DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding independent claims 1, 17 and 23, the applicant claims “the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head”, however, the instant specification does not describe or disclose what a “structure extending” is or is comprised of. Therefore, the claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For purposes of expediting prosecution, the Examiner interprets that the claimed “structure extending” is an elongated shaft/tube that the ball member is spaced apart from the mirror head as shown in annotated Fig. 23 below.
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding independent claims 1, 17 and 23, the applicant claims “the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head”, however, the instant specification does not describe or disclose what a “structure extending” is or is comprised of and it is unclear to the Examiner as to what exactly the claimed “structure extending” is.
For purposes of expediting prosecution, the Examiner interprets that the claimed “structure extending” is an elongated shaft/tube that the ball member is spaced apart from the mirror head as shown in annotated Fig. 23 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawlor et al. (US 2007/0188844) in view of Lynam et al. (US 2019/0146297).
Regarding claim 1, Lawlor discloses, a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 12-26), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mounting base (21) configured to mount (100) at an interior portion of a vehicle (Para. 0087, lines 3-12) equipped with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Para. 0087, lines 3-12), the mounting base comprising a socket (32);
a mirror head (30) attached at and pivotable (Para. 0044) about the mounting base, the mirror head comprising a mirror reflective element (Para. 0061 and see 22),
wherein the mirror head comprises a ball member (33);
wherein the ball member of the mirror head and the socket of the mounting base form a pivot joint (Para. 0044; note, discloses the ball and socket members 33, 32 interengage to form a pivot assembly);
wherein the mirror reflective element comprises a variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0061 and see 22) having (i) a front substrate (22a) having a first surface (see annotated Fig. 15 below) and a second surface (see annotated Fig. 15 below) and (ii) a rear substrate (22b) having a third surface (see annotated Fig. 15 below) and a fourth surface (see annotated Fig. 15 below);
wherein a transparent electrically conductive film is disposed at the second surface of the front substrate (Para. 0041, lines 10-17) and an electrically conductive film is disposed at the third surface of the rear substrate (Para. 0041), and wherein an electro-optic medium is disposed between the front substrate and the rear glass substrate (Para. 0041, lines 1-4) and contacts the transparent electrically conductive film at the second surface of the front substrate (Para. 0041) and the electrically conductive film at the third surface of the rear substrate (Para. 0041, lines 10-24);
wherein electrically conductive contacts (see 34, 36, 37, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114) at a rear side of the mirror reflective element are in electrical connection with respective ones of the transparent electrically conductive film at the second surface of the front substrate of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20) and the electrically conductive film at the third surface of the rear substrate of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20);
wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at an attachment plate (31);
wherein the attachment plate comprises electrically conductive elements (Para. 0046 and see 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114), and wherein respective connector portions of the electrically conductive elements electrically connect to respective ones of the electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20);
wherein electrical connection of the electrically conductive elements to the respective electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element is made via the connector portion of each electrically conductive element (Para. 0046, 0078-0085 and see 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114), as the mirror reflective element is attached at the attachment plate (Para. 0046, 0078 and see 92, 102a, b and 116), engaging the respective electrically conductive contact and flexing and being biased (Para. 0064, 0079-0080, 0084 and see 92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b, 116; note, discloses that the electrically conductive contacts are resilient spring contacts) toward the respective electrically conductive contact to maintain electrical connection with the electrically conductive contact (Para. 0046 and 0078);
wherein circuitry (34 and 41) for controlling dimming of the variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0041, lines 10-24 and 0078) is disposed remote from the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Para. 0046 and 0078-0080; note discloses a wire harness 41 that provides power from the vehicle power supply); and
wherein the electrically conductive elements of the attachment plate are electrically connected to a connector of the ball member (see 70, 71, 92, 134a, 134b), and wherein, with the mounting base mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle and the ball member received in the socket of the mounting base (Para. 0059, 0064 and see 72, 73, 92), the connector is electrically connected to a wire harness (41) of the vehicle to electrically connect to the circuitry for controlling dimming (Para. 0045; note, discloses controlling reflectivity which the Examiner interprets that low reflectivity is low dimness and high reflectivity is high reflectivity) of the variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0046 and 0078).
Lawlor does not explicitly disclose the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head, and wherein the socket of the mounting base is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure.
Lynam teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 1 and 14-18) that it would have been desirable to make the ball member (15125) of the mirror (15010) is disposed at a distal end of structure extending (see annotated Fig. 15 below) from the mirror head, and wherein the socket (15074) of the mounting base (15052, 15080 and 15126) is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure (see annotated Fig. 15 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head, and wherein the socket of the mounting base is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure as taught by the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Lynam in the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Lawlor since Lynam teaches it is known to include these features in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly with enhanced vibration performance.
Regarding claim 2, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, wherein the connector portions comprise spring-biased connector portions (92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b) that are biased into engagement with the electrically conductive contacts (70, 71, 134a, 134b) at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0046 and 0078).
Regarding claim 3, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the connector portions each comprise a rounded contact pad (see 92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b) that engages the respective electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (see Figs. 14-20).
Regarding claim 4, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the mirror reflective element is adhesively attached at the attachment plate via an adhesive element (Para. 0068 and 0070) that adhesively engages the attachment plate at a first side of the adhesive element (see Figs. 14-20) and that adhesively engages the mirror reflective element at a second side of the adhesive element (Para. 0068 and 0070) opposite the first side (see Figs. 14-20).
Regarding claim 5, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the adhesive element is disposed between the electrically conductive elements of the attachment plate and the rear side of the mirror reflective element except at positions along the rear side of the mirror reflective element corresponding to the electrically conductive contacts (Para. 0068 and 0070).
Regarding claim 6, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the connector portions (112) of the electrically conductive elements protrude through respective apertures (see areas/openings between each 112 and 116) in the adhesive element to establish electrical connection with the electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085).
Regarding claim 7, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the mirror head comprises a mirror casing (23), and wherein the attachment plate comprises an aperture (see areas/openings between each 112 and 116 and area between 104a,b and 108a,b), and wherein the first side of the adhesive element adhesively engages the mirror casing through the aperture of the attachment plate to attach the mirror reflective element and the attachment plate to the mirror casing (Para. 0068-0070).
Regarding claim 10, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, wherein the ball member is integrally formed (see 33, 31) with the attachment plate (See Fig. 19) and protrudes through an aperture of a mirror casing of the mirror head to be exposed exterior the mirror head (see Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, electrically conductive terminals in electrical connection to the electrically conductive elements of the attachment plate are routed through the ball member to electrically connect the connector of the ball member and the electrically conductive elements of the attachment plate (see 32a, 36, 37, 70, 71, 92, 102a, 102b, 134a, 134b).
Regarding claim 12, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the ball member is integrally formed with a mirror casing of the mirror head (Para. 0044 and see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 13, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the mirror head comprises a mirror casing (21, 23), and wherein an inner side of the mirror casing comprises the attachment plate (Para. 0041, 0066 and see Figs. 15-16).
Regarding claim 14, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the electrically conductive elements (104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112) are disposed within and along a frame portion (Para. 0071, 0078 and see 101) that attaches to the attachment plate (Para. 0041, 0066 and see Figs. 13-20).
Regarding claim 15, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the frame portion snap attaches to the attachment plate (Para. 0061 and see 96).
Regarding claim 16, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the mirror reflective element comprises a variable reflectance electrochromic mirror reflective element (Para. 0041, lines 10-24 and see 22).
Regarding claim 17, Lawlor discloses, a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 12-26), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mounting base (21) configured to mount (100) at an interior portion of a vehicle (Para. 0087, lines 3-12) equipped with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Para. 0087, lines 3-12), the mounting base comprising a socket (32);
a mirror head (30) attached at and pivotable (Para. 0044) about the mounting base, the mirror head comprising a mirror reflective element (Para. 0061 and see 22),
wherein the mirror head comprises a ball member (33);
wherein the ball member of the mirror head and the socket of the mounting base form a pivot joint (Para. 0044; note, discloses the ball and socket members 33, 32 interengage to form a pivot assembly);
wherein the mirror reflective element comprises a variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0061 and see 22) having (i) a front substrate (22a) having a first surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above) and a second surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above) and (ii) a rear substrate (22b) having a third surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above) and a fourth surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above);
wherein a transparent electrically conductive film is disposed at the second surface of the front substrate (Para. 0041, lines 10-17) and an electrically conductive film is disposed at the third surface of the rear substrate (Para. 0041), and wherein an electro-optic medium is disposed between the front substrate and the rear glass substrate (Para. 0041, lines 1-4) and contacts the transparent electrically conductive film at the second surface of the front substrate (Para. 0041) and the electrically conductive film at the third surface of the rear substrate (Para. 0041, lines 10-24);
wherein electrically conductive contacts (see 34, 36, 37, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114) at a rear side of the mirror reflective element are in electrical connection with respective ones of the transparent electrically conductive film at the second surface of the front substrate of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20) and the electrically conductive film at the third surface of the rear substrate of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20);
wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at an attachment plate (31);
wherein the ball member is integrally formed (see 33, 31) with the attachment plate (See Fig. 19) and protrudes through an aperture of a mirror casing of the mirror head to be exposed exterior the mirror head (see Fig. 14);
wherein the attachment plate comprises electrically conductive elements (Para. 0046 and see 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114), and wherein respective connector portions of the electrically conductive elements electrically connect to respective ones of the electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20);
wherein electrical connection of the electrically conductive elements to the respective electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element is made via the connector portion of each electrically conductive element (Para. 0046, 0078-0085 and see 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114), as the mirror reflective element is attached at the attachment plate (Para. 0046, 0078 and see 92, 102a, b and 116), engaging the respective electrically conductive contact and flexing and being biased (Para. 0064, 0079-0080, 0084 and see 92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b, 116; note, discloses that the electrically conductive contacts are resilient spring contacts) toward the respective electrically conductive contact to maintain electrical connection with the electrically conductive contact (Para. 0046 and 0078);
wherein the connector portions comprise spring-biased connector portions (92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b) that are biased into engagement with the electrically conductive contacts (70, 71, 134a, 134b) at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0046 and 0078);
wherein circuitry (34 and 41) for controlling dimming of the variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0041, lines 10-24 and 0078) is disposed remote from the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Para. 0046 and 0078-0080; note discloses a wire harness 41 that provides power from the vehicle power supply); and
wherein the electrically conductive elements of the attachment plate are electrically connected to a connector of the ball member (see 70, 71, 92, 134a, 134b), and wherein, with the mounting base mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle and the ball member received in the socket of the mounting base (Para. 0059, 0064 and see 72, 73, 92), the connector is electrically connected to a wire harness (41) of the vehicle to electrically connect to the circuitry for controlling dimming (Para. 0045; note, discloses controlling reflectivity which the Examiner interprets that low reflectivity is low dimness and high reflectivity is high reflectivity) of the variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0046 and 0078).
Lawlor does not explicitly disclose the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head, and wherein the socket of the mounting base is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure.
Lynam teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 1 and 14-18) that it would have been desirable to make the ball member (15125) of the mirror (15010) is disposed at a distal end of structure extending (see annotated Fig. 15 below) from the mirror head, and wherein the socket (15074) of the mounting base (15052, 15080 and 15126) is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure (see annotated Fig. 15 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head, and wherein the socket of the mounting base is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure as taught by the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Lynam in the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Lawlor since Lynam teaches it is known to include these features in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly with enhanced vibration performance.
Regarding claim 18, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the connector portions each comprise a rounded contact pad (see 92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b) that engages the respective electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (see Figs. 14-20).
Regarding claim 19, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the mirror reflective element is adhesively attached at the attachment plate via an adhesive element (Para. 0068 and 0070) that adhesively engages the attachment plate at a first side of the adhesive element (see Figs. 14-20) and that adhesively engages the mirror reflective element at a second side of the adhesive element (Para. 0068 and 0070) opposite the first side (see Figs. 14-20).
Regarding claim 20, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the connector portions (112) of the electrically conductive elements protrude through respective apertures (see areas/openings between each 112 and 116) in the adhesive element to establish electrical connection with the electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085).
Regarding claim 21, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the mirror head comprises a mirror casing (23), and wherein the attachment plate comprises an aperture (see areas/openings between each 112 and 116 and area between 104a,b and 108a,b), and wherein the first side of the adhesive element adhesively engages the mirror casing through the aperture of the attachment plate to attach the mirror reflective element and the attachment plate to the mirror casing (Para. 0068-0070).
Regarding claim 22, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, electrically conductive terminals in electrical connection to the electrically conductive elements (102a, 102b, 106a, 106b, 108a, 108b) of the attachment plate are routed through the ball member (Para. 0059 and 0078) to electrically connect the connector (70, 71, 134a, 134b) of the ball member and the electrically conductive elements of the attachment plate (31).
Regarding claim 23, Lawlor discloses, a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 12-26), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mounting base (21) configured to mount (100) at an interior portion of a vehicle (Para. 0087, lines 3-12) equipped with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Para. 0087, lines 3-12), the mounting base comprising a socket (32);
a mirror head (30) attached at and pivotable (Para. 0044) about the mounting base, the mirror head comprising a mirror casing (23) and a mirror reflective element (Para. 0061 and see 22),
wherein the mirror head comprises a ball member (30), and wherein the ball member is integrally formed with the mirror casing of the mirror head (Para. 0044 and see Fig. 12);
wherein the ball member of the mirror head and the socket of the mounting base form a pivot joint (Para. 0044; note, discloses the ball and socket members 33, 32 interengage to form a pivot assembly);
wherein the mirror reflective element comprises a variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0061 and see 22) having (i) a front substrate (22a) having a first surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above) and a second surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above) and (ii) a rear substrate (22b) having a third surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above) and a fourth surface (see annotated Fig. 15 above);
wherein a transparent electrically conductive film is disposed at the second surface of the front substrate (Para. 0041, lines 10-17) and an electrically conductive film is disposed at the third surface of the rear substrate (Para. 0041), and wherein an electro-optic medium is disposed between the front substrate and the rear glass substrate (Para. 0041, lines 1-4) and contacts the transparent electrically conductive film at the second surface of the front substrate (Para. 0041) and the electrically conductive film at the third surface of the rear substrate (Para. 0041, lines 10-24);
wherein electrically conductive contacts (see 34, 36, 37, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114) at a rear side of the mirror reflective element are in electrical connection with respective ones of the transparent electrically conductive film at the second surface of the front substrate of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20) and the electrically conductive film at the third surface of the rear substrate of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085 and see Figs. 15-20);
wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at an inner side of the mirror casing (see Figs. 14-16);
wherein the inner side of the mirror casing comprises electrically conductive elements (Para. 0046 and see 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114), and wherein respective connector portions of the electrically conductive elements electrically connect to respective ones of the electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (70, 71, 134a, 134b);
wherein electrical connection of the electrically conductive elements to the respective electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element is made via the connector portion of each electrically conductive element (Para. 0046, 0078-0085 and see 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 92, 93, 102a, 102,b, 104a, 104b, 108a, 108b, 112, 114), as the mirror reflective element is attached at the attachment plate (Para. 0046, 0078 and see 92, 102a, b and 116), engaging the respective electrically conductive contact and flexing and being biased (Para. 0064, 0079-0080, 0084 and see 92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b, 116; note, discloses that the electrically conductive contacts are resilient spring contacts) toward the respective electrically conductive contact to maintain electrical connection with the electrically conductive contact (Para. 0046 and 0078);
wherein circuitry (34 and 41) for controlling dimming of the variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0041, lines 10-24 and 0078) is disposed remote from the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Para. 0046 and 0078-0080; note discloses a wire harness that provides power from the vehicle power supply);
wherein electrically conductive terminals in electrical connection to the electrically conductive elements of the inner side of the mirror casing are routed through the ball member to electrically connect a connector of the ball member and the electrically conductive elements of the inner side of the mirror casing (see 32a, 36, 37, 70, 71, 92, 102a, 102b, 134a, 134b); and
wherein, with the mounting base (Para. 0059, 0064 and see 72, 73, 92), the connector is electrically connected to a wire harness of the vehicle to electrically connect to the circuitry for controlling dimming (Para. 0045; note, discloses controlling reflectivity which the Examiner interprets that low reflectivity is low dimness and high reflectivity is high reflectivity) of the variable reflectance electro-optic mirror reflective element (Para. 0046 and 0078).
Lawlor does not explicitly disclose the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head, and wherein the socket of the mounting base is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure.
Lynam teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 1 and 14-18) that it would have been desirable to make the ball member (15125) of the mirror (15010) is disposed at a distal end of structure extending (see annotated Fig. 15 below) from the mirror head, and wherein the socket (15074) of the mounting base (15052, 15080 and 15126) is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure (see annotated Fig. 15 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head, and wherein the socket of the mounting base is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure as taught by the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Lynam in the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Lawlor since Lynam teaches it is known to include these features in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly with enhanced vibration performance.
Regarding claim 24, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, wherein the connector portions comprise spring-biased connector portions (92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b) that are biased into engagement with the electrically conductive contacts (70, 71, 134a, 134b) at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0046 and 0078).
Regarding claim 25, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the connector portions each comprise a rounded contact pad (see 92, 102a, 102b, 104a, 104b) that engages the respective electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (see Figs. 14-20).
Regarding claim 26, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the mirror reflective element is adhesively attached at the attachment plate via an adhesive element (Para. 0068 and 0070) that adhesively engages the attachment plate at a first side of the adhesive element (see Figs. 14-20) and that adhesively engages the mirror reflective element at a second side of the adhesive element (Para. 0068 and 0070) opposite the first side (see Figs. 14-20).
Regarding claim 27, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the adhesive element is disposed between the electrically conductive elements of the inner side of the mirror casing and the rear side of the mirror reflective element except at positions along the rear side of the mirror reflective element corresponding to the electrically conductive contacts (Para. 0068 and 0070).
Regarding claim 28, Lawlor in view of Lynam discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Lawlor further discloses, the connector portions (112) of the electrically conductive elements protrude through respective apertures (see areas/openings between each 112 and 116) in the adhesive element to establish electrical connection with the electrically conductive contacts at the rear side of the mirror reflective element (Para. 0078-0085).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawlor et al. (US 2007/0188844) in view of Lynam et al. (US 2019/0146297) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Carter et al. (US 2004/0196577).
Lawlor in view of Lynam remains as applied to claim 4 above.
Lawlor in view of Lynam does not disclose the adhesive element comprises a foam tape.
Carter teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly that it would have been desirable to make the adhesive element comprises a foam tape (622 of Fig. 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the adhesive element comprises a foam tape as taught by the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Carter in the combination of Lawlor in view of Lynam since Carter teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly for the purpose of providing a secure, effective and durable attachment.
Claims 9 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawlor et al. (US 2007/0188844) in view of Lynam et al. (US 2019/0146297) as applied to claims 1 and 23 above, and further in view of Karner et al. (US 2006/0061008).
Lawlor in view of Lynam remains as applied to claims 1 and 29 above.
Lawlor in view of Lynam does not disclose the electrically conductive elements are insert molded with the attachment plate.
Karner teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly that it would have been desirable to make the electrically conductive elements are insert molded with the attachment plate (Para. 0006 and 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrically conductive elements are insert molded with the attachment plate as taught by the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of Karner in the combination of Lawlor in view of Lynam since Karner teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly for the purpose of providing a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly with reduced cost and improved performance and vibration functionality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., electrical connection of a connector of the ball member of the mirror head to a wire harness of the vehicle with the ball member received in the socket of the mounting base) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. March et al. (US 6,877,709) discloses a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly that includes a mounting base, a mirror head comprising a mirror reflective element, wherein the ball member of the mirror head is disposed at a distal end of structure extending from the mirror head, and wherein the socket of the mounting base is spaced from the mirror head by a length of the structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/11/2026