DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 1a shown in Figs. 1-8 readable on claims 1-6 and 9-21 in the reply filed on 09/24/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) as a continuation to the national stage application PCT/JP2021/014743. The national stage application is not in English. The certified copy of the national stage application PCT/JP2021/014743 has been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,4,6,9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume et al (hereinafter Kume) (JP 2000058965 A) in view of Tamanuki (JP 2000357844 A) and Higgs et al. (hereinafter Higgs) (US 6545340 B1) and Yamada (US 5887012 A). (Examiner notes attached machine translations of Kume and Tamanuki will be used for the claim mapping of Kume and Tamanuki for the remainder of the instant action. See PTO-892 form.)
Regarding claim 1, Kume discloses in Fig. 1
A semiconductor laser device [10] (Para. [0030]) comprising:
a first semiconductor laser element [10] is disposed on a substrate [11] (Para. [0031]),
wherein the first semiconductor laser element [10] includes a first one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] (Para. [0031]) and a first other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14] (Para. [0032]), the first one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] being closer to the substrate [11] than the first other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14] is to the substrate [11] (Para. [0032]) (See Fig. 1),
the first semiconductor laser element [10] includes, on a first surface [surface opposing substrate 11], a first electrode [15] (Para. [0032]) disposed on the first other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14] (Para. [0032]), the first surface being an opposite surface of the semiconductor laser array element [10] to the substrate [11] (See Fig. 1),
the first semiconductor laser element [10] includes, on the first surface:
a third electrode [leftmost 16 Fig. 1] (Para. [0033]) disposed on the first one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] (Para. [0033]) and
a fourth electrode [rightmost 16 Fig. 1] (Para. [0033]) disposed on the first one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] (Para. [0033]) and across from the third electrode [rightmost 16 Fig. 1] (Para. [0033]),
Kume fails to disclose,
An array type semiconductor laser device
a second semiconductor laser element is disposed on a substrate
the second semiconductor laser element includes a second one conductivity type semiconductor layer and a second other conductivity type semiconductor layer, the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer being closer to the substrate than the second other conductivity type semiconductor layer is to the substrate,
the first semiconductor laser element includes a first waveguide that extends in a first direction along a surface of the substrate,
the second semiconductor laser element is disposed, relative to the first semiconductor laser element, in a second direction along the surface of the substrate, the second direction being orthogonal to the first direction,
the second semiconductor laser element includes a second waveguide that extends in the first direction,
the second semiconductor laser element includes, on the first surface, a second electrode disposed on the second other conductivity type semiconductor layer,
the third electrode disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; and
the second semiconductor laser element includes, on the first surface:
a fifth electrode disposed on the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer and between the second electrode and the third electrode; and
a sixth electrode disposed on the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer and across from the fifth electrode, and
the array type semiconductor laser device further comprises:
a first conductor that electrically connects the second electrode and the third electrode; and
a second conductor that electrically connects the fifth electrode and the sixth electrode.
Tamanuki discloses in Fig. 1,
First [rightmost side from 77] and second [leftmost side from 77] semiconductor laser regions (Para. [0018]) sharing a single substrate [73] (Para. [0018]), each laser region comprising a waveguide [75] (Para. [0018]) wherein the first and second semiconductor laser regions are separated from each other by a separation groove [77] (See notes below and Examiner’s Markup)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the symmetrical array structure separated by a groove as shown in Tamanuki including the waveguide structure of the active region of Tamanuki with the device structure shown in Kume for the purpose of more efficiently guiding light emitting from the device and having multiple laser areas emitting as an array for more total light emission.
Examiner notes that when the symmetric array structure of Tamanuki is implemented by duplicating the semiconductor laser structure of Kume monolithically integrated sharing a substrate as shown in Tamanuki, the combination meets the limitations of:
An array type semiconductor laser device (Kume Para. [0030]) (Examiners Markup)
a second semiconductor laser element [leftmost device 10 Examiners Markup] is disposed on a substrate [11] (Kume Para. [0031])
the second semiconductor laser element [leftmost device 10 Examiners Markup] includes a second one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] (Kume Para. [0032]) and a second other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14] (Kume Para. [0032]), the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] being closer to the substrate [11] than the second other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14] is to the substrate [11] (Kume Para. [0032]) (See Examiners Markup),
the first semiconductor laser element [rightmost device 10 Examiners Markup] includes a first waveguide [active layer 13] (Kume Para. [0032 and Tamanuki Para. 0018]) that extends in a first direction [into page Fig. 1 Kume] along a surface of the substrate [11],
the second semiconductor laser element [leftmost device 10 Examiners Markup] is disposed, relative to the first semiconductor laser element [rightmost device 10 Examiners Markup], in a second direction [left and right] along the surface of the substrate [11], the second direction [left and right] being orthogonal to the first direction [into the page],
the second semiconductor laser element [leftmost device 10 Examiners Markup] includes a second waveguide [active layer 13] (Kume Para. [0032 and Tamanuki Para. 0018]) that extends in the first direction [into page],
the second semiconductor laser element [leftmost device 10 Examiners Markup] includes, on the first surface, a second electrode [15] (Kume Para. [0032]) disposed on the second other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14] (Kume Para. [0032]),
the third electrode [16 rightmost device Examiners Markup] disposed between the first electrode [16 rightmost device Examiners Markup] and the second electrode; [15 leftmost device Examiners Markup] (Kume Para. [0032]) and
the second semiconductor laser element includes [leftmost device 10 Examiners Markup] ,on the first surface:
a fifth electrode [16] (Kume Para. [0032]) disposed on the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] and between the second electrode [15] (Kume Para. [0032]) and the third electrode [16] (Kume Para. [0032]); and
a sixth electrode [16] disposed on the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12] and across from the fifth electrode [16] (Kume Para. [0032]), and
the array type semiconductor laser device [Examiners Markup] further comprises:
a first conductor [22 under 3rd electrode 16, and 21 under 2nd electrode 16] and (Applicant’s specification in the claimed application states that n-wiring N20, wire W2 and p-wiring P22 are included in the first conductor)
a second conductor [22 under 5th and 6th electrodes 16] (See Examiners Markup)
Kume in view of Tamanuki fails to disclose,
The first conductor electrically connecting the second electrode and the third electrode and
The second conductor electrically connecting the fifth and sixth electrodes
Higgs discloses in Figs. 1 and 2,
A U-shaped contact portion [19] (Col. 5, lines 17-28) surrounding a mesa portion contact [18] (Col. 5, lines 17-28)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the U-shaped contact portion with the top mesa contact between the U-shape as shown in Higgs with the conductive contacts of Kume in view of Tamanuki for the purpose of having a single conductive connection for the lower N-type contacts and for adequate separation of the connections of the lower N-type contacts and the upper P-type mesa contact.
Examiner notes when the U-shape contact is implemented into the modified device of Kume, wrapping around the whole of the device as shown in Higgs, the lower contacts [16] of Kume would therefore be connected by the metal U-shape contact.
Kume in view of Tamanuki and Higgs fails to disclose,
The first conductor electrically connecting the second electrode and the third electrode
Yamada discloses in Fig. 4,
a bonding wire [3] (Col. 5, lines 26-30) electrically connecting an n-electrode [14] (Col. 5, lines 26-30) from one device to a p-electrode [13] (Col. 5, lines 26-30) on another separate device
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the array wiring connection from the n-electrode to the adjacent p-electrode in series as shown in Yamada with the n-electrodes and p-electrodes of the array of the modified device of Kume for the purpose of having the plurality of lasers driven by the same modulating signal, improving the efficiency of the modulation of the laser array. (Yamada Abstract Page 1)
Regarding claim 3, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further disclose in Kume Fig. 1,
wherein the first one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12 right device 10 Examiners Markup] and the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer [12 left device 10 Examiners Markup] each include an n-type semiconductor layer (Kume Para. [0032]), and
the first other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14 right device 10 Examiners Markup] and the second other conductivity type semiconductor layer [14right left 10 Examiners Markup] each include a p-type semiconductor layer (Kume Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further disclose in Kume Fig. 1,
wherein the substrate [11] is an insulating substrate (Kume Para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further disclose in Tamanuki Fig. 1,
a recess [77] (Tamanuki Para. [0019]) between the first semiconductor laser element and the second semiconductor laser element [between two laser elements 10 Kume Examiners Markup].
Regarding claim 9, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further disclose in Kume Fig. 1,
wherein a side of the semiconductor laser array element [10] (Kume Para. [0031]) where the first surface [side of connection of 16 and 15 to 23] (Kume Para. [0036]) is located is joined to a second surface [top surface] of a first base [20] (Kume Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 9 above and further disclose in Kume Fig. 1,
wherein the first base [20] is provided with the first conductor [22 under 3rd electrode 16, and 21 under 2nd electrode 16 Kume] (Kume Para. [0036]).
Conductive films in the shape shown in Fig. 3 of Higgs
Regarding claim 11, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 10 above and further disclose in Kume Fig. 1,
wherein the first conductor [22 under 3rd electrode 16, and 21 under 2nd electrode 16 Kume] (Kume Para. [0036]) is a first conductive film (Kume Para. [0036]) disposed on the second surface [top surface of 20].
Conductive films in the shape shown in Fig. 3 of Higgs
Regarding claim 14, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 9 above and further disclose in Kume Fig. 1,
wherein the first base [20] (Kume Para. [0036]) is provided with the second conductor [22 under 5th and 6th electrodes 16] (Kume Para. [0036]). (With modified U-shape as shown in Higgs Fig. 3, See rejection of claim 1 above)
Conductive films in the shape shown in Fig. 3 of Higgs
Regarding claim 15, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 14 above and further disclose in Kume Fig. 1,
wherein the second conductor is a second conductive film [22 under 5th and 6th electrodes 16] (Kume Para. [0036]) disposed on the second surface [top of 20] (Kume Para. [0036]).
Conductive films in the shape shown in Fig. 3 of Higgs
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Feitisch et al. (Hereinafter Feitisch) (US 20060018355 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose
wherein at least one of the first semiconductor laser element or the second semiconductor laser element oscillates in a multi-transverse mode.
Feitisch discloses,
A laser emitter operating in transverse multi-mode operation (Para. [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the transverse multi-mode operation as disclosed in Feitisch into the modified device of Kume for the purpose of having a angular broadening of the laser beam. (Feitisch Para. [0012])
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (hereinafter Nam) (Us 20060093000 A1).
Regarding claim 5, over Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
a barrier layer between the substrate and the first one conductivity type semiconductor layer and between the substrate and the second one conductivity type semiconductor layer.
Nam discloses in Fig. 5,
An insulating layer [120] directly on a substrate [36] (Para. [0043])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the insulating layer of Nam over the substrate of the modified device of Kume for the purpose of providing further electrical insulation. (Nam Para. [0043])
Claims 12,13, 16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada as applied to claims 11 and 15 above, and further in view of Nakatsuka et al. (hereinafter Nakatsuka) (US 6829265 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 11 above but fail to disclose
wherein the first conductive film is exposed from a backward end of the second semiconductor laser element in the first direction.
Nakatsuka discloses in Fig. 6,
Conductive pads [131 See Fig. 4 also] (Col. 5, lines 17-24) exposed from a backward end of a semiconductor array [114] (Col. 5, lines 58-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the conductive portions extending behind the projection of the bonded semiconductor array for the purpose of allowing wire bonding at positions away from the laser light and allowing electrical current supply from the outside of the device package. (Nakatsuka Col. 6, lines 1-10)
Regarding claim 13, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs,Yamada and Nakatsuka as applied to claim 12 above further discloses,
wherein the first conductive film [22 under 3rd electrode 16, and 21 under 2nd electrode 16 Kume] (Kume Para. [0036]) includes:
a first portion [exposed portion of 18 Higgs under 2nd laser element] (Higgs Col. 5, lines 17-28) exposed from the first semiconductor laser element and the second semiconductor laser element [See Nakatsuka and Kume], and electrically connected to the second electrode [18 Kume Examiners Markup] (Kume Para. [0032]); and
a second portion [exposed portion of 19 Higgs under 1st laser element] (Higgs Col. 5, lines 17-28) exposed from the first semiconductor laser element and the second semiconductor laser element [See Nakatsuka and Kume], and electrically connected to the third electrode [16 Kume Examiners Markup] (Kume Para. [0032]), and
the array type semiconductor laser device further comprises a first metal wire [Yamada 3 Fig. 4] that electrically connects the first portion and the second portion [connecting N-electrode and p-electrode] (Yamada Col. 5, lines 26-30).
Regarding claim 16, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 15 above but fail to disclose
wherein the second conductive film is exposed from a backward end of the second semiconductor laser element in the first direction.
Nakatsuka discloses in Fig. 6,
Conductive pads [131 See Fig. 4 also] (Col. 5, lines 17-24) exposed from a backward end of a semiconductor array [114] (Col. 5, lines 58-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the conductive portions extending behind the projection of the bonded semiconductor array for the purpose of allowing wire bonding at positions away from the laser light and allowing electrical current supply from the outside of the device package. (Nakatsuka Col. 6, lines 1-10)
Regarding claim 19, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs, Yamada and Nakatsuka as applied to claim 16 above further discloses,
wherein the first conductor is a first conductive film (Kume Para. [0036]) disposed on the second surface [Kume top of 20] (Kume Para. [00362]),
the second conductive film includes:
a straight portion that is one end portion [Higgs portion of 19] of the second conductive film [conductive film under 2nd semiconductor laser element] and connected to the sixth electrode [Kume 16] (Kume Para. [0032]) (See Examiner Markups);
a straight portion that is an other end portion [Higgs portion of 19] of the second conductive film and connected to the fifth electrode [Kume 16] (Kume Para. [0032]) (See Examiner Markups); and
a center portion [Higgs portion of 19],
the first conductive film includes a first portion [Higgs portion of 18] connected to the second electrode [18 Kume] (Kume Para. [0032]), (See Examiners Markup)
the first portion is between the straight portion that is the one end portion and the straight portion that is the other end portion [portion of 18 between two straight portions of 19 Higgs],
the first conductive film includes a second portion [portion of 19] connected to the third electrode [16 Kume] (Kume Para. [0032]) (See Examiners Markup),
an end portion of the second portion [portion of 19] is exposed from a backward end of the first semiconductor laser element [Kume 10] (Kume Para. [0030]) in the first direction [See Nakatsuka Fig. 6], and
the center portion [portion of 19 Higgs] and an end portion of the first portion [portion of 18 Higgs] are exposed from the backward end of the second semiconductor laser element [Kume 10] in the first direction [See Nakatsuka Fig. 6].
Regarding claim 20, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs, Yamada and Nakatsuka as applied to claim 16 above further discloses in Higgs Fig. 3,
wherein the second conductive film is U-shaped in a top view (Col. 5, lines 17-28) (See Higgs Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs, Yamada and Nakatsuka as applied to claim 19 above further discloses in Yamada,
wherein the first conductor includes a metal wire [3 Yamada Fig. 4] that connects the first portion and the second portion [connection of n-electrode to p-electrode] (Yamada.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tucker (US 5440577 A).
Regarding claim 17, Kume in view of Tamanuki, Higgs and Yamada disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fail to disclose,
a first terminal connected to the first electrode.
Tucker discloses in Fig. 1,
A first terminal [9] connected to the first p-type material (p-type in section 10) and a second terminal [9] connected to the last n-type material (n-type section 12) (Col. 3,line 61- Col. 4, line 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first and second terminals connected to the first p-type and last n-type materials (respectively) as shown in Tucker with the n-type and p-type contacts of the modified device of Kume for the purpose of applying current across the entirely of the device.
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Kume as applied to claim 17 above further discloses,
a second terminal connected to the fifth electrode [leftmost electrode 16 Kume Fig. 1] (last n-type electrode)
Conclusion
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828