DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 18, 22, 24 are amended and filed on 8/24/2026
Claims 3, 5 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark et al. (WO-2021011551-A1) (“Clark”).
Re claim 14, Clark discloses an elongated medical device (EMD) drive system (Figs. 1-36, Fig.1 discloses overall of the device and Fig, 25 discloses a drive module see ¶0110), comprising: a robotic drive (24, ¶0110) having a robotic drive longitudinal axis (axis of 76, Fig. 3), the robotic drive having a housing (housing of 24, ¶0081) including a bottom surface being closest to a patient in a robotic drive in-use position (lower surface of 24, Fig. 1-3); a drive module movable along the robotic drive longitudinal axis (68a-d in Fig. 3 and 310 in Fig. 25, ¶0094), the drive module extending from the robotic drive with a bracket (78a-d, Fig. 1-3, ¶0093) defining a drive plane extending along the robotic drive longitudinal axis (right side of 62a-d, Fig. 3), and the bracket extending perpendicular to the bottom surface (Fig. 3), wherein the drive module extends solely from one side of the drive plane (Fig. 3), and the drive module includes a drive module housing (cases 68 a-d, ¶0094 and the housing of 310), a motor (¶0110, a motor under 314) and a drive train (belt, ¶0110) operationally coupling the motor to an EMD within the drive module (¶0110, ¶0112), the motor and the drive train arranged in the drive module housing (¶0110); and a sterile barrier (¶0095, such as a drape that cover 24) removably attached to the bottom surface of the robotic drive on a second side of the drive plane opposite the one side of the drive plane (Fig. 3, ¶0095).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al. (WO-2021011551A1) (“Clark”) in view of Plicchi et al. (US 20040254566 A1) (“ Plicchi”) and further in view of Gomez et al. (US 20210077213A1) (“Gomez”).
Re claim 1, Clark discloses an elongated medical device (EMD) drive system (Figs. 1-36, Fig.1 discloses overall of the device and Fig, 25 discloses a drive module see ¶0110), comprising: a robotic drive (24, ¶0110) having a robotic drive longitudinal axis (axis of 76, Fig. 3); a drive module movable along the robotic drive longitudinal axis (68a-d in Fig. 3 id 310 in Fig. 25, ¶0094), the drive module including a housing (cases 68 a-d, ¶0094 and the housing of 310) and a motor arranged in the housing (¶0110, a motor inside 310) and a drive train (belt, ¶0110) arranged in the housing (¶110), the drive train coupling the motor shaft to a driven member (322, ¶0112, Fig. 26a) configured to rotate an elongated medical device about an EMD longitudinal axis (¶0110, ¶0112), and a drive gear (314), the drive gear configured to rotate about an axis perpendicular to the motor longitudinal axis of the motor shaft and substantially perpendicular to the robotic drive longitudinal axis (Fig. 25), and the drive gear being removably engaged with the driven member (¶0112), but it fails to disclose that the motor having a motor shaft with a motor longitudinal axis substantially parallel to the robotic drive longitudinal axis, wherein a length of the motor, including the motor shaft, along the motor longitudinal axis is less than a length of the housing along the robotic drive longitudinal axis and wherein the drive train includes a worn gear and a worn wheel including a worm wheel shaft, and that the drive gear is integral to the worm wheel shaft.
However, Plicchi discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1-2) and wherein the motor (17, ¶0027) comprising a shaft ( shaft of 17) along a motor longitudinal axis ( motor rotational axis, Fig. 2) is substantially parallel to the robotic drive longitudinal axis (axis on the catheter C, Fig. 2) and wherein the length of the motor, including the motor shaft, along the motor longitudinal axis is less than a length of the housing along the robotic drive longitudinal axis (length of 17 is less than the length of the housing is taken along the axis of the motor).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Clark so that the motor having a motor shaft with a motor longitudinal axis substantially parallel to the robotic drive longitudinal axis, wherein a length of the motor, including the motor shaft, along the motor longitudinal axis is less than a length of the housing along the robotic drive longitudinal axis as taught by Plicchi for the purpose of using specific motor orientation with specific train/ gears to generate a specific angular position or specific speed (Plicchi, ¶0027).
The modified Clark in view of Plicchi fails to discloses wherein the drive train includes a worn gear and a worn wheel including a worm wheel shaft, and that the drive gear is integral to the worm wheel shaft.
However, Gomez discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1-33) and wherein the drive train includes a worn gear (920a) and a worn wheel (lower gear that engage with the motor gear 960a1) including a worm wheel shaft (910a), and that the drive gear (930a) is integral to the worm wheel shaft (See Fig, 33).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Clark so that the drive train includes a worn gear and a worn wheel including a worm wheel shaft, and that the drive gear is integral to the worm wheel shaft as taught by Gomez for the purpose of using specific gear train /box in order to convey rotation to different orientation (Gomez, ¶0146).
Re claim 4, Clark discloses a stage member (78a-d, Fig.3) extending from the robotic drive (Fig, 3), the stage member capable to move the device module along the robotic drive longitudinal axis (¶0093), the device module extending solely from a first side of the stage member (right or bottom side of 78a-d).
Re claim 6, Clark fails to disclose fails to disclose wherein the drive train includes an intermediate shaft being parallel to the motor shaft, the worm gear being rotated by the intermediate shaft and the worm gear being intermediate a proximal end of the motor and a distal end of the motor.
However, Gomez discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1-33) and wherein the drive train includes an intermediate shaft (910) being parallel to the motor shaft ( shaft of 960a1), the worm gear being rotated by the intermediate shaft and the worm gear being intermediate a proximal end of the motor and a distal end of the motor (See Fig, 33).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Clark so that the drive train includes an intermediate shaft being parallel to the motor shaft, the worm gear being rotated by the intermediate shaft and the worm gear being intermediate a proximal end of the motor and a distal end of the motor as taught by Gomez for the purpose of using specific gear train /box in order to convey rotation to different orientation (Gomez, ¶0146).
Re claim 7, Clark discloses a collet (¶0112) removably received within the device module (Fig. 25, can be removed) between a collet in-use position (¶0112, Fig. 25, 314 is engaged with 327) and a collet external position (314 and 327 are non- engaging, ¶0112), the collet being manually adjustable in the collet in-use position between a first fixed position (Fig, 25 is engaged the collet, but the collet is not engaged with the guidewire) affixing an EMD thereto and a second unfixed position in which the EMD is not affixed thereto (¶0112 when the collet is releasing the guidewire).
Re claim 8, Clark discloses wherein the drive train is capable to rotate the collet about a collet longitudinal axis (¶0112), the drive train is capable to rotate the EMD when the EMD is fixed to the collet (¶0112).
Re claim 9, Clark discloses wherein the device module includes a drive module 68a-d, ¶0094) and a cassette (66a-d, Fig. 3, and 318 in Fig. 25, ¶0094) removably coupled to the drive module (Fig. 3, ¶0094), the drive module includes the housing (housing of 68a-d, 310 in Fig. 25) which supports the motor and the drive gear (¶0110, as indicated in claim 1), and the cassette includes the driven member and is configured to removably receive the collet and the EMD (Fig. 25, ¶0112).
Re claim 10, Clark discloses wherein the collet includes a first portion operatively connected to the drive train (327, an right portion of 326, ¶0112) and a second portion ( left portion that can be rotated ) movable by a user with respect to the first portion to fix and unfix the EMD to the collet, wherein the second portion is proximal to the first portion when the collet is in an in-use position ( in order to engage the wire 324, ¶0112).
Re claim 12, Clark discloses wherein the drive train is configured to rotate the collet (326, ¶0112) about a longitudinal axis of the collet ( ¶0112), and to rotate the EMD when the EMD is fixed to the collet (¶0112).
Re claim 13, Clark discloses wherein the collet includes a gear (327) operationally engaged with the driven member (314) and a proximal portion is configured to be manipulated by a user when the collet is in the collet in-use position (¶0110, ¶0112).
Re claim 22, Clark discloses wherein the robotic drive is mounted at an end of a robotic arm (22, Fig. 1), and the robotic arm is configured to attach to a patient table (18, ¶0081).
Re claim 23, Clark discloses wherein the motor and drive train are disposed entirely in the housing (Fig. 3) and the driven member (314) is disposed at least partially in the housing (Fig. 25).
Re claim 24, Clark discloses wherein the robotic drive includes a bracket (78a-d) extending perpendicular to a bottom surface of the robotic drive (60, Fig. 3); and the drive module is mounted to a proximal side of the bracket (Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Plicchi and Gomez evidenced by https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive.
Re claim 11, Clark fails to discloses wherein the drive train prevents back drive in response to a force applied to the collet to adjust the collet between the first fixed position and the second unfixed position.
However, Plicchi discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1-7) and wherein the motor (17, 33, ¶0027) and a drive train (29) includes an intermediate shaft (29) being parallel to the motor shaft (17), the worm gear (229) being rotated by the intermediate shaft (¶0029) and the worm gear (229) being intermediate a proximal end of the motor ( lower end of 17. Fig. 3) and a distal end of the motor ( top end of 33) and the worm gear prevent to rotate back due to a force or torque applied to rotate of a wheel gear or drive train gear which mean if a force applied to rotate 229 will not rotate 32. This is special feature of the worm gear evidence by https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive see annotated Fig. 1 of https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive).
Annotated Fig. 1 of https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drive train of Clark so that the drive train prevents back drive in response to a force applied to the collet to adjust the collet between the first fixed position and the second unfixed position as taught by Plicchi for the purpose of using gear box with gear to generate a specific angular position or specific speed (Plicchi, ¶0027).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Laby et al. (US 20180311473A1) (“Laby”).
Re claim 15, Clark fails to disclose wherein the motor comprises a drive shaft that has a longitudinal axis that is parallel with the drive plane.
However, Laby discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1, Fig. 31a-33b) and wherein the robotic drive (506) has a longitudinal axis (510) and wherein the motor (590, Fig. 33a) comprises a shaft have a longitudinal axis ( shaft that connected to the worm gear 594, ¶0107) that is substantially parallel to the drive plane (510).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Clark so that the motor comprises a drive shaft that has a longitudinal axis that is parallel with the drive plane as taught by Laby for the purpose of using an art motor for maintaining rotational and lateral alignment of the drive and medical device axis (Laby, ¶0106).
Re claim 16, Clark discloses further including a cassette (66a-d, ¶0095, Fig. 3) removably attached to the drive module (Fig. 3, ¶0094 and 316 in Fig. 25, ¶0110), and a collet (326, ¶0112) removably received within the cassette between a collet external position (disengaged with 314, ¶0112) and a collet in-use position (as the 326 is engaged with 314. ¶0112), a portion of the collet being operatively connected to the drive train (327, Fig.3, ¶0112).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Laby et al. (US 20180311473A1) (“Laby”) evidenced by https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive.
Re claim 17, Clark fails to disclose wherein the drive train includes a worm gear preventing back drive of the drive train when the collet is manually adjustable in the collet in-use position between a first fixed position affixing the EMD to the collet and a second unfixed position in which the EMD is not affixed to the collet.
However, Laby discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1, Fig. 31a-33b) and wherein the robotic drive (506) has a longitudinal axis (510) and wherein the motor (590, Fig. 33a) comprises a shaft ( shaft that connected to the worm gear 594, ¶0107) the drive train includes a worm gear (the worm gear 594, ¶0107) preventing back drive of the drive train when a force is applied to the drive train from an EMD (the worm gear prevent to rotate due to a force or torque applied to rotate of a wheel gear or drive train gear which mean if a force applied to rotate 598 will not rotate 594. This is special feature of the worm gear evidence by https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive see annotated Fig. 1 of https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Clark so that the drive train includes a worm gear preventing back drive of the drive train when the collet is manually adjustable in the collet in-use position between a first fixed position affixing the EMD to the collet and a second unfixed position in which the EMD is not affixed to the collet as taught by Laby for the purpose of using an art motor for maintaining rotational and lateral alignment of the drive and medical device axis (Laby, ¶0106).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blacker (US, 20170348060A1) in view of Laby et al. (US. 20180311473A1) (“Laby”) evidenced by https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive.
Re claim 18, Clark discloses an elongated medical device (EMD) drive system (Figs. 1-36, Fig.1 discloses overall of the device and Fig, 25 discloses a drive module see ¶0110) comprising: a robotic drive (24, ¶0110) having a robotic drive longitudinal axis ( axis of 76, Fig. 3); a drive module movable along the robotic drive longitudinal axis (68a-d in Fig. 3 and 310 in Fig. 25, ¶0094), the device module including a housing (cases 68a-d, ¶0094) and a motor having a motor shaft (a motor with rotary shaft, ¶0110), the motor arranged in the housing (¶0110); and a drive train arranged in the housing (belt, ¶0110), the drive train coupling the motor shaft to a driven member (314, ¶0110) configured to rotate an elongated medical device about an EMD longitudinal axis (¶0110. ¶112), but it fails to disclose that the drive train including a worm gear preventing back drive of the drive train when a force is applied to the drive train from an EMD.
However, Laby discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1, Fig. 31a-33b) and wherein the robotic drive (506) has a longitudinal axis (510) and wherein the motor (590, Fig. 33a) comprises a shaft ( shaft that connected to the worm gear 594, ¶0107) the drive train includes a worm gear (the worm gear 594, ¶0107) preventing back drive of the drive train when a force is applied to the drive train from an EMD (the worm gear prevent to rotate due to a force or torque applied to rotate of a wheel gear or drive train gear which mean if a force applied to rotate 598 will not rotate 594. This is special feature of the worm gear evidence by https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive see annotated Fig. 1 of https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Clark so that the drive train includes a worm gear and a worm wheel as taught by Laby for the purpose of using an art motor for maintaining rotational and lateral alignment of the drive and medical device axis (Laby, ¶0106).
Re claim 19, Clark fails to discloses wherein a motor longitudinal axis of the motor shaft is parallel to the robotic drive longitudinal axis.
However, Laby discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1, Fig. 31a-33b) and wherein the robotic drive (506) has a longitudinal axis (510) and wherein the motor (590, Fig. 33a) comprises a shaft ( shaft that connected to the worm gear 594, ¶0107) being substantially parallel to the robotic drive longitudinal axis (510).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Clark so that the longitudinal axis of the motor shaft is parallel to the robotic drive longitudinal axis as taught by Laby for the purpose of using an art motor for maintaining rotational and lateral alignment of the drive and medical device axis (Laby, ¶0106).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Laby evidenced by https://www.wmberg.com/resources/blogs/guide-to-worm-gear-drive and further in view of Plicchi et al. (US 20040254566A1) (“Plicchi”).
Re claim 20, Clark fails to disclose wherein the drive train includes an intermediate shaft extending parallel to the motor shaft, wherein the driven member is configured to rotate about an axis spaced a part from and perpendicular to the motor longitudinal axis and a longitudinal axis of the intermediate shaft; and wherein the worm gear is positioned on the intermediate shaft.
However, Plicchi discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1-7) and wherein the motor (17, 33, ¶0027) and a drive train (23) includes an intermediate shaft (29) extending parallel to the motor shaft (17), the worm gear (229) being positioned on the intermediate shaft, the driven member (126) rotating about an axis spaced from and perpendicular to the motor longitudinal axis (axis of 17) and a longitudinal axis of the intermediate shaft (axis of 29); and wherein the worm gear is positioned on the intermediate shaft (Fig. 3-4).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drive train of Clark so that the drive train includes an intermediate shaft extending parallel to the motor shaft, wherein the driven member is configured to rotate about an axis spaced a part from and perpendicular to the motor longitudinal axis and a longitudinal axis of the intermediate shaft; and wherein the worm gear is positioned on the intermediate shaft as taught by Plicchi for the purpose of using gear box with gear to generate a specific angular position or specific speed (Plicchi, ¶0027).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Plicchi and Gomez and further in view of Weitzner et al. (US 20090105639 A1) (“Weitzner”)
Re claim 21, Blacker discloses that the robotic drive has a liner mechanism (418, ¶0028), but it fails to disclose the robotic drive comprises a screw drive.
However, Weitzner discloses a medical device manipulated system ( Fig. 1-7) and wherein the robotic drive (202, 214, 215, ¶0037) includes screw drive (214, ¶0037).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robotic drive of Clark so that the robotic drive comprises a screw drive.as taught by Weitzner for the purpose of using art recognized automatic linear mechanism that drive the housing forward and backward (Weitzner, ¶0037).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues with regards to claim 14 that a sterile barrier is not attached to bottom surface …on a second side of the drive plane opposite to the one side of the drive plane. This is found not persuasive as a sterile drape (barriers) is placed over 24 ( in all sides) for preventing the contaminating see ¶0095 of Clark.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 using Clark in view of Plicchi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Clark in view of Plicchi and Gomez.
Applicant argues with regards to claim 18 that Laby fails to disclose “back drive”. This is found not persuasive as intended use language and as the worm gear in the system, then back drive is prevented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783