DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 05/07/2026. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15-19 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12, 15-19 have been amended; claims 2, 8, 14, 20 cancelled.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 05/07/2026, and Applicant’s response and explanation regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Claim Rejection in the Remarks dated 05/07/2026 (see pages 5-7) have been fully considered. Accordingly, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 05/07/2026 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Claim Rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 02/11/2026.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/07/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millhoff (U.S. Patent No. 3,438,755 A, newly cited) in view of Debondt et al. (WO 2015169572 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Millhoff discloses a welding wire (weld wire 10, Millhoff Fig.1) comprising:
a high alloy steel core (steel core 12, Millhoff Fig.1) (Millhoff Col.2 line 64 discloses: “the steel wire 12”) comprising iron and one or more alloying elements (Millhoff discloses the steel core 12 comprising iron and one or more alloying elements, as indicated by Millhoff Col.2 lines 38-46); and
a copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 14, Millhoff Fig.1) (Millhoff Col.2 lines 65-67 discloses: “coating 14 of copper or a copper alloy composed of 98% copper and 2% tin”) directly coating the high alloy steel core (steel core 12, Millhoff Fig.1) (Millhoff Col.2 lines 55-56 discloses: “The steel matrix or core 12 according to the present invention is first coated with a metal coating 14”), the copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 14, Millhoff Fig.1) having a thickness greater than about 1 µm (Millhoff Col.2 lines 67-70 discloses: “The coating 14 when composed of copper may be in the range of 2.5 millionths to 50 millionths of an inch or higher to serve as a satisfactory substrate for the mangese coating 15.”. It is noted that 2.5 millionths of an inch equals 0.0635 µm and 50 millionths of an inch equals 1.27 µm. Therefore, Millhoff discloses the coating 14 having a thickness in the range of 0.0635 µm to 1.27 µm or higher. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). In this case, the claimed range of greater than about 1 µm overlaps with the prior art Millhoff range of 0.0635 µm to 1.27 µm or higher and therefore prior art is an evidence of prima facie obviousness.).
Millhoff does not disclose:
one or more alloying elements in an amount greater than about 10.5 percent by weight of the high alloy steel core, selected from aluminum, bismuth, chromium, molybdenum, chromium/molybdenum alloy, cobalt, copper, manganese, nickel, silicon, titanium, tungsten, vanadium, or a combination thereof; and
the copper alloy layer having a copper content of up to about 95 weight percent (wt%)
Debondt teaches a metal wire (steel wire 12, Debondt Fig.1) (Debondt Abstract teaches metal wires having a ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14 cladded with a copper alloy coating 16) comprising:
a high alloy steel core (ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14, Debondt Fig.1) comprising iron and one or more alloying elements (Debondt teaches the high alloy steel core comprising iron and one or more alloying elements because Debondt Par.0022 teaches: “In a preferred embodiment, the core wire is a ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel wire. According to the present invention, the stainless steel core wire has ferrite content in the range of 10 to 90% by volume, and preferably has ferrite content in the range of 40-70% by volume. The stainless steel can be duplex stainless steel having a mixed microstructure of austenite and ferrite. Preferably, the ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel wire has a ferrite content of about 50% by volume. Duplex stainless steels are characterized by high chromium (19-35% by weight) and molybdenum (up to 5% by weight) and lower nickel contents than austenitic stainless steels.”), in an amount greater than about 10.5 percent by weight of the high alloy steel core (ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14, Debondt Fig.1), selected from aluminum, bismuth, chromium, molybdenum, chromium/molybdenum alloy, cobalt, copper, manganese, nickel, silicon, titanium, tungsten, vanadium, or a combination thereof (It is noted that the limitation “selected from aluminum, bismuth, chromium, molybdenum, chromium/molybdenum alloy, cobalt, copper, manganese, nickel, silicon, titanium, tungsten, vanadium, or a combination thereof” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Debondt Par.0022 teaches 19-35% by weight of chromium, which is greater than 10.5% by weight as required by the claim); and
a copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 16, Debondt Fig.1) directly coating the high alloy steel core (ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14, Debondt Fig.1), the copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 16, Debondt Fig.1) having a copper content of up to about 95 weight percent (wt%) (It is noted that “up to about 95 weight percent (wt%)” means the copper amount can go as high as 95%, meaning it is less than or equal to 95% (up to a maximum around 95%). In this case, Debondt Par.0029 teaches: “copper nickel alloy comprises at least 80 per cent by weight copper and between 5 per cent by weight and 15 per cent by weight nickel. A composition of 90 wt% Cu and 10 wt% Ni has proven to be an acceptable composition.”; therefore, Debondt teaches the copper content as required by the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Millhoff steel core composition & copper alloy coating composition with the Debondt steel core composition & copper alloy coating composition, because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing steel core wire with copper alloy coating for welding applications. MPEP 2143 I (B). Furthermore, by forming the steel core from the ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel and forming the coating as copper alloy coating, the modification improves the mechanical strength of the core while maintaining copper-based coating, increase resistance to corrosion and wear, reduce degradation at the interface between the core and the coating, and thereby improve the durability and service life of the coated wire because Debondt teaches that duplex stainless steel provides higher strength than conventional steel while the copper alloy coating provides corrosion resistance and that the interface roughness between the duplex stainless steel core and the copper alloy coating promotes strong adhesion between the core and the coating.
Regarding claim 3, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the copper alloy layer comprises a balance of at least one metal selected from cadmium, chromium, nickel, tin, zinc, or a combination thereof. (It is noted that the limitation “at least one metal selected from cadmium, chromium, nickel, tin, zinc, or a combination thereof” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Debondt teaches the remaining balance of the copper alloy layer comprises nickel because Debondt Par.0029 teaches: “copper nickel alloy comprises at least 80 per cent by weight copper and between 5 per cent by weight and 15 per cent by weight nickel. A composition of 90 wt% Cu and 10 wt% Ni has proven to be an acceptable composition.”, as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above.).
Regarding claim 4, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the copper alloy layer has the copper content ranging from about 60 weight percent (wt%) to about 95 weight percent (wt%) (Debondt Par.0029 teaches: “copper nickel alloy comprises at least 80 per cent by weight copper and between 5 per cent by weight and 15 per cent by weight nickel. A composition of 90 wt% Cu and 10 wt% Ni has proven to be an acceptable composition.”; therefore, Debondt teaches the copper content as required by the claim, as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above.).
Regarding claim 5, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the high alloy steel core comprises a stainless steel composition comprising chromium at a percent by weight (wt%) of the high alloy metal core ranging from 19 wt% to 35 wt% instead of from about 12 wt% to about 18 wt% (Debondt Par.0022 teaches the steel core wire is a ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel wire, and Debondt Par.0022 also teaches 19-35% by weight of chromium, as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding the limitation about the chromium has a percent by weight (wt%) of the high alloy metal core ranging from about 12 wt% to about 18 wt%, it is noted that the limitation “about 18 wt%” means the percent by weight of chromium can be more than 18 wt%, the court has held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05.I. In this case, the prior art 19% is close enough to the claimed range of about 18 wt% because the limitation “about 18 wt%” means the percent by weight of chromium can be more than 18 wt%.
Regarding claim 7, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the high alloy steel core comprises a duplex steel (Debondt Par.0022 teaches the steel core wire is a ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel wire, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above.).
Regarding claim 9, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, Millhoff also discloses:
wherein the copper alloy layer is present at a percent by weight (wt%) of the welding wire ranging from about 0.005 wt% to about 3 wt% (Millhoff Col.2 lines 64-65 discloses the steel wire 12 has a diameter of 0.035 inch, Millhoff Col.2 lines 67-69 discloses the copper alloy coating 14 has a thickness in the range of 2.5 millionths to 50 millionths of an inch, and Millhoff Col.3 lines 38-44 discloses the manganese coating 15 has a thickness of 90 millionths of an inch. The copper alloy layer wt% can be estimated using the following equation:
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
w
t
%
=
A
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
ρ
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
A
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
ρ
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
+
A
s
t
e
e
l
c
o
r
e
ρ
s
t
e
e
l
c
o
r
e
+
A
M
n
ρ
M
n
x 100
wherein A is area and ρ is density. It is noted that standard density of steel is approximately 7.85 g/cm³ [obtained from https://hypertextbook.com/facts/2004/KarenSutherland.shtml], the density of a copper-nickel alloy with 90% copper and 10% nickel is approximately 8.94 g/cm³ [obtained from https://www.shalco.com/sub-products/copper-nickel-90-10], and the density of manganese is approximately 7.21 g/cm³ [obtained from Wikipedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manganese]. Therefore, from calculation using above equation, when the copper alloy layer thickness is 2.5 millionths of an inch, the copper alloy wt% is 0.032; when the copper alloy layer thickness is 50 millionths of an inch, the copper alloy wt% is 0.639. Accordingly, the copper alloy layer is present at a percent by weight (wt%) of the welding wire ranging from about 0.032 wt% to about 0.639 wt%, which is inside of the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 10, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, Millhoff also discloses:
wherein the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.005% to about 5% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire (Millhoff Col.2 lines 64-65 discloses the steel wire 12 has a diameter of 0.035 inch, Millhoff Col.2 lines 67-69 discloses the copper alloy coating 14 has a thickness in the range of 2.5 millionths to 50 millionths of an inch, and Millhoff Col.3 lines 38-44 discloses the manganese coating 15 has a thickness of 90 millionths of an inch. Therefore, from sectional area calculation, the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.028% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire when the copper alloy layer thickness is 2.5 millionths of an inch, and the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.563% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire when the copper alloy layer thickness is 50 millionths of an inch. Accordingly, the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.028% to about 0.563% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire, which is inside of the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 11, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, Millhoff also discloses:
A weld deposit produced by the welding wire of claim 1 (Millhoff Col.3 lines 50-55 discloses the welding wire of Millhoff is used in arc welding. Therefore, a weld deposit produced by the welding wire.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millhoff (U.S. Patent No. 3,438,755 A, newly cited) in view of Debondt et al. (WO 2015169572 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached), and further in view of Akada et al. (WO 2021001928 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached).
Examiner’s Note: It is noted that the WO 2021001928 A1 and the U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0328210 A1 are equivalent. Therefore, the U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0328210 A1 will be used as a translation version of the WO 2021001928 A1 for convenient purposes.
Regarding claim 6, Millhoff in view of Debondt teaches the welding wire set forth in claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the high alloy steel core comprises an austenitic stainless steel.
Akada teaches a welding wire having a stainless steel core wire with copper alloy coating (Akada Abstract):
wherein the high alloy steel core comprises an austenitic stainless steel (Akada Par.0029 teaches: “In the above-described copper-coated steel wire, the steel constituting the core wire may be an austenitic stainless steel. The use of an austenitic stainless steel reduces the corrosion of the core wire.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Millhoff in view of Debondt, by adding the teachings of the high alloy steel core comprising austenitic stainless steel, as taught by Akada, in order to reduce the corrosion of the core wire, as recognized by Akada [Akada, Par.0029].
Claims 12-13, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikai et al. (WO 2021199998 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached) in view of Debondt et al. (WO 2015169572 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached), and further in view of Millhoff (U.S. Patent No. 3,438,755 A, newly cited).
Examiner’s Note: It is noted that the WO 2021199998 A1 and the U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0121467 A1 are equivalent. Therefore, the U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0121467 A1 will be used as a translation version of the WO 2021199998 A1 for convenient purposes.
Regarding claim 12, Ikai discloses a welding method (Ikai Par.0067 discloses gas shielded arc welding method) comprising:
applying an electrical current (see welding current in Table 1 on page 5 of Ikai) to convert a welding wire (“arc welding solid wire”, Ikai Par.0017) to a molten state to produce a molten weld material (Ikai Par.0067 discloses gas shielded arc welding, Ikai Par.0067 also discloses using the welding wire to perform gas shielded arc welding and produce weld beads on a steel plate; additionally, Ikai Tables 1-2 on page 5 also show welding conditions with welding current value for gas shielded arc welding using the welding wire; furthermore, Ikai Par.0038 discloses that the welding wire stably melted during arc welding. Therefore, Ikai discloses applying an electrical current to convert a welding wire to a molten state to produce a molten weld material), the welding wire (“arc welding solid wire”, Ikai Par.0017) comprising:
a high alloy steel core comprising iron and one or more alloying elements (Ikai Par.0017 discloses: “An arc welding solid wire according to the present invention is an arc welding solid wire including a steel material and a copper plating layer formed on a surface of the steel material”, and Ikai Par.0062 discloses: “Composition of the steel material that is a core material of the arc welding solid wire according to the present embodiment is not particularly limited, and for example, with respect to the total mass of the wire, contains C: 0.02 mass% to 0.08 mass%, Si: 0.01 mass% to 1.00 mass%, Mn: 0.30 mass% to 2.20 mass%, Ti: 0.001 mass% to 0.30 mass%, Cu: 0.05 mass% to 0.30 mass%, P: 0.025 mass% or less (including 0 mass%), and S: 0.025 mass% or less (including 0 mass%), and a remainder contains Fe and an unavoidable impurity.”),
a copper layer directly coating the high alloy steel core (Ikai Par.0017 discloses: “An arc welding solid wire according to the present invention is an arc welding solid wire including a steel material and a copper plating layer formed on a surface of the steel material”); and
depositing the molten weld material onto a workpiece (Ikai Par.0067 discloses gas shielded arc welding method, and Ikai Par.0067 also discloses using the welding wire to perform gas shielded arc welding and produce weld beads on a steel plate, specifically, Ikai Par.0067 also discloses: “A plate-shaped steel sheet with a length and width of 650 mm and a thickness of 25 mm is arranged horizontally by automatic welding using a robot, a gas shielded arc welding wire manufactured by the above method was used, and the welding (bead on plate) was continuously performed on a flat plate under welding conditions shown in Table 1 or Table 2.”; furthermore, Ikai Par.0038 discloses that the welding wire stably melted during arc welding. Therefore, Ikai discloses depositing the molten weld material onto the steel plate.).
Ikai does not explicitly disclose:
one or more alloying elements in an amount greater than about 10.5 percent by weight of the high alloy steel core, selected from aluminum, bismuth, chromium, molybdenum, chromium/molybdenum alloy, cobalt, copper, manganese, nickel, silicon, titanium, tungsten, vanadium, or a combination thereof; and
a copper alloy layer directly coating the high alloy steel core, the copper alloy layer having a copper content of up to about 95 weight percent (wt%) and a thickness greater than about 1 µm
Debondt teaches a metal wire (steel wire 12, Debondt Fig.1) (Debondt Abstract teaches metal wires having a ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14 cladded with a copper alloy coating 16) comprising:
a high alloy steel core (ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14, Debondt Fig.1) comprising iron and one or more alloying elements (Debondt teaches the high alloy steel core comprising iron and one or more alloying elements because Debondt Par.0022 teaches: “In a preferred embodiment, the core wire is a ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel wire. According to the present invention, the stainless steel core wire has ferrite content in the range of 10 to 90% by volume, and preferably has ferrite content in the range of 40-70% by volume. The stainless steel can be duplex stainless steel having a mixed microstructure of austenite and ferrite. Preferably, the ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel wire has a ferrite content of about 50% by volume. Duplex stainless steels are characterized by high chromium (19-35% by weight) and molybdenum (up to 5% by weight) and lower nickel contents than austenitic stainless steels.”), in an amount greater than about 10.5 percent by weight of the high alloy steel core (ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14, Debondt Fig.1), selected from aluminum, bismuth, chromium, molybdenum, chromium/molybdenum alloy, cobalt, copper, manganese, nickel, silicon, titanium, tungsten, vanadium, or a combination thereof (It is noted that the limitation “selected from aluminum, bismuth, chromium, molybdenum, chromium/molybdenum alloy, cobalt, copper, manganese, nickel, silicon, titanium, tungsten, vanadium, or a combination thereof” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Debondt Par.0022 teaches 19-35% by weight of chromium, which is greater than 10.5% by weight as required by the claim); and
a copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 16, Debondt Fig.1) directly coating the high alloy steel core (ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel core 14, Debondt Fig.1), the copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 16, Debondt Fig.1) having a copper content of up to about 95 weight percent (wt%) (It is noted that “up to about 95 weight percent (wt%)” means the copper amount can go as high as 95%, meaning it is less than or equal to 95% (up to a maximum around 95%). In this case, Debondt Par.0029 teaches: “copper nickel alloy comprises at least 80 per cent by weight copper and between 5 per cent by weight and 15 per cent by weight nickel. A composition of 90 wt% Cu and 10 wt% Ni has proven to be an acceptable composition.”; therefore, Debondt teaches the copper content as required by the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Ikai steel core composition & copper coating with the Debondt steel core composition & copper alloy coating, because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing steel core wire with copper coating for welding applications. MPEP 2143 I (B). Furthermore, by forming the steel core from the ferritic-austenitic duplex stainless steel and forming the coating as copper alloy coating, the modification improves the mechanical strength of the core while maintaining copper-based coating, increase resistance to corrosion and wear, reduce degradation at the interface between the core and the coating, and thereby improve the durability and service life of the coated wire because Debondt teaches that duplex stainless steel provides higher strength than conventional stainless steel while the copper alloy coating provides corrosion resistance and that the interface roughness between the duplex stainless steel core and the copper alloy coating promotes strong adhesion between the core and the coating.
Ikai in view of Debondt does not explicitly teach:
the copper alloy layer having a thickness greater than about 1 µm
Millhoff discloses a welding wire (weld wire 10, Millhoff Fig.1) comprising a high alloy steel core (steel core 12, Millhoff Fig.1) (Millhoff Col.2 line 64 discloses: “the steel wire 12”) comprising iron and one or more alloying elements (Millhoff discloses the steel core 12 comprising iron and one or more alloying elements as indicated by Millhoff Col.2 lines 38-46); and a copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 14, Millhoff Fig.1) (Millhoff Col.2 lines 65-67 discloses: “coating 14 of copper or a copper alloy composed of 98% copper and 2% tin”) directly coating the high alloy steel core (steel core 12, Millhoff Fig.1) (Millhoff Col.2 lines 55-56 discloses: “The steel matrix or core 12 according to the present invention is first coated with a metal coating 14”),
the copper alloy layer (copper alloy coating 14, Millhoff Fig.1) having a thickness greater than about 1 µm (Millhoff Col.2 lines 67-70 teaches: “The coating 14 when composed of copper may be in the range of 2.5 millionths to 50 millionths of an inch or higher to serve as a satisfactory substrate for the mangese coating 15.”. It is noted that 2.5 millionths of an inch equals 0.0635 µm and 50 millionths of an inch equals 1.27 µm. Therefore, Millhoff discloses the coating 14 having a thickness in the range of 0.0635 µm to 1.27 µm or higher. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). In this case, the claimed range of greater than about 1 µm overlaps with the prior art Millhoff range of 0.0635 µm to 1.27 µm or higher and therefore prior art is an evidence of prima facie obviousness.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ikai in view of Debondt, by adding the teachings of the copper alloy layer having a thickness greater than about 1 µm, as taught by Millhoff, in order to provide a copper alloy coating having sufficient thickness to serve as a durable substrate that resists cracking and peeling of the coating during welding, thereby maintaining the integrity of the coating and improving welding quality.
Regarding claim 13, Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff teaches the method set forth in claim 12, Ikai also discloses:
wherein the welding method comprises at least one of submerged-arc welding (SAW), gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW), gas metal arc welding (GMAW), or a combination thereof (It is noted that the limitation “at least one of submerged-arc welding (SAW), gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW), gas metal arc welding (GMAW), or a combination thereof” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Ikai discloses gas metal arc welding because Ikai Par.0067 discloses using metal welding wire to perform gas shielded arc welding and produce weld beads on a steel plate).
Regarding claim 15, Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff teaches the method set forth in claim 12, and also teaches:
wherein a remaining balance of the copper alloy layer comprises at least one metal selected from cadmium, chromium, nickel, tin, zinc, or a combination thereof (It is noted that the limitation “at least one metal selected from cadmium, chromium, nickel, tin, zinc, or a combination thereof” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Debondt teaches the remaining balance of the copper alloy layer comprises nickel because Debondt Par.0029 teaches: “copper nickel alloy comprises at least 80 per cent by weight copper and between 5 per cent by weight and 15 per cent by weight nickel. A composition of 90 wt% Cu and 10 wt% Ni has proven to be an acceptable composition.”, as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 12 above.).
Regarding claim 16, Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff teaches the method set forth in claim 12, Ikai does not explicitly disclose diameter of the steel core wire.
Millhoff teaches:
wherein the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.005% to about 5% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire (Millhoff Col.2 lines 64-65 discloses the steel wire 12 has a diameter of 0.035 inch, Millhoff Col.2 lines 67-69 discloses the copper alloy coating 14 has a thickness in the range of 2.5 millionths to 50 millionths of an inch. Therefore, in combination Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff, from sectional area calculation, the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.0286% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire when the copper alloy layer thickness is 2.5 millionths of an inch, and the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.5690% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire when the copper alloy layer thickness is 50 millionths of an inch. Accordingly, the copper alloy layer comprises about 0.0286% to about 0.5690% of a cross-sectional area of the welding wire, which is inside of the claimed range.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Ikai steel core wire diameter with the Millhoff steel core wire diameter, because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing steel core wire with copper alloy coating for welding applications. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Regarding claim 17, Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff teaches the method set forth in claim 12, and also teaches:
wherein the high alloy steel core comprises chromium at a percent by weight (wt%) of the high alloy steel core ranging from 19 wt% to 35 wt% instead of from about 12 wt% to about 18 wt% (Debondt Par.0022 teaches 19-35% by weight of chromium, as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 12 above).
Regarding the limitation about the high alloy steel core comprises chromium at a percent by weight (wt%) of the high alloy steel core ranging from about 12 wt% to about 18 wt%, it is noted that the limitation “about 18 wt%” means the percent by weight of chromium can be more than 18 wt%, the court has held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05.I. In this case, the prior art 19% is close enough to the claimed range of about 18 wt% because the limitation “about 18 wt%” means the percent by weight of chromium can be more than 18 wt%.
Regarding claim 18, Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff teaches the method set forth in claim 12, Ikai does not explicitly disclose diameter of the steel core wire.
Millhoff teaches:
wherein the copper alloy layer is present at a percent by weight (wt%) of the welding wire ranging from about 0.005 wt% to about 3 wt% (Millhoff Col.2 lines 64-65 discloses the steel wire 12 has a diameter of 0.035 inch, Millhoff Col.2 lines 67-69 discloses the copper alloy coating 14 has a thickness in the range of 2.5 millionths to 50 millionths of an inch. Thus, in combination, Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff, the copper alloy layer wt% can be estimated using the following equation:
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
w
t
%
=
A
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
ρ
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
A
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
ρ
C
u
a
l
l
o
y
+
A
s
t
e
e
l
c
o
r
e
ρ
s
t
e
e
l
c
o
r
e
x 100
wherein A is area and ρ is density. It is noted that standard density of steel is approximately 7.85 g/cm³ [obtained from https://hypertextbook.com/facts/2004/KarenSutherland.shtml], the density of a copper-nickel alloy with 90% copper and 10% nickel is approximately 8.94 g/cm³ [obtained from https://www.shalco.com/sub-products/copper-nickel-90-10]. Therefore, from calculation using above equation, when the copper alloy layer thickness is 2.5 millionths of an inch, the copper alloy wt% is 0.0325; when the copper alloy layer thickness is 50 millionths of an inch, the copper alloy wt% is 0.6475. Accordingly, the copper alloy layer is present at a percent by weight (wt%) of the welding wire ranging from about 0.0325 wt% to about 0.6475 wt%, which is inside of the claimed range.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Ikai steel core wire diameter with the Millhoff steel core wire diameter, because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing steel core wire with copper alloy coating for welding applications. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikai et al. (WO 2021199998 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached) in view of Debondt et al. (WO 2015169572 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached), Millhoff (U.S. Patent No. 3,438,755 A, newly cited), and further in view of Akada et al. (WO 2021001928 A1, newly cited, Reference is attached).
Examiner’s Note: It is noted that the WO 2021001928 A1 and the U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0328210 A1 are equivalent. Therefore, the U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0328210 A1 will be used as a translation version of the WO 2021001928 A1 for convenient purposes.
Regarding claim 19, Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff teaches the method set forth in claim 12, but does not teach:
wherein the high alloy steel core comprises an austenitic stainless steel.
Akada teaches a welding wire having a stainless steel core wire with copper alloy coating (Akada Abstract):
wherein the high alloy steel core comprises an austenitic stainless steel (Akada Par.0029 teaches: “In the above-described copper-coated steel wire, the steel constituting the core wire may be an austenitic stainless steel. The use of an austenitic stainless steel reduces the corrosion of the core wire.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ikai in view of Debondt and Millhoff, by adding the teachings of the high alloy steel core comprising austenitic stainless steel, as taught by Akada, in order to reduce the corrosion of the core wire, as recognized by Akada [Akada, Par.0029].
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Amata et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0099140 A1) discloses a welding wire for arc welding, wherein the welding wire has a sheath and a core, and the tubular welding wire includes an organic stabilizer component, a rare earth component, and a corrosion resistant component comprising one or more of: nickel, chromium, and copper.
Gerth et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0092674 A1) discloses a welding wire electrode including a metal sheath including a core and a core material contained within the core of the metal sheath. The core material includes particles of at least one metal alloying compound, wherein each of the particles has an outer surface, and wherein at least one layer of a metallic coating is deposited onto the outer surface of the particles to form a metallic coated particle.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 08/06/2026