation indicates a functionality for the user input.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blow teaches the display device implemented to display a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface (“instead of displaying menu icons close to the grip event, the mobile device 100 may display a menu window 242 in response to the amount of pressure applied in the grip event. For example, if the user squeezes the touchscreen display 110 with a pressure above a threshold value, the mobile device 100 may display a menu window 242. The user may then use another finger to select a menu icon 230 within the menu window. Icons and information presented in such a menu window 242 may include static information, variable information and linking information.” [0072]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang as outlined above with the display device implemented to display a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface as taught by Blow, because it may allow the user to view the portion of the display covered and concealed by the user's hand [0047].
Regarding Claim 9, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that the first grip orientation includes the first touch location that indicates a first finger location, the second touch location that indicates a second finger location and a third touch location that indicates a third finger location on the touch sensitive surface and the region is proximate to, and disjoint from, the first finger location.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that the first grip orientation includes the first touch location that indicates a first finger location, the second touch location that indicates a second finger location and a third touch location that indicates a third finger location on the touch sensitive surface and the region is proximate to, and disjoint from, the first finger location (”FIG. 12 illustrates apparatus 1199 after a grip detection has occurred. Palm 1190 has been detected in the lower right hand corner, thumb 1192 has been detected in the upper right hand corner, and finger 1194 has been detected in the lower left corner. From these positions, a determination may be made that apparatus 1199 is being held in the portrait orientation by the right hand. While understanding which hand is holding apparatus 1199 in which orientation is interesting and useful, reconfiguring apparatus 1199 based on the determination may improve the user interaction experience.” [0046]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the first grip orientation includes the first touch location that indicates a first finger location, the second touch location that indicates a second finger location and a third touch location that indicates a third finger location on the touch sensitive surface and the region is proximate to, and disjoint from, the first finger location as taught by Hwang, because it may improve the user interaction experience [0046].
Regarding Claim 21, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that the grip map further includes a third pressure indicator at a third touch location on the touch sensitive surface that is different from the first pressure indicator.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that the grip map further includes a third pressure indicator at a third touch location on the touch sensitive surface that is different from the first pressure indicator (”FIG. 12 illustrates apparatus 1199 after a grip detection has occurred. Palm 1190 has been detected in the lower right hand corner, thumb 1192 has been detected in the upper right hand corner, and finger 1194 has been detected in the lower left corner. From these positions, a determination may be made that apparatus 1199 is being held in the portrait orientation by the right hand. While understanding which hand is holding apparatus 1199 in which orientation is interesting and useful, reconfiguring apparatus 1199 based on the determination may improve the user interaction experience.” [0046]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the grip map further includes a third pressure indicator at a third touch location on the touch sensitive surface that is different from the first pressure indicator as taught by Hwang, because it may improve the user interaction experience [0046].
Regarding Claim 22, Wolschlager teaches A computer implemented method to configure an ultrasound system comprising an ultrasound scanner having a touch sensitive surface (“The term “gesture” as used herein may in some aspects refer to any movement or motion by one or more body parts such as a finger that permits the control or operation of a device without having to use physical buttons or knobs, for example. The use of these gestures may be implemented using touch sensitive surfaces such as capacitive or resistive surfaces including touchscreens. Examples of gestures employable in one embodiment include a tap, a double-tap, swiping motions, or any combination thereof, among others..” [0034], “The base unit 200 further comprises a memory 216 for storing gesture template database 218. When attached to a patient 220, the sensor unit 202 allows wireless health monitoring signals acquisition via a sensors module 222… The sensor unit 202 may be an ultrasound sensor unit for use in ultrasound examinations.” [0044], “Sensor unit 202 may further include capacitive or resistive sensors including touchscreens/touchpads which allow the operator to touch the surface of the sensor unit and which are detected by the sensor unit 202 through a plurality of reference sensor data. A plurality of sensors can be utilized to localize the position of the sensed touch by the operator on the surface of the device.” [0046]) the method comprising:
Wolschlager does not specifically teach the method comprising: generating a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different; determining a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location; and activating, by a processor, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input, wherein the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches detecting and responding to a grip being used to interact with a portable device having a touch or hover-sensitive input/output interface [0004].
Hwang also teaches the method comprising: generating a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different (“Edge interface 610 may detect, for example, the locations where the edge interface 610 is being touched and the pressure with which the edge interface 610 is being touched. For example, finger 640 may be gripping the apparatus 690 with a first lighter pressure while finger 660 may be gripping the apparatus 699 with a second greater pressure. Edge interface 610 may also detect, for example, whether a touch point is moving along the edge interface 610 and whether the pressure associated with a touch point is constant, increasing, or decreasing. Thus, edge interface 610 may be able to detect events including, for example, a swipe along an edge, a squeeze of apparatus 699, a tap on edge interface 610, or other actions.” [0040])
determining a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location (“Thus, method 1500 may also include, at 1520, determining a grip context based on the set of points. In one embodiment, the grip context identifies whether the apparatus is being gripped in a right hand, in a left hand, by a left hand and a right hand, or by no hands. The grip context may also provide information about the orientation in which the apparatus is being gripped.” [0059]);
and activating, by a processor, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input (“User interface element 1120 may be enlarged and moved to location 1121 based on the position of thumb 1192. Additionally, control region 1180 may be repositioned higher on the right side based on the position of thumb 1192. Repositioning region 1180 may be performed by selecting which touch sensors on the right side of apparatus are active. In one embodiment, the right side of apparatus 1199 may have N sensors, N being an integer. The N sensors may be distributed along the right side. Which sensors, if any, are active may be determined, at least in part, by the location of thumb 1192. For example, if there are sixteen sensors placed along the right side, sensors five through nine may be active in region 1180 based on the location of thumb 1192.” [0048])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with generating a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different; determining a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location; and activating, by a processor, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input as taught by Hwang, because it may improve the user interaction experience [0046].
Wolschlager in view of Hwang does not specifically teach that the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blow teaches devices and methods to accommodate a user's grip of a touchscreen display surface by adjusting the displayed content based on grip event parameters [0004].
Blow also teaches that the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device (“device may determine from the layout of the displayed content a grip location that would result in a minimum adjustment to the presentation display, and display a contour to prompt the user to grip the device at the determined location.” [0011], “the mobile device 100 equipped with a touch sensor other than the touchscreen display (e.g., a capacitance sensor on a back surface of the device) may sense locations of a user's fingers and hand on the side, back, bezel or other portion of the device that is not part of the touch screen display. In step 3602, the mobile device may analyze the sensed positions of the user's fingers in order to determine a suggested thumb location consistent with the user's hand position. This determination may be based upon an anatomical model of a typical user's hand, user preference settings, or saved user hand dimensional parameters, such as may be determined in a training routine, such as similar to that described above with reference to FIG. 29.” [0097]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang as outlined above with the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device as taught by Blow, because it may allow the user to view the portion of the display covered and concealed by the user's hand [0047].
Regarding Claim 23, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that deactivating, by the processor, the region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input based on a second grip orientation.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that deactivating, by the processor, the region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input based on a second grip orientation (“For example, conventional apparatus may produce inadvertent touches of user interface element 1130 by palm 1190. Therefore, in one embodiment, example apparatus and methods may desensitize interface 1100 in the region of palm 1190. In another embodiment, example apparatus and methods may remove or disable user interface element 1130. Thus, inadvertent touches may be avoided.” [0047])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the deactivating, by the processor, the region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input based on a second grip orientation as taught by Hwang, because it allows for inadvertent touches to be avoided [0047].
Regarding Claim 24, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that deactivating, by the processor, an additional region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input based on a second grip orientation.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that deactivating, by the processor, an additional region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input based on a second grip orientation (“For example, conventional apparatus may produce inadvertent touches of user interface element 1130 by palm 1190. Therefore, in one embodiment, example apparatus and methods may desensitize interface 1100 in the region of palm 1190. In another embodiment, example apparatus and methods may remove or disable user interface element 1130. Thus, inadvertent touches may be avoided.” [0047])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the deactivating, by the processor, an additional region of the touch sensitive surface to accept the user input based on a second grip orientation as taught by Hwang, because it allows for inadvertent touches to be avoided [0047].
Regarding Claim 25, Wolschlager in view of Hwang discloses all limitations noted above except that displaying, by the processor, a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface on the display device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blow teaches displaying, by the processor, a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface on the display device (“The mobile device 100 may display the recommended grip location 260 for a predetermined amount of time, after which the indication may be removed from the display. Also, once the user grips the mobile device, the recommended grip location indication may be removed from the display.” [0081).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang as outlined above with displaying, by the processor, a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface on the display device as taught by Blow, because it may allow the user to view the portion of the display covered and concealed by the user's hand [0047].
Regarding Claim 26, Wolschlager in view of Hwang discloses all limitations noted above except that the visual representation indicates a functionality for the user input.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blow teaches the display device implemented to display a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface (“instead of displaying menu icons close to the grip event, the mobile device 100 may display a menu window 242 in response to the amount of pressure applied in the grip event. For example, if the user squeezes the touchscreen display 110 with a pressure above a threshold value, the mobile device 100 may display a menu window 242. The user may then use another finger to select a menu icon 230 within the menu window. Icons and information presented in such a menu window 242 may include static information, variable information and linking information.” [0072]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang as outlined above with the display device implemented to display a visual representation of the region of the touch sensitive surface as taught by Blow, because it may allow the user to view the portion of the display covered and concealed by the user's hand [0047].
Regarding Claim 30, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that the first grip orientation includes the first touch location that indicates a first finger location, the second touch location that indicates a second finger location and a third touch location that indicates a third finger location on the touch sensitive surface and the region is proximate to, and disjoint from, the first finger location.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that the first grip orientation includes the first touch location that indicates a first finger location, the second touch location that indicates a second finger location and a third touch location that indicates a third finger location on the touch sensitive surface and the region is proximate to, and disjoint from, the first finger location (”FIG. 12 illustrates apparatus 1199 after a grip detection has occurred. Palm 1190 has been detected in the lower right hand corner, thumb 1192 has been detected in the upper right hand corner, and finger 1194 has been detected in the lower left corner. From these positions, a determination may be made that apparatus 1199 is being held in the portrait orientation by the right hand. While understanding which hand is holding apparatus 1199 in which orientation is interesting and useful, reconfiguring apparatus 1199 based on the determination may improve the user interaction experience.” [0046]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the first grip orientation includes the first touch location that indicates a first finger location, the second touch location that indicates a second finger location and a third touch location that indicates a third finger location on the touch sensitive surface and the region is proximate to, and disjoint from, the first finger location as taught by Hwang, because it may improve the user interaction experience [0046].
Regarding Claim 31, Wolschlager discloses all limitations noted above except that the grip map further includes a third pressure indicator at a third touch location on the touch sensitive surface that is different from the first pressure indicator.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches that the grip map further includes a third pressure indicator at a third touch location on the touch sensitive surface that is different from the first pressure indicator (”FIG. 12 illustrates apparatus 1199 after a grip detection has occurred. Palm 1190 has been detected in the lower right hand corner, thumb 1192 has been detected in the upper right hand corner, and finger 1194 has been detected in the lower left corner. From these positions, a determination may be made that apparatus 1199 is being held in the portrait orientation by the right hand. While understanding which hand is holding apparatus 1199 in which orientation is interesting and useful, reconfiguring apparatus 1199 based on the determination may improve the user interaction experience.” [0046]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager as outlined above with the grip map further includes a third pressure indicator at a third touch location on the touch sensitive surface that is different from the first pressure indicator as taught by Hwang, because it may improve the user interaction experience [0046].
Claims 6-7 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Gu et al (US20180064416A1; hereinafter referred to as Gu)
Regarding Claim 6, Wolschlager discloses that the processor is implemented to activate the region to accept the user input as a swiping gesture (“The use of these gestures may be implemented using touch sensitive surfaces such as capacitive or resistive surfaces including touchscreens. Examples of gestures employable in one embodiment include a tap, a double-tap, swiping motions, or any combination thereof, among others.” [0034])
Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow does not specifically teach that the gesture controls at least one of a gain and a depth, and the ultrasound scanner is implemented to generate ultrasound signals based on the at least one of the gain and the depth.
However in a similar field of endeavor, Gu teaches an ultrasonic probe composed of a plurality of contact sensing portions capable of detecting user contact, a method for controlling the ultrasonic probe, and an ultrasonic imaging apparatus including the ultrasonic probe [0007].
Gu also teaches that the gesture controls at least one of a gain and a depth, and the ultrasound scanner is implemented to generate ultrasound signals based on the at least one of the gain and the depth ("The operation corresponding to a combination of the contact sensing results may include at least one of Region of Interest (ROI) selection regarding the target object, ultrasonic image freezing, ultrasonic image capture, measurement data acquisition, Time Gain Compensation (TGC) control, Lateral Gain Compensation (LGC) control, ultrasonic image depth control, 2D/3D image conversion, and focusing, without being limited thereto." [0127]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as outlined above with the gesture that controls at least one of a gain and a depth, and the ultrasound scanner is implemented to generate ultrasound signals based on the at least one of the gain and the depth as taught by Gu, because it may include all functions capable of being performed by the ultrasonic probe [0127].
Regarding Claim 7, Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow teaches the processor is implemented to adjust a parameter based on a pressure of the user input on the region of the touch sensitive surface (“Alternatively or additionally, the user may increase or decrease the pressure applied to the touchscreen display to select a menu icon 230. For example, the mobile device may be configured to detect and increase of pressure of the touch event and select a different menu icon 230 at different pressure parameters. Thus, the mobile device may be configured to sequentially select each menu icon near the user's grip finger or thumb 200 with each incremental increase in applied pressure. The selected icon may be highlighted, such in a color shade or light intensity or a blinking configuration, to indicate which icon is currently selected.“ [Blow 0070]).
Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow does not specifically teach a display device implemented to display an ultrasound image based on ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound scanner, wherein the processor is implemented to adjust a zoom level of the ultrasound image.
However in a similar field of endeavor, Gu teaches a display device implemented to display an ultrasound image based on ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound scanner, wherein the processor is implemented to adjust a zoom level of the ultrasound image ("if the display 300 acts as a touchscreen, the display 300 may display at least one of icon, image, and text, which are needed to add annotation or comments to ultrasonic images and measurement data, as well as to perform focusing, TGC/LGC control, zoom-in/zoom-out, rotation, 2D/3D conversion, etc. of the ultrasonic images and measurement data. In this case, since the display 300 includes the touchscreen function, the user may select at least one of icon, image, and text displayed on the display 300 in a manner that the ultrasonic imaging apparatus 10's function corresponding to at least one of icon, image, and text can be carried out." [0161]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as outlined above with a display device implemented to display an ultrasound image based on ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound scanner, wherein the processor is implemented to adjust a zoom level of the ultrasound image as taught by Gu, because it may include all functions capable of being performed by the ultrasonic probe [0127].
Regarding Claim 27, Wolschlager discloses activating, by the processor, the region to accept the user input as a swiping gesture (“The use of these gestures may be implemented using touch sensitive surfaces such as capacitive or resistive surfaces including touchscreens. Examples of gestures employable in one embodiment include a tap, a double-tap, swiping motions, or any combination thereof, among others.” [0034])
Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow does not specifically teach that the gesture controls at least one of a gain and a depth, and the ultrasound scanner is implemented to generate ultrasound signals based on the at least one of the gain and the depth.
However in a similar field of endeavor, Gu teaches an ultrasonic probe composed of a plurality of contact sensing portions capable of detecting user contact, a method for controlling the ultrasonic probe, and an ultrasonic imaging apparatus including the ultrasonic probe [0007].
Gu also teaches that the gesture controls at least one of a gain and a depth, and the ultrasound scanner is implemented to generate ultrasound signals based on the at least one of the gain and the depth ("The operation corresponding to a combination of the contact sensing results may include at least one of Region of Interest (ROI) selection regarding the target object, ultrasonic image freezing, ultrasonic image capture, measurement data acquisition, Time Gain Compensation (TGC) control, Lateral Gain Compensation (LGC) control, ultrasonic image depth control, 2D/3D image conversion, and focusing, without being limited thereto." [0127]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as outlined above with the gesture that controls at least one of a gain and a depth, and the ultrasound scanner is implemented to generate ultrasound signals based on the at least one of the gain and the depth as taught by Gu, because it may include all functions capable of being performed by the ultrasonic probe [0127].
Regarding Claim 28, Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow teaches adjusting, by the processor, a parameter based on a pressure of the user input on the region of the touch sensitive surface. (“Alternatively or additionally, the user may increase or decrease the pressure applied to the touchscreen display to select a menu icon 230. For example, the mobile device may be configured to detect and increase of pressure of the touch event and select a different menu icon 230 at different pressure parameters. Thus, the mobile device may be configured to sequentially select each menu icon near the user's grip finger or thumb 200 with each incremental increase in applied pressure. The selected icon may be highlighted, such in a color shade or light intensity or a blinking configuration, to indicate which icon is currently selected.“ [Blow 0070]).
Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow does not specifically teach displaying, by the processor, an ultrasound image based on ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound scanner, and adjusting, by the processor, a zoom level of the ultrasound image.
However in a similar field of endeavor, Gu teaches displaying, by the processor, an ultrasound image based on ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound scanner, and adjusting, by the processor, a zoom level of the ultrasound image ("if the display 300 acts as a touchscreen, the display 300 may display at least one of icon, image, and text, which are needed to add annotation or comments to ultrasonic images and measurement data, as well as to perform focusing, TGC/LGC control, zoom-in/zoom-out, rotation, 2D/3D conversion, etc. of the ultrasonic images and measurement data. In this case, since the display 300 includes the touchscreen function, the user may select at least one of icon, image, and text displayed on the display 300 in a manner that the ultrasonic imaging apparatus 10's function corresponding to at least one of icon, image, and text can be carried out." [0161]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as outlined above with displaying, by the processor, an ultrasound image based on ultrasound data generated by the ultrasound scanner, and adjusting, by the processor, a zoom level of the ultrasound image as taught by Gu, because it may include all functions capable of being performed by the ultrasonic probe [0127].
Claims 8 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Chen et al (US20220370034A1, hereinafter referred to as Chen).
Regarding Claim 8, Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow discloses all limitations noted above except that the ultrasound scanner includes at least one light source, and the processor is implemented to activate the at least one light source to emit light to indicate the region of the touch sensitive surface.
However, in the similar field of ultrasonic probes with touch sensitive surfaces, Chen teaches an ultrasound imaging system comprising a processor circuit configured to receive, from an ultrasound transducer array comprising a touch screen interface [Abstract & 0084].
Chen also teaches that the ultrasound scanner includes at least one light source, and the processor is implemented to activate the at least one light source to emit light to indicate the region of the touch sensitive surface ("Additionally or alternatively, the system 100 may include other interfaces, such as cameras, sensors, touch screen interface, and/or buttons on the probe 110, to allow a user to initiate a certain stage of the closed-loop search via gestures, … on the probe 110” [0084], it is known in the art that a touch screen interface would require LEDs).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as outlined above with the ultrasound scanner including at least one light source, and the processor is implemented to activate the at least one light source to emit light to indicate the region of the touch sensitive surface as taught by Chen, because it can further improve the visibility of the medical device [0083].
Regarding Claim 29, Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow discloses all limitations noted above except that the ultrasound scanner includes at least one light source, and the processor is implemented to activate the at least one light source to emit light to indicate the region of the touch sensitive surface.
However, in the similar field of ultrasonic probes with touch sensitive surfaces, Chen teaches an ultrasound imaging system comprising a processor circuit configured to receive, from an ultrasound transducer array comprising a touch screen interface [Abstract & 0084].
Chen also teaches that the ultrasound scanner includes at least one light source, and the processor is implemented to activate the at least one light source to emit light to indicate the region of the touch sensitive surface ("Additionally or alternatively, the system 100 may include other interfaces, such as cameras, sensors, touch screen interface, and/or buttons on the probe 110, to allow a user to initiate a certain stage of the closed-loop search via gestures, … on the probe 110” [0084], it is known in the art that a touch screen interface would require LEDs).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolschlager in view of Hwang and further in view of Blow as outlined above with the ultrasound scanner including at least one light source, and the processor is implemented to activate the at least one light source to emit light to indicate the region of the touch sensitive surface as taught by Chen, because it can further improve the visibility of the medical device [0083].
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claims 1 and 22 are drafted by the examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, Claims 1 and 22 presented to applicant for consideration (support for the amendments are in Applicant’s Specification [0029]):
An ultrasound system comprising: an ultrasound scanner having a touch sensitive surface, wherein the touch sensitive surface comprises a pressure measurement film; and a processor configured to: generate a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different; determine a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location; and activate, based on the first grip orientation, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input, wherein the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device
A computer implemented method to configure an ultrasound system comprising an ultrasound scanner having a touch sensitive surface, wherein the touch sensitive surface comprises a pressure measurement film, the method comprising: generating, by the ultrasound scanner, a grip map that includes a first pressure indicator at a first touch location on the touch sensitive surface and a second pressure indicator at a second touch location on the touch sensitive surface, wherein the first pressure indicator and the second pressure indicator are different, determining a first grip orientation on the touch sensitive surface based on the first pressure indicator at the first touch location and the second pressure indicator at the second touch location; and activating, by a processor, a region of the touch sensitive surface including a first control to accept a user input based on the first grip orientation, wherein the grip map including the first touch location, the second touch location and a first control location indicating a target position to which to move at least one of the first touch location and the second touch location to activate the first control on the touch sensitive surface is displayed on a display device
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US20130178744A1,).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVEN MALDONADO whose telephone number is 703-756-1421. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 am-4:00 pm PST M-Th Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koharski can be reached on (571) 272-7230. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Steven Maldonado/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797