Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative filed arguments on 02/26/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant presented arguments on Pages 10-12 that the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou does not teach “receive, from a second network entity in radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a set of mobility configurations, wherein each configuration of the set of mobility configurations is associated with a respective cell of a mobility configured cell set, and wherein the set of mobility configurations comprises primary cell (PCell) configurations, wherein each PCell configuration of the PCell configurations corresponds to a respective cell in the mobility configured cell set, wherein the mobility configured cell set is configured for activation and deactivation of cells within the mobility configured cell set;
receive, from the second network entity in downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
First, applicant argues that Zhou fails to disclose “a set of mobility configurations” comprising PCell configurations, and further fails to disclose that each PCell configuration corresponds to a respective cell in a mobility configured cell set. However, Zhou discloses that a base station transmits configuration parameters for a plurality of cells, including a primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells) ([0245]). Each of these cells is individually configured and controlled, including activation and deactivation operations ([0150], [0246]-[0249]). Thus, the configurations associated with the plurality of cells inherently form a set of configurations, where each configuration corresponds to a respective cell. Accordingly, Zhou teaches a set of mobility configurations comprising PCell configurations as claimed.
Second, applicant argues that Zhou fails to disclose “mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set” particularly in downlink control information (DCI) or a MAC control element (MAC-CE). However, Zhou explicitly discloses that a base station transmits control signaling via MAC control elements (MAC-CEs) to control activation and deactivation of SCells ([0150], [0243], [0247]-[0249]). Such MAC-CE signaling conveys configuration and deconfiguration information for a subset of cells. Furthermore, deactivation of an SCell results in stopping transmissions and receptions on the SCell ([0150]), effectively removing the SCell from active operation. Zhou also discloses that such control signaling is transmitted from the base station to the UE in the downlink ([0208]). Accordingly, Zhou teaches transmitting mobility-related deconfiguration information via MAC-CE to control a subset of cells, which corresponds to the claimed limitation.
Third, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Therefore, as shown above the combination of Zhou, YILMAZ and XIAO teaches the limitation of independent claims 13,26 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2024/0365241 A1; hereinafter “Zhou”), in view of XIAO et al. (US 2026/0012773 A1; hereinafter “XIAO”), and further in view of YILMAZ et al. (US 2020/0351968 A1; hereinafter “YILMAZ”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a first network entity (FIG. 15 wireless device 1502) for wireless communication, comprising:
memory (FIG. 15 memory 1524); and
at least one processor (FIG. 15 processing system 1518) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0229] the processing system 1518 performs any functionality):
receive, from a second network entity (FIG. 15 base station 1504) in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0118] the UE receives RRC messages from the base station using signaling radio bearers), a set of mobility configurations ([0118] The RRCs provide control plan functionality such as configuration, mobility functions between the UE and the gNB via RRC messages, [0245] a base station transmits one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more SCells),
wherein each configuration of the set of mobility configurations is associated with a respective cell of a mobility configured cell set ([0253] a C, field indicates an activation/deactivation status of an SCell with an SCell index i if an SCell with SCell index i is configured, [0149] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (Scells)), and
wherein the set of mobility configurations comprises primary cell (PCell) configurations ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell). The other aggregated cells may be referred to as secondary cells (SCells), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)),
wherein each PCell configuration of the PCell configurations corresponds to a respective cell in the mobility configured cell set ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)),
wherein the mobility configured cell set is configured for activation and deactivation of cells within the mobility configured cell set ([0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated, [0250] When SCells are deactivated, a wireless device may not perform, [0246] a base station activates or deactivates at least one of the SCells);
receive, from the second network entity in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (FIG. 4B; [0094] MAC CEs are used for in-band control signaling), mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0245]-[0246] a base station transmits MAC CEs and configuration parameters of one or more SCells, [0149] SCells are configurated through a RRC connection Reconfiguration procedure); and
However, Zhou teaches release, based on the mobility deconfiguration information in the DCI or the MAC-CE, the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set, wherein the release of the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than the deactivation of the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set, wherein the mobility configured cell set comprises a mobility activated cell set and a mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set, and wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, XIAO teaches release, based on the mobility deconfiguration information in the DCI or the MAC-CE, the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0240]-[0241] disclose that an SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE carries information to control a subset of cells, [0287] discloses that configuration related to dual connectivity (i.e., SCG corresponding to the subset of cells) is released).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SCG as taught by XIAO within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the network performance with an enhanced SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE (XIAO [0002]).
However, the combination of Zhou and XIAO does not teach wherein the release of the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than the deactivation of the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set, wherein the mobility configured cell set comprises a mobility activated cell set and a mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set, and wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches wherein the release of the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than the deactivation of the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] teaches that release removes the SCells and the whole SCG configuration entirely, meaning the cells no longer remain in the mobility configured cell set. In contrast, [0059] shows that deactivation preserves the cells within the mobility configuration in an inactive state. Thus, release is fundamentally different from deactivation), wherein the mobility configured cell set comprises a mobility activated cell set and a mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0059] demonstrates that mobility configuration includes activated (resumed) and deactivated (suspended) cell sets), and
wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0037],[0058] confirm that upon release, the cell is removed entirely, not merely deactivated, meaning it is not kept inside the mobility deactivated set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou and XIAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the MAC-CE is specific for the mobility deconfiguration information ([0094] A MAC CE is identified with a reserved value in the LCID field that indicates the type of control information included in the MAC CE. Example MAC CEs include activation/deactivation MAC CEs for prior configured components).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the MAC-CE is not specific for the mobility deconfiguration information ([0094] the MAC-CE is used for in-band control signaling and that example MAC-CEs include multiple different control types, with a reserved LCID value indicating the type of control information included in the MAC-CE), and wherein the mobility deconfiguration information includes at least one bit ([0253] The SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE comprises a Ci field indicating activation or deactivation of an SCell, [0251] The SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE of one octet comprises seven C-fields).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically YILMAZ teaches wherein to release the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0032], [0038] release is triggered based on mobility deconfiguration information, [0058] clearly demonstrates the act of “releasing” a subset of mobility cells from the mobility configured set), the at least one processor (FIG. 9 processing circuitry 920) is configured to release at least one subset of mobility configurations associated with the at least one subset of cells ([0037] the master node can either release the secondary node, [0058] the UE releases the MCG SCells, and the whole SCG configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou and XIAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically YILMAZ teaches wherein to release the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0032], [0038] release is triggered based on mobility deconfiguration information, [0058] clearly demonstrates the act of “releasing” a subset of mobility cells from the mobility configured set), the at least one processor (FIG. 9 processing circuitry 920) is configured to release cell information associated with the at least one subset of cells ([0038] secondary node release/change/modification, [0058] the UE releases the MCG SCells, and the whole SCG configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou and XIAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhou and XIAO, specifically Zhou teaches wherein each mobility configuration in the set of mobility configurations is indicative of respective measurement configuration information associated with a respective cell in the mobility activated cell set or a respective cell in the mobility deactivated cell set ([0165] The base station may semi-statically configure the UE with one or more CSI-RS resource sets, [0166] The base station may configure the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently, [0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report indicating one or more beam pair quality parameters),
wherein the respective measurement configuration information includes at least one of a respective L1 measurement configuration, a respective L1 measurement reporting configuration, a respective L2 measurement configuration, or a respective L2 measurement reporting configuration ([0111] PUCCH carrying uplink control information (UCI), which includes HARQ acknowledgements, channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicators (PMI), and rank indicators (RI), [0166] the base station configures the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently, [0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report indicating RSRP, PMI, CQI, RI).
However, the combination of Zhou and XIAO does not teach wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] explicitly states that the UE releases the MCG SCells along with the whole SCG configuration, which confirms that the released cells are not retained in either the activated or deactivated mobility cell sets, but instead removed entirely from the mobility configured set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou and XIAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0229] the processing system 1518 performs any functionality):
refrain, based on the mobility deconfiguration information, from performing an action associated with the respective measurement configuration information for each cell in the at least one subset of cells ([0285] the wireless device refrains from monitoring PDCCH, from receiving PDSCH, from transmitting PUSCH, and from transmitting SRS on the dormant BWP of the SCell, [0288] in response to transitioning the SCell from a non-dormant state to a dormant state).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the mobility deconfiguration information comprises a bitmap ([0150] a bitmap), wherein each bit in the bitmap is associated with a respective cell in the mobility configured cell set and is indicative of whether the respective cell is associated with the release from the mobility configured cell set ([0149] The other aggregated cells for the UE may be referred to as secondary cells (SCells), [0150] a MAC CE may use a bitmap (e.g., one bit per SCell) to indicate which SCells (e.g., in a subset of configured SCells) for the UE are activated or deactivated).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the mobility deconfiguration information comprises one or more codepoints associated with the at least one subset of cells ([0293] a DCI comprising one or more search space set group (or SSSG) which is a respective cell group of a plurality of cell groups, [0441] the DCI comprises a codepoint of the DCI field).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein, to release the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set, the at least one processor is configured to release at least one subset of mobility configurations from the set of mobility configurations ([0118] The RRCs provide control plane functionality including establishment, maintenance and release, [0149] The SCells are configured through an RRC Connection Reconfiguration procedure), and wherein the at least one subset of mobility configurations is associated with the at least one subset of cells ([0149] The SCells are configured through an RRC Connection Reconfiguration procedure, [0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhou and XIAO, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the set of mobility configurations is associated with layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) ([0111] PUCCH includes HARQ acknowledgement, CQI, PMI, RI, [0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report indicating RSRP, PMI, CQI, RI, [0094] MAC CEs are used for in-band control signaling).
However, the combination of Zhou and XIAO does not teach wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] teaches that upon release, the UE releases the MCG SCells along with the whole SCG configuration, meaning that the released cells are not retained in either the mobility activated cell set or the mobility deactivated cell set, but instead removed entirely from the mobility configured cell set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou and XIAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor (FIG. 15 processing system 1518) is configured to: store the set of mobility configurations in the memory ([0228] FIG. 15 memory 1524 stores computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities).
Regarding claim 26, Zhou teaches a method ([0055] disclosed methods) of wireless communication performed by a first network entity (FIG. 15 wireless device 1502), comprising:
receiving, from a second network entity (FIG. 15 base station 1504) in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0118] the UE receives RRC messages from the base station using signaling radio bearers), a set of mobility configurations ([0118] The RRCs provide control plan functionality such as configuration, mobility functions between the UE and the gNB via RRC messages, [0245] a base station transmits one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more SCells),
wherein each configuration of the set of mobility configurations is associated with a respective cell of a mobility configured cell set ([0253] a C, field indicates an activation/deactivation status of an SCell with an SCell index i if an SCell with SCell index i is configured, [0149] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (Scells)), and wherein the set of mobility configurations comprises primary cell (PCell) configurations ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell). The other aggregated cells may be referred to as secondary cells (SCells), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)), wherein each PCell configuration of the PCell configurations corresponds to a respective cell in the mobility configured cell set ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)), wherein the mobility configured cell set is configured for activation and deactivation within the mobility configured cell set ([0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated, [0250] When SCells are deactivated, a wireless device may not perform, [0246] a base station activates or deactivates at least one of the SCells);
receiving, from the second network entity in downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (FIG. 4B; [0094] MAC CEs are used for in-band control signaling),
wherein the mobility configured cell set comprises a mobility activated cell set and a mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated, [0246] a base station activates or deactivates SCells).
However, Zhou does not teach mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set; and releasing, based on the mobility deconfiguration information in the DCI or the MAC-CE, the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set, wherein releasing the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than deactivating the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set, wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, XIAO teaches releasing, based on the mobility deconfiguration information in the DCI or the MAC-CE, the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0240]-[0241] disclose that an SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE carries information to control a subset of cells, [0287] discloses that configuration related to dual connectivity (i.e., SCG corresponding to the subset of cells) is released).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SCG as taught by XIAO within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the network performance with an enhanced SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE (XIAO [0002]).
However, the combination of Zhou and XIAO does not teach mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set; and wherein releasing the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than deactivating the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set, wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0032] explains that upon detecting RLF-which is mobility deconfiguration information- the system ‘would release’ the mobility configuration on the MCG and SCG, [0038] shows that SCGFailureInformation, another form of mobility deconfiguration information, results in “secondary node release”, [0058] when an RLF occurs on the MCG, the UE releases the MCG SCells, and the whole SCG configuration); and
wherein releasing the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than deactivating the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] teaches that release removes the SCells and the whole SCG configuration entirely, meaning the cells no longer remain in the mobility configured cell set. In contrast, [0059] shows that deactivation preserves the cells within the mobility configuration in an inactive state. Thus, release is fundamentally different from deactivation),
wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0037],[0058] confirm that upon release, the cell is removed entirely, not merely deactivated, meaning it is not kept inside the mobility deactivated set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou and XIAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the MAC-CE is specific for the mobility deconfiguration information ([0094] A MAC CE is identified with a reserved value in the LCID field that indicates the type of control information included in the MAC CE. Example MAC CEs include activation/deactivation MAC CEs for prior configured components).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Zhou, XIAO and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the MAC-CE is not specific for the mobility deconfiguration information ([0094] the MAC-CE is used for in-band control signaling and that example MAC-CEs include multiple different control types, with a reserved LCID value indicating the type of control information included in the MAC-CE), and wherein the mobility deconfiguration information includes at least one bit ([0253] The SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE comprises a Ci field indicating activation or deactivation of an SCell, [0251] The SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE of one octet comprises seven C-fields).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Zhou and XIAO, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the set of mobility configurations is associated with layer 1 (L1) ([0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report (in layer 1) indicating RSRP, PMI, CQI, RI) or layer (L2) ([0094] MAC CEs are used for in-band control signaling).
However, the combination of Zhou and XIAO does not teach wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] teaches that upon release, the UE releases the MCG SCells along with the whole SCG configuration, meaning that the released cells are not retained in either the mobility activated cell set or the mobility deactivated cell set, but instead removed entirely from the mobility configured cell set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou and XIAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Claims 13-25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of YILMAZ.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches a first network entity (FIG. 15 wireless device 1502) for wireless communication, comprising:
memory (FIG. 15 memory 1524); and
at least one processor (FIG. 15 processing system 1518) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0229] the processing system 1518 performs any functionality):
transmit, for a second network entity (FIG. 15 base station 1504) in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0118] the UE transmits RRC messages to the base station using signaling radio bearers), a set of mobility configurations ([0118] The RRCs provide control plan functionality such as configuration, mobility functions between the UE and the gNB via RRC messages, [0245] a base station transmits one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more SCells),
wherein each configuration of the set of mobility configurations is associated with a respective cell of a mobility configured cell set ([0253] a C, field indicates an activation/deactivation status of an SCell with an SCell index i if an SCell with SCell index i is configured, [0149] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (Scells)), and
wherein the set of mobility configurations comprises primary cell (PCell) configurations ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell). The other aggregated cells may be referred to as secondary cells (SCells), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)), wherein each PCell configuration of the PCell configurations corresponds to a respective cell in the mobility configured cell set ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)),
wherein the mobility configured cell set is configured for activation and deactivation within the mobility configured cell set ([0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated, [0250] When SCells are deactivated, a wireless device may not perform, [0246] a base station activates or deactivates at least one of the SCells);
transmit, for the second network entity in downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (FIG. 4B; [0094] MAC CEs are used for in-band control signaling).
wherein the mobility configured cell set comprises a mobility activated cell set and a mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated, [0246] a base station activates or deactivates SCells), and
refrain from using the at least one subset of cells ([0285] the wireless device refrains from monitoring PDCCH, from receiving PDSCH, from transmitting PUSCH, and from transmitting SRS on the dormant BWP of the SCell, [0288] in response to transitioning the SCell from a non-dormant state to a dormant state).
However, Zhou does not teach mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set, wherein the release of the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than the deactivation of the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set, wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0032] explains that upon detecting RLF-which is mobility deconfiguration information- the system ‘would release’ the mobility configuration on the MCG and SCG, [0038] shows that SCGFailureInformation, another form of mobility deconfiguration information, results in “secondary node release”, [0058] when an RLF occurs on the MCG, the UE releases the MCG SCells, and the whole SCG configuration),
wherein the release of the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than the deactivation of the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] teaches that release removes the SCells and the whole SCG configuration entirely, meaning the cells no longer remain in the mobility configured cell set. In contrast, [0059] shows that deactivation preserves the cells within the mobility configuration in an inactive state. Thus, release is fundamentally different from deactivation),
wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0037],[0058] confirm that upon release, the cell is removed entirely, not merely deactivated, meaning it is not kept inside the mobility deactivated set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the MAC-CE is specific for the mobility deconfiguration information ([0094] A MAC CE is identified with a reserved value in the LCID field that indicates the type of control information included in the MAC CE. Example MAC CEs include activation/deactivation MAC CEs for prior configured components).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the MAC-CE is not specific for the mobility deconfiguration information ([0094] the MAC-CE is used for in-band control signaling and that example MAC-CEs include multiple different control types, with a reserved LCID value indicating the type of control information included in the MAC-CE), and
wherein the mobility deconfiguration information includes at least one bit ([0253] The SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE comprises a Ci field indicating activation or deactivation of an SCell, [0251] The SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE of one octet comprises seven C-fields).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically YILMAZ teaches wherein the mobility deconfiguration information ([0032], [0038] shows that release is triggered based on mobility deconfiguration information) is indicative of the release of at least one subset of mobility configurations associated with the at least one subset of cells ([0037] the master node can either release the secondary node, [0058] the UE releases the MCG SCells, and the whole SCG configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically YILMAZ teaches wherein the mobility deconfiguration information ([0032], [0038] shows that release is triggered based on mobility deconfiguration information) is indicative of the release of cell information associated with the at least one subset of cells ([0038] secondary node release/change/modification, [0058] the UE releases the MCG SCells, and the whole SCG configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou teaches wherein each mobility configuration in the set of mobility configurations is indicative of respective measurement configuration information associated with a respective cell in the mobility activated cell set or a respective cell in the mobility deactivated cell set ([0165] The base station may semi-statically configure the UE with one or more CSI-RS resource sets, [0166] The base station may configure the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently, [0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report indicating one or more beam pair quality parameters),
wherein the respective measurement configuration information includes at least one of a respective L1 measurement configuration, a respective L1 measurement reporting configuration, a respective L2 measurement configuration, or a respective L2 measurement reporting configuration ([0111] PUCCH carrying uplink control information (UCI), which includes HARQ acknowledgements, channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicators (PMI), and rank indicators (RI), [0166] the base station configures the UE to provide CSI reports periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently, [0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report indicating RSRP, PMI, CQI, RI).
However, Zhou does not teach wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] explicitly states that the UE releases the MCG SCells along with the whole SCG configuration, which confirms that the released cells are not retained in either the activated or deactivated mobility cell sets, but instead removed entirely from the mobility configured set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor (FIG. 15 processing system 1518) is configured to:
receive measurement information corresponding to the respective measurement configuration information for a cell in the at least one subset of cells ([0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report indicating one or more beam pair quality parameters including RSRP, PMI, CQI, RI, [0111] PUCCH includes HARQ ACK, CQI, PMI, RI, [0204] UE receives ACK/NACK feedback associated with the transport block, which also serves as a measurement-related confirmation of link state); and retransmit, for the second network entity, the mobility deconfiguration information based on receipt of the measurement information ([0085] The UEs and the BSs support retransmissions of data, [0204] In FIG. 13A, UE transmits again the transport block comprising a HARQ ACK and a HARQ NACK).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: record a transport block identifier (ID) associated with the MAC-CE ([0118] The MAC may multiplex control-plane and user-plane data into the same transport block (TB); MAC-CE inserted by a MAC [0094], [0207] The transport block 1342 may comprise an identifier of the UE; processing system 1522 may be coupled to a memory for storing [0228]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive an acknowledgment (ACK) associated with the transport block ID ([0204] In FIG. 13C 1332, UE receives the transport block 1342 comprising a HARQ ACK, [0207] the identifier of the UE in Msg B 1332 is matched to the identifier of the UE in the Msg A 1331 (e.g., the transport block 1342)).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: retransmit, for the second network entity, the mobility deconfiguration information based on a lack of receipt of an acknowledgment (ACK) associated with the transport block ID within a time frame ([0085] The UEs 115 and the BSs 105 may support retransmissions of data, [0091] The set of cells may include an activated subset that may serve the UE 115-b as well as a deactivated subset that may be readily activated by L1 or L2 signaling, [0204] In FIG. 13C 1332, the transport block 1342 comprising a HARQ NACK which is using time division multiplexing (TDM); [0206]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the mobility deconfiguration information comprises a bitmap, wherein each bit in the bitmap is associated with a respective cell in the mobility configured cell set and is indicative of whether the respective cell is associated with the release from the mobility configured cell set ([0149] The other aggregated cells for the UE may be referred to as secondary cells (SCells), [0150] a MAC CE may use a bitmap (e.g., one bit per SCell) to indicate which SCells (e.g., in a subset of configured SCells) for the UE are activated or deactivated).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Zhou and YILMAZ, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the mobility deconfiguration information comprises one or more codepoints associated with the at least one subset of cells ([0293] a DCI comprising one or more search space set group (or SSSG) which is a respective cell group of a plurality of cell groups, [0441] the DCI comprises a codepoint of the DCI field).
Regarding claim 25, Zhou teaches wherein the set of mobility configurations is associated with layer 1 (L1) ([0182] the UE transmits a beam measurement report (in layer 1) indicating RSRP, PMI, CQI, RI) or layer (L2) ([0094] MAC CEs are used for in-band control signaling),
However, Zhou does not teach wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches wherein based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is not included in the mobility activated cell set within the mobility configured cell set in addition to not being included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] teaches that upon release, the UE releases the MCG SCells along with the whole SCG configuration, meaning that the released cells are not retained in either the mobility activated cell set or the mobility deactivated cell set, but instead removed entirely from the mobility configured cell set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Regarding claim 30, Zhou teaches a method ([0055] disclosed methods) of wireless communication performed by a first network entity (FIG. 15 wireless device 1502), comprising:
transmitting, for a second network entity in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0118] the UE transmits RRC messages to the base station using signaling radio bearers), a set of mobility configurations ([0118] The RRCs provide control plan functionality such as configuration, mobility functions between the UE and the gNB via RRC messages, [0245] a base station transmits one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more SCells),
wherein each configuration of the set of mobility configurations is associated with a respective cell of a mobility configured cell set ([0253] a C, field indicates an activation/deactivation status of an SCell with an SCell index i if an SCell with SCell index i is configured, [0149] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (Scells)), and
wherein the set of mobility configurations comprises primary cell (PCell) configurations ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell). The other aggregated cells may be referred to as secondary cells (SCells), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)), wherein each PCell configuration of the PCell configurations corresponds to a respective cell in the mobility configured cell set ([0149] one of the aggregated cells may be referred to as a primary cell (PCell), [0245] CCs are organized into one primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells)),
wherein the mobility configured cell set is configured for activation and deactivation within the mobility configured cell set ([0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated, [0250] When SCells are deactivated, a wireless device may not perform, [0246] a base station activates or deactivates at least one of the SCells);
transmitting, for the second network entity in downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (FIG. 4B; [0094] MAC CEs are used for in-band control signaling),
wherein the mobility configured cell set comprises a mobility activated cell set and a mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0150] Configured Cells for a UE may be activated and deactivated, [0246] a base station activates or deactivates SCells), and
refraining from using the at least one subset of cells ([0285] the wireless device refrains from monitoring PDCCH, from receiving PDSCH, from transmitting PUSCH, and from transmitting SRS on the dormant BWP of the SCell, [0288] in response to transitioning the SCell from a non-dormant state to a dormant state).
However, Zhou does not teach mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause a release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set, wherein the release of the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than a deactivation of the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set, wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set.
In an analogous art, YILMAZ teaches mobility deconfiguration information configured to cause a release of at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set ([0032] explains that upon detecting RLF-which is mobility deconfiguration information- the system ‘would release’ the mobility configuration on the MCG and SCG, [0038] shows that SCGFailureInformation, another form of mobility deconfiguration information, results in “secondary node release”, [0058] when an RLF occurs on the MCG, the UE releases the MCG SCells, and the whole SCG configuration),
wherein the release of the at least one subset of cells from the mobility configured cell set is different than a deactivation of the at least one subset of cells within the mobility configured cell set ([0058] teaches that release removes the SCells and the whole SCG configuration entirely, meaning the cells no longer remain in the mobility configured cell set. In contrast, [0059] shows that deactivation preserves the cells within the mobility configuration in an inactive state. Thus, release is fundamentally different from deactivation),
wherein, based on the release, the at least one subset of cells is removed from the mobility configured cell set and is not included in the mobility deactivated cell set within the mobility configured cell set ([0037],[0058] confirm that upon release, the cell is removed entirely, not merely deactivated, meaning it is not kept inside the mobility deactivated set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the releasing as taught by YILMAZ within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a useful improvement resulting in more efficient network communications and faster recovery from failures (YILMAZ [0062]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2025/0056529 A1 (JIANG et al.) discloses a data transceiving method and apparatus.
US 2025/0184070 A1 (MA et al.) discloses 5th generation (5G) or 6th generation (6G) wireless communication.
US 2026/0045993 A1 (MONDAL et al.) discloses a 5G or 6G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413