DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 06/08/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimi et al. (“Spatiotemporal Graph Neural Network for Performance Prediction of Photovoltaic Power Systems”) (hereafter referred to as Karimi) in view of Jin et al. (“Spatio-Temporal Dual Graph Neural Networks for Travel Time Estimation”) (hereafter referred to as Jin) in further view of Yang et al. (“NENN: Incorporate Node and Edge Features in Graph Neural Networks”) (hereafter referred to as Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Karimi teaches
A computing system, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor to, during a run-time phase (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 4th paragraph, “The TensorFlow2 (Abadi et al. 2016) library was used for building the GNN model and the model was trained and tested on Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz, 48 GB memory, 12 CPU cores, and 12 GB Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 GPU card” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase.),
receive run-time input data that includes time series data indicating a state of a graph network at each of a series of time steps, the graph network including a plurality of nodes, and at least one edge connecting pairs of the nodes (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input” where “Figure 1: The distribution of PV systems across the United States and the graph model used to represent the relationships between the PV systems. (a) All PV systems in our dataset are shown by red circles on the map. (b,c) Graph showing the proximity of PV systems in which edges are included between PV systems that are proximate according to a low/moderate proximity threshold (ϵ = 0, ϵ = 0.5)” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase that uses similar input data to the training described above.),
and input the run-time input data into a trained graph neural network to thereby cause the graph neural network to output a predicted state of the graph network at one or more future time steps (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input. The output of the model is of the form
R
M
×
N
where M is the number of future time points for which model will forecast” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase that uses similar input data to the training described above.),
wherein the graph neural network includes; a node spatial layer configured to receive, as input, the state of the graph network, and to generate, for each node, an aggregate representation of a node neighborhood of the node by performing spatial aggregation over the node neighborhood comprising one or more nodes connected to the node by at least one edge of the graph network (Karimi, page 3, 1st column, 3rd paragraph, “The convolutional layers in the GNN adopt a neighborhood aggregation architecture to learn a discriminative vector representation h(v) for each node v (called “node embedding”) across multiple transformation layers. The new layer hi(v) takes a node embedding hi-1(v) (h0(v) is X(v) from input feature matrix) and updates its embedding hi(v) by aggregating the embeddings from its neighbors” where “the aim is to find the optimal neighborhood of a PV system or, in other words, find a value of
ϵ
c
such that the GNN model gives the highest forecasting accuracy. For a pair of PV systems ‘x’ and ‘y’ represented by two nodes on a graph, we calculate the distance between them”. Examiner notes that hi(v) is the node spatial layer. Examiner further notes that the spatial aggregation is aggregating the embeddings.)
Karimi does not teach
an edge spatial layer configured to receive, as input for each edge of the at least one edge, a representation of embedded edge features, from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge, and from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge,
and wherein the edge spatial layer is configured to output an aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood of the edge,
and a fully connected layer configured to receive output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer via a temporal gate,
and to combine the output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer with an input temporal state of the network to predict the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps.
the node spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the first node and the aggregate representation of the first node neighborhood;
or the edge spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the edge and the aggregate representation of a second edge connecting a third and a fourth node.
However, Jin discloses
an edge spatial layer configured to receive, as input for each edge of the at least one edge, a representation of embedded edge features, from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge, and from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” and Jin, page 4, Fig.2 and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi is the aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge and Pj is the aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge. Examiner further notes that the edge spatial layer is the Edge-wise GCN and the temporal convolution from Figure 3 in the highlighted box. Examiner also further notes that the node spatial layer is Node-wise GCN and the temporal convolution from Figure 3 in the highlighted circle. Examiner additionally notes that the DGCN sends the representations to the edge-wise GCN in Figure 2 which is part of the edge spatial layer. Examiner further notes that the link representations in Figure 3 is the representation of embedded edge features for each edge.);
and a fully connected layer configured to receive output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer via a temporal gate (Jin, page 4, Figure 2,
Examiner notes that DGCN is the fully connected layer and the TCN is the temporal gate.),
and to combine the output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer with an input temporal state of the network to predict the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps (Jin, page 4, Figure 2, and Jin page 3, Figure 1,
Examiner notes that the spatio-temporal dual graph learning layer in Figures 1 and 2 combines the output data. Examiner further notes that the historical trajectories in Figure 1 is the input temporal state of the network and the travel time of each link/intersection and travel time of entire path is the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps.).
the node spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function applied during the spatial aggregation over the node neighborhood to generate the aggregate representation of the node neighborhood (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” where “to capture the spatial dependencies, we select the simple graph convolution approach to aggregate information of 1-hop neighbors” (Jin, page 5, 1st column, last paragraph) and where “we adopt a dual directional graph convolution to make full of directed graphs which is defined as
Then, we use temporal convolution network to capture temporal dependency of both intersections and links respectively as shown in Fig. 3. We adopt gated mechanism into the temporal convolution network which is proven an effective approach to control the reserved information [40]. The temporal convolution operation is formulated as follows:
….Empirically, Tanh function can be selected as σ1(•) and Sigmoid function is usually selected as σ2(•) to control the ratio of information passed” (Jin, page 5, 2nd column, 1st-2nd paragraph) and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi is the aggregate representation. Additionally, Examiner notes that the sigmoid function which is in the temporal convolution operates on the outputs of node-wise GCN and intersection representations which thus is the sigmoid function being applied during the spatial aggregation which occurs in the highlighted box. Examiner further notes that the node spatial layer is the node-wise GCN and the temporal convolution highlighted in a box in Figure 3.)
or the edge spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function applied during the spatial aggregation over the edge neighborhood to generate the aggregate representation of the edge neighborhood (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” where “to capture the spatial dependencies, we select the simple graph convolution approach to aggregate information of 1-hop neighbors” (Jin, page 5, 1st column, last paragraph) and where “we adopt a dual directional graph convolution to make full of directed graphs which is defined as
Then, we use temporal convolution network to capture temporal dependency of both intersections and links respectively as shown in Fig. 3. We adopt gated mechanism into the temporal convolution network which is proven an effective approach to control the reserved information [40]. The temporal convolution operation is formulated as follows:
….Empirically, Tanh function can be selected as σ1(•) and Sigmoid function is usually selected as σ2(•) to control the ratio of information passed” (Jin, page 5, 2nd column, 1st-2nd paragraph) and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi, (i→j) is the aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood. Additionally, Examiner notes that the sigmoid function which is in the temporal convolution operates on the outputs of edge-wise GCN and link representations which thus is the sigmoid function being applied during the spatial aggregation which occurs in the highlighted box. Examiner further notes that the edge spatial layer is the edge-wise GCN and the temporal convolution highlighted in a circle in Figure 3)
Karimi and Jin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they both describe a spatio-temporal graph neural network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi to include an edge spatial layer to perform a prediction like in Jin. Doing so is advantageous because they “fully exploit multi-level spatio-temporal information to improve the quality of the final representations from spatio-temporal learning module” (Jin, page 2, 1st column, point (2)).
Karimi and Jin do not teach, but Yang does teach
wherein the edge spatial layer is configured to generate, for each edge, an aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood of the edge by performing spatial aggregation over the edge neighborhood, the edge neighborhood comprising one or more edges connected to the edge via shared nodes (Yang, page 8, Algorithm 1)
Examiner notes that lines 8-9 of Algorithm 1 show generating a spatial aggregation of an edge neighborhood.)
Karimi, Jin, and Yang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they incorporate node and edge features into a graph neural network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi in view of Jin to include an edge spatial layer like in Yang. Doing so is advantageous because they “incorporate[] node and features to enhance the node and edge embeddings across neural network layer” (Yang, page 13, Conclusion).
Regarding claim 2, Karimi in view of Jin and Yang teaches the computing system of claim 1. Karimi further teaches
wherein the instructions are further executable to, during a training phase: receive training data that includes time series data indicating a state of the graph network at each of a series of historical time steps (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input” where “Figure 1: The distribution of PV systems across the United States and the graph model used to represent the relationships between the PV systems. (a) All PV systems in our dataset are shown by red circles on the map. (b,c) Graph showing the proximity of PV systems in which edges are included between PV systems that are proximate according to a low/moderate proximity threshold (ϵ = 0, ϵ = 0.5)”);
and train the graph neural network using the training data to output the predicted state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input. The output of the model is of the form
R
M
×
N
where M is the number of future time points for which model will forecast.”).
Regarding claim 3, Karimi in view of Jin and Yang teaches the computing system of claim 1. Karimi further teaches
wherein the graph network comprises an energy distribution graph network, wherein the nodes represent a plurality of energy generation and/or energy consumption subsystems, and wherein the at least one edge represents an energy distribution linkage between the respective subsystems of each node (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input” where “Figure 1: The distribution of PV systems across the United States and the graph model used to represent the relationships between the PV systems. (a) All PV systems in our dataset are shown by red circles on the map. (b,c) Graph showing the proximity of PV systems in which edges are included between PV systems that are proximate according to a low/moderate proximity threshold (ϵ = 0, ϵ = 0.5).” Examiner notes that the nodes represent the PV systems which generate energy and the edges represent the proximity to another PV system.)
Regarding claim 6, Karimi in view of Jin and Yang teaches the computing system of claim 1. Karimi does not teach, but Jin does teach
wherein each state of the graph network includes a plurality of node features and a plurality of edge features, which are variable between each state (Jin, page 2, “We build node-wise and edge-wise graphs to respectively characterize the features of both intersections and road segments and present a spatio-temporal dual graph learning layer to capture the independence and interactive latent correlations from them. Further, we propose a novel multi-scale architecture to fully exploit multi-scale architecture to fully exploit multi-level spatio-temporal information to improve the quality of the final representations from spatio-temporal learning module” where “cn(l) and ce(l) are respectively the hidden state of node-wise graph and edge-wise graph after we processed the information from (l-1)-th layer, and its initial value cn(-1) = 0 and ce(1) = 0.” Examiner notes that the hidden states are the states of the graph network and are dependent on the variable features of intersections, or nodes, and road segments, or edges.).
Karimi and Jin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they both describe a spatio-temporal graph neural network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi to include variable states of the node features and edge features. Doing so is advantageous because they “respectively characterize the features of both intersections and road segments and present a spatio-temporal graph learning layer to capture the independence and interactive latent correlations from them” (Jin, page 2, 1st column, point (2)).
Regarding claim 7, Karimi in view of Jin and Yang teaches the computing system of claim 1. Karimi further teaches
wherein each state of the graph network further comprises adjacency information (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input” where “Figure 1: The distribution of PV systems across the United States and the graph model used to represent the relationships between the PV systems. (a) All PV systems in our dataset are shown by red circles on the map. (b,c) Graph showing the proximity of PV systems in which edges are included between PV systems that are proximate according to a low/moderate proximity threshold (ϵ = 0, ϵ = 0.5).” Examiner notes that the graph showing proximity of PV systems, the graph network is showing adjacency information.).
Regarding claim 11, Karimi teaches
At a computing device, a method for predicting a future state of a graph neural network, the method comprising (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input. The output of the model is of the form
R
M
×
N
where M is the number of future time points for which model will forecast”.):
During a run-time phase, receiving run-time input data that includes time series data indicating a state of a graph network at each of a series of time steps, the graph network including a plurality of nodes, and at least one edge connecting pairs of the nodes (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input” where “Figure 1: The distribution of PV systems across the United States and the graph model used to represent the relationships between the PV systems. (a) All PV systems in our dataset are shown by red circles on the map. (b,c) Graph showing the proximity of PV systems in which edges are included between PV systems that are proximate according to a low/moderate proximity threshold (ϵ = 0, ϵ = 0.5)” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase that uses similar input data to the training described above.),
and inputting the run-time input data into a trained graph neural network to thereby cause the graph neural network to output a predicted state of the graph network at one or more future time steps (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input. The output of the model is of the form
R
M
×
N
where M is the number of future time points for which model will forecast” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase that uses similar input data to the training described above.),
wherein the graph neural network includes; a node spatial layer configured to receive, as input, the state of the graph network, and to generate, for each node, an aggregate representation of a node neighborhood of the node by performing spatial aggregation over the node neighborhood comprising one or more nodes connected to the node by at least one edge of the graph network (Karimi, page 3, 1st column, 3rd paragraph, “The convolutional layers in the GNN adopt a neighborhood aggregation architecture to learn a discriminative vector representation h(v) for each node v (called “node embedding”) across multiple transformation layers. The new layer hi(v) takes a node embedding hi-1(v) (h0(v) is X(v) from input feature matrix) and updates its embedding hi(v) by aggregating the embeddings from its neighbors” where “the aim is to find the optimal neighborhood of a PV system or, in other words, find a value of
ϵ
c
such that the GNN model gives the highest forecasting accuracy. For a pair of PV systems ‘x’ and ‘y’ represented by two nodes on a graph, we calculate the distance between them”. Examiner notes that hi(v) is the node spatial layer. Examiner further notes that the spatial aggregation is aggregating the embeddings.)
Karimi does not teach
an edge spatial layer configured to receive, as input for each edge of the at least one edge, a representation of embedded edge features, from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge, and from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge,
and wherein the edge spatial layer is configured to output an aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood of the edge;
and a fully connected layer configured to receive output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer via a temporal gate,
and to combine the output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer with an input temporal state of the network to predict the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps.
the node spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the first node and the aggregate representation of the first node neighborhood;
or the edge spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the edge and the aggregate representation of a second edge connecting a third and a fourth node.
Jin, however, discloses
an edge spatial layer configured to receive, as input for each edge of the at least one edge, a representation of embedded edge features, from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge, and from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” and Jin, page 4, Fig.2 and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi is the aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge and Pj is the aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge. Examiner further notes that the edge spatial layer is the Edge-wise GCN and the temporal convolution from Figure 3 in the highlighted box. Examiner also further notes that the node spatial layer is Node-wise GCN and the temporal convolution from Figure 3 in the highlighted circle. Examiner additionally notes that the DGCN sends the representations to the edge-wise GCN in Figure 2 which is part of the edge spatial layer. Examiner further notes that the link representations in Figure 3 is the representation of embedded edge features for each edge.);
and a fully connected layer configured to receive output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer via a temporal gate (Jin, page 4, Figure 2,
Examiner notes that DGCN is the fully connected layer and the TCN is the temporal gate.),
and to combine the output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer with an input temporal state of the network to predict the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps (Jin, page 4, Figure 2, and Jin page 3, Figure 1,
Examiner notes that the spatio-temporal dual graph learning layer in Figures 1 and 2 combines the output data. Examiner further notes that the historical trajectories in Figure 1 is the input temporal state of the network and the travel time of each link/intersection and travel time of entire path is the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps.).
the node spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function applied during the spatial aggregation over the node neighborhood to generate the aggregate representation of the node neighborhood (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” where “to capture the spatial dependencies, we select the simple graph convolution approach to aggregate information of 1-hop neighbors” (Jin, page 5, 1st column, last paragraph) and where “we adopt a dual directional graph convolution to make full of directed graphs which is defined as
Then, we use temporal convolution network to capture temporal dependency of both intersections and links respectively as shown in Fig. 3. We adopt gated mechanism into the temporal convolution network which is proven an effective approach to control the reserved information [40]. The temporal convolution operation is formulated as follows:
….Empirically, Tanh function can be selected as σ1(•) and Sigmoid function is usually selected as σ2(•) to control the ratio of information passed” (Jin, page 5, 2nd column, 1st-2nd paragraph) and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi is the aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node. Additionally, Examiner notes that the sigmoid function which is in the temporal convolution operates on the outputs of node-wise GCN and intersection representations which thus is the sigmoid function being applied during the spatial aggregation which occurs in the highlighted box. Examiner further notes that the node spatial layer is the node-wise GCN and the temporal convolution highlighted in a box in Figure 3.)
or the edge spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function applied during the spatial aggregation over the edge neighborhood to generate the aggregate representation of the edge neighborhood (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” where “to capture the spatial dependencies, we select the simple graph convolution approach to aggregate information of 1-hop neighbors” (Jin, page 5, 1st column, last paragraph) and where “we adopt a dual directional graph convolution to make full of directed graphs which is defined as
Then, we use temporal convolution network to capture temporal dependency of both intersections and links respectively as shown in Fig. 3. We adopt gated mechanism into the temporal convolution network which is proven an effective approach to control the reserved information [40]. The temporal convolution operation is formulated as follows:
….Empirically, Tanh function can be selected as σ1(•) and Sigmoid function is usually selected as σ2(•) to control the ratio of information passed” (Jin, page 5, 2nd column, 1st-2nd paragraph) and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi, (i→j) is the aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood. Additionally, Examiner notes that the sigmoid function which is in the temporal convolution operates on the outputs of edge-wise GCN and link representations which thus is the sigmoid function being applied during the spatial aggregation which occurs in the highlighted box. Examiner further notes that the edge spatial layer is the edge-wise GCN and the temporal convolution highlighted in a circle in Figure 3)
Karimi and Jin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they both describe a spatio-temporal graph neural network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi to include an edge spatial layer to perform a prediction like in Jin. Doing so is advantageous because they “fully exploit multi-level spatio-temporal information to improve the quality of the final representations from spatio-temporal learning module” (Jin, page 2, 1st column, point (2)).
Karimi and Jin do not teach, but Yang does teach
wherein the edge spatial layer is configured to generate, for each edge, an aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood of the edge by performing spatial aggregation over the edge neighborhood, the edge neighborhood comprising one or more edges connected to the edge via shared nodes (Yang, page 8, Algorithm 1)
Examiner notes that lines 8-9 of Algorithm 1 show generating a spatial aggregation of an edge neighborhood.)
Karimi, Jin, and Yang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they incorporate node and edge features into a graph neural network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi in view of Jin to include an edge spatial layer like in Yang. Doing so is advantageous because they “incorporate[] node and features to enhance the node and edge embeddings across neural network layer” (Yang, page 13, Conclusion).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under the same analysis.
Claim(s) 4-5, 14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimi in view of Jin in further view of Yang, Liu et al. (“Graph Neural Networks for Learning Real-Time Prices in Electricity Market”) (hereafter referred to as Liu), and Mehta et al. (“Graph Theory Based Online Optimal Power Flow Control of Power Grid With Distributed Flexible AC Transmission Systems (D-FACTS) Devices”) (hereafter referred to as Mehta).
Regarding claim 4, Karimi in view of Jin and Yang teach the computing system of claim 3. Karimi in view of Jin and Yang do not teach
for each node, an energy price and a rate of energy generation or energy consumption at that node;
and for each edge, an energy transmission rate and an energy transmission capacity
Liu, however, does teach
for each node, an energy price and a rate of energy generation or energy consumption at that node; (Liu, page 2, first column, first paragraph “Consider a power grid modeled by an undirected graph G = (V; E). The node set V consists of N nodes, each connected to loads or generators, while the edge set E
∈
V x V includes transmission lines or transformers. Let p, q
∈
R
N
collect the nodal active and reactive power injections, respectively; and similarly for voltage v
∈
R
N
” and “LMPs [locational marginal prices]are market signals used by each generator or demand to determine the flexible power injection in order to minimize its own cost” (Liu, page 2, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the LMP is the energy price and the flexible power injection is the rate of energy generation.)
Karimi, Jin, Yang, and Liu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they predict using graph neural networks. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi in view of Jin and Yang to have each node represent an energy price and a rate of energy generation. Doing so is advantageous because “This physics-aware approach not only capitalizes on the locality property of LMPs, but also motivates meaningful regularization on the feasibility of OPF line limits” (Liu, page 1, 2nd column, last paragraph).
Karimi, Jin, Yang, and Liu do not teach, but Mehta does teach
and for each edge, an energy transmission rate and an energy transmission capacity (Mehta, page 2, 1st column, 1st paragraph, “We define a flow to be a function on the edges of the graph that satisfies the capacity constraint 0 ≤ f(u,v) ≤ c(u,v).”).
Karimi, Jin, Yang, Liu, and Mehta are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they predict using graph networks. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi in view of Jin, Yang, and Liu to have each edge represent an energy transmission rate. Doing so is advantageous because “the architecture optimizes power flow losses and maintains the voltage margin as well as the optimal line capacity” (Mehta, page 1, 2nd column, 2nd to last paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Karimi in view of Jin, Yang, Liu, and Mehta teach the computing system of claim 4. Karimi in view of Jin, Yang, Liu, and Mehta further teach
wherein the energy transmission rate is constrained by the energy transmission capacity (Mehta, page 2, 1st column, 1st paragraph, “We define a flow to be a function on the edges of the graph that satisfies the capacity constraint 0 ≤ f(u,v) ≤ c(u,v).”).
Karimi, Jin, Yang, Liu, and Mehta are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they predict using graph networks. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi in view of Jin, Yang, and Liu to have each edge represent an energy transmission rate constrained by the energy transmission capacity. Doing so is advantageous because “the architecture optimizes power flow losses and maintains the voltage margin as well as the optimal line capacity” (Mehta, page 1, 2nd column, 2nd to last paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under the same analysis.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimi in view of Jin in further view of Yang and Zhao et al. (“T-GCN: A Temporal Graph Convolutional Network for Traffic Prediction”) (hereafter referred to as Zhao).
Regarding claim 8, Karimi, Jin, and Yang teach the computing system of claim 1. Karimi, Jin, and Yang do not teach, but Zhao does teach
wherein the temporal gate comprises a gated recurrent unit (GRU) or a long short-term memory (LSTM) (Zhao, page 4, Overview “In this section, we describe how to use the T-GCN model to realize the traffic forecasting task based on the urban roads. Specifically, the T-GCN model consists of two parts: the graph convolutional network and the gated recurrent unit. As shown in Figure 3, we first use the historical n time series data as input and the graph convolution network for obtaining the spatial features. Second, the obtained time series with spatial features are input into the gated recurrent unit model and the dynamic change is obtained by information transmission between the units, to capture temporal features. Finally we get results through the fully connected layer” and Zhao, page 4, Figure 3,
. Examiner notes that the temporal feature layer in Figure 3 is the temporal gate comprising a GRU.
Karimi, Jin, Yang and Zhao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they use temporal gates in graph neural networks. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi, Jin, and Yang to use a GRU in the temporal gate. Doing so is advantageous because “the graph convolutional network is used to capture the topological structure of the road network for modeling spatial dependence. The gated recurrent unit is used to capture the dynamic change of traffic data on the roads for temporal dependence. The T-GCN model can also be applied to other spatio-temporal forecasting tasks” (Zhao, page 2, 1st column, point (1)).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under the same analysis.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimi in view of Liu, Jin, and Yang.
Regarding claim 19, Karimi teaches
A computing system, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor to, during a run-time phase (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 4th paragraph, “The TensorFlow2 (Abadi et al. 2016) library was used for building the GNN model and the model was trained and tested on Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz, 48 GB memory, 12 CPU cores, and 12 GB Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 GPU card” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase.),
receive run-time input data that includes time series data indicating a state of an energy distribution graph network at each of a series of time steps, the energy distribution graph network including nodes representing a plurality of energy generation and/or energy consumption subsystems, and at least one edge connecting pairs of the nodes, the edge representing an energy distribution linkage between the respective subsystems of each node (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input” where “Figure 1: The distribution of PV systems across the United States and the graph model used to represent the relationships between the PV systems. (a) All PV systems in our dataset are shown by red circles on the map. (b,c) Graph showing the proximity of PV systems in which edges are included between PV systems that are proximate according to a low/moderate proximity threshold (ϵ = 0, ϵ = 0.5)” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase that uses similar input data to the training described above. Examiner further notes that the nodes represent the PV systems which generate energy and the edges represent the proximity to another PV system.),
and input the run-time input data into a trained graph neural network to thereby cause the graph neural network to output a predicted state of the energy distribution graph network at one or more future time steps (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input. The output of the model is of the form
R
M
×
N
where M is the number of future time points for which model will forecast” where “Acquisition and processing of real-time data at regular intervals are critical for power forecasting, so the deployment of a production pipeline will need to have an integrated and automated connection with the data management and inference modules” (Karimi, page 5, 1st column, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that the deployment of the pipeline is the run-time phase that uses similar input data to the training described above.),
wherein the graph neural network includes; a node spatial layer configured to receive, as input, the state of the graph network, and to generate, for each node, an aggregate representation of a node neighborhood of the node by performing spatial aggregation over the node neighborhood comprising one or more nodes connected to the node by at least one edge of the graph network (Karimi, page 3, 1st column, 3rd paragraph, “The convolutional layers in the GNN adopt a neighborhood aggregation architecture to learn a discriminative vector representation h(v) for each node v (called “node embedding”) across multiple transformation layers. The new layer hi(v) takes a node embedding hi-1(v) (h0(v) is X(v) from input feature matrix) and updates its embedding hi(v) by aggregating the embeddings from its neighbors” where “the aim is to find the optimal neighborhood of a PV system or, in other words, find a value of
ϵ
c
such that the GNN model gives the highest forecasting accuracy. For a pair of PV systems ‘x’ and ‘y’ represented by two nodes on a graph, we calculate the distance between them”. Examiner notes that hi(v) is the node spatial layer. Examiner further notes that the spatial aggregation is aggregating the embeddings.)
Karimi does not teach
wherein the predicted state of the network at each future time step includes, for each node, an energy price and a rate of energy generation or energy consumption at that node
and for each edge, a predicted energy transmission rate at the future time
an edge spatial layer configured to receive, as input for each edge of the at least one edge, a representation of embedded edge features, from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge, and from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge,
and wherein the edge spatial layer is configured to output an aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood of the edge;
and a fully connected layer configured to receive output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer via a temporal gate,
and to combine the output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer with an input temporal state of the network to predict the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps.
the node spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the first node and the aggregate representation of the first node neighborhood;
or the edge spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the edge and the aggregate representation of a second edge connecting a third and a fourth node.
However, Liu does teach
wherein the predicted state of the network at each future time step includes, for each node, an energy price and a rate of energy generation or energy consumption at that node; (Liu, page 2, first column, first paragraph “Consider a power grid modeled by an undirected graph G = (V; E). The node set V consists of N nodes, each connected to loads or generators, while the edge set E
∈
V x V includes transmission lines or transformers. Let p, q
∈
R
N
collect the nodal active and reactive power injections, respectively; and similarly for voltage v
∈
R
N
” and “LMPs [locational marginal prices]are market signals used by each generator or demand to determine the flexible power injection in order to minimize its own cost” (Liu, page 2, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph) and where “we instead advocate to predict the actual OPF [optimal power flow] outputs for electricity market, namely the locational marginal prices (LMPs) known as the real-time market signals” Examiner notes that the LMP is the energy price and the flexible power injection is the rate of energy generation.)
and for each edge, a predicted energy transmission rate at the future time (Liu, page 2, 1st column, 1st paragraph, “Consider a power grid modeled by an undirected graph G = (V; E). The node set V consists of N nodes, each connected to loads or generators, while the edge set E
∈
V x V includes transmission lines or transformers. Let p, q
∈
R
N
collect the nodal active and reactive power injections, respectively; and similarly for voltage v
∈
R
N
” where “we advocate the following chain to generate the corresponding nodal injection and line flow solutions to the predicted LMP” (Liu, page 3, 2nd column, 5th paragraph). Examiner notes that each edge has a transmission line and the line flow on the transmission line solution that is based on the predicted LMP is the predicted energy transmission rate at the future time.).
Karimi and Liu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they predict using energy graph neural networks. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi to have each node have a predicted energy price and a rate of energy generation and each edge to have a predicted transmission rate. Doing so is advantageous because “This physics-aware approach not only capitalizes on the locality property of LMPs, but also motivates meaningful regularization on the feasibility of OPF line limits” (Liu, page 1, 2nd column, last paragraph).
Karimi in view of Liu does not teach
an edge spatial layer configured to receive, as input for each edge of the at least one edge, a representation of embedded edge features, from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge, and from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge,
and wherein the edge spatial layer is configured to output an aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood of the edge;
and a fully connected layer configured to receive output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer via a temporal gate,
and to combine the output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer with an input temporal state of the network to predict the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps.
the node spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the first node and the aggregate representation of the first node neighborhood;
or the edge spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function that operates on a weighted sum of the edge and the aggregate representation of a second edge connecting a third and a fourth node.
However, Jin discloses
an edge spatial layer configured to receive, as input for each edge of the at least one edge, a representation of embedded edge features, from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge, and from the node spatial layer, an aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” and Jin, page 4, Fig.2 and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi is the aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node connected by the edge and Pj is the aggregate representation of a second node neighborhood of a second node connected by the edge. Examiner further notes that the edge spatial layer is the Edge-wise GCN and the temporal convolution from Figure 3 in the highlighted box. Examiner also further notes that the node spatial layer is Node-wise GCN and the temporal convolution from Figure 3 in the highlighted circle. Examiner additionally notes that the DGCN sends the representations to the edge-wise GCN in Figure 2 which is part of the edge spatial layer. Examiner further notes that the link representations in Figure 3 is the representation of embedded edge features for each edge.);
and a fully connected layer configured to receive output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer via a temporal gate (Jin, page 4, Figure 2,
Examiner notes that DGCN is the fully connected layer and the TCN is the temporal gate.),
and to combine the output data from the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer with an input temporal state of the network to predict the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps (Jin, page 4, Figure 2, and Jin page 3, Figure 1,
Examiner notes that the spatio-temporal dual graph learning layer in Figures 1 and 2 combines the output data. Examiner further notes that the historical trajectories in Figure 1 is the input temporal state of the network and the travel time of each link/intersection and travel time of entire path is the state of the graph network at the one or more future time steps.).
the node spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function applied during the spatial aggregation over the node neighborhood to generate the aggregate representation of the node neighborhood (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” where “to capture the spatial dependencies, we select the simple graph convolution approach to aggregate information of 1-hop neighbors” (Jin, page 5, 1st column, last paragraph) and where “we adopt a dual directional graph convolution to make full of directed graphs which is defined as
Then, we use temporal convolution network to capture temporal dependency of both intersections and links respectively as shown in Fig. 3. We adopt gated mechanism into the temporal convolution network which is proven an effective approach to control the reserved information [40]. The temporal convolution operation is formulated as follows:
….Empirically, Tanh function can be selected as σ1(•) and Sigmoid function is usually selected as σ2(•) to control the ratio of information passed” (Jin, page 5, 2nd column, 1st-2nd paragraph) and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi is the aggregate representation of a first node neighborhood of a first node. Additionally, Examiner notes that the sigmoid function which is in the temporal convolution operates on the outputs of node-wise GCN and intersection representations which thus is the sigmoid function being applied during the spatial aggregation which occurs in the highlighted box. Examiner further notes that the node spatial layer is the node-wise GCN and the temporal convolution highlighted in a box in Figure 3.)
or the edge spatial layer comprises a sigmoidal function applied during the spatial aggregation over the edge neighborhood to generate the aggregate representation of the edge neighborhood (Jin, page 5, “Thus the dual graph convolution is formulated as:
where θn*G and θe*G are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution operation, Zn and Ze are respectively the node-wise and edge-wise latent representation, and
P
∈
R
|
V
n
|
×
|
E
n
|
is the incidence matrix that encodes the connections between nodes and edges, defined as: Pi, (i→j) = Pj, (i→j) = 1 and 0 otherwise” where “to capture the spatial dependencies, we select the simple graph convolution approach to aggregate information of 1-hop neighbors” (Jin, page 5, 1st column, last paragraph) and where “we adopt a dual directional graph convolution to make full of directed graphs which is defined as
Then, we use temporal convolution network to capture temporal dependency of both intersections and links respectively as shown in Fig. 3. We adopt gated mechanism into the temporal convolution network which is proven an effective approach to control the reserved information [40]. The temporal convolution operation is formulated as follows:
….Empirically, Tanh function can be selected as σ1(•) and Sigmoid function is usually selected as σ2(•) to control the ratio of information passed” (Jin, page 5, 2nd column, 1st-2nd paragraph) and Jin, page 5, Fig. 3
Examiner notes that the Pi, (i→j) is the aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood. Additionally, Examiner notes that the sigmoid function which is in the temporal convolution operates on the outputs of edge-wise GCN and link representations which thus is the sigmoid function being applied during the spatial aggregation which occurs in the highlighted box. Examiner further notes that the edge spatial layer is the edge-wise GCN and the temporal convolution highlighted in a circle in Figure 3)
Karimi, Liu, and Jin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they describe a spatio-temporal graph neural network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi in view of Liu to include an edge spatial layer to perform a prediction like in Jin. Doing so is advantageous because they “fully exploit multi-level spatio-temporal information to improve the quality of the final representations from spatio-temporal learning module” (Jin, page 2, 1st column, point (2)).
Karimi, Liu, and Jin do not teach, but Yang does teach
wherein the edge spatial layer is configured to generate, for each edge, an aggregate representation of an edge neighborhood of the edge by performing spatial aggregation over the edge neighborhood, the edge neighborhood comprising one or more edges connected to the edge via shared nodes (Yang, page 8, Algorithm 1)
Examiner notes that lines 8-9 of Algorithm 1 show generating a spatial aggregation of an edge neighborhood.)
Karimi, Liu, Jin, and Yang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they incorporate node and edge features into a graph neural network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Karimi in view of Liu and Jin to include an edge spatial layer like in Yang. Doing so is advantageous because they “incorporate[] node and features to enhance the node and edge embeddings across neural network layer” (Yang, page 13, Conclusion).
Regarding claim 20, Karimi in view of Liu, Jin, and Yang teaches the computing system of claim 19. Karimi further teaches
wherein the instructions are further executable to, during a training phase: receive training data that includes time series data indicating a state of the energy distribution graph network at each of a series of historical time steps (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input” where “Figure 1: The distribution of PV systems across the United States and the graph model used to represent the relationships between the PV systems. (a) All PV systems in our dataset are shown by red circles on the map. (b,c) Graph showing the proximity of PV systems in which edges are included between PV systems that are proximate according to a low/moderate proximity threshold (ϵ = 0, ϵ = 0.5);
and train the graph neural network using the training data to output the predicted state of the energy distribution graph network at the one or more future time steps (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 3rd paragraph, “The GNN model’s input data dimension is
R
H
×
N
×
C
, where H is the number of previous data points of the timeseries used in the model, N is the total number of PV systems and C is the number of channels in the input. The output of the model is of the form
R
M
×
N
where M is the number of future time points for which model will forecast.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-10 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically regarding claim 9 “wherein the sigmoidal function of the node spatial layer is defined as a sigmoidal function
σ
(
W
n
l
(
x
i
+
A
G
G
(
x
j
,
e
i
j
)
)
,
x
j
)
where
W
n
l
is a nodewise weight at level l, AGG (x,eij) is an aggregate of a representation of a node x connected to a node xi, and eij is a representation of an edge connecting the node xi and the node x1” in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim are not taught by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Karimi and Jin.
Karimi discloses the node spatial layer (Karimi, page 3, 1st column 3rd paragraph) and a sigmoidal function (Karimi, page 3, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph). Karimi fails to explicitly disclose the sigmoidal function of the node spatial layer is defined as a sigmoidal function
σ
(
W
n
l
(
x
i
+
A
G
G
(
x
j
,
e
i
j
)
)
,
x
j
)
where
W
n
l
is a nodewise weight at level l, AGG (x,eij) is an aggregate of a representation of a node x connected to a node xi, and eij is a representation of an edge connecting the node xi and the node x1.
Jin discloses a sigmoidal function of a node spatial layer (Jin, page 5, Figure 3). Jin fails to explicitly disclose a sigmoidal function
σ
(
W
n
l
(
x
i
+
A
G
G
(
x
j
,
e
i
j
)
)
,
x
j
)
where
W
n
l
is a nodewise weight at level l, AGG (x,eij) is an aggregate of a representation of a node x connected to a node xi, and eij is a representation of an edge connecting the node xi and the node x1.
Specifically regarding claim 10 “wherein the sigmoidal function of the edge spatial layer is defined as a sigmoidal function
σ
(
W
e
l
(
e
i
j
+
A
G
G
(
e
k
l
)
)
,
e
k
l
)
where
W
e
l
is a nodewise weight at level l, eij is a representation of a first edge connecting a node (i) and a node (j), and AGG(ekl) is an aggregate of a representation of a second edge connecting a node (k) and a node (l)” in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim are not taught by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Jin.
Jin discloses a sigmoidal function of an edge spatial layer (Jin, page 5, Figure 3). Jin fails to explicitly disclose a sigmoidal function
σ
(
W
e
l
(
e
i
j
+
A
G
G
(
e
k
l
)
)
,
e
k
l
)
where
W
e
l
is a nodewise weight at level l, eij is a representation of a first edge connecting a node (i) and a node (j), and AGG(ekl) is an aggregate of a representation of a second edge connecting a node (k) and a node (l).
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 9 and is therefore allowable under the same rationale if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 10 and is therefore allowable under the same rationale if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
On pages 13-14, Applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully traverses each of these rejections. Nonetheless, Applicant
amends claim 1 to clarify that the node spatial layer and the edge spatial layer generate corresponding aggregate representations by performing spatial aggregation over node neighborhoods and edge neighborhoods, respectively, and further requires that a sigmoidal function be applied during such spatial aggregation. Thus, amended claim 1 clarifies both (i) that spatial aggregation generates the recited aggregate representations, and (ii) that the sigmoidal function operates as part of the spatial aggregation itself Support for these amendments can be found at least at FIG. 3 and Pars. [0041]-[0043] and [0049]-[0051], and original claims 9 and 10 of the subject application. No new matter is added.
In contrast, Jin separates spatial aggregation and temporal processing into distinct stages. Jin performs spatial neighborhood aggregation using node-wise and edge-wise graph convolution networks (see Jin, Equation (6)), which employ non-linear activation functions such as ReLU in connection with spatial modeling. Only after this spatial aggregation is completed does Jin apply a temporal convolution network, in which a sigmoid function is used as part of a gating mechanism to control temporal information across time steps (see Jin, Equation (8)). Accordingly, in Jin, the sigmoid function is applied exclusively in the temporal domain and does not participate in spatial aggregation.
Therefore, Jin does not disclose or suggest applying a sigmoidal function during
spatial aggregation, as now required by amended claim 1. This distinction remains regardless of the Examiner's prior interpretation that spatial layers may "comprise" downstream components (see pages 14-15 of the Office action), because the subject claim requires that the sigmoidal function be applied as part of the spatial aggregation operation that generates the aggregate representations. A function applied only after completion of spatial aggregation, as in Jin, does not satisfy this requirement.
Karimi and Yang likewise do not disclose or suggest applying a sigmoidal function during spatial aggregation of node or edge neighborhoods, and fail to cure the deficiencies of Jin. Rather, Karimi employs sigmoid-based gating in temporal convolution layers, and Yang describes attention-based aggregation mechanisms without teaching or suggesting the claimed use of a sigmoidal function during spatial aggregation.
Thus, the cited references, whether considered individually or in combination, fail to teach or suggest at least the claimed configuration in which a sigmoidal function is applied during spatial aggregation that generates aggregate representations of node and/or edge neighborhoods.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the prior art of record do not teach the amended limitations in claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Examiner notes that a combination of Karimi, Jin, and Yang teach amended claim 1. Specifically, Karimi teaches generating an aggregate representation of a node neighborhood by performing spatial aggregation since under BRI, aggregating embeddings would fall under spatial aggregation. Examiner further notes that Karimi in view of Jin teach the sigmoidal function applied during the spatial aggregation since under BRI, the aggregation within the highlighted areas and the sigmoid functions are also within the highlighted areas of Figure 3 in Jin. Lastly, Examiner notes that Karimi in view of Jin and Yang teach generating an aggregate representation for an edge neighborhood by performing spatial aggregation since under BRI, the spatial aggregation can be the concatenation depicted in line 9 of Algorithm 1 of Yang.
On pages 14-15, Applicant argues:
Claims 11 and 19 have been amended in a similar manner as claim 1, and thus Applicant submits that claims 11 and 19 are in condition for allowance for similar reasons.
Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and thus are also in condition for allowance at least for the reason of dependence from an allowable claim.
Claims 12-16 depend from claim 11 and thus are also in condition for allowance at least for the reason of dependence from an allowable claim.
Claims 20 depends from claim 19 and thus is also in condition for allowance at least for the reason of dependence from an allowable claim.
In view of the above, Applicant respectfully requests the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-8, 11-16, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the dependent claims are allowable at least due in part to their dependency on the independent claims, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the instant rejections and response to arguments regarding the independent claims above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Owerko et al. (Optimal Power Flow Using Graph Neural Networks) also describes using a graph neural network to model energy distribution.
/K.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2148 /MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148